DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0192385 A1 to Hwang et al. (hereinafter “Hwang”) and US 2014/0179366 A1 to A1 to Levin et al. (hereinafter “Levin”).
As per claim 1, Hwang discloses a wireless device (Hwang Fig. 5) comprising: one or more processors (Hwang Fig. 5); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Hwang Fig. 5 and [0133]), cause the wireless device to perform: sending a first message comprising a parameter indicating a requested time key performance indicator (KPI) (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036], [0169] In operation 701, a location service request may be initiated by an external entity because it is a case of MT-LR. Not only in the case that the location service request is performed by the external entity but also in a case that the location service request is performed by another entity or the UE, the LMF may start a positioning operation, i.e., start LPP signaling. In this case, an entity that requests a location service may deliver information for determining a PI related KPI in the service to the LMF. [0170] In operation 703, based on the information for determining the PI related KPI, the LMF may determine KPI values related to the requested service for the UE.), wherein the requested time KPI indicates a requested accuracy of time service for the wireless device; and receiving a second message comprising an allowed time KPI in response to the requested time KPI (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0168-0178]).
Hwang may not explicitly disclose, but Levin, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the requested time KPI indicates a requested accuracy of time service for the wireless device (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). The purpose of Levin is to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levin with Hwang, to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]).
As per claim 2, Hwang and Levin disclose the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first message is sent to a network function (Hwang Fig. 7), and the second message is received from the network function (Hwang Fig. 7).
As per claim 5, Hwang and Levin disclose the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first message is sent to a base station (Hwang Fig. 1 and 7), and the second message is received from the base station (Hwang Fig. 1 and 7).
As per claim 6, Hwang and Levin disclose the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device further to perform receiving the time service based on one or more of the requested time KPI and/or the allowed time KPI (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036], [0169] In operation 701, a location service request may be initiated by an external entity because it is a case of MT-LR. Not only in the case that the location service request is performed by the external entity but also in a case that the location service request is performed by another entity or the UE, the LMF may start a positioning operation, i.e., start LPP signaling. In this case, an entity that requests a location service may deliver information for determining a PI related KPI in the service to the LMF. [0170] In operation 703, based on the information for determining the PI related KPI, the LMF may determine KPI values related to the requested service for the UE.).
As per claim 7, Hwang discloses a network function (Hwang Fig. 6 and 7) comprising: one or more processors (Hwang Fig. 6); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Hwang Fig. 6 and [0140]), cause the network function to perform: receiving, from a wireless device, a first message comprising a parameter indicating a requested time key performance indicator (KPI) (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036], [0169] In operation 701, a location service request may be initiated by an external entity because it is a case of MT-LR. Not only in the case that the location service request is performed by the external entity but also in a case that the location service request is performed by another entity or the UE, the LMF may start a positioning operation, i.e., start LPP signaling. In this case, an entity that requests a location service may deliver information for determining a PI related KPI in the service to the LMF. [0170] In operation 703, based on the information for determining the PI related KPI, the LMF may determine KPI values related to the requested service for the UE.), wherein the requested time KPI indicates a requested accuracy of time service for the wireless device; and sending, to the wireless device, a second message comprising an allowed time KPI in response to the requested time KPI (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0168-0178]).
Hwang may not explicitly disclose, but Levin, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the requested time KPI indicates a requested accuracy of time service for the wireless device (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). The purpose of Levin is to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levin with Hwang, to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]).
As per claim 8, Hwang and Levin disclose the network function of claim 7, wherein the requested time KPI indicates one or more of: a requested interval of time service for the wireless device (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170]); and/or a requested coverage area of time service for the wireless device.
As per claim 9, Hwang and Levin disclose the network function of claim 7, wherein the allowed time KPI indicates one or more of: an allowed accuracy of time service for the wireless device; an allowed interval of time service for the wireless device; and/or an allowed coverage area of time service for the wireless device.
Hwang may not explicitly disclose, but Levin, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses an allowed accuracy of time service for the wireless device (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). The purpose of Levin is to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levin with Hwang, to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]).
As per claim 10, Hwang and Levin disclose the network function of claim 7, wherein the message comprises a requested time service type indicating a requested service type for time service (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170]).
