DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0267614 A1 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”).
As per claim 1, Park discloses a first base station (Park Fig. 4) comprising: one or more processors (Park Fig. 4); and memory storing instructions that (Park Fig. 4), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first base station to: send, to a second base station, a request of a configuration of a packet flow associated with a network slice for a wireless device (Park Figs. 15, 16, and [0232] FIG. 15 shows an example for communications using resource status information, e.g., for decisions relating to handover, multi-connectivity initiation, and multi-connectivity modification. Resource status information may be provided in communications between base stations, including, e.g., via an Xn interface. A first base station 1502 (e.g., a source gNB) may receive from a second base station 1503 (e.g., a target gNB), a first message 1505. The first message 1505 may comprise, e.g., a resource status information of a first cell 1504 and/or of the second base station 1503, a cell identifier of the first cell 1504, and/or one or more first network slice identifiers of one or more network slices. The resource status information 1505 may be associated with the one or more network slices. The resource status information 1505 may comprise, e.g., one or more of: a radio resource status information; an F1 interface load information, or e.g., a load information for an interface between a central unit and a distributed unit of the second base station 1503 or a front-haul high-layer split interface; an NG interface load information (e.g., load information for an interface between the second base station and a core network entity); a hardware load information; a composite available capacity information; and/or a network slice overload indicator. The resource status information 1505 may provide the first base station 1502 with one or more indications of the capacity of one or more network slices, such as the capacity for a first network slice 1508 and/or the capacity for a second network slice 1509, either or both of which may be served by the second base station 1503. Additionally or alternatively, the resource status information 1505 may provide the first base station 1502 with one or more indications of the resource usage of one or more network slices, such as the resource usage for a first network slice 1506 and/or the resource usage for a second network slice 1507, either or both of which may be served by the second base station 1503. The resource status information 1505 may comprise any information for any number of network slices that may be served by the second base station 1503. [0234] The first base station 1502 may make a decision 1511 for a wireless device 1501 (e.g., a UE) at least based on one or more elements of the first message 1505. The first base station 1502 may transmit, to the second base station 1503, a second message 1512 associated with a request for the wireless device 1501. The request in the second message 1512 may be based on, or in response, to the decision 1511. The decision 1511 may be to initiate, e.g., one or more of: a handover toward the first cell 1504, a multi-connectivity initiation employing the first cell 1504, and/or a multi-connectivity modification of a multi-connectivity employing the first cell 1504. For example, the second message 1512 may comprise a handover request message, a multi-connectivity initiation request message, and/or a multi-connectivity modification message. The second message 1512 may comprise a cell identifier of the first cell 1504, a wireless device identifier of the wireless device 1501, one or more network slice identifiers of one or more network slices served to the wireless device 1501, one or more packet flow identifiers of one or more packet flows (e.g., bearers) associated with the one or more network slices served to the wireless device 1501, and/or the like. [0235] After transmitting and/or in response to the second message 1512, the first base station may receive, from the second base station, a third message 1513 that may respond to the request of the second message 1512. The third message 1513 may comprise, e.g., a handover request acknowledge message, a multi-connectivity initiation acknowledge message, and/or a multi-connectivity modification acknowledge message. The third message 1513 may comprise one or more network slice identifiers of one or more accepted network slices, one or more network slice identifiers of one or more rejected network slices, a slice reject cause value indicating that a load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, a handover reject cause value indicating that a traffic load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, a multi-connectivity initiation reject cause value and/or a multi-connectivity modification reject cause value indicating that a traffic load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, and/or the like. After receiving or in response to the third message 1513, the first base station 1502 may transmit a command to the wireless device 1501. The command may comprise, e.g., a handover command or a command for multi-connectivity initiation and/or multi-connectivity modification. The handover command may be based on one or more elements of the third message 1513.); and receive, from the second base station, information indicating that resources associated with the network slice are available at the second base station (Park Figs. 15, 16, and [0232] FIG. 15 shows an example for communications using resource status information, e.g., for decisions relating to handover, multi-connectivity initiation, and multi-connectivity modification. Resource status information may be provided in communications between base stations, including, e.g., via an Xn interface. A first base station 1502 (e.g., a source gNB) may receive from a second base station 1503 (e.g., a target gNB), a first message 1505. The first message 1505 may comprise, e.g., a resource status information of a first cell 1504 