DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference label “Photon 3” has been used to designate both the 2nd photon and the 3rd photon. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornman et al. (“Bornman”) (Bornman, N., Agnew, M., Zhu, F. et al. Ghost imaging using entanglement-swapped photons. npj Quantum Inf 5, 63 (2019). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41534-019-0176-5).
Regarding claim 7, Bornman discloses a method comprising: obtaining, at a server via a first optical fiber, a second photon of a first pair of entangled photons that includes the second photon and a first photon (fig. 1b and its description, and Results section 1st paragraph, photon B of the A/B entangle pair, to the Bell-state measurement arrangement and page 2 col. 1 full paragraph; the arrangement reads on “server” under the BRI in light of the specification, since the disclosure uses “server” to broadly refer to quantum network and entanglement swapping postprocessing subject matter presented as symbolic rectangles, which diverges from the plain meaning of server in the art); obtaining, at the server via a second optical fiber from a second location, a third photon of a second pair of entangled photons that includes the third photon and a fourth photon (fig. 1b photon C and Results section 1st paragraph); entanglement swapping the second photon and the third photon to entangle the first photon and the fourth photon (Methods section 1st paragraph); and providing an indication that the entanglement swapping was successful and configured to facilitate generation of a ghost image from the fourth photon, of an object interacted with by the first photon (fig. 1b and its description and page 3 col. 1 1st full paragraph, ghost image λ, the output of the path A detector providing indication). The claimed two locations are not particular and are not functionally consequential in the claim, thus the difference between the claimed component locations and Bornman’s component locations is mere rearrangement of parts, which is a prima facie obvious difference (see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to have the indication and ghost image generation at a second location, because the claimed particular placement is a prima facie obvious matter of design choice for a mere arrangement of parts difference that does not affect the function/operation the arrangement, per MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 9, Bornman discloses the method of claim 7, wherein entanglement swapping the second photon and the third photon comprises entanglement swapping the second photon and the third photon in a quantum network (Bornman: fig. 1b and its description, the Bell-state measurement arrangement reads on quantum network, page 2 col. 1 full paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Bornman discloses the method of claim 7, wherein entanglement swapping the second photon and the third photon comprises performing a Bell-state measurement on the second photon and the third photon (Bornman: fig. 1b and its description, the Bell-state measurement arrangement reads on quantum network, page 2 col. 1 full paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Bornman discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first optical fiber and the second optical fiber comprise multimode optical fibers (Bornman: Methods section last paragraph).
Claims 1-6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornman et al. (“Bornman”) (Bornman, N., Agnew, M., Zhu, F. et al. Ghost imaging using entanglement-swapped photons. npj Quantum Inf 5, 63 (2019). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41534-019-0176-5) in view of Spillane et al. (“Spillane”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0037996).
Regarding claim 1, Bornman discloses a method comprising: generating, at a first location, a first pair of entangled photons comprising a first photon and a second photon at a telecommunication wavelength (fig. 1b and its description, photons A and B and section Methods); interacting the first photon with an object (fig. 1b and its description, element λ and page 2, the paragraph spanning col. 1 and 2); detecting, at the first location, the first photon at a detector without spatial resolution (fig. 1b and its description, path A detector detecting “a photon” and page 2 col. 2 first full paragraph, in light of Introduction section 3rd-4th paragraphs); providing the second photon to a server via an optical fiber, wherein the second photon is configured to be entanglement swapped with a third photon of a second pair of entangled photons generated at a second location to entangle the first photon with a fourth photon of the second pair of entangled photons (fig. 1b and its description, the Bell-state measurement arrangement and page 2 col. 1 full paragraph; the arrangement reads on “server” under the BRI in light of the specification, since the disclosure uses “server” to broadly refer to quantum network and entanglement swapping postprocessing subject matter presented as symbolic rectangles, which diverges from the plain meaning of server in the art); and providing an indication of the detecting the first photon (fig. 1b and its description, the output of the path A detector), wherein the indication is configured to facilitate generation of a ghost image of the object from the fourth photon (fig. 1b and its description and page 3 col. 1 1st full paragraph, ghost image λ). Bornman does not disclose that the first and second photons are different wavelengths or that the indication and ghost image generation is at a second location. Spillane discloses a source for producing entangled photons at different wavelengths (fig. 8 and paragraph 0116). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the source of Bornman to generate the entangled photons on two different wavelengths, as taught by Spillane, to provide the benefit of the ability to filter or direct by wavelength in addition to by physical path.
Further, the claimed two locations are not particular and are not functionally consequential in the claim, thus the difference between the claimed component locations and Bornman’s component locations is mere rearrangement of parts, which is a prima facie obvious difference (see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to have the indication and ghost image generation at a second location, because the claimed particular placement is an prima facie obvious matter of design choice for a mere arrangement of parts difference that does not affect the function/operation the arrangement, per MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bornman and Spillane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first wavelength comprises a visible or near infrared wavelength (Bornman: Method section first paragraph and Spillane: paragraph 0116, as applicable for the modification).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bornman and Spillane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the telecommunication wavelength comprises a wavelength between 1260 nm and 1675 nm, inclusive (Spillane: paragraph 0116, as applicable for the modification).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bornman and Hodges discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the optical fiber comprises a multimode optical fiber (Bornman: Methods section last paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bornman and Hodges discloses the method of claim 1, wherein providing the indication of the detecting the first photon comprises providing the indication to the second location via the server (Bornman: fig. 1b and its description, the Bell-state arrangement, as applicable for the obvious location modification).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bornman and Hodges discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the detector without spatial resolution comprises a photon bucket detector (Bornman: Introduction section 3rd-4th paragraphs).
Regarding claim 11, Bornman discloses the method of claim 7, but does not disclose that the second photon has a first telecommunication wavelength, and the third photon has a second telecommunication wavelength. Spillane discloses a source for producing entangled photons at different wavelengths (fig. 8 and paragraph 0116). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the source of Bornman to generate the entangled photons on two different wavelengths, among the values taught by Spillane, to provide the benefit of the ability to filter or direct by wavelength in addition to by physical path.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bornman and Spillane discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first telecommunication wavelength and the second telecommunication wavelength are between 1260 nm and 1675 nm, inclusive (Spillane: paragraph 0116, as applicable for the combination).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ghost imaging related – US Patent No. 8242428; US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0340570.
Quantum communication with entanglement – US Patent No. 11728902; US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0046754.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634