DETAILED ACTION
The amendment to Application Ser. No. 18/432,878 filed on May 6, 2026, has been entered. Claims 8 and 16 are cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10, 13-15, 17, 18 and 20 are currently amended. Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are pending and are examined.
Response to Arguments
The arguments with respect to the rejection of Claims 2, 6, 7, 10, 14, 15 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered by the Examiner but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), necessitated by the amendment, set forth in this Office Action.
The amendment to 1, 9 and 17 has overcome the rejection of Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 19, 2026. The rejection of Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is hereby withdrawn.
The arguments with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered by the Examiner but are not persuasive.
Specifically, on page 9 of the response filed May 5, 2026, Applicant argues, “As discussed during the interview, the applied references fail to teach or render obvious ‘process a Layer 7 payload at the ALG entity to extract an original IP address to be translated using network address translation (NAT)’ and ‘in response to a determination that the original IP address is a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through the STUN exchange, generate a pinhole by the ALG entity based on the original IP address and the translated IP address, wherein the pinhole allows packets having the original IP address as a source address or the translated IP address as a destination address,’ as recited in claim 1 and similarly recited in claims 9 and 15.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The features argued by applicant are taught by the combination of Pande, Cook and Mihelich. Specifically, Pande discloses determining, by a NAT device implementing ALG functionality, that the endpoint has already performed translation of the address in the body of the signaling message based on the address being an “outside” IP address (Pande paragraph 28) and Mihelich discloses opening, by a SIP ALG, pinholes in a firewall to allow traffic from the internal network having an original address as a source address and traffic received from the external network having a translated address as a destination address (Mihelich paragraphs 127-131).
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, necessitated by the amendment, are set forth in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “in response to a determination that the original IP address is a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through the STUN exchange, generate a pinhole by the ALG entity based on the original IP address and the translated IP address, wherein the pinhole allows packets having the original IP address as a source address or the translated IP address as a destination address” in lines 17-22. The limitation “a determination that the original IP address is a translated IP address” directly contradicts the limitation, “wherein the original IP address is an untranslated IP address”, recited earlier in the claim. It is unclear whether the “original IP address” is “a translated IP address” or an “untranslated IP address”, rendering the claim indefinite.
Dependent Claims 2-7 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 1 in view of their dependence thereon.
Additionally, Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein a new NAT translation that would conflict with the previous translation is not generated in response to a determination that the IP address is a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through the STUN exchange” in lines 1-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the IP address” in the claims. Additionally, the relationship between “a previous translation learned through the STUN exchange” recited here and “a previous translation learned through a STUN exchange” recited in Claim 1 is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Additionally, Claim 7, recites the limitation “wherein one or more Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) devices that use STUN for NAT traversal and the one or more VoIP devices that use the ALG entity for NAT traversal are deployed together behind the ALG entity, and wherein a special configuration for each device is not required to provide seamless support for interworking of STUN and the ALG entity” in lines 1-6.There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the one or more VoIP devices that use the ALG entity for NAT traversal” in the claims.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 9 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 1.
Additionally, Claim 9 recites the limitation “determining that the original IP address corresponds to a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through a Session Traversal Utilities for NAT (STUN) exchange by performing a lookup in a shared NAT table associated with the ALG entity, wherein the original IP address is an untranslated IP address” in lines 5-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the original IP address” in the claims.
Dependent Claims 10-15 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 9 in view of their dependence thereon.
Additionally, Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein a new NAT translation that would conflict with the previous translation is not generated in response to a determination that the IP address is a translated IP resulting from a previous translation learned through the STUN exchange” in lines 1-5. The relationship between “a determination that the IP address is a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through the STUN exchange” recited in Claim 10 and “a determination that the original IP address is a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through a STUN exchange” recited in Claim 9 is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 7.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 17 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 1.
Additionally, Claim 17 recites the limitation “determining that the original IP address corresponds to a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through a Session Traversal Utilities for NAT (STUN) exchange by performing a lookup in a shared NAT table associated with the ALG entity, wherein the original IP address is an untranslated IP address” in lines 6-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the original IP address” in the claims.
Dependent Claims 18-20 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected Claim 17 in view of their dependence thereon.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 18 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-11, 14, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pande et al., Pub. No. US 2008/0159306 A1, hereby “Pande”, in view of Cook et al., Pat. No. US 7,043,564 B1, hereby “Cook”, and in further view of Mihelich et al., Pub. No. US 2012/0210416 A1, hereby “Mihelich”.
