He DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of electing Species I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on December 17, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a canceled invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 17, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second monolayer of nanoparticles" in 9th line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greer et al. (US 2018/0198006 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Greer teaches coated substrate, the coated substrate as shown in Fig. 2 ([0032], Fig. 2) comprising: a substrate ([0039]); an adhesion promoter overlaying the substrate as shown in Figs, 1 and 6 (([0054], [0062],[0063], Figs. 1 &6) ; and a fluid comprising a first monolayer of nanoparticles and a second monolayer of particles as shown in Figs. 1 and 6 ([0030], [0054], [0063], Figs. 1 &6), wherein: the first monolayer of nanoparticles is bonded to the adhesion promoter, the second monolayer of nanoparticles is bonded to the first monolayer of nanoparticles as shown in Figs. 2, 6 ([0043], [0063] Figs. 2, 6), wherein: covalent bond permanently attaches the nanoparticles to the surface in a single layer as shown in Figs. 2&6 (reads on a first bond between a first nanoparticle of the first monolayer and the adhesion surface is characterized by a first bond strength), chemisorption on the surface is self-saturating as shown in Figs. 2&6 with H bound ( reads on a second bond between two adjacent nanoparticles of the first monolayer is characterized by a second bond strength), a monolayer, or a sub-monolayer of Al.sub.2O.sub.3 is formed (625), may be formed without also introducing new —OH groups on the surface as shown in Fig. 2&6 by van der Waals forces (reads on a third bond between the first nanoparticle of the first monolayer and an adjacent nanoparticle of the second monolayer is characterized by a third bond strength), covalent bond is stronger than H bound, which is stronger than van der Waals forces (reads on the first bond strength is greater than the second bond strength, the second bond strength is greater than the third bond strength), covalent bond permanently attaches the nanoparticles to the surface in a single layer and a covalent bound inherently has a valueless than a theoretical threshold value for covalent bond (reads on the first bond strength is less than a threshold value) ([0043], [0044], [0063] Fig. 6); and when the coated substrate is removed from the bath and rinsed, the loosely bound nanoparticles will be removed, and the covalently bonded ones remain on the substrate surface. In this way, it is expected to form a monolayer of covalently bonded nanoparticles, while any nanoparticle that expected attached as a second or third monolayer, etc. can be removed due to the fact that such possible multilayers of nanoparticles are not covalently bonded to the substrate. Only the first nanoparticle layer is covalently bonded (reads removing monolayers of the plurality of monolayers while retaining the first monolayer to form the substrate with the first monolayer, wherein each nanoparticle in the first monolayer is bonded to another nanoparticle in the first monolayer) ([0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Greer teaches wherein the first monolayer comprises nanoparticles contacting adjacent nanoparticles in the first monolayer as shown in Figs. 2 and 6 ([0062], [0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Greer teaches wherein the nanoparticles comprise silica ([0141]).
Regarding claim 4, Greer teaches wherein the nanoparticles comprise an oxide coated with silica ([0038], [0063], [0141]).
Regarding claim 5, Greer teaches wherein the nanoparticles comprise alumina ([0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Greer teaches wherein the nanoparticles have an average diameter in a range of 25 to 1,000 nm ([0112], [0127]).
Regarding claim 7, Greer teaches wherein the adhesion promoter comprises a single surface functional group, a small molecule, a self- assembled monolayer with an attractive head and tail group, or a long chained polymer ([0030], [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Greer teaches wherein the substrate comprises a semiconductor wafer ([0039]).
Regarding claim 9, Greer teaches wherein the fluid comprises methane equivalence to ethanol ([0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Greer teaches wherein the substrate comprises a light-emitting diode structure (with light-harvesting materials) ([0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Greer teaches wherein the first bond strength is in a range from 0.25 kJ/mol to 500 kJ/mol because wherein: covalent bond permanently attaches the nanoparticles to the surface in a single layer as shown in Figs. 2&6 (reads on a first bond between a first nanoparticle of the first monolayer and the adhesion surface is characterized by a first bond strength), wherein average hydrogen-hydrogen H-H bond strength is approximately 432 KJ/mol (as evidenced by UCalargy Chemistry Textbook Strengths of Ionic and Covalent Bonds attached) (Figs. 2&6).
Regarding claim 12, Greer teaches wherein: a third monolayer of nanoparticles is bonded to the second monolayer of nanoparticles, a fourth bond between a second nanoparticle of the second monolayer and an adjacent nanoparticle of the third monolayer is characterized by a fourth bond strength, and the third bond strength is greater than the fourth bond strength as shown in Figs. 2 and 6 ([0062], [0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Greer teaches wherein the first monolayer of nanoparticles is disposed on the adhesion promoter as shown in Figs. 2 and 6 ([0062], [0063]).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DAH-WEI YUAN can be reached on 5712721295. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HAI Y ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717