DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
The lead lines for numerals 132 and 13 in fig. 1, the lines for fig. 2, the lead line for numeral 13 in fig. 5, the lead line for numeral 214 in fig.6, the lead line for numeral 13 in fig. 8, the lead line for numeral 214 in fig. 9, and the lead line for numeral 13 in figs. 11 and 12 are not sufficiently dense and dark nor uniformly thick and well-defined (CFR Rules 37.184.l and 37.184.q, MPEP 608.02). Instead, dashed lines are used.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are the following:
“electrical connecting member” in claim 1
The generic placeholder is “member” and the functional limitation is “electrical connecting.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes a “terminal.” Claims 3, 6, and 12 have sufficient structure such that 112(f) is not invoked for the claimed “electrical connecting member” for these claims.
“positioning member” in claim 7
The generic placeholder is “member” and the functional limitations are “positioning” and “position the first section.”
“positioning member” in claim 9
The generic placeholder is “member” and the functional limitations are “positioning” and “position the circuit board.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 and 9 recite “positioning members,” but the Specification fails to disclose any structure in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to readily understand what “positioning members” are or that the inventor possessed the claim subject matter at the time of filing.
In claims 7 and 9, the limitation “positioning members” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “substantially flush.” It is unclear what effect the qualifier “substantially” has on this limitation. The term “substantially” is permitted when it can be understood in view of the Specification (MPEP 2173.05.b). However, the Specification describes “substantially flush” as meaning surfaces that do not have a “substantial level difference” between the surfaces. It is unclear how the term “substantially” can be defined by using the same term, i.e., “substantial.” For the purpose of the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “
Claims 2-17 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 13-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung (US-20220039208-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hung teaches a lens heating device for a vehicle lamp (para 0006), comprising:
a lens (lens 4, fig. 9) including a first outer surface and a first inner surface opposite to the first outer surface (annotated in fig. 9), wherein the first inner surface includes at least one recessed portion (cut-out portion of the lens 4 that the electrical connecting portion 1 occupies, fig. 9) having a bottom face (annotated in fig. 9);
at least one electrical connecting member (electrical connecting portion 1, fig. 9; the electrical connecting portion 1 fits into a circuit board, para 0050, and is construed as being a terminal) including a connecting portion (copper layers 121, fig. 9) disposed in the at least one recessed portion (the horizontal portion of the copper layers 121 in fig. 9 is in the construed “recessed portion”), wherein the connecting portion includes a second outer surface (top surface of copper layers 121, annotated in fig. 9) and a second inner surface (bottom surface of copper layers 121, annotated in fig. 9) opposite to the second outer surface, wherein the second inner surface includes an electrical connection face (the bottom surface is construed as being an electrical connection face because of its interface with the electrically conductive coating layers 13, fig. 9; paras 0046-0047), and wherein the electrical connection face is contiguous to and flush with the first inner surface (the “second inner surface” and the “first inner surface’ are contiguous and flush at the point annotated in fig. 9); and
an electrically conductive layer (electrically conductive coating layer 13, fig. 9) disposed on the first inner surface and the electrical connection face (similar to what is disclosed in the Drawings of the Instant Application, the layer 13 is disposed below the construed “first inner surface” and the “second inner surface”) and configured to generate heat (the coating layers 13 are configured to generate heat for the heating element 22, fig. 8; paras 0034 and 0047; “heat generated by the two electrically conductive coating layers 13,” para 0046).
Hung, fig. 9 (annotated)
Regarding claim 3, Hung teaches wherein the at least one electrical connecting member (electrical connecting portion 1, fig. 9) includes a terminal (the electrical connecting portion 1 fits into a circuit board, para 0050, and is construed as being a terminal) and a coupling base (plastic sheet 121b, fig. 9), wherein the terminal is electrically conductive and includes a first section (top, horizontal part of portion 1, annotated in fig. 9) and a second section (right, vertical part of portion 1, annotated in fig. 9) connected to and at an angle to the first section, wherein the terminal is coupled with the coupling base (the electrical connecting portion 1 is coupled to an insulating plastic sheet 121b, fig. 9), such that an outer side of the coupling base (annotated in fig. 9) forms the connecting portion (copper layers 121 are formed on the left side of the plastic sheet 121b, fig. 9), and an inner side of the first section (annotated in fig. 9) forms the electrical connection face (interface with coating 13, fig. 9).
