DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendments filed on 7/15/2026.
Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17 have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection using Ahmed et al. (US 2022/0021423). Note that the new ground of rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s claim amendment(s) filed on 7/15/2026, since Applicant’s claim amendments add new limitations that were not previously presented and thus require new search and consideration by the Examiner. The specific rationale of the new prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 (as applicable) for claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17 are each stated later in this Office Action (all of which is incorporated by reference into this section of this Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, and 15-17 are concurrently rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahmed et al. (US 2022/0021423: hereinafter “Ahmed”).
With regards to claims 1 and 15, Ahmed teaches a distributed unit (DU) and a method of operating a/the distributed unit (DU) (see figs. 1a/b and 3-5 and paragraphs [0062-0070] and [0075-0085], which address the three different implementations/examples of figs. 3-5 (which concurrently meet the instant limitations). The DU (and RU) being explicitly stated as well as shown graphically. Note that the method steps are implemented as functions within the device/DU and invention of Ahmed (as addressed below)) comprising (addressed below):
a processor (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: where figure 1b shows that the DU 115 and RU 105 each include at least one processor and memory unit within the nested circuitry (106/116 and 107/117, and 108/118) as well as paragraphs [0094-0102]); and
a transceiver (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: where the DU includes at least one transceiver in order to bi-directionally communicate with the RU (and/or RU controller) as shown by at least figure 1b) operatively coupled to the processor (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), the transceiver (previously addressed) configured to (addressed below):
transmit information indicating a plurality of candidate spatial combining methods (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: see paragraphs [0062-0070] and [0075-0085], where the DU is operative to calculate/generate a codebook representing a ‘plurality of different candidate combining methods’ for the RU combiner (i.e. defining multiple possible RU combining matrix methods/modes), where the codebook is sent from DU to the RU (which is received and stored by the RU). For example see [0062-0063] and [0065-0068], below:
[0062] 1) Calculating (generating) the codebook: [0063] a. The codebook is designed at O-DU and is sent to O-RU. [0065] c. The codebook will be the orthogonal matrix designed by either discrete Fourier transform (DFT) matrix or type I codebook.
[0066] 2) Selecting the projection matrix at the CAT-B O-RU: [0067] a. The codebook is given by O-DU (and the codebook is buffered at O-RU), which is used to design RU combining matrix at the O-RU (RU combiner). The buffered codebook does not need to update periodically. [0068] b. The projection matrix is selected from the best codebook, and N-by-N codebook is reduced to R-by-N projection matrix.
Additionally the Examiner notes that the RU combiner (and/or selected RU combining/projection matrix) implements spatial combining and spatial compression (via the one selected combining matrix and/or ‘projection matrix’). For example, see [0068-0070], below:
[0068] b. The projection matrix is selected from the best codebook, and N-by-N codebook is reduced to R-by-N projection matrix.
[0069] 3) Compressing data across all antennas to R streams data at O-RU:
[0070] a. O-RU will send compressed IQ data to O-DU by applying RU combination matrix. In that case, N (the number of base station (BS) antennas) dimension IQ data is reduced to R dimension IQ data); and
receive a spatially compressed signal (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: see paragraphs [0062-0070] and [0075-0085]; where DU receives the spatially compressed signal output by the ‘RU combining matrix’ of the RU’s combiner which spatially compresses/reduces the amount of spatial streams (e.g. from N-by-N to R-by-N). The other limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent). Also see at least [0107-0129]), wherein the spatially compressed signal is based on at least one of the candidate spatially combining methods (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claims 2 and 16, Ahmed teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 15.
