Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10,12-17, 19-21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 21 recite the limitation “wherein the mask abuts the substrate for at least a part of the forming.” The specification does not describe the limitation in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. The specification at [0072] describes positioning the mask between the nozzle, including optimizing a distance between the mask and the substrate, which assumes a distance between the mask and the substrate. The specification as originally filed does not describe a mask abutting (i.e. making contact with) a substrate.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “whereby adhesion of the raw material is confined to the one or more roughened areas such that the structure is formed without a mask and according to a templated shape defined by the one or more roughened areas.” The specification does not describe the limitation in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. The specification describes various mask materials in paragraph [0061], which ends by describing the use of the substrate as a template by preferentially roughening areas to improve adhesion such that after deposition, material remains only in the roughened areas. The specification as originally filed does not describe preferential roughening and increasing adhesion during deposition specifically “without a mask.”
Claims 8-10,12-17, 20, and 23- 25 are rejected as depending from rejected claims.
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “essentially all the same functional properties.” The limitation is indefinite, because it is not clear what properties are considered to be “functional properties” or what properties are excluded from the term. Moreover, since a raw material and an array of structures with a dimension of less than 100 microns formed from the raw material via cold spray necessarily have different functional properties at least by virtue of one being in a form which allows it to be fed to a sprayer and another being in a form which does not and which provides other functions, they may be considered NOT to have all the same functional properties (without some limiting definition, not supplied by Applicant), making it difficult to understand what the phrase “essentially all the same functional properties” is supposed to include and to exclude. Examiner considers “essentially all the same functional properties” to include the interpretation that at least some properties can be considered essentially the same.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “enhanced magnetization.” The limitation is indefinite as vague, because it is not clear what it requires or what is considered “enhanced.” Examiner considers the limitation to include either magnetization or a change in magnetization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10, 12, 16, 21, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampath et al. (US 2002/0012743) in view of Bousa (WO 2008/141593) and Reznik et al. (US 2018/0274104).
Regarding Claim 7, Sampath et al. (US’743) teaches a method comprising positioning a mask (“elongate strip of flexible aperture material having at least one opening defined therein”) between a cold spray nozzle 100 and a substrate 102 (Figs. 1,3; [0020,0016,0037]) and forming a structure 112 on the substrate by cold spraying a raw material from the cold spray nozzle, wherein the structure has a shape corresponding to an aperture in the mask (Fig. 1; [0040]). US’743 fails to teach that the structures have at least 98% of a theoretical density of the raw material. Bousa (WO’593) is analogous art in the field of cold spraying and suggests that an advantage of cold spraying is that materials can be sprayed with a theoretical density of 99%, which impacts the quality of a sprayed coating (p. 4, fourth paragraph; p. 5, third paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to practice the process of US’743 by cold spraying at 99% theoretical density, because WO’593 suggests cold spraying provides a layer with a theoretical density of at least 99%, which impacts quality of a sprayed coating.
US’743 fails to teach a particle size. US’743 would have at least suggested a particle size less than a size of a feature (e.g. 20 micron) which comprises it. WO’593 teaches a particle size between 1-32 micron (Examples 1, 2, 4, 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of the combination of US’743 to have an average diameter of particles of the raw material cold sprayed onto the structure at about 10 microns or less, because the range of claimed average particle size substantially overlaps with the suggested particle size. Moreover, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the average particle size to achieve a desired coating density and/ or surface roughness.
Additionally, US’743 teaches a mask 110 placed at a distance between the substrate and spray nozzle (Fig. 1). Although US’743 tries to distinguish the terms “aperture member” and “mask” (Abstract; [0010,0067]), the aperture member is either a type of or analogous to a mask that blocks some particles in one area, while allowing other to pass through in a different region (Fig. 1). Mask/ aperture member is placed at a distance from the substrate’s surface [0039]. The combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 fails to teach a mask contacting a substrate. US’743 recognizes that masks were known in art prior to US’743 [0004,0008,0040]. Indeed, Reznik et al. (US’104) is analogous art in the field of spraying, including thermal spraying and cold spraying, including cold spraying with a mask (Abstract; [0003]). US’104 teaches a method, comprising: positioning a mask between a cold spray nozzle and a substrate; and forming a structure on the substrate by cold spraying a raw material from the cold spray nozzle, wherein the structure has a shape corresponding to an aperture in the mask (Abstract; Figs. 6-7; [0045,0051]), wherein the mask abuts the substrate for at least part of the forming (“laying a mask with an opening on the component”) (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0045,0051]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 with a mask abutting the substrate for at least part of the forming, because US’743 recognizes that masks were used in analogous prior art spraying processes, and US’104 suggests a mask, which contacts (i.e. abuts) a substrate for spraying shaped structures on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 8, US’743 teaches that a formed structure has a feature size in at least one dimension of 20 microns as measured along a plane of deposition of the structure (width)[0039].
