DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments provided on 06/26/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
Regarding the amended limitations of claim 1, the applicant asserts that Lin does not teach that “the data loading transistor Tdata is an n-type transistor identical to an oxide transistor Toxide and an initialization transistor Tini, and includes the same active layer material as the oxide transistor Toxide and includes a different active layer material as the initialization transistor Tini”. The Office respectfully disagrees. While the applicant points to ¶ 49 of Lin, the Office has previously pointed to ¶ 55-56 of Lin which clearly teach such limitations. Specifically, Lin teaches in ¶ 56 that Tdata “may be implemented as semiconducting-oxide” transistor. In other words, Tdata and Toxide may be implemented to have the same active layer material of semiconducting-oxide material. Further, ¶ 110 teaches that any of the transistors used in such a circuit may be implemented as n-type or p-type. Furthermore, the combination of Lin in view of Cha and further in view of Zhang teaches that the material of the active layer of Tini may be different than that of Toxide and or Tdata. In other words, Zhang clearly teaches that two n-type transistors may have different materials to utilize the advantages of such materials depending on the function of the transistor. Accordingly, the arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al., US 2020/0226978 A1, hereinafter “Lin”, in view of Cha et al., US 2021/0158751 A1, hereinafter “Cha”, and further in view of Zhang et al., US 2022/0157239 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a display device (fig. 1, element 10, ¶ 39) comprising: a display panel (fig. 2, element 14, ¶ 14) having a plurality of sub-pixels defined thereon (fig. 2, elements 22, ¶ 43); and at least one gate driver (fig. 2, element 18) comprising a scan driver and an emission control driver configured to control the plurality of sub-pixels (¶ 50), wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprise: a light-emitting element (fig. 17a, ¶ 57, element 304); a driving transistor (fig. 17a, Tdrive) configured to control the light-emitting element (¶ 56); at least one switching transistor (fig. 17A, see different switching transistors connected to Tdrive) coupled to the driving transistor; a third pixel transistor (fig. 17A, Tem1) configured to transmit a high potential power voltage (VDDEL) to the driving transistor; a fourth pixel transistor (fig. 17A, Tem2) connected between the driving transistor and the light-emitting element; a capacitor (fig. 17A, Cst) connected between a node of the high potential power voltage and a gate electrode of the driving transistor; a fifth transistor (fig. 17A, Tini) connected between the gate electrode of the driving transistor and a node of a first initialization voltage (fig. 17A, Tini between Vini and gate of Tdrive); a sixth pixel transistor (fig. 17A, Tar) connected to an anode of the light-emitting element; and a seventh pixel transistor (fig. 17A, Tobs) connected to a source electrode of the driving transistor, wherein the at least one switching transistor is an oxide semiconductor transistor or a low-temperature poly-silicon transistor (fig. 17A, Toxide), wherein the at least one switching transistor includes a first pixel transistor connected between the gate electrode and a drain electrode of the driving transistor (fig. 17A, Toxide) and a second pixel transistor configured to transmit a data voltage to the driving transistor (fig. 17A, Tdata, ¶ 64), wherein the driving transistor, the third pixel transistor, the fourth pixel transistor, the sixth pixel transistor and the seventh pixel transistor are implemented as p-type transistors (see fig. 17A) and the second pixel transistor is implemented as an n-type transistor so that the data voltage increases when a kickback occurs due to the turn-off of the second pixel transistor (¶ 55-56 wherein Tdata may be implemented as an n-type transistor; note that by configuring Tdata as an n-type transistor, the gate voltage of the transistor transitions from high to low voltage which produces a kickback voltage based on which the outputted data voltage increases according to kickback phenomenon), and wherein the first pixel transistor and the fifth pixel transistor are both n-type transistors (fig. 17A, see Toxide and Tini, ¶ 110), the first pixel transistor including an oxide semiconductor active layer (¶ 110), wherein the second pixel transistor, which is an n-type transistor, includes the same oxide semiconductor active layer material as the first pixel transistor (¶ 56: “If desired, any of the remaining transistors Tdata, Tem1, Tem2, Tini1, and Tini2 may be implemented as semiconducting-oxide transistors”).
Lin does not specifically teach that the at least one gate driver includes a same type of p-type transistor as a p-type transistor of the plurality of sub-pixels.
Cha teaches that the at least one gate driver includes a same type of p-type transistor as a p-type transistor of the plurality of sub-pixels (¶ 89, wherein the transistors in the gate drivers include P-type LTPS transistors and are formed in the same process as that of the pixel circuits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Cha. The references teach display devices including pixel circuits and scan driving units. Cha further teaches that the transistors are formed in the same process for the pixel circuits and the scan drivers, motivating one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Cha in order to simplify the manufacturing process of producing the display devices while reducing the costs associated with such processes.
Lin and Cha do not specifically teach that the first and fifth transistors have different active layer materials from one another and the fifth pixel transistor includes a low-temperature polysilicon active layer. Further, Lin and Cha do not teach that the second pixel transistor includes a different active layer material from that of the fifth pixel transistor.
Zhang, however, clearly teaches that the first and fifth transistors have different active layer materials from one another and the fifth pixel transistor includes a low-temperature polysilicon active layer while the first pixel transistor includes an oxide semiconductor active layer (¶ 61: “the initialization transistor T2 is a silicon transistor, and the compensation transistor T3 is an oxide transistor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Lin and Cha, further in view of Zhang. Lin clearly teaches that different types of transistors (such as oxide and silicon p-type and n-type transistors) may be used in a pixel circuit (see ¶ 56 and ¶ 110). Zhang teaches a pixel circuit similar to that of Lin and further clearly teaches that the initialization transistor and compensation transistor, while N-type (see ¶ 62 of Zhang), may be formed of different materials. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Zhang clearly teaches that such a configuration improves the compensation effect of the driving transistor thus ensuring the stable light emission of the light emitting device (¶ 61).
Regarding claim 14, Lin teaches that the first pixel transistor and the fifth pixel transistor are configured to be turned on at different periods (fig. 17B, see different timings of SC1 and SC4).
Regarding claim 15, Lin teaches that the second pixel transistor is configured to be turned on by a scan signal (Tdata is turned on by scan signal SC2).
Regarding claim 17, Lin teaches that the sixth pixel transistor is configured to transmit an anode reset voltage to the anode (Tar transmits Var which is an anode reset voltage).
Regarding claim 18, Lin teaches that the seventh pixel transistor is configured transmit a second initialization voltage to the source electrode of the driving transistor (Tobs transmits VOBS which is a second initialization voltage, see ¶ 111).
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches that the sixth pixel transistor and the seventh pixel transistor are configured to be turned on simultaneously (fig. 17A, both are connected to SC3).
Regarding claim 20, Lin teaches that the third pixel transistor and the fourth pixel transistor are configured to be turned on simultaneously (fig. 17A, both are connected to EM).
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621