DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Brownscombe et al. (US 2005/0148487) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Brownscombe et al. (US 2005/0148487)
In regards to claim 1, Brownscombe teaches method of decomposing a polymeric feed with one or more inorganic salt catalyst to produce liquid products (abstract). The feed can include polyolefins, polyethylene, polypropylene, rubber, tires, waste plastics which are carbonaceous materials (hydrocarbons) [0008]. The process requires contacting the feed with hydrogen source such as methane, ethane, propane, butane, naphtha, etc., in the presence of inorganic salt catalysts at temperatures of from 200 to 500℃ [0048, 0074, 0075]. The contacting with catalyst can occur in a fixed bed reactor, CSTR, etc. [0077].
The contacting temperature can range from 200 to 800℃ in the presence of the hydrogen source and other gases such as argon, nitrogen, methane, ethane, propane, butane, ethene etc. and combinations [0079]. The products include olefin mixtures [0094 – 0096]. The inorganic salt catalyst includes alkali metal carbonates, alkaline earth metal carbonates etc., and mixtures [0114]. The process is an oxygen-free process. The process also does not require the presence of transition metal or rare earth metal, or their oxides as catalysts.
The products including olefin mixtures are collected [0164]. Thus, the process of cracking a carbon feedstock to produce olefins by contacting a feedstock with molten salt catalyst (i.e., matrix) at high temperatures and collecting the olefin product stream is provided [0077].
In regards to claim 2, Brownscombe teaches the process comprising the carbonates such as potassium carbonate [0022, 0114].
In regards to claims 3, 4, Brownscombe teaches the process comprising the claimed reactors as previously stated. However, it is noted that the claims are to processes and not to the equipment or reactor used for performing the process which do not carry patentable weight as they do not further limit the process.
In regards to claims 5 – 7, Brownscombe teaches the process having the claimed olefins as previously stated.
In regards to claims 8 – 12, Brownscombe teaches the process having the claimed temperatures as previously stated.
In regards to claims 13, 14, Brownscombe teaches the process as previously stated. The limitations drawn to the reactor, and whether or not the feedstock is top-fed or bottom-fed do not carry patentable weight.
In regards to claims 15, 16, Brownscombe teaches the process which takes place at from 0.1 to 20 MPa (i.e., from 1 atm to 200 atm) [0079].
In regards to claims 17 – 22, Brownscombe teaches the process having the claimed limitations as previously discussed.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771