Regarding Claim 1, Pande discloses “A system (Pande figs. 1 and 5 and paragraphs 2, 16, 19-20 and 32-33: NAT device 110 performing Application Layer Gateway (ALG) functionality), comprising:
a processor (Pande figs. 1 and 5 and paragraphs 19 and 32-33: processor 63) configured to:
monitor network traffic at an application-layer gateway (ALG) entity (Pande figs. 1 and 4 and paragraphs 19-21, 24 and 28: NAT device 110, which implements ALG functionality, receives a signaling message, e.g., a SIP signaling message 214, from an endpoint, e.g., host 102);
process a Layer 7 payload at the ALG entity to extract an original IP address to be translated using network address translation (NAT) (Pande figs. 1 and 4 and paragraphs 19-21, 24 and 28: NAT device 110 processes body 204 of signaling message 214, i.e., a Layer 7 payload, to identify one or more addresses and/or ports to be translated);
determine that the original IP address corresponds to a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through a Session Traversal Utilities for NAT (STUN) exchange... wherein the original IP address is an untranslated IP address (Pande figs. 1 and 4 and paragraphs 24 and 28: NAT device 110 determines whether translation of the IP address in body 204 has already been performed by the endpoint, e.g., using STUN, or whether the IP address is untranslated);” and
“a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions (Pande figs. 1 and 5 and paragraphs 19 and 32-33: memory 61).”
However, while Pande discloses determining that the endpoint has already performed translation of the address in the body of the signaling message based on the address being an “outside” IP address (Pande paragraph 28), Pande does not explicitly disclose “determine that the original IP address corresponds to a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through a Session Traversal Utilities for NAT (STUN) exchange by performing a lookup in a shared NAT table associated with the ALG entity (emphasis added)”.
In the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses inspecting a NAT table to determine whether a NAT entry exists for a network address, i.e., whether the network address has been previously translated (Cook fig. 4 and column 7, lines 40-42: In response, the controller 44 inspects the NAT 40 table 90 to determine whether a NAT entry 92 exists for translating a network address of UDP packet.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the NAT device of Pande to determine whether the IP address in the body of the signaling message has been previously translated by consulting a NAT table as taught by Cook because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element (inspecting a NAT table to determine if a network address was previously translated) for another (identifying an outside IP address to determine an IP address was previously translated) to obtain predictable and desirable results (determining whether the IP address has been previously translated). See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
However, while Pande discloses that the NAT device performing ALG functionality may be a NAT firewall device (Pande paragraph 6), and further discloses that the NAT device does not perform address translation on the IP addresses in the body of the signaling message in response to determining that address translation was already performed by the endpoint (Pande paragraphs 19, 24, and 28-30), the combination of Pande and Cook does not explicitly disclose “in response to a determination that the original IP address is a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through the STUN exchange, generate a pinhole by the ALG entity based on the original IP address and the translated IP address, wherein the pinhole allows packets having the original IP address as a source address or the translated IP address as a destination address”.
In the same field of endeavor, Mihelich discloses an ALG opening a pinhole in a firewall security device to enable media sessions associated with a control session, wherein the pinhole allows packets arriving from the WAN having the NATed address of a device inside the firewall security device as destination address (Mihelich fig. 6 and paragraphs 127-131: SIP ALG creates pinhole #1 in firewall security device 610, which accepts traffic on the WAN having the translated IP address of SIP phone A as the destination address).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the NAT device of Pande, as modified by Cook, to open a pinhole in the firewall allowing packets having the outside IP address as the destination address as taught by Mihelich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine open a pinhole in the firewall allowing packets having the outside IP address as the destination address to enable traversal of the firewall by media/data sessions indicated by the body of the received signaling message (Mihelich paragraph 131).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Pande, Cook and Mihelich discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Additionally, Pande discloses “wherein a new NAT translation that would conflict with the previous translation is not generated in response to a determination that the IP address is a translated IP address resulting from a previous translation learned through the STUN exchange (Pande figs. 1 and 4 and paragraphs 19-20, 24 and 28: NAT device 110 does not perform ALG functionality on the body 204 of signaling message 214, i.e., ALG address translation, in response to determining that address translation was already performed).”
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Pande, Cook and Mihelich discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Additionally, Pande discloses “wherein the ALG entity includes a firewall (Pande paragraph 6: NAT device 110 performing ALG functionality may be a NAT firewall device).”