and/or of the second base station 1503, a cell identifier of the first cell 1504, and/or one or more first network slice identifiers of one or more network slices. The resource status information 1505 may be associated with the one or more network slices. The resource status information 1505 may comprise, e.g., one or more of: a radio resource status information; an F1 interface load information, or e.g., a load information for an interface between a central unit and a distributed unit of the second base station 1503 or a front-haul high-layer split interface; an NG interface load information (e.g., load information for an interface between the second base station and a core network entity); a hardware load information; a composite available capacity information; and/or a network slice overload indicator. The resource status information 1505 may provide the first base station 1502 with one or more indications of the capacity of one or more network slices, such as the capacity for a first network slice 1508 and/or the capacity for a second network slice 1509, either or both of which may be served by the second base station 1503. Additionally or alternatively, the resource status information 1505 may provide the first base station 1502 with one or more indications of the resource usage of one or more network slices, such as the resource usage for a first network slice 1506 and/or the resource usage for a second network slice 1507, either or both of which may be served by the second base station 1503. The resource status information 1505 may comprise any information for any number of network slices that may be served by the second base station 1503. [0234] The first base station 1502 may make a decision 1511 for a wireless device 1501 (e.g., a UE) at least based on one or more elements of the first message 1505. The first base station 1502 may transmit, to the second base station 1503, a second message 1512 associated with a request for the wireless device 1501. The request in the second message 1512 may be based on, or in response, to the decision 1511. The decision 1511 may be to initiate, e.g., one or more of: a handover toward the first cell 1504, a multi-connectivity initiation employing the first cell 1504, and/or a multi-connectivity modification of a multi-connectivity employing the first cell 1504. For example, the second message 1512 may comprise a handover request message, a multi-connectivity initiation request message, and/or a multi-connectivity modification message. The second message 1512 may comprise a cell identifier of the first cell 1504, a wireless device identifier of the wireless device 1501, one or more network slice identifiers of one or more network slices served to the wireless device 1501, one or more packet flow identifiers of one or more packet flows (e.g., bearers) associated with the one or more network slices served to the wireless device 1501, and/or the like. [0235] After transmitting and/or in response to the second message 1512, the first base station may receive, from the second base station, a third message 1513 that may respond to the request of the second message 1512. The third message 1513 may comprise, e.g., a handover request acknowledge message, a multi-connectivity initiation acknowledge message, and/or a multi-connectivity modification acknowledge message. The third message 1513 may comprise one or more network slice identifiers of one or more accepted network slices, one or more network slice identifiers of one or more rejected network slices, a slice reject cause value indicating that a load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, a handover reject cause value indicating that a traffic load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, a multi-connectivity initiation reject cause value and/or a multi-connectivity modification reject cause value indicating that a traffic load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, and/or the like. After receiving or in response to the third message 1513, the first base station 1502 may transmit a command to the wireless device 1501. The command may comprise, e.g., a handover command or a command for multi-connectivity initiation and/or multi-connectivity modification. The handover command may be based on one or more elements of the third message 1513.), the resources comprising: dedicated resources dedicated to the network slice (Park [0236] FIG. 16 shows an example for a handover, a multi-connectivity initiation, and/or a multi-connectivity modification. The following may be performed, e.g., by the first base station 1502 during the decision 1511, e.g., for the wireless device 1501. The procedure may begin with the first base station 1502 receiving configurations for network slices, at step 1601. Configurations for network slices may comprise information such as types of network slices available in a network, services associated with network slices, priority levels associated with network slices, access permissions associated with network slices, network resources associated with network slices, and any other information a base station may require for serving a network slice or making a decision for serving a network slice. Also see [0282]); and/or prioritized resources prioritized for the network slice (Park [0236] FIG. 16 shows an example for a handover, a multi-connectivity initiation, and/or a multi-connectivity modification. The following may be performed, e.g., by the first base station 1502 during the decision 1511, e.g., for the wireless device 1501. The procedure may begin with the first base station 1502 receiving configurations for network slices, at step 1601. Configurations for network slices may comprise information such as types of network slices available in a network, services associated with network slices, priority levels associated with network slices, access permissions associated with network slices, network resources associated with network slices, and any other information a base station may require for serving a network slice or making a decision for serving a network slice. Also see [0282]).
