DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 12/17/2025 has been entered. The claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, applicant argued in essence with the multiple references cited against the claim invention. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner has combined an excessive number of references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
In Remarks, applicant argued that the classification values and contour segments are separate elements. However, Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 12-14 the classification values 0, -1, 1 of the mesh cells and the contour segments as separate entities. Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 12-14 and Paragraph 0018-0026 the classification values (scores of the risk levels) of the mesh cells and the contour segments as separate entities. The examiner did not equate the classification values and contour segments as applicant alleged. The risk regions are classified/detected according to the risk levels.
Moreover, applicant failed to specifically or properly respond to the ground(s) of rejection based on Bitar ‘283.
On the outset, applicant argued that Bitar ‘283 does not disclose both the classification values and the contour segments generated for each of the classes. Bitar ‘283 clearly shows in each of FIG. 5, FIG. 7, FIG. 4 both the classification values (e.g., 1, -1, 0) and the contour segments of the enclosed contours of the risk regions generated for each type/class of risk regions.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0018-0026 detection means for detecting points of the lateral zones of tight deployment belonging to one or more types of risk region, and alarm means triggered by the detection means at each detection of a point of a lateral zone of deployment belonging to at least one type of risk region. The detection means of Bitar ‘283 is the same as the classification means. A point (with a score of the risk level) belonging at least one type of risk region to means the point is classified into at least one type of risk region.
Bitar ‘283’s three types of risk regions meet the claimed classes and the classification values (0, -1, 1) of the mesh cells meet the claimed classification values. Applicant further argued that the cited references do not disclose or suggest classifier cases recited in the claim 1. Applicant’s allegation is unfounded. Bitar ‘283 teaches that the mesh cells are classified into the three types of risk regions (three classifier cases). For example, in FIG. 12, the classifier case enclosed by the contours indicate which of a plurality of neighboring mesh cells having classification values equal to the classification value 1.
Applicant further alleged that the reference discloses generating contours over a grid of numerical values, but do not disclose a map in which classes and numerical quantities are displayed as separate dimensions of data associated with respective locations. Applicant’s argument is irrelevant. The prior art references meet the claim invention set forth in the claim 1. For example, Bitar ‘283’s three types of risk regions meet the claimed classes and the classification values (0, -1, 1) of the mesh cells meet the claimed classification values. Applicant further argued that the cited references do not disclose or suggest classifier cases recited in the claim 1. Applicant’s allegation is unfounded. Bitar ‘283 teaches three types of risk regions (three classifier cases). For example, in FIG. 12, the classifier case enclosed by the contours indicate which of a plurality of neighboring mesh cells having classification values equal to the classification value 1.
As a final note, Applicant argued that none of the cited references appear to disclose or suggest classifier cases. Applicant failed to find a correspondence between Bitar ‘283’s teaching and the claim features. Bitar ‘283 teaches that the grid of mesh cells are classified into the three types of risk regions (classifier risk regions) based on the classification values of the mesh cells.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 computing the contour segments of the risk region 35 based at least on the topological cases of the mesh cells and classifier cases of the risk regions of the mesh cells.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0103 that based at least in part on the topological cases of the mesh cells having the different classification values and the classifier cases of the risk regions, computing a plurality of contour segments located along horizontal or vertical boundaries of the grid of the mesh cells and computing a plurality of interior contour segments located within the grid of mesh cells.
In other words, Bitar ‘283 teaches a computing device comprising:
one or more processing devices configured to (e.g., the computing device of FIG. 16 and Paragraph 0192 including a visual display 62 and the computer 60):
receive raster data including a plurality of raster data values (Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0089 meshing of the pixels is done through a regular scanning of the pixels of the image by the chamber mask);
obtain classifier grid data including a plurality of classification values selected from among two or more classes (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0018-0026 detection means for detecting points of the lateral zones of tight deployment belonging to one or more types of risk region, and alarm means triggered by the detection means at each detection of a point of a lateral zone of deployment belonging to at least one type of risk region. The detection means of Bitar ‘283 is the same as the classification means. A point (with a score of the risk level) belonging at least one type of risk region to means the point is classified into at least one type of risk region. The risk levels may be mapped to the classification values.