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Pande, Cook and Mihelich discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Additionally, Pande discloses “wherein a special configuration for a device associated with the IP address is not required to provide seamless support for interworking of STUN and the ALG entity (Pande paragraphs 6, 19, 22-24 and 30: both host devices performing their own NAT, e.g., using STUN, and host devices that require ALG network address translation are supported without requiring special configuration as the support is implemented within NAT device 110).”
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Pande, Kim and Mihelich discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Additionally, Pande discloses “wherein one or more Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) devices that use STUN for NAT traversal and the one or more VoIP devices that use the ALG entity for NAT traversal are deployed together behind the ALG entity, and wherein a special configuration for each device is not required to provide seamless support for interworking of STUN and the ALG entity (Pande paragraphs 6, 19, 22-24 and 30: both host devices performing their own NAT, e.g., using STUN, and host devices that require ALG network address translation are supported without requiring special configuration as the support is implemented within the NAT device 110 - while not explicitly stated, Pande suggests that the host devices may be VoIP phones in paragraph 22).”
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 9 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 1.
Additionally, Pande discloses “A method... (Pande figure 4 and paragraphs 2, 14 and 28: a method of processing signaling messages using an Application Layer Gateway)”.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 10 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 2.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 11 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 3.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 6.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 7.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 17 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 1.
Additionally, Pande discloses “A computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising computer instructions... (Pande figure 4 and paragraphs 2, 14 and 28: machine readable media including program instructions implementing a method of processing signaling messages using an Application Layer Gateway)”.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 18 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 2.
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 19 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 3.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Pande, Cook and Mihelich in view of the product datasheet published by NSFOCUS, titled “Next-Generation Firewall- Multi-Layered Comprehensive Security Solution”, hereby “NSFOCUS”.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Pande, Kim and Mihelich discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
However, while Pande discloses that the NAT device performing ALG functionality may be a NAT firewall device (Pande paragraph 6), the combination of Pande, Kim and Mihelich does not explicitly disclose “wherein the ALG entity includes a Next Generation Firewall (NGFW).
In the same field of endeavor, NSFOCUS discloses a next generation firewall (NGFW) implementing ALG functionality (NSFOCUS sixth page, feature “NAT”).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the NAT device of Pande, as modified by Cook and Mihelich, to implement the ALG functionality within a Next Generation Firewall (NGFW) as taught by NSFOCUS because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element (a Next Generation Firewall) for another (a NAT firewall device) to obtain predictable and desirable results (implementation of the ALG functionality). See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Insofar as it recites similar claim elements, Claim 12 is rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 4.
Claims 5, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Pande, Cook and Mihelich in view of the Wing et al., Pub. No. US 2007/0101414 A1, hereby “Wing”.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Pande, Kim and Mihelich discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
However, while Pande discloses the NAT device supports host devices that perform their own NAT translations, e.g., using STUN (Pande paragraphs 6, 19, 24 and 30), the combination of Pande, Kim and Mihelich does not explicitly disclose “wherein the ALG entity automatically adapts to a new STUN session to generate a pinhole for the new STUN session based on the original IP address.”
In the same field of endeavor, Wing discloses generating pinholes in a firewall in response to receiving a STUN request (Wing figs. 3A and 11 and paragraphs 42, 51 and 108-110: firewall 13 opens a pinhole 90 permitting communications to the IP address in STUN request 308).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the NAT device of Pande, as modified by Cook and Mihelich, to generate a pinhole in the firewall in response to receiving a STUN request as taught by Wing because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (generating pinholes in a firewall in response to receiving a STUN request) to known devices and/or methods (a NAT device performing Application Layer Gateway (ALG) functionality) ready for improvement to yield predictable and desirable results (enabling traversal of the firewall by the STUN request and response messages). See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Insofar as they recite similar claim elements, Claims 13 and 20 are rejected for substantially the same reasons presented above with respect to Claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Goodman et al., Pub. No. US 2009/0222575, discloses an ALG that opens one or more pinholes in a firewall to cause the firewall to allow an authentication challenge from a server in an outside network to reach an application device; and
Boire-Lavigne et al., Pub. No. US 2012/0144475 A1, discloses searching a NATing table to see if there is already an association between a private source address of a firewall punching packet (FWPP) and a public destination address and generating a new translation if no matching entry is found.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C MCBETH/Examiner, Art Unit 2449