The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is less than 50 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, “the first portion of the one or more second wireless signals” on lines 10-11 and “receive a second portion of the one of more second signals” on lines 12-13 is unclear. Although breaking a signal into packets and using FDM to transmit them is one way that this could be read to be clear, there is no discussion of this in the applicant’s specification. It could also read on filtering, the noise part and the signal after filtered part. But there is also no discussion in the applicant’s specification of this. The other first and second “portions” of the first and second frequency bands is clear, so perhaps that is what the applicant is referring to. Independent claims 10 and 17 contain the same issues. Dependent claims 8, 9, 11 and 20 also have the same issues with respect to “portions” of the signals.
With respect to claim 2, receiving “the first portion of the one or more second signals, while the second antennas transmit the second portion of the one or more second wireless signals” implies leakage compensation between the transmitter and receiver antenna. But there is also no discussion in the applicant’s specification of this. Again, this could just be improper use of the portions relating to the signals, instead of the frequency bands (see claim 3 for use of portions in relation to frequency bands). Dependent claims 3-7, 12-16, 18-19 are rejected since they depend up claims that have the 112b issues.
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. With respect to claims 1, 8, 9, 10, 17 and 20, it is unclear how the signal is split into “portions” and then transmitted in the manner claimed (portions of frequency bands). There is no nexus between the “portions of signals” in the claims and what is described, or lack of description thereof, for one of ordinary skill in the art to be enabled to make or use the invention. With respect to claim 3, it is also unclear how the device can “receive the first portion of the second wireless signal while the second transceiver is transmitting.” There is no clear description in the specification with respect to this, for example no discussion of leakage from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna of the same device for one of ordinary skill in the art to be enable to make or use the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-6 and 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al US 12512902 B2 in view of Freisleben et al US 2019/0305831 A1.
In view of the 112 rejections above, the following is applied from what is best understood.
11. Consider claim 1. Wang teaches a wireless communication system (fig 2) comprising: a first transceiver configured to transmit and receive one or more first wireless signals over a cellular network using a first frequency range (450MHz to 3800MHz); at least one antenna (302) communicatively coupled to the first transceiver to transmit and receive the one or more first wireless signals (see column 6, lines 25-29 where the first transceiver reads on the LTE transceiver and the below second transceiver reads on the 6G transceiver); a second transceiver configured to transmit and receive one or more second wireless signals over a non-terrestrial network (satellite frequency band (i.e. Ka band) Col 6, line 54) using a second frequency range (see each satellite bands in col 6, lines 38-41) different than the first frequency range; and a plurality of antennas (202)communicatively coupled to the second transceiver, wherein the plurality of antennas (col 6, lines 32-36) comprises one or more first antennas to transmit and receive a first portion of the one or more second wireless signals in a first portion of the second frequency range, and one or more second antennas to transmit and receive a second portion of the one or more second wireless signals in a second portion of the second frequency range (which reads on table 404 in fig 4 where each portion of the whole frequency range can be assigned (paired) depending on the SNR of the channel with different bands for uplink a downlink communications see col 14, lines 59-col 15, line 4; see also col 20, line 64 to col 21, line 5). Wang fails to teach transmitting (uplink) and receiving (downlink) “portions” in the second frequency range. However, Freisleben et al teach such. In fig 2-1 Freisleben teaches a multi-transceiver (126-1 to 126-n) system for multiple bands which includes filters (206/258 to 206n/258n) which filter out part of the signal using either a low pass or band pass filter (last part of 0050) which leaves a “portion” of the signal in each of the multiband transceivers. It would have been obvious, before the effective date, to add filters taught by Freisleben into Wang thus improving the signal quality of the satellite communication band. Method claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as apparatus claim 1, since the recited elements would perform the claimed steps. Apparatus claim 17 contains similar limitations as claim 1 as is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons.
12. Regarding claims 2 and 18. Wangs transceiver is inherently designed to receive the first portion of the one or more second wireless signals while the second transceiver or the one or more second antennas transmit the second portion of the one or more second wireless signals (reads on receiving a text while on the phone).
13. Regarding claim 3 and 13. Wangs transceiver details all the different communication bands which include those as outlined below (see column 6, lines 38-41). Specifically selecting the first portion of the second frequency range comprises a first frequency of 20 gigahertz (GHz), and the second portion of the second frequency range comprises a second frequency of 30 GHz would have been obvious, before the effective date, depending on the designer’s usage for the overall system. Setting maximum and minimum frequency ranges as stated in Claim 4 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
14. Regarding claim 5. Wang teaches a third transceiver (5G in col 6, line 26) which is communicatively coupled to the second transceiver and configured to modify one or more baseband signals to generate one or more intermediate signals in a third frequency range (5G). Method claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as apparatus claim 5, since the recited elements would perform the claimed steps.