As per claim 11, Hwang and Leven disclose the network function of claim 10, wherein the requested time service type comprises one or more of: a requested premium timing service; a requested commercial timing service; a requested regular timing service (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170]; and/or a requested dedicated timing service (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170].
As per claim 12, Hwang discloses the network function of claim 10, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network function further to perform sending, to the wireless device, an indication that the requested time service type is allowed (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170].
As per claim 13, Hwang and Levin disclose the network function of claim 7, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network function further to perform sending, to the wireless device, an indication of an allowed time service type (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170].
As per claim 14, Hwang discloses a network element (Hwang Fig. 6 and 7) comprising: one or more processors (Hwang Fig. 6 and 7); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Hwang Fig. 6 and [0140]), cause the network element to perform: receiving, from a network function, a first message comprising a parameter indicating a requested time key performance indicator (KPI) (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036], [0169] In operation 701, a location service request may be initiated by an external entity because it is a case of MT-LR. Not only in the case that the location service request is performed by the external entity but also in a case that the location service request is performed by another entity or the UE, the LMF may start a positioning operation, i.e., start LPP signaling. In this case, an entity that requests a location service may deliver information for determining a PI related KPI in the service to the LMF. [0170] In operation 703, based on the information for determining the PI related KPI, the LMF may determine KPI values related to the requested service for the UE.), wherein the requested time KPI indicates a requested accuracy of time service for a wireless device; and sending, to the network function, a second message comprising an allowed time KPI in response to the requested time KPI (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0168-0178]).
Hwang may not explicitly disclose, but Levin, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the requested time KPI indicates a requested accuracy of time service for a wireless device (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). The purpose of Levin is to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levin with Hwang, to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]).
As per claim 15, Hwang and Levin disclose the network element of claim 14, wherein the requested time KPI indicates one or more of: a requested interval of time service for the wireless device (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170]); and/or a requested coverage area of time service for the wireless device.
As per claim 16, Hwang and Levin disclose the network element of claim 14, wherein the message comprises a requested time service type indicating a requested service type for time service (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170]).
As per claim 17, Hwang and Levin disclose the network element of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network element further to perform sending, to the network function, an indication that the requested time service type is allowed (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170]).
As per claim 18, Hwang and Levin disclose the network element of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network element further to perform sending, to the network function, an indication of an allowed time service type (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170]).
As per claim 19, Hwang and Levin disclose the network element of claim 14, wherein the first message further comprises a request of coordinated universal time for the wireless device.
Hwang may not explicitly disclose, but Levin, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses a request of coordinated universal time for the wireless device (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). The purpose of Levin is to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levin with Hwang, to enable accurate time KPIs preservation (Levin [0017-0018, 0027, 0047-0048]).
As per claim 20, Hwang and Levin disclose the network element of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network element further to perform providing, to the network function, the time service (Hwang Fig. 7 and [0035-0036,0150,0169-0170]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Levin as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-20 above, and further in view of US 2021/0204164 A1 to Yavuz et al. (hereinafter “Yavuz”).
As per claim 3, Hwang and Levin disclose the wireless device of claim 2, wherein the network function is an access and mobility management function.
Hwang may not explicitly disclose, but Yavuz, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the network function is an access and mobility management function (Yavuz [0019] and table on page 12). The purpose of Yavuz is to enable slicing the network to allow network administrators and businesses and other enterprises to more closely tailor network access with communication needs, and provide a way to more efficiently use network resources (Yavuz [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yavuz with Hwang, to enable slicing the network to allow network administrators and businesses and other enterprises to more closely tailor network access with communication needs, and provide a way to more efficiently use network resources (Yavuz [0002]).
As per claim 4, Hwang and Levin disclose the wireless device of claim 2, wherein the network function is a session management function.
Hwang may not explicitly disclose, but Yavuz, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the network function is a session management function (Yavuz [0019] and table on page 12). The purpose of Yavuz is to enable slicing the network to allow network administrators and businesses and other enterprises to more closely tailor network access with communication needs, and provide a way to more efficiently use network resources (Yavuz [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yavuz with Hwang, to enable slicing the network to allow network administrators and businesses and other enterprises to more closely tailor network access with communication needs, and provide a way to more efficiently use network resources (Yavuz [0002]).
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476