Regarding Claim 9, US’743 teaches structures with at least one dimension of between 20-200 micron, including 20 micron [0039-0040]. US’743 fails to teach an aperture size. However, US’743 teaches that the size of an aperture member can be altered and clearly suggests that it should be of a size which will produce features with at least one dimension in the range of 20-200 microns (Fig. 1; [0057-0058]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of the combination of references with an aperture with at least one dimension similar in size to that of the feature it is meant to aid in depositing, including a size of less than 100 microns.
Regarding Claim 10, US’743 teaches that the structure has essentially all the same functional properties as the raw material (e.g. metal, electrical properties: conductive, resistive, dielectric, insulative; magnetic properties) (Claims 36,37, 45; [0011]).
Regarding Claim 12, US’743 teaches that the mask has dimensions configured to impose shape anisotropy on a structure or structures (e.g. line) (Figs. 6A-B; [0039-0040, 0058-0059]).
Regarding Claim 16, US’743 teaches that the mask can be formed as a metal sheet or a tape (e.g. continuous elongated flexible plastic or metallic sheet or strip) [0016,0063].
Regarding Claims 21 and 23, US’743 teaches a method comprising positioning a mask (“elongate strip of flexible aperture material having at least one opening defined therein”) between a cold spray nozzle 100 and a substrate 102 (Figs. 1,3; [0020,0016,0037]) and forming a structure 112 on the substrate by cold spraying a raw material from the cold spray nozzle, wherein the structure has a shape corresponding to an aperture in the mask (Fig. 1; [0040]). US’743 teaches that a formed structure has a feature size in at least one dimension of 20 microns as measured along a plane of deposition of the structure (width)[0039].
US’743 fails to teach that the structures have at least 98% of a theoretical density of the raw material. WO’593 is analogous art in the field of cold spraying and suggests that an advantage of cold spraying is that materials can be sprayed with a theoretical density of at least 99%, which impacts the quality of a sprayed coating (p. 4, fourth paragraph; p. 5, third paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to practice the process of US’743 by cold spraying at 99% or more theoretical density, because WO’593 suggests cold spraying provides a layer with a theoretical density of at least 99%, which impacts quality of a sprayed coating.
Additionally, US’743 teaches a mask 110 placed at a distance between the substrate and spray nozzle (Fig. 1). Even though US’743 tries to distinguish the terms “aperture member” and “mask” (Abstract; [0010,0067]), the aperture member is either a type of or analogous to a mask that blocks some particles in one area, while allowing other to pass through in a different region (Fig. 1). Mask/ aperture member is placed at a distance from the substrate’s surface [0039]. The combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 fails to teach a mask contacting a substrate. US’743 recognizes that masks were known in art prior to US’743 [0004,0008,0040]. Indeed, Reznik et al. (US’104) is analogous art in the field of spraying, including thermal spraying and cold spraying, including cold spraying with a mask (Abstract; [0003]). US’104 teaches a method, comprising: positioning a mask between a cold spray nozzle and a substrate; and forming a structure on the substrate by cold spraying a raw material from the cold spray nozzle, wherein the structure has a shape corresponding to an aperture in the mask (Abstract; Figs. 6-7; [0045,0051]), wherein the mask abuts the substrate for at least part of the forming (“laying a mask with an opening on the component”) (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0045,0051]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 with a mask abutting the substrate for at least part of the forming, because US’743 recognizes that masks were used in analogous prior art spraying processes, and US’104 suggests a mask, which contacts (i.e. abuts) a substrate for spraying shaped structures on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 fails to teach that the structure grows along at least a portion of the aperture during forming. Reznik et al. (US’104) is analogous art for cold spraying structures using a mask between a substrate and a cold spray nozzle, which also teaches a mask abutting a plane of deposition. US’104 teaches a method, comprising: positioning a mask between a cold spray nozzle 15 and a substrate 11; and forming a structure 20 on the substrate by cold spraying a raw material from the cold spray nozzle thereby depositing the raw material along a plane of deposition (Fig. 3), wherein the structure has a shape corresponding to an aperture in the mask (Figs. 6-7), wherein the mask abuts (“laying a mask with an opening on the component”) a plane of deposition since the mask is in a geometric plane is space where deposition occurs (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0045,0051]). US’104 shows that a mask that abuts a plane of deposition (i.e. on a plane of a surface of a substrate on which a material is deposited), the deposited structure grows along a portion of the aperture during the forming (Figs. 1-7). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to form the structure by cold spraying such that the cold sprayed structure of the shape of the mask contacting the plane of the surface of a substrate would grow along at least a portion of the aperture.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampath et al. (US 2002/0012743) in view of Bousa (WO 2008/141593) and Reznik et al. (US 2018/0274104) as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Zahiri (WO 2018/232451).