Ahmed further teaches wherein:
the transceiver [of the DU] (previously addressed) is further configured to (addressed below):
receive, from a radio unit (RU), information indicating a spatial combining method supported by the RU, from the plurality of candidate spatial combining methods (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: where [0133-0139], [0146-0151], [0160], [0213-0215], and [0218-0220] each address that the DU (and transceiver of the DU) receives information indicating whether a spatial combining method is supported by the RU (or not) in regards to the previously addressed codebook and previously addressed RU combining/project matrix. For example, [0160] states “the RU reports if it supports this new combining mode and the DU can choose to configure it”); and
transmit information indicating spatial combining weights for the spatial combining method (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: see cited paragraphs [0061-0070] and [0075-0085] which explicitly addressed the selected ‘spatial combining method’ (of the plurality of spatial combining methods/modes) is implemented using corresponding ‘spatially combining weights’ (applied to the RU-combiner to reduce/compress the amount of spatial streams output to the DU, as previously addressed).
Additionally but not exclusively, see [0149-0150] states “[0149] DU sends the RU combining weights (defined for the RU combiner) via C-plane messages to RU. [0150] RU sends R streams to DU instead of U (data layers for UE)”. Other later sections/paragraphs of Ahmed also address these limitations), and
the spatially compressed signal is based on at least one of the spatial combining weights (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claims 4 and 17, Ahmed teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 16.
Ahmed further teaches wherein the spatial combining weights (previously addressed) are chosen based on at least one of a plurality of port groups (not given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of”), a codebook (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), and a channel state information (CSI) (not given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of”).
With regards to claim 8, Ahmed teaches a radio unit (RU) (see figs. 1a/b and 3-5 and paragraphs [0062-0070] and [0075-0085], which address the three different implementations/examples of figs. 3-5 (which concurrently meet the instant limitations). The RU (and DU) being explicitly stated as well as shown graphically. Note that the method steps are implemented as functions within the device/RU and invention of Ahmed (as addressed below)) comprising (addressed below):
a processor (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: where figure 1b shows that the DU 115 and RU 105 each include at least one processor and memory unit within the nested circuitry (106/116 and 107/117, and 108/118) as well as paragraphs [0094-0102]); and
a transceiver (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: where the RU includes at least one transceiver in order to bi-directionally communicate with the DU (and/or RU controller) as shown by at least figure 1b) operatively coupled to the processor (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), the transceiver (previously addressed) configured to (addressed below):
receive information indicating a plurality of candidate spatial combining methods (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: see paragraphs [0062-0070] and [0075-0085], where the DU is operative to calculate/generate a codebook representing a ‘plurality of different candidate combining methods’ for the RU combiner (i.e. defining multiple possible RU combining matrix methods/modes), where the codebook is sent from DU to the RU (which is received and stored by the RU). For example see [0062-0063] and [0065-0068], below:
[0062] 1) Calculating (generating) the codebook: [0063] a. The codebook is designed at O-DU and is sent to O-RU. [0065] c. The codebook will be the orthogonal matrix designed by either discrete Fourier transform (DFT) matrix or type I codebook.
[0066] 2) Selecting the projection matrix at the CAT-B O-RU: [0067] a. The codebook is given by O-DU (and the codebook is buffered at O-RU), which is used to design RU combining matrix at the O-RU (RU combiner). The buffered codebook does not need to update periodically. [0068] b. The projection matrix is selected from the best codebook, and N-by-N codebook is reduced to R-by-N projection matrix.
Additionally the Examiner notes that the RU combiner (and/or selected RU combining/projection matrix) implements spatial combining and spatial compression (via the one selected combining matrix and/or ‘projection matrix’). For example, see [0068-0070], below:
[0068] b. The projection matrix is selected from the best codebook, and N-by-N codebook is reduced to R-by-N projection matrix.