Hung, fig. 9 (annotated)
Regarding claim 13, Hung teaches wherein the at least one recessed portion of the lens (cut-out portion of the lens 4 that the electrical connecting portion 1 occupies, fig. 9) has a planar shape (the portion of the construed recess that connects with the plastic sheet 121b is planar; fig. 9 the plane is in the horizontal direction and in the depth direction, i.e., in and out of fig. 9; the depth direction is the vertical direction in fig. 8), and wherein the connecting portion (copper layers 121, fig. 9) of the at least one electrical connecting member has a planar shape (the connection portion 1 has a planar shape, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Hung teaches wherein the at least one recessed portion of the lens (cut-out portion of the lens 4 that the electrical connecting portion 1 occupies, fig. 9) has a curved shape (the bottom surface is curved around the fastener 62, fig. 9), and wherein the connecting portion (copper layers 121, fig. 9) of the at least one electrical connecting member has a curved shape (the copper layers 121 are construed as having an interior hole that aligns with the hole 61, which is curved, figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 15, Hung teaches wherein the electrically conductive layer is formed on the first inner surface and the electrical connection face by printing, electroplating (not explicitly disclosed), sputtering (para 0045), or vapor deposition (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 17, Hung teaches wherein the vehicle lamp includes an enclosed space therein (space occupied by the coating layer 13, fig. 9), and wherein the electrically conductive layer (coating layer 13, fig. 9) is exposed to the enclosed space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US-20220039208-A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hung teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose in the fig. 9 embodiment, wherein the at least one electrical connecting member and the lens are integrally coupled with each other through molding.
However, in the fig. 2 embodiment, Hung teaches wherein the at least one electrical connecting member (electrical connection portion 1, fig. 2) and the lens (lens 4, fig. 2) are integrally coupled with each other through molding (para 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fig. 9 embodiment of Hung, in view of the teachings of the fig. 2 embodiment of Hung, by molding, as taught in fig. 2, the electrical connection portion 1 to the lens 4 prior to the application of the coating layer 13, as taught in fig. 9, in order to form an excellent and reliable coupling (para 0049).
Regarding claim 6, Hung teaches wherein the at least one electrical connecting member (electrical connecting portion 1, fig. 9) includes a terminal (the electrical connecting portion 1 fits into a circuit board, para 0050, and is construed as being a terminal) which is electrically conductive and which includes a first section (top, horizontal part of portion 1, annotated in fig. 9) and a second section (right, vertical part of portion 1, annotated in fig. 9) connected to and at an angle (right angle, fig. 9) to the first section, and wherein the first section forms the connecting portion (the construed “first section” is formed of copper layers 121, fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Hung teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose in the fig. 9 embodiment, wherein the lens is coupled with the at least one electrical connecting member through molding by a mold having two positioning members located on two opposite ends of the first section, and wherein the two positioning members abut and position the first section while the lens is being coupled with the first section through molding.
However, in the fig. 2 embodiment, Hung teaches wherein the lens (lens 4, fig. 2) is coupled with the at least one electrical connecting member (electrical connection portion 1, fig. 2) through molding (para 0035) by a mold (mold 3, fig. 2) having two positioning members (the top and bottom molds 3 and construed as the claimed “positioning members”) located on two opposite ends of the first section (the molds 3 are on opposite sides of the horizontal portion of the electrical connection portion 1, fig. 2), and wherein the two positioning members abut and position the first section while the lens is being coupled with the first section through molding (para 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fig. 9 embodiment of Hung, in view of the teachings of the fig. 2 embodiment of Hung, by molding, as taught in fig. 2, the electrical connection portion 1 to the lens 4 prior to the application of the coating layer 13, as taught in fig. 9, in order to form an excellent and reliable coupling (para 0049).
Regarding claim 8, Hung teaches wherein the at least one electrical connecting member is a circuit board (the electrical connection portion 1 connects with the circuit board 5, para 0046; construed such that the portion 1 includes the circuit board).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US-20220039208-A1) as applied to claim 1 and 3 above and further in view of Noda et al. (US-20190120456-A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hung teaches the invention as described above but in this embodiment, Hung does not explicitly disclose wherein the bottom face of the at least one recessed portion includes at least one positioning hole extending through the lens, wherein the connecting portion further includes at least one protrusion, wherein the connecting portion and the at least one recessed portion are coupled with each other through molding, and wherein the at least one protrusion and the at least one positioning hole are coupled with each other through molding.