Regarding Claim 13, US’743 teaches patterning conductive structures by cold spraying conductive materials [0011,0044,0067]. The combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 and US’104 fails to teach superconductive materials. Zahiri (WO’451) is analogous art in the field of patterning materials, including conductive materials, by cold spraying [043-044,064], with applications in electronics and superconductivity [064]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of the combination of US’743 in view of US’593 and US’104 by including superconducting material in the raw material, because WO’451 suggests an application in which superconducting materials are deposited in patterns by cold spraying. Because the mask provides a shape to the materials, it “defines” a demagnetization tensor of superconducting material, which depends on a superconducting structure’s shape.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampath et al. (US 2002/0012743) in view of Bousa (WO 2008/141593) and Reznik et al. (US 2018/0274104) as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Angermann (US 2017/0301851).
Regarding Claim 14, US’743 teaches forming multilayer structures of electrical circuits with a variety of electrical or magnetic properties (e.g. conductive, insulative, capacitive, resistive, and magnetic) by cold spraying (Claim 36; [0011,0044]). The combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 and US’104 fails to teach performing the process to produce a thermoelectric structure. Angermann (US’851) is analogous art in the field of forming electrical structures by cold spraying and suggests depositing p- and n-type thermoelectrics by patterning them in a sequence by cold spraying and forming conductive connection layers (Fig. 1; [0034,0039]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of the combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 and US’104 by sequentially depositing p- and n-type thermoelectrics and forming conductive connection layers, because US’851 suggests cold spraying a sequence of p- and n-type materials to form a thermoelectric element and at least one conductor path element. Moreover, it is prima facie obvious to modify the process of the combination of references by depositing the materials sequentially or simultaneously. MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampath et al. (US 2002/0012743) in view of Bousa (WO 2008/141593) and Reznik et al. (US 2018/0274104) as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Gambino et al. (US 2005/0033819).
Regarding Claim 17, US’743 does not particularly limit substrate material or properties. The combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 and US’104 fails to teach a flexible substrate. Gambino et al. (US’819) is analogous art in the field of depositing features by cold spraying material onto a substrate (Figs. 1-2A; [0041]) and suggests depositing material onto a flexible substrate to form electronics [0048]. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of the combination of US’743 in view of WO’593 and US’104 by depositing structures onto a flexible substrate, because US’819 suggests cold spraying material onto a flexible substrate to produce electronics.
Claim(s) 19-20 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampath et al. (US 2002/0012743) in view of Sun et al. (US 2015/0132602).
Regarding Claim 19, Sampath et al. (US’743) teach a method, comprising forming a templated structure on a substrate by cold spraying a raw material onto the substrate, wherein the substrate has a surface configured to provide a templated shape to the structure (Abstract; Figs. 1,3,4,6A-B; [0055,0058,0020,0037,0042]). US’743 fails to teach that predefined areas on the surface of the substrate are roughened. Sun et al. (US’602) is analogous art in the field of cold spraying and pertinent to Applicant’s problem of forming an adherent coating on a substrate (Abstract). US’602 suggests roughening the surface of a substrate before cold spraying to improve adhesion of the coating [0036]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’743 by roughening predefined areas to which the raw material is confined (i.e. sprayed or coated) on the surface of substrate (e.g. the entire surface of the substrate or those areas which are sprayed) according to the templated shape, because US’602 suggests roughening areas of the substrate to which coating will be applied by cold spraying, and apertures of US’743 define those areas.
Additionally, while US’743 suggests masks were known in the prior art and that an aperture member can substitute for a mask, US’602 neither teaches a mask nor excludes a mask for cold spraying, but suggests roughening to increase adhesion of a cold spray. US’743 suggests using an aperture member instead of a mask; in other words, it suggests excluding a mask in favor of an aperture member. However, the aperture member of US’743 can reasonably be considered a mask. It would have been obvious to omit a mask to omit the function of the mask (MPEP 2144.04.II.A), and US’602 suggests promoting adhesion of cold spray to roughened areas (i.e. areas where a cold spray coating is desired). Similarly, since US’602 suggests roughening areas to increase adhesion of coating to a substrate, it would have been obvious to omit roughening where coating is not applied, since omitting roughening would omit a function of roughening (i.e. increased adhesion).
