DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190351742 A1 Fujii; Toshiharu in view of US 20150091340 A1 Hulway; Michael.
Regarding claim 1, Fujii taches, a seat cooling system for a vehicle, comprising: an HVAC device (fig. 2, element 10) configured to direct conditioned air into a cabin of the vehicle (fig. 1); a seat coupled to a floor of the vehicle (element 5) and having: a seating surface (element 6) that is perforated such that air can flow through the seating surface (element 42), and a base below the seating surface (fig. 1); a fan coupled to the base and configured to pull air through the seating surface in an inward flow direction and to push air through the seating surface in an outward flow direction (element 44); a temperature sensor configured to detect an internal temperature of the vehicle (fig. 2, element 52); and an electronic control unit (ECU) electrically connected to the HVAC device (fig. 2, element 50), the fan, and the temperature sensor and configured to: control the HVAC device to direct a first flow of conditioned air and a second flow of conditioned air (element 42 and 43) into the cabin,
but fails to teach, control the fan to operate in a first blower direction to pull at least a portion of the first flow of conditioned air through the seating surface in the inward flow direction, and control the fan to operate in a second blower direction opposite the first blower direction to push at least a portion of the second flow of conditioned air through the seating surface in the outward flow direction when the internal temperature of the vehicle is less than a first temperature threshold.
However Hulway teaches, control the fan to operate in a first blower direction to pull at least a portion of the first flow of conditioned air through the seating surface in the inward flow direction (fig. 4B), and control the fan to operate in a second blower direction opposite the first blower direction to push at least a portion of the second flow of conditioned air through the seating surface in the outward flow direction (fig. 4A) when the internal temperature of the vehicle is less than a first temperature threshold (para 0025).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan taught by Fujii with the fan taught by Hulway with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is to control temperature of occupant.
Regarding claim 3, Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 1, further comprising a user interface coupled to the dashboard of the vehicle and configured to receive a user input (element 56), wherein the controlling the HVAC device and/or the controlling the fan to pull at least the portion of the first flow of conditioned air is performed based on the user input (para 0095).
Regarding claim 4, Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 1, wherein: the temperature sensor is coupled to the seat, and the internal temperature of the vehicle is a temperature of the seat (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 1, further comprising: a user interface (element 56)coupled to the dashboard of the vehicle and configured to receive a user input (para 0094), wherein: the controlling the fan to pull at least the portion of the first flow of conditioned air is performed when the internal temperature of the vehicle is greater than a second temperature threshold; and the user input includes the first temperature threshold and/or the second temperature threshold (para 0095 “temperature setting switch”).
Regarding claim 6, Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 1, further comprising one or more front air vents coupled to a dashboard and/or a ceiling of the vehicle, wherein the first flow of conditioned air is directed into the cabin through the one or more front air vents and toward the seat (element 31).
Regarding claim 7, Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 6, further comprising one or more rear air vents coupled to the floor of the vehicle and/or the base of the seat, wherein the second flow of conditioned air is directed into the cabin through the one or more rear air vents and toward a bottom and/or a back of the seat (element 43 and 47).
Regarding claim 8, Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 7, further comprising: a front air duct configured to carry conditioned air from the HVAC device to the one or more front air vents (element5 31), and a rear air duct configured to carry conditioned air from the HVAC device to the one or more rear air vents (element 42).
Regarding claim 9, Fujii teaches, a seat cooling system for a vehicle, comprising: an HVAC device (fig. 1, element 10) configured to direct conditioned air into a cabin of the vehicle (element 31); a seat coupled to a floor of the vehicle (element 5) and having: a seating surface (element 6) that is perforated such that air can flow through the seating surface (element 42), and a base below the seating surface (fig. 1); a fan coupled to the base and configured to pull air through the seating surface in an inward flow direction and to push air through the seating surface in an outward flow direction (element 44); a temperature sensor configured to detect an internal temperature of the vehicle (fig. 2, element 52); and an electronic control unit (ECU) electrically connected to the HVAC device (element 50), the fan, and the temperature sensor and configured to: control the HVAC device to direct a first flow of conditioned air through a front air vent of the vehicle and toward the seat (fig. 1) and a second flow of conditioned air through a rear air vent of the vehicle and toward a bottom of the seat (element 43),
But fails to teach, control the fan to operate in a first blower direction to pull at least a portion of the first flow of conditioned air through the seating surface in the inward flow direction when the internal temperature of the vehicle is greater than a first temperature threshold, and control the fan to operate in a second blower direction opposite the first blower direction to push at least a portion of the second flow of conditioned air through the seating surface in the outward flow direction when the internal temperature of the vehicle is less than a second temperature threshold.
However, Hulway teaches, control the fan to operate in a first blower direction to pull at least a portion of the first flow of conditioned air through the seating surface in the inward flow direction (fig. 4B) when the internal temperature of the vehicle is greater than a first temperature threshold and control the fan to operate in a second blower direction opposite the first blower direction to push at least a portion of the second flow of conditioned air through the seating surface in the outward flow direction (fig. 4A) when the internal temperature of the vehicle is less than a second temperature threshold (para 0024-0025 “may be controlled automatically by a temperature sensor”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan taught by Fujii with the fan taught by Hulway with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is to control temperature of occupant.
Regarding claim 11, Fujii as modifies teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 9, wherein the first temperature threshold and/or the second temperature threshold are selected by an occupant through a user interface of the vehicle (para 0095 “temperature setting switch).
Regarding claim 12, Fujii as modifies teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 9, wherein the fan is positioned at least partially within a lower half of the seat (element 44).
Regarding claim 13, Fujii as modifies teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 9, further comprising one or more air ducts configured to carry the first flow of conditioned air from the HVAC device to the front air vent (element 31) and the second flow of conditioned air from the HVAC device to the rear air vent (element 32).