However, in the fig. 12 embodiments, Hung teaches wherein the bottom face of the at least one recessed portion (cut-out portion of the lens 4 taken by the electrical connection portion 1, fig. 12) includes at least one positioning hole (hole 72, fig. 12), wherein the connecting portion further includes at least one protrusion (fixing member 71, fig. 12), wherein the connecting portion (terminals 74, fig. 12; construed as being equivalent to the copper 121 in fig. 9) and the at least one recessed portion are coupled with each other through molding (para 0053), and wherein the at least one protrusion and the at least one positioning hole are coupled with each other through molding (para 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fig. 9 embodiment of Hung, in view of the teachings of the fig. 12 embodiment of Hung, by molding the electrical connection portion 1 to the lens 4 as well as a fixing member 71 to the top of the electrical connecting portion 1 (but not to the sides) prior to the application of the coating layer13, as taught in fig. 9, in order to form an excellent and reliable coupling further secured by using a fixing member 71 that provides insulation and fixes the electrical connecting portion to the lens (paras 0049 and 0052).
Hung does not explicitly disclose at least one positioning hole extending through the lens.
However, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle lamps, Noda teaches at least one positioning hole extending through the lens (hole in lens 2, fig. 18; para 0079).
Noda, fig. 18
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Hung, in view of the teachings of Noda, by extending the 61, as taught in fig. 9 of Hung, all the way through the lens, as taught by Noda, in order to better secure the electrical connecting portion 1 to the lens using a resin gasket that prevents moisture from infiltrating from outside to inside the vehicle-mounted lamp fitting (Noda, para 0079).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US-20220039208-A1) as applied to claim 1 and 3 above and further in view of Ting et al. (US-20210148539-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hung teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one temperature sensor, wherein the at least one temperature sensor is disposed on the coupling base and is electrically insulated from the terminal.
However, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle lamps, Ting teaches further comprising at least one temperature sensor (sensor 543, fig. 1; para 0051), wherein the at least one temperature sensor is disposed on the coupling base (connection seat 53, fig. 1; construed as being equivalent to the plastic sheet 121b taught in fig. 9 of Hun) and is electrically insulated from the terminal (electrical connection section 513, fig. 1, is construed as being equivalent to the electrical connection portion 1 taught in fig. 9 of Hun; plastic is an insulator).
Ting, fig. 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Hung, in view of the teachings of Ting, by connecting a connection seat 53 and a circuit board 54 with a temperature sensor 543, as taught by Ting, to the electrical connection portion 1, as taught by Hung, where the plastic sheet 121b, as taught by Hung, extended to a connection section 543, as taught by Ting, that was made of plastic, in order to use a temperature sensor on a circuit board that is used to activate the heating layer based on the detected temperature (Ting, para 0010) such that the circuit board was mounted on a connection seat made out of plastic that insulated the circuit board, so that the coupler 542 was the only point of electrical connection between the electrical connection section 543 and the circuit board (Ting, para 0050)
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US-20220039208-A1) as applied to claim 1-2 and 8 above and further in view of Deering et al. (US-20190306926-A1).
Regarding claim 9, Hung teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose in the fig. 9 embodiment, wherein the lens is coupled with the at least one electrical connecting member through molding by a mold having two positioning members located on two opposite ends of the circuit board, and wherein the two positioning members abut and position the circuit board while the lens is being coupled with the circuit board through molding.
However, in the fig. 2 embodiment, Hung teaches wherein the lens (lens 4, fig. 2) is coupled with the at least one electrical connecting member (electrical connection portion 1, fig. 2) through molding (para 0035) by a mold (mold 3, fig. 2) having two positioning members (the top and bottom molds 3 and construed as the claimed “positioning members”) located on two opposite ends of the circuit board (the molds 3 are on opposite sides of the horizontal portion of the electrical connection portion 1, fig. 2), and wherein the two positioning members abut and position the circuit board while the lens is being coupled with the circuit board through molding (para 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fig. 9 embodiment of Hung, in view of the teachings of the fig. 2 embodiment of Hung, by molding, as taught in fig. 2, the electrical connection portion 1 to the lens 4 prior to the application of the coating layer 13, as taught in fig. 9, in order to form an excellent and reliable coupling (para 0049).
Hung does not explicitly disclose the lens is being coupled with the circuit board through molding (although Hung teaches a circuit board 5, Hung only teaches molding the electrical connection portion 1 with the lens and does not explicitly disclose molding the circuit board with the lens).
However, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle lamps, Deering teaches the lens (lens 264, fig. 5) is being coupled with the circuit board (interconnect assembly 284, fig. 25; circuit board 308, fig. 26) through molding (para 0136).
