DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “radiation dose model” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (“Lee” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0185762 A1).
As per claim 1, Lee discloses a system for estimating an optimal radiation does (abstract and figures 14-15) comprising: a scouting image circuit (controller 130 in figure 100 includes a condition setting unit 131) configured to cause an x-ray sensor to operate at a first gain setting to capture a scouting image using a scouting image radiation dose (paragraph [0080] & [0129] & figure 1, numeral 521: “acquiring image signal of subject by pre-shot”; the condition setting 131 sets the gain and radiation dosage for pre-shot; the examiner notes the pre-shot image is the claimed “scouting image”); a radiation dose model configured to provide a diagnostic image radiation dose based on the scouting image (paragraph [0095]: “The first reference level and the second reference level are signal levels based on a relationship between the X-ray dose to be radiated in the pre-shot and the X-ray dose to be radiated in the main shot”; figure 14: numeral 522-529: the pre-shot image signal of the subject is analyzed to determine the adjusted gain and radiation dosage for main shot image of the subject; the main shot is the claimed “diagnostic image”); and a diagnostic image circuit configured to cause the x-ray sensor to operate at a second gain setting to capture a diagnostic image using the provided diagnostic image radiation dose (paragraph [0141]: “The image signal acquired by the pre-shot is analyzed and imaging conditions such as tube voltage, tube current, X-ray exposure time, etc. to be applied in the main shot are set. The main shot may be performed according to the set imaging conditions.”), wherein the second gain setting is less than the first gain setting (paragraph [0138]: “gain of the single pixel region is set to a value lower than original gain (524)”).
As per claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the diagnostic image radiation dose is greater than the scouting image radiation dose (paragraph [0092]: “when output voltage of any pixel region in an image signal acquired by pre-shot is 2V and the X-ray dose to be radiated upon performing the main shot is set to twice that of the pre-shot”).
As per claim 5, Lee discloses a communication link between a controller and the x-ray sensor, the controller comprising the scouting image circuit and the diagnostic image circuit, wherein the communications link is configured to provide gain settings to the x-ray sensor and radiation dose setting to an x-ray emitter, and to receive the scouting image and the diagnostic image from the x-ray sensor (figures 7 & 11).
As per claim 6, Lee discloses wherein the scouting image circuit and diagnostic image circuit comprises a gain control circuit configured to set gain of the x-ray sensor (paragraph [0090]: condition setting unit 131 includes a gain control circuit as shown in figures 7 and 11).
As per claim 7, Lee discloses wherein the scouting image circuit and diagnostic circuit comprises a dosing control circuit configured to set radiation dos of an x-ray emitter (paragraph [0090]).
As per claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the scouting image circuit and the diagnostic circuit comprises one or more processors and one or more memories encoded with instructions (Lee’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes at least a processor and a memory).
As per claim 9, Lee discloses an x-ray system (abstract).
As per claim 10, see explanation in claim 1. The examiner notes Lee’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a non-transitory machine-readable medium.
As per claim 11, see explanation in claim 2.
As per claim 14, see explanation in claim 5.
As per claim 15, see explanation in claim 9.
As per claim 16, see explanation in claim 1.
As per claim 17, see explanation in claim 2.
As per claim 20, see explanation in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 12-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Xia et al (“Xia” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0130520 A1).
As per claim 3, Lee teaches a condition setting unit 131 in controller 130 for analyzing the pre-shot image and determine the gain and radiation dosage for acquiring main-shot image. However, Lee does not explicitly teach the controller is a machine learning algorithm trained on a collection of training scouting images paired with training diagnostic images, the training diagnostic images selected to provide a desired diagnostic image quality.
Xia teaches applying machine learning algorithm (numeral 325 in figure 3A) to generate image quality metric with corresponding a radiation dosage based on simulated CT images from scout scan information and scout scan parameters.
Lee and Xia are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, X-ray imaging.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in light of Xia’s teaching to adapt a machine learning algorithm for training scout scan and corresponding simulated CT images to determine image quality with a corresponding dosage to derive imaging parameters. One would be motivated to do so because “the optimal imaging protocol parameters maximize image quality while minimizing radiation exposure” (Xia: abstract).
As per claim 4, the combination of Lee and Xia teaches wherein the radiation dose model is an algorithm, the algorithm configured based on an analysis of a collection of sample scouting images paired with sample diagnostic images, the sample diagnostic images selected to provided a desired diagnostic image quality (see abstract and figure 3A in Xia).
As per claim 12, see explanation in claim 3.
As per claim 13, see explanation in claim 4.
As per claim 18, see explanation in claim 3.
As per claim 19, see explanation in claim 4.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667