Regarding Claim 20, US’743 teaches that a structure includes a change in composition along a thickness thereof (Claim 37).
Regarding Claim 15, US’743 fails to teach a particle size. US’743 would have at least suggested a particle size less than a size of a feature (e.g. 20 micron) which comprises it. Additionally, US’602 teaches a particle size between 1 to 50 microns [0041]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of the combination of references to have an average diameter of particles of the raw material cold sprayed onto the structure at about 10 microns or less, because the range of claimed average particle size substantially overlaps with the suggested particle size. Moreover, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the average particle size to achieve a desired coating density and/ or surface roughness.
Claim(s) 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampath et al. (US 2002/0012743) in view of Reznik et al. (US 2018/0274104) and Bousa (WO 2008/141593).
Regarding Claims 21 and 23, US’743 teaches a method comprising positioning a mask (“elongate strip of flexible aperture material having at least one opening defined therein”) between a cold spray nozzle 100 and a substrate 102 (Figs. 1,3; [0020,0016,0037]) and forming a structure 112 on the substrate by cold spraying a raw material from the cold spray nozzle, wherein the structure has a shape corresponding to an aperture in the mask (Fig. 1; [0040]). US’743 teaches that a formed structure has a feature size in at least one dimension of 20 microns as measured along a plane of deposition of the structure (width)[0039]. Additionally, US’743 teaches that a mask does not require contact with the substrate [0008] and reads, “as the aperture 110 does not contact the substrate 102, the substrate need not be planar. This allows for deposits on substrates of complex geometries without requiring a conformal mask being deposited on the surface of the substrate.” This teaching suggests a) that conformal masks that contact a surface of the substrate (i.e. a mask which abuts a substrate) were known at the time of invention and b) that in the case of planar substrates, a mask which abuts the plane of deposition can be used to deposit the coating. However, because US’743 fails to explicitly teach a mask abutting a substrate, US’104 is additionally cited as analogous art for cold spraying structures using a mask between a substrate and a cold spray nozzle, which also teaches a mask abutting a substrate. US’104 teaches a method, comprising: positioning a mask between a cold spray nozzle 15 and a substrate 11; and forming a structure 20 on the substrate by cold spraying a raw material from the cold spray nozzle thereby depositing the raw material along a plane of deposition (Fig. 3), wherein the structure has a shape corresponding to an aperture in the mask (Figs. 6-7), wherein the mask abuts a substrate (“laying a mask with an opening on the component”) (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0045,0051]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’743 with a mask abutting the plane of deposition, because US’104 is analogous art which suggests cold spraying structures using a mask which abuts a plane of deposition to deposit raw a material along a plane of deposition.
The combination of US’743 in view of US’104 fails to teach a theoretical density of at least 98% or at least 99%. Bousa (WO’593) is analogous art in the field of cold spraying and suggests that an advantage of cold spraying is that materials can be sprayed with a theoretical density of 99%, which impacts the quality of a sprayed coating (p. 4, fourth paragraph; p. 5, third paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to practice the process of the combination of US’743 in view of US’104 by cold spraying at 99% theoretical density, because WO’593 suggests cold spraying provides a layer with a theoretical density of at least 99%, which impacts quality of a sprayed coating.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampath et al. (US 2002/0012743) in view of Sun et al. (US 2015/0132602) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Bousa (WO 2008/141593).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of US’743 in view of US’602 fails to teach a structure with at least 98% theoretical density of the raw material. WO’593 is analogous art in the field of cold spraying and suggests that an advantage of cold spraying is that materials can be sprayed with a theoretical density of 99%, which impacts the quality of a sprayed coating (p. 4, fourth paragraph; p. 5, third paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to practice the process of the combination of US’743 in view of US’602 by cold spraying at 99% theoretical density, because WO’593 suggests cold spraying provides a layer with a theoretical density of at least 99%, which impacts quality of a sprayed coating.
Claim(s) 19 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0132602).
Regarding Claim 19, Sun et al. (US’602) teaches roughening the surface of a substrate before cold spraying to improve adhesion of the coating [0036]. US’602 neither teaches a mask nor excludes a mask. It would have been obvious to omit a mask where a mask is not required (e.g. to spray the entire substrate as a template, to spray a pattern that does not require distinct lines, or to retain a spray where the surface is roughened). US’602 also does not specifically teach that the adhesion of the raw material is confined to the one or more roughened areas. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’743 by roughening predefined areas (e.g. the entire substrate) on the surface of substrate according to the templated shape, because US’602 suggests roughening areas of the substrate to which coating will be applied by cold spraying, and apertures of US’743 define those areas. Also, since US’602 suggests roughening areas to increase adhesion of coating to a substrate, it would have been obvious to omit roughening where coating is not applied, since omitting roughening would omit a function of roughening (i.e. increased adhesion). MPEP 2144.04.II.A.