As per claim 2, Park discloses the first base station of claim 1, wherein the information indicates an amount of the resources available at the second base station (Park [0232,0243]).
As per claim 3, Park discloses the first base station of claim 1, wherein the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park [0232-0236]), and the dedicated resources are: available for the network slice (Park [0232-0236]); and not available for one or more other network slices of the plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 4, Park discloses the first base station of claim 1, wherein the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]), and the prioritized resources are: available for the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and not available for the one or more other network slices if used by the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 5, Park discloses the first base station of claim 1, wherein: the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); the information indicates an amount of shared resources available at the second base station (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and the shared resources are available to a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]), the plurality of network slices comprising the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 6, Park discloses the first base station of claim 1, wherein the indication of the network slice is included in: a handover request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a secondary node addition and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a user equipment context setup and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and/or a bearer context setup and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 7, Park discloses the first base station of claim 1, wherein information indicating whether dedicated and/or prioritized resources are available at the second base station is included in: a handover request acknowledge (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a secondary node addition and/or modification acknowledge (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a user equipment context setup and/or modification response (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and/or a bearer context setup and/or modification response (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 8, Park discloses a second base station (Park Fig. 28) comprising: one or more processors (Park Fig. 28); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Park Fig. 28 and [0307]), cause the second base station to: receive, from a first base station, a request of a configuration of a packet flow associated with a network slice for a wireless device (Park Figs. 15, 16, and [0232] FIG. 15 shows an example for communications using resource status information, e.g., for decisions relating to handover, multi-connectivity initiation, and multi-connectivity modification. Resource status information may be provided in communications between base stations, including, e.g., via an Xn interface. A first base station 1502 (e.g., a source gNB) may receive from a second base station 1503 (e.g., a target gNB), a first message 1505. The first message 1505 may comprise, e.g., a resource status information of a first cell 1504 and/or of the second base station 1503, a cell identifier of the first cell 1504, and/or one or more first network slice identifiers of one or more network slices. The resource status information 1505 may be associated with the one or more network slices. The resource status information 1505 may comprise, e.g., one or more of: a radio resource status information; an F1 interface load information, or e.g., a load information for an interface between a central unit and a distributed unit of the second base station 1503 or a front-haul high-layer split interface; an NG interface load information (e.g., load information for an interface between the second base station and a core network entity); a hardware load information; a composite available capacity information; and/or a network slice overload indicator. The resource status information 1505 may provide the first base station 1502 with one or more indications of the capacity of one or more network slices, such as the capacity for a first network slice 1508 and/or the capacity for a second network slice 1509, either or both of which may be served by the second base station 1503. Additionally or alternatively, the resource status information 1505 may provide the first base station 1502 with one or more indications of the resource usage of one or more network slices, such as the resource usage for a first network slice 1506 and/or the resource usage for a second network slice 1507, either or both of which may be served by the second base station 1503. The resource status information 1505 may comprise any information for any number of network slices that may be served by the second base station 1503. [0234] The first base station 1502 may make a decision 1511 for a wireless device 1501 (e.g., a UE) at least based on one or more elements of the first message 1505. The first base station 1502 may transmit, to the second base station 1503, a second message 1512 associated with a request for the wireless device 1501. The request in the second message 1512 may be based on, or in response, to the decision 1511. The decision 1511 may be to initiate, e.g., one or more of: a handover toward the first cell 1504, a multi-connectivity initiation employing the first cell 1504, and/or a multi-connectivity modification of a multi-connectivity employing the first cell 1504. For example, the second message 1512 may comprise a handover request message, a multi-connectivity initiation request message, and/or a multi-connectivity modification message. The second message 1512 may comprise a cell identifier of the first cell 1504, a wireless device identifier of the wireless device 1501, one or more network slice identifiers of one or more network slices served to the wireless device 1501, one or more packet flow identifiers of one or more packet