[0069] 3) Compressing data across all antennas to R streams data at O-RU:
[0070] a. O-RU will send compressed IQ data to O-DU by applying RU combination matrix. In that case, N (the number of base station (BS) antennas) dimension IQ data is reduced to R dimension IQ data); and
transmit a spatially compressed signal (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: see paragraphs [0062-0070] and [0075-0085]; where DU receives the transmitted spatially compressed signal output by the ‘RU combining matrix’ of the RU’s combiner which spatially compresses/reduces the amount of spatial streams (e.g. from N-by-N to R-by-N). The other limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent). Also see at least [0107-0129]), wherein the spatially compressed signal is based on at least one of the candidate spatial combining methods (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claim 9, Ahmed teaches the limitations of claim 8, above.
Ahmed further teaches wherein:
the transceiver [of the RU] (previously addressed) is further configured to (addressed below):
transmit, information indicating a spatial combining method supported by the RU, from the plurality of candidate spatial combining methods (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: where [0133-0139], [0146-0151], [0160], [0213-0215], and [0218-0220] each address that the DU receives information (transmitted/output by the RU and transceiver of the RU) indicating whether a spatial combining method is supported by the RU (or not) in regards to the previously addressed codebook and previously addressed RU combining/project matrix. For example, [0160] states “the RU reports if it supports this new combining mode and the DU can choose to configure it”); and
receive, from a distributed unit (DU), information indicating spatial combining weights for the spatial combining method (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: see cited paragraphs [0061-0070] and [0075-0085] which explicitly addressed the selected ‘spatial combining method’ (of the plurality of spatial combining methods/modes) is implemented using corresponding ‘spatially combining weights’ (applied at the RU-combiner to reduce/compress the amount of spatial streams further output to the DU, as previously addressed).
Additionally but not exclusively, see [0149-0150] states “[0149] DU sends the RU combining weights (defined for the RU combiner) via C-plane messages to RU. [0150] RU sends R streams to DU instead of U (data layers for UE)”. Other later sections/paragraphs of Ahmed also address these limitations), and
the spatially compressed signal is based on at least one of the spatial combining weights (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claim 11, Ahmed teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Ahmed further teaches wherein the spatial combining weights (previously addressed) are chosen based on at least one of a plurality of port groups (not given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of”), a codebook (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), and a channel state information (CSI) (not given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2022/0021423: hereinafter “Ahmed”) as applied to claims 2 and 9 above.
With regards to claim 3, Ahmed teaches the limitations of claim 2, as addressed above.
Ahmed further teaches wherein:
the transceiver [of the DU] (previously addressed) is further configured to receive sounding reference signal (SRS) (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: figs. 4 and 5 graphically show that the DU (and the transceiver of the DU) receives uplink SRS signals, also see at least [0013-0014], [0075-0079], and [0141]), and
the spatial combining weights are based on the SRS (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
Limitation 1 (below):
Ahmed is silent to disclosing that the SRS signal(s) are ‘SRS CSI’ signals.
With respect to the claim language, Ahmed is silent to disclosing (with emphasis added):
wherein:
the transceiver is further configured to receive sounding reference signal (SRS) channel state information (CSI), and
the spatial combining weights are based on the SRS CSI.
However, the Ahmed reference is directed to 4G and/or 5G communication standards/technology which includes SRS reception at the RU and DU (which are network nodes), see [0013+0014]. Where [0013] states “sounding reference signal (SRS) is a reference signal sent in the UL direction from the UE to the network for the purpose of channel sounding” and [0014] states “[0014] 4G and/or 5G massive multiple input, multiple output (mMIMO) is an example technology that uses the O-RAN 7.2x specifications. In mMIMO systems, the gNB serves multiple users at the same time using the same time/frequency resources. In UL, UEs send sounding reference signals (SRS) over a relatively long period of time, which are sent to the O-DU from the O-RU via the fronthaul interface. Using the SRS, the O-DU then calculates the channel estimates, user pairing and combining matrix for the scheduled users. The O-DU sends the combining matrix weights to the O-RU, which in return applies these weights to the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) symbols and sends the frequency domain In-phase and Quadrature (IQ) samples to the O-DU.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the Chanel State Information (CSI) is addressing the known concept of channel estimation by the receiver device (DU and/or RU) in the existing 5G communication standard, and that the ‘SRS CSI’ is obviously addressing that the SRS is used for channel estimation/CSI (as well as the subsequent calculation of the spatial combining weights, which are disclosed by at least previously addressed paragraphs [0013+0014] of Ahmend, above).