Regarding Claim 15, US’602 teaches a particle size between 1 to 50 microns [0041]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of the combination of references to have an average diameter of particles of the raw material cold sprayed onto the structure at about 10 microns or less, because the range of claimed average particle size substantially overlaps with the suggested particle size. Moreover, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the average particle size to achieve a desired coating density and/ or surface roughness.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2015/0132602) as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Bousa (WO 2008/141593).
Regarding Claim 24, US’602 teaches that a cold sprayed coating can have 99% density [0050], which suggests a comparison to a theoretical density. However, because it is not clear how 99% density is calculated, WO’593 is cited to show the obviousness of the recited percent of theoretical density. WO’593 is analogous art in the field of cold spraying and suggests that an advantage of cold spraying is that materials can be sprayed with a theoretical density of 99%, which impacts the quality of a sprayed coating (p. 4, fourth paragraph; p. 5, third paragraph). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to practice the process of US’602 by cold spraying at 99% theoretical density, because WO’593 suggests that cold spraying provides a layer with a theoretical density of at least 99%, which impacts quality of a sprayed coating.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 6 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 7 and 21 under 35 USC 103 over US’104 in view of WO’593 has been fully considered and overcomes the previous rejection. The rejection of Claims 7 and 21 under 35 USC 103 over US’104 in view of WO’593 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 6 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 19-21 under 35 USC 112(b) has been fully considered and overcomes the previous rejection. The rejection of Claims 19-21 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6 May 2026 with respect to the rejections of Claims 21 and 23 under 35 USC 112(a); the rejections of Claims 10 and 13 under 35 USC 112(b), and the rejections of Claims 7-10, 12-17, 19-21, and 23-25 under 35 USC 103 over various combinations of references, including, for example, US’743 in view of WO’593, US’743 in view of US’602, and US’743 in view of US’104 and WO’593 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s that support is found for Claim 21 in the specification, because the specification describes a deposited structure 118 growing up from the substrate and along the aperture in the mask (Remarks, p. 6), the argument does not address the issue, which is the unsupported limitation “the mask abuts the substrate.”
In response to Applicant’s argument that an amendment to Claim 10 overcomes the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) (Remarks, p. 8), because it still does not address the question of what set of properties can raw unsprayed material have which are considered a set of functional properties which can be ALL be “essentially all of the same” when the unsprayed raw material appears to have a different function than raw material already sprayed. Applicant has offered no amendment, argument, or definition to resolve the question.
In response to Applicant’s argument that in Claim 13, the limitation “enhanced magnetization” is indefinite (Remarks, p. 8), the argument is unpersuasive because it does not provide adequate definition of the term “enhanced,” and merely indicates a portion of the specification which merely uses the same term without adequate guidance as to a standard or comparison to determine that magnetization is “enhanced.”
In response to Applicant’s argument that “none of the art teaches or suggests the unique combination of features claimed” (Remarks, pp. 10-12), the assertion is made in the context of an amendment to Claim 7 to require an average particle diameter of 10 microns or less. Yet, the argument does not address the previous rejection of Claim 15, which includes the limitation now incorporated into Claim 7. Additionally, US’104 teaches a mask, which contacts a substrate. Additionally, Applicant’s specification describes a mask which is at a distance from the substrate [0072], not one that abuts (i.e. contacts) the substrate.
In response to Applicant’s argument concerning the rejection of Claim 13 (Remarks, p. 13), the argument, not the claim, appears again to confuse a demagnetization tensor of a superconducting material (placed in brackets) with a property of a mask. The superconducting material deposited as a layer in some shape undefined by the claim has, as a property of the material and whatever shape it has, a demagnetization tensor. “Enhanced magnetization” is a vague term with no standard defined in the claim and with insufficient guidance in the specification. Additionally, no basis for comparison is provided either in the claim or in the specification.
In response to Applicant’s argument concerning Claim 19 (Remarks, p. 14), Applicant offers no specific argument against the rejection and just concludes generally that the art fails to teach or suggest the “unique combination of features claimed.
In response to Applicant’s argument concerning Claim 21 (Remarks, p. 15), Applicant offers no specific argument against the rejection and just concludes generally that the art fails to teach or suggest the “unique combination of features claimed. Additionally, the argument fails to address the rejection of previous Claim 8, now incorporated into Claim 21.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712