flows (e.g., bearers) associated with the one or more network slices served to the wireless device 1501, and/or the like. [0235] After transmitting and/or in response to the second message 1512, the first base station may receive, from the second base station, a third message 1513 that may respond to the request of the second message 1512. The third message 1513 may comprise, e.g., a handover request acknowledge message, a multi-connectivity initiation acknowledge message, and/or a multi-connectivity modification acknowledge message. The third message 1513 may comprise one or more network slice identifiers of one or more accepted network slices, one or more network slice identifiers of one or more rejected network slices, a slice reject cause value indicating that a load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, a handover reject cause value indicating that a traffic load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, a multi-connectivity initiation reject cause value and/or a multi-connectivity modification reject cause value indicating that a traffic load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, and/or the like. After receiving or in response to the third message 1513, the first base station 1502 may transmit a command to the wireless device 1501. The command may comprise, e.g., a handover command or a command for multi-connectivity initiation and/or multi-connectivity modification. The handover command may be based on one or more elements of the third message 1513.); and send, to the first base station, information indicating whether: dedicated resources dedicated to the network slice are available at the second base station (Park Figs. 15, 16, and [0232-0236]); and/or prioritized resources prioritized for the network slice are available at the second base station (Park Figs. 15, 16, and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 9, Park discloses the second base station of claim 8, wherein the information indicates an amount of the resources available at the second base station (Park [0232,0243]).
As per claim 10, Park discloses the second base station of claim 8, wherein the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]), and the dedicated resources are: available for the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and not available for one or more other network slices of the plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 11, Park discloses the second base station of claim 8, wherein the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]), and the prioritized resources are: available for the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and not available for the one or more other network slices if used by the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 12, Park discloses the second base station of claim 8, wherein: the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); the information indicates an amount of shared resources available at the second base station (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and the shared resources are available to a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]), the plurality of network slices comprising the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 13, Park discloses the second base station of claim 8, wherein the indication of the network slice is included in: a handover request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a secondary node addition and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a user equipment context setup and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and/or a bearer context setup and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 14, Park discloses the second base station of claim 8, wherein information indicating whether dedicated and/or prioritized resources are available at the second base station is included in: a handover request acknowledge (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a secondary node addition and/or modification acknowledge (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a user equipment context setup and/or modification response (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and/or a bearer context setup and/or modification response (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 15, Park discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a second base station (Park Fig. 28 and [0307]), cause the second base station to: receive, from a first base station, a request of a configuration of a packet flow associated with a network slice for a wireless device (Park Figs. 15, 16, and [0232] FIG. 15 shows an example for communications using resource status information, e.g., for decisions relating to handover, multi-connectivity initiation, and multi-connectivity modification. Resource status information may be provided in communications between base stations, including, e.g., via an Xn interface. A first base station 1502 (e.g., a source gNB) may receive from a second base station 1503 (e.g., a target gNB), a first message 1505. The first message 1505 may comprise, e.g., a resource status information of a first cell 1504 and/or of the second base station 1503, a cell identifier of the first cell 1504, and/or one or more first network slice identifiers of one or more network slices. The resource status information 1505 may be associated with the one or more network slices. The resource status information 1505 may comprise, e.g., one or more of: a radio resource status information; an F1 interface load information, or e.g., a load information for an interface between a central unit and a distributed unit of the second base station 1503 or a front-haul high-layer split interface; an NG interface load information (e.g., load information for an interface between the second base station and a core network entity); a hardware load information; a composite available capacity information; and/or a network slice overload indicator. The resource status information 1505 may provide the first base station 1502 with one or more indications of the capacity of one or more network slices, such as