Deering, fig. 25
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Hung, in view of the teachings of Deering, by molding the circuit board to the lens, as taught by Deering, when the electrical connection portion 1 is molded to the lens, as taught by Hung in fig. 2, in order to establish a secure electrical connection between the interconnect assembly and the lens by injection molding them together.
Regarding claim 10, Hung teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one temperature sensor, wherein the at least one temperature sensor is disposed on the circuit board and is electrically insulated from the electrical connection face.
However, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle lamps, Deering teaches further comprising at least one temperature sensor (thermistor 320, fig. 26), wherein the at least one temperature sensor is disposed on the circuit board (circuit board 308, fig. 26) and is electrically insulated from the electrical connection face (the resin plastic that is injected during molding, provides insulation for the conductive ink circuit 292, fig. 25 and para 0139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Hung, in view of the teachings of Deering, by molding the circuit board to the lens, as taught by Deering, when the electrical connection portion 1 is molded to the lens, as taught by Hung in fig. 2, and such that the circuit board 5, as taught by Hung, included a thermistor 320, as taught by Deering, in order to establish a secure electrical connection between the interconnect assembly and the lens by injection molding them together to form a single piece, and in order to use a thermistor to sense the temperature of the lens, which may be indicative of a temperature on the exterior lens side and thus a temperature lens in the lighting system (Deering, paras 0155-0157).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US-20220039208-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Marley et al. (US-20120201031-A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hung teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one electrical connecting member and the lens are heat-bonded with each other by ultrasonic waves, hot gas, hot mold, or infrared rays.
However, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle lamps, Marley teaches wherein the at least one electrical connecting member and the lens are heat-bonded with each other by ultrasonic waves (“heating element 60 or wire may be embedded within a lens via an ultrasonic procedure,” para 0032; construed as a procedure that uses ultrasonic waves), hot gas, hot mold, or infrared rays (not explicitly disclosed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Hung, in view of the teachings of Marley, by using an ultrasonic procedure, as taught by Marley, to bond the electrical connection portion 1 to the lens 4, as taught by Hung, in order to use a process that causes the lens material to melt and to bond with conductor very quickly (Marley, para 0032). Additionally, this claim is a product-by-process claim, and the patentability of a product does not dependent on its method of production. Moreover, the Applicant' s Specification does not indicate that the claimed process would impart distinctive structural characteristics on the final product (MPEP 2113.I).
Regarding claim 12, Hung teaches wherein the at least one electrical connecting member (electrical connecting portion 1, fig. 9) includes a terminal (the electrical connecting portion 1 fits into a circuit board, para 0050, and is construed as being a terminal) which is electrically conductive and which includes a first section (top, horizontal part of portion 1, annotated in fig. 9) and a second section (right, vertical part of portion 1, annotated in fig. 9) connected to and at an angle (right angle, fig. 9) to the first section, and wherein the first section forms the connecting portion (the construed “first section” is formed of copper layers 121, fig. 9).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US-20220039208-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Neuman et al. (US-20150329054-A1).
Regarding claim 16, Hung teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first inner surface of the lens is roughened and metalized by laser activation, and wherein the electrically conductive layer is formed on the first inner surface and the electrical connection face by electroplating.
However, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle lamps, Neuman teaches wherein the first inner surface (surface 66220, fig. 66C) of the lens (substrate 9108, fig. 66C; construed as being the lens taught by Hung) is roughened and metalized by laser activation (“laser ablated,” para 00369; “roughened,” para 00404), and wherein the electrically conductive layer (electroplating layer 66050) is formed on the first inner surface (surface 66220, fig. 66C) and the electrical connection face (face of electro 66126, fig. 66C) by electroplating (para 0366).
Neuman, fig. 66C
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Hung, in view of the teachings of Neuman, by laser ablating, as taught by Neuman, the lens 4, as taught by Hung, and by electroplating, as taught by Neuman, the electrically coating layers 13, as taught by Hung, in order to roughen the surfaces using laser ablation followed but electroplating, for the advantage of using a localized electroplating process that reduces the resistance of the electrically-connecting element, thus increasing the efficiency and reducing the losses as a result of decreasing the resistance of the conductor (Neuman, para 0367). Additionally, this claim is a product-by-process claim, and the patentability of a product does not dependent on its method of production. Moreover, the Applicant' s Specification does not indicate that the claimed process would impart distinctive structural characteristics on the final product (MPEP 2113.I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deering et al. (US-20160363286-A1) teach a lens heating system.
Matsuoka et al. (US-12025284-B2) teach connections for a vehicle lighting unit.
Gurtl et al. (US-12474031-B2) teach a vehicle sensing and lighting unit.
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/20/2026