Moreover, the tile elements marked with 0, 1, -1 are also classification values.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 1/14 and Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 (first classification value) in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero (second or third classification values) in the converse case and at Paragraph 0018 detection means for detecting the points of the lateral zones of tight deployment belonging to one or more types of risk regions and at Paragraph 0022-0025 the detection means comprise means for scoring the risk level allocating to each point of the two lateral regions of tight deployment (to at least three classes of risk regions) corresponding to a third type of risk region, a second type of risk region and a first type of risk region.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver);
generate a contour map at least in part by:
for each of the classes, generating a set of contour segments connecting respective pairs of grid locations included in the raster data, wherein generating the set of contour segments includes (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0018-0026 detection means for detecting points of the lateral zones of tight deployment belonging to one or more types of risk region, and alarm means triggered by the detection means at each detection of a point of a lateral zone of deployment belonging to at least one type of risk region. The detection means of Bitar ‘283 is the same as the classification means. A point (with a score of the risk level) belonging at least one type of risk region to means the point is classified into at least one type of risk region. The risk levels may be mapped to the classification values.
Moreover, the tile elements marked with 0, 1, -1 are also classification values.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero in the converse case and at Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions):
computing respective topological cases of a plurality of cells of a superimposed grid, wherein the superimposed grid includes a plurality of cells of the raster data that are associated with respective classification values included in the classifier grid data (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0018-0026 detection means for detecting points of the lateral zones of tight deployment belonging to one or more types of risk region, and alarm means triggered by the detection means at each detection of a point of a lateral zone of deployment belonging to at least one type of risk region. The detection means of Bitar ‘283 is the same as the classification means. A point (with a score of the risk level) belonging at least one type of risk region to means the point is classified into at least one type of risk region. The risk levels may be mapped to the classification values.
Moreover, the tile elements marked with 0, 1, -1 are also classification values.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0103 that based at least in part on the topological cases of the mesh cells having the different classification values (e.g., the risk levels or the classification values of the mesh cells) and the classifier cases of the risk regions, computing a plurality of contour segments located along horizontal or vertical boundaries of the grid of the mesh cells and computing a plurality of interior contour segments located within the grid of mesh cells.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions);
computing respective classifier cases of the cells of the superimposed grid (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5. Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0166-169 that the risk regions are indicated by the contours 31-35 to indicate the risk regions of various types.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0173-0174 that visual displaying of the alarms can be done by displaying the first, second and third types of risk regions under different textures and the points of the lateral zones in colors depending on the risk level score allocated to them, for example, a red color for a high risk level, a strong yellow color for a medium risk level, a pale yellow color for a low risk level); and
computing the contour segments based at least in part on the topological cases and classifier cases of the cells (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5. Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0166-169 that the risk regions are indicated by the contours 31-35 to indicate the risk regions of various types);
combining the contour segments into a plurality of contours; and computing the contour map as a visual representation of the plurality of contours (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 11-12 and Paragraph 0154 that the spaces delimited by closed contours formed of the two parts of the ground traces of the two circles starting from the initial position of the aircraft at point S up to the points P and P’ corresponding to the chosen change of course and the two straight lines 21 and 21’ joining the ends P and P’ of the two trace parts 20 and 20’ of the initial position S of the aircraft. The closed contours of FIG. 12 are formed by the four contour segments.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0198-0201 that the contours of the first type of risk regions are combined.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5. Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0166-169 that the risk regions are indicated by the contours 31-35 to indicate the risk regions of various types); and
output the contour map for display at a display device (
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 5, FIG. 7, and FIG. 14 outputting the contour map of the risk regions for display at a display device.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at [0028] that, the device comprises display means showing the selected zone of deployment in the form of a map of zones at risk presenting under distinct appearances each of the types taken into account of risk region and the part of the selected zone of deployment complementary to the various types taken into account of risk region.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5. Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0166-169 that the risk regions are indicated by the contours 31-35 to indicate the risk regions of various types).
In Remarks, applicant argued in essence with respect to the claim 2 and similar claims with applicant’s specific interpretation based on FIG. 4. Although claim limitation is subject to broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with applicant’s specification, limitation from the specification cannot be imported into the claim. Applicant specifically interpreted the 2 by 2 cell as a cell with a height of two raster data values and a width of two raster data values. For argument’s sake, even if applicant were to be permitted to specifically interpret the claim limitation of the claim 2, Bitar ‘283 also shows a 2 by 2 cell with a height of two raster data values 1 and a width of two raster data values 1 and another 2 by 2 cell with a height of two raster data values 0 and a width of two raster data values 0 included in FIG. 12 in the same manner as applicant’s FIG. 4. Moreover, Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 5 that the classifier grid data includes the contour segment that is offset from a mesh cell by a half pixel length (a half pixel mesh cell) along both horizontal axis and a vertical axis.