the capacity for a first network slice 1508 and/or the capacity for a second network slice 1509, either or both of which may be served by the second base station 1503. Additionally or alternatively, the resource status information 1505 may provide the first base station 1502 with one or more indications of the resource usage of one or more network slices, such as the resource usage for a first network slice 1506 and/or the resource usage for a second network slice 1507, either or both of which may be served by the second base station 1503. The resource status information 1505 may comprise any information for any number of network slices that may be served by the second base station 1503. [0234] The first base station 1502 may make a decision 1511 for a wireless device 1501 (e.g., a UE) at least based on one or more elements of the first message 1505. The first base station 1502 may transmit, to the second base station 1503, a second message 1512 associated with a request for the wireless device 1501. The request in the second message 1512 may be based on, or in response, to the decision 1511. The decision 1511 may be to initiate, e.g., one or more of: a handover toward the first cell 1504, a multi-connectivity initiation employing the first cell 1504, and/or a multi-connectivity modification of a multi-connectivity employing the first cell 1504. For example, the second message 1512 may comprise a handover request message, a multi-connectivity initiation request message, and/or a multi-connectivity modification message. The second message 1512 may comprise a cell identifier of the first cell 1504, a wireless device identifier of the wireless device 1501, one or more network slice identifiers of one or more network slices served to the wireless device 1501, one or more packet flow identifiers of one or more packet flows (e.g., bearers) associated with the one or more network slices served to the wireless device 1501, and/or the like. [0235] After transmitting and/or in response to the second message 1512, the first base station may receive, from the second base station, a third message 1513 that may respond to the request of the second message 1512. The third message 1513 may comprise, e.g., a handover request acknowledge message, a multi-connectivity initiation acknowledge message, and/or a multi-connectivity modification acknowledge message. The third message 1513 may comprise one or more network slice identifiers of one or more accepted network slices, one or more network slice identifiers of one or more rejected network slices, a slice reject cause value indicating that a load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, a handover reject cause value indicating that a traffic load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, a multi-connectivity initiation reject cause value and/or a multi-connectivity modification reject cause value indicating that a traffic load of one or more slices is high and/or overloaded, and/or the like. After receiving or in response to the third message 1513, the first base station 1502 may transmit a command to the wireless device 1501. The command may comprise, e.g., a handover command or a command for multi-connectivity initiation and/or multi-connectivity modification. The handover command may be based on one or more elements of the third message 1513.); and send, to the first base station, information indicating whether: dedicated resources dedicated to the network slice are available at the second base station (Park Figs. 15, 16, and [0232-0236]); and/or prioritized resources prioritized for the network slice are available at the second base station (Park Figs. 15, 16, and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 16, Park discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the information indicates an amount of the resources available at the second base station (Park [0232,0243]).
As per claim 17, Park discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]), and the dedicated resources are: available for the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and not available for one or more other network slices of the plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 18, Park discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]), and the prioritized resources are: available for the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and not available for the one or more other network slices if used by the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 19, Park discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the network slice is one of a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); the information indicates an amount of shared resources available at the second base station (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and the shared resources are available to a plurality of network slices (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]), the plurality of network slices comprising the network slice (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
As per claim 20, Park discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the indication of the network slice is included in: a handover request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a secondary node addition and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a user equipment context setup and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and/or a bearer context setup and/or modification request (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and the information indicating whether dedicated and/or prioritized resources are available at the second base station is included in: a handover request acknowledge (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a secondary node addition and/or modification acknowledge (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); a user equipment context setup and/or modification response (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]); and/or a bearer context setup and/or modification response (Park Fig. 15 and [0232-0236]).
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476