2. Applicants’ amendments have overcome the objection to the abstract, and the 112 first paragraph and 112 second paragraph rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 17, 21, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 12512902 in view of El-Hassan et al. US 20240297669 A1.
5. Consider claim 17. Wang (fig 1) teaches an electronic device (110) comprising: a first transceiver (col 6, lines 24-27)) configured toat the UE which causes the transceivers to communicate to either in multiple bands. However, El-Hassen et al. teaches such (see fig 6 which may be included in the electronic device 10). El-Hassen teaches a controller 154 (para 0040….156 which may be included in the control circuitry 154, may control the generation of signals to be transmitted by the electronic device 10 to a device in a satellite network or non-terrestrial network, such as a satellite….) as well as 5G wireless communication. It would have been obvious, before the effective date, to locally control the communication bands for both terrestrial on non-terrestrial communication as taught by El-Hassan et al in Wang to allow for faster switching thus making the system more efficient.
6. Regarding claim 21. Wang teaches (col 6, lines 35-44 plural bands for plural transceivers) wherein the second transceiver is configured to communicate the second wireless signals in a first portion of the second frequency range (the “portions” being the selected frequency for communication in the band selected for communication (for example LTE to another UE), and communicate third wireless signals (when communicating with a satellite) in a second portion of the second frequency range (satellite bands (col 6, lines 40-45).
7. Regarding claim 22. The combination of Wang in view of El-Hassan et al inherently teach wherein the controller (154) is configured to cause the second transceiver to communicate using the second portion of the second frequency range with a third terrestrial base station (122) or a third non-terrestrial (162) network node (note both are available) while causing the second transceiver (Wang teaches plural transceivers for plural bands) to communicate using the first portion (selected frequency) of the second frequency range (depending on whether its communicating with satellite or cellular) with the second terrestrial base station (121) or the second non-terrestrial network node (161).
8. Regarding claims 25. El-Hassan et al teaches (fig 6) wherein the second transceiver (170) comprises a plurality of phase-locked loops (PLLs), each PLL of the plurality of PLLs (118, 120 with switch 116) configured to generate the second wireless signals in a different frequency range than other PLLs of the plurality of PLLs.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 1, 3-14, 16, 23 and 24 allowed.
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 17 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. Note, the addition of “controller…configured to cause” as well as the many limitations deleted in original claim 17, represents a new claim scope not previously considered which causes the reference to Freisleben to be dropped and El-Hassan et al to be added.
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646