15. Regarding claim 6. Wang teaches wherein the third frequency range (5G) comprises a maximum frequency (mid band 1-6GHz) that is less than a minimum frequency of the second frequency range (6G mid band is 7-24 GHz)).
16. Regarding claim 11. Wang teaches transmitting, via the second transceiver (6G) and one or more third antennas (202), a third portion of the one or more second wireless signals using the one or more cellular networks (col 6, line36-41) using a third portion of the second frequency range (Ka Band). Method claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as discussed with respect to claims 10 and 11 above.
17. Regarding claim 12. Wang teaches (col 6, lines 38-39) wherein the first frequency range comprises L band frequencies and S band frequencies are used by one of the transceivers (210).
18. Regarding claim 14. Wang teaches (see fig 4, table 404) where it can be select the first portion of the second frequency range (Ka band) comprises the first frequency (26GHz), and the second portion of the second frequency range (Ka-band) the second frequency (40GHz).
19. Regarding claim 19. Wang teaches (col 6, lines 38-48) the capability of selecting transceivers that operates the first portion of the one or more second wireless signals have a first frequency within 19 gigahertz (GHz) and 21 GHz, and the second portion of the one or more second wireless signals have a second frequency within 24 GHz and 31 GHz.
20. Regarding claim 20. Wang teaches (see abstract) wherein the first
portion of the one or more second wireless signals are communicated via the non-terrestrial network, and the second portion of the one or more second wireless signals are communicated via the non-terrestrial network.
21. Claims 7-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al US 12512902 B2 in view of Freisleben et al A1 further in view of Chao US 11025260 B1.
22. Regarding claim 7 the combination of Wang in view of Freisleben et al fail to teach, and the second transceiver comprises one or more first phase-locked loops (PLLs) configured to generate the one or more second wireless signals based on the one or more intermediate signals. However, from the same field of endeavor, Chao teaches such (see 130 in fig 1). It would have been obvious to upgrade the multiband system to each of the three transceivers of Wang (which teaches using a mixer 208 to convert to an IF frequency) to a PLL to help reduce errors thus improving signal quality. Adding PLL’s to the second transceiver as stated in claim 8 would have been obvious, before the effective date, in order for all bands as taught by Wang in order to have improved regardless of what band is being used. Reducing the second frequency as stated in claim 9, is met by down converting by mixer 208 to an IF frequency as taught by Freisleben et al at (0051). Method claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as apparatus claim 9 since the recited elements would perform the claimed steps.
23. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lan US 103757754 B2 teaches an audio frequency front end (RFFE) is configured to support dual connectivity communications, in which two different radio access technologies such as LTE and NR are used simultaneously for uplink communications from a wireless communications device to a base station. The RFFE has two channels and two respectively associated antennas. The first channel transmits an NR signal from the first antenna. The second channel transmits an LTE signal from the second antenna.
Wang et al 10938360 B1 teaches a multimode multiband wireless device includes a broadband RF power amplifier that receives RF signals and produces amplified RF signals in a cellular band in a broadband, and a coexist filter coupled to the input of the broadband RF power amplifier. The coexist filter can reject RF noise in a predetermined frequency range in the broadband adjacent to the cellular band.
Pehike US 10659121 B2 teaches a radio frequency front-end includes ultrahigh band (UHB) transmit and receive modules employed for both transmission and reception of UHB signals via at least two primary antennas and at least two diversity antennas, thereby supporting both 4×4 receive MIMO and 4×4 transmit MIMO with respect to one or more UHB frequency bands, such as Band 42, Band 43, and/or Band 48. The radio frequency front-end can operate with carrier aggregation using one or more UHB carrier frequencies to provide flexibility in widening bandwidth for uplink and/or downlink communications.
Kum KR-20230013432 teaches a method for satellite positioning according to an embodiment comprises the operations of: determining whether a cellular communication band includes at least one of a first communication band and a second communication band having predetermined bandwidths; and when the cellular communication band does not include the first communication band and the second communication band, adjusting the bandwidth of a satellite communication band to a first bandwidth. At least a portion of the harmonics of the first communication band generated when transmitting a cellular signal in the first communication band and at least a portion of the harmonics of the second communication band generated when transmitting a cellular signal in the second communication band are included in the satellite communication band having the first bandwidth. The interference between harmonics of a cellular communication band and a satellite communication band for satellite positioning can be reduced.
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646