Therefore, in view of the cited merits of the existing 5G communication standard as well as the cited sections of Ahmend above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the received (and processed) SRS signal(s) (by the DU and/or RU transceiver(s)) devices of Ahmed reference would obviously be considered SRS CSI signal(s).
With regards to claim 10, Ahmed teaches the limitations of claim 9, as addressed above.
Ahmed further teaches wherein:
the transceiver [of the RU] (previously addressed) is further configured to transmit sounding reference signal (SRS) (figs. 1a/b and 3-5: figs. 4 and 5 graphically show that the DU (and the transceiver of the DU) receives uplink SRS signals that were/are transmitted by the RU (and RU transceiver), also see at least [0013-0014], [0075-0079], and [0141]. Additionally, [0013] states “sounding reference signal (SRS) is a reference signal sent in the UL direction from the UE to the network for the purpose of channel sounding” and [0014] states “[0014] 4G and/or 5G massive multiple input, multiple output (mMIMO) is an example technology that uses the O-RAN 7.2x specifications. In mMIMO systems, the gNB serves multiple users at the same time using the same time/frequency resources. In UL, UEs send sounding reference signals (SRS) over a relatively long period of time, which are sent to the O-DU from the O-RU via the fronthaul interface. Using the SRS, the O-DU then calculates the channel estimates, user pairing and combining matrix for the scheduled users. The O-DU sends the combining matrix weights to the O-RU, which in return applies these weights to the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) symbols and sends the frequency domain In-phase and Quadrature (IQ) samples to the O-DU.”), and the spatial combining weights are based on the SRS (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
Limitation 1 (below):
Ahmed is silent to disclosing that the SRS signal(s) are ‘SRS CSI’ signals.
With respect to the claim language, Ahmed is silent to disclosing (with emphasis added):
transmit sounding reference signal (SRS) channel state information (CSI), and the spatial combining weights are based on the SRS CSI.
However, the Ahmed reference is directed to 4G and/or 5G communication standards/technology which includes SRS reception (with respect to the UE) at the RU and DU (which are network nodes), see [0013+0014]. Where [0013] states “sounding reference signal (SRS) is a reference signal sent in the UL direction from the UE to the network for the purpose of channel sounding” and [0014] states “[0014] 4G and/or 5G massive multiple input, multiple output (mMIMO) is an example technology that uses the O-RAN 7.2x specifications. In mMIMO systems, the gNB serves multiple users at the same time using the same time/frequency resources. In UL, UEs send sounding reference signals (SRS) over a relatively long period of time, which are sent to the O-DU from the O-RU via the fronthaul interface. Using the SRS, the O-DU then calculates the channel estimates, user pairing and combining matrix for the scheduled users. The O-DU sends the combining matrix weights to the O-RU, which in return applies these weights to the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) symbols and sends the frequency domain In-phase and Quadrature (IQ) samples to the O-DU.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the Chanel State Information (CSI) is addressing the known concept of channel estimation by the network device(s) (DU and/or RU) in the existing 5G communication standard, and that the ‘SRS CSI’ is obviously addressing that the SRS is used for channel estimation/CSI (as well as the subsequent calculation of the spatial combining weights, which are disclosed by at least previously addressed paragraphs [0013+0014] of Ahmend, above).
Therefore, in view of the cited merits of the existing 5G communication standard as well as the cited sections of Ahmend above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the received (and processed) SRS signal(s) (by the DU and/or RU transceiver(s)) devices of Ahmed reference would obviously be considered SRS CSI signal(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 12-14, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited in the attached PTO-892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 9/17/2026