Regarding claim 14, Fujii as modifies teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 9, wherein the front air vent is positioned forward and/or above the seat and the rear air vent is positioned rearward and/or below the seat (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Fujii as modifies teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 9, wherein the first flow of conditioned air is directed through the front air vent before the second flow of conditioned air is directed through the rear air vent (fig. 4, CA arrows).
Regarding claim 16 Fujii teaches, a seat cooling system for a vehicle, comprising: an HVAC device configured to direct conditioned air into a cabin of the vehicle (fig. 1, element 10); a plurality of seats coupled to a floor of the vehicle and each having: a seating surface (element 6) that is perforated such that air can flow through the seating surface (element 42), and a base below the seating surface (fig. 1); one or more fans coupled to the base of each seat of the plurality of seats and configured to pull air through the seating surface of each seat of the plurality of seats in an inward flow direction and to push air through the seating surface of each seat of the plurality of seats in an outward flow direction (element 44); one or more temperature sensors configured to detect an internal temperature of the vehicle (element 52); and an electronic control unit (ECU) electrically connected to the HVAC device (element 50), the one or more fans, and the one or more temperature sensors (fig. 2) and configured to: control the HVAC device to direct one or more first flows of conditioned air through one or more front air vents of the vehicle (element 31) and toward a quantity of seats of the plurality of seats and one or more second flows of conditioned air through one or more rear air vents of the vehicle and toward a bottom of the quantity of seats (element 43),
but fails to teach, plurality of seats and
control the one or more fans to operate in a first blower direction to pull at least a portion of the one or more first flows of conditioned air through the seating surface of each of the quantity of seats in the inward flow direction when the internal temperature of the vehicle is greater than a first temperature threshold, and control the one or more fans to operate in a second blower direction opposite the first blower direction to push at least a portion of the one or more second flows of conditioned air through the seating surface of each of the quantity of seats in the outward flow direction when the internal temperature of the vehicle is less than a second temperature threshold.
Fujii discloses the claimed invention except for plurality of seats. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a plurality, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378.
Hulway teaches, control the one or more fans to operate in a first blower direction to pull at least a portion of the one or more first flows of conditioned air through the seating surface of each of the quantity of seats in the inward flow direction (fig. 4B) when the internal temperature of the vehicle is greater than a first temperature threshold, and control the one or more fans to operate in a second blower direction opposite the first blower direction to push at least a portion of the one or more second flows of conditioned air through the seating surface of each of the quantity of seats in the outward flow direction (fig. 4A) when the internal temperature of the vehicle is less than a second temperature threshold (para 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 17, Fujii teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 16, wherein at least one of the one or more front air vents is positioned forward of each of the plurality of seats (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Fujii teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 17, wherein at least one of the one or more rear air vents is positioned rearward and/or below each of the plurality of seats (elements 43 and 48).
Regarding claim 20, Fujii teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 16, wherein: the one or more temperature sensors are coupled to each of the plurality of seats (fig. 2), and the internal temperature of the vehicle is a temperature of the plurality of seats (element 52).
Claim(s) 2, 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20230191871 A1 Feltham; Graham Lloyd et al..
Regarding claim 2, Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 1, but fails to teach, wherein: the ECU is further configured to receive a user input from a mobile device in communication with the ECU, and the controlling the HVAC device and/or the controlling the fan to pull at least the portion of the first flow of conditioned air is performed based on the user input.
However, Feltham teaches, wherein: the ECU is further configured to receive a user input from a mobile device (fig. 1, element 154) in communication with the ECU (element 102), and the controlling the HVAC device and/or the controlling the fan to pull at least the portion of the first flow of conditioned air is performed based on the user input (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat cooling system taught by Fujii with the mobile device taught by Feltham with a reasonable expectation of success because “user device 154 may be configured to implement a mobile application (e.g., provided by and/or associated with a manufacturer of vehicle 101) that allows a user to access a user profile and specify certain settings or preferences of the user profile, e.g., preferred HVAC settings, preferred thermal settings for a vehicle component (e.g., a ventilated seat or steering wheel, other any other suitable component to which thermal energy may be directed) or any other suitable settings, or any combination thereof.” (para 0022).
Regarding claim 10, Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 9, but is silent on, further comprising an occupant sensor configured to detect an occupant sitting in the seat, wherein the controlling the HVAC device is performed in response to the occupant sensor detecting the occupant sitting in the seat.
However Feltham teaches, further comprising an occupant sensor configured to detect an occupant sitting in the seat (fig. 1, element 134), wherein the controlling the HVAC device is performed in response to the occupant sensor detecting the occupant sitting in the seat (para 0052, “HVAC settings to be applied in the event the occupant is determined to exit seat 124 or seat 124 is otherwise unoccupied”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat cooling system taught by Fujii with the sensor taught by Feltham with a reasonable expectation of success “to monitor actions of the user and a location of the user within vehicle” (para 0052).
Regarding claim 19 Fujii, as modified teaches, the seat cooling system of claim 16, but fails to teach, further comprising one or more occupant sensors coupled to each of the plurality of seats and configured to detect whether an occupant is sitting in a respective seat of the plurality of seats, wherein the quantity of seats is equal to the number of detected sitting occupants.
However Feltham teaches, further comprising one or more occupant sensors coupled to each of the plurality of seats and configured to detect whether an occupant is sitting in a respective seat of the plurality of seats (fig. 1, element 134), wherein the quantity of seats is equal to the number of detected sitting occupants.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat cooling system taught by Fujii with the sensor taught by Feltham with a reasonable expectation of success “to monitor actions of the user and a location of the user within vehicle” (para 0052).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642