Applicant alleged that the rejections of the claims 6 and 16 in the current Office Action are also incomplete due to not discussing all claimed features. Applicant’s allegation is unfounded as the relevant features of Bitar ‘283 at FIG. 5 or FIG. 14 evidently show the claimed features. For example, FIG. 14 also shows the enclosed contours of a risk region 35 including the vertical contour segment and horizontal contour segment on the boundary of the mesh cells as well curved contour segments in the interior of the grid of mesh cells. FIG. 14 and FIG. 5 have been mentioned against the claim limitations of the claim 6 in the previous Office Action.
Bitar ‘283 clearly shows at FIG. 5 or FIG. 7 the claim limitations of the claim 6. For example, FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0103 shows the enclosed contours for the third type of risk region including the vertical contour segment and horizontal contour segment on the boundary of the mesh cells as well curved contour segments in the interior of the grid of mesh cells wherein the cells of the mesh of the location grid belonging to the selected zone of deployment taking the value 1 for the cells of the mesh that are contained entirely or in part in regions with limited or nonexistent freedom of lateral deployment. It involves the drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types of margins.
Applicant separately argued with respect to the claim 6 and similar claims against Bitar ‘283. However, Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 5 that the enclosed contours include edge contour segments on the boundary of the mesh cells located along a horizontal or vertical boundary of the superimposed mesh grid and internal contour segments that relied inside of the mesh cells. The internal contour segments are the segments within the mesh cells as opposed to the boundary of the mesh cells. The claim 6 is met by Bitar ‘283 FIG. 5.
Applicant also separately attacked Bitar ‘283 with respect to the claim 8 and similar claims in an obviousness type of rejection citing specific limitations in applicant’s specification at Paragraph 0030. Applicant specifically interpret the claim limitation of the claim 8 in light of the specification disclosure at Paragraph 0030. Although the claim limitation is interpreted in light of the specification, limitation from the specification cannot be imported into the claims. The padding value border corresponds to Bitar ‘283’s marginal fringes added to the risk region comprising the third type of the classifier grid data. The claim 8 is met by teaching in the cited references.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0029 that the third type of risk region corresponding to marginal fringes surrounding the regions of the first and second types, of width corresponding to that necessary for the aircraft to perform a complete flat turn with the shortest permitted radius and the two lateral regions of tight deployment corresponding to an arbitrary amplitude change of direction during a turn of also arbitrary radius of curvature.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at [0008] It is an object of the present invention to provide a more complete signaling of the risks incurred by a craft on account of obstacles situated in its domain of progress taking account not only of the regions that are uncrossable because they are above the capabilities of the craft at the time, of the regions forming the subject of a crossing prohibition regulation and, possibly, of margins outside their contours where the craft has a restricted freedom of lateral deployment but also of the regions which would pose crossing problems to the craft if it changed behavior and adopted a fallback trajectory profile, envisaged in advance.
However, Bitar ‘117 teaches the claim limitation that the one or more processing devices are further configured to add a padding value border to the classifier grid data prior to computing the superimposed grid.
Bitar ‘117 teaches adding the lateral safety margins (padding value border) to the classifier grid region 50 prior to computing the superimposed grid.
Bitar ‘117 teaches at FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0082-0083 adding a lateral safety margin around prohibited areas such as the classifier grid region 50 while locating grid that maps the selected area of movement and places the contours of the prohibited areas of overflight on this grid prior to computing and superimposing the classified grid cells to the map on the visual display device 63 showing the prohibited areas of overflight, the bands surrounding them.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have added safety margins to the hazard regions while locating grid and placing the contours of the prohibited areas prior to computing and superimposing the classified grid cells to the map on the visual display device 63 showing the prohibited areas of overflight, the bands surrounding them according to Bitar ‘117 to have been incorporated into Bitar ‘283 to have identified safety margins for the hazard regions of Bita ‘283. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have identified safety margins for the hazard regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitar et al. US-PGPUB No. 2007/0285283 (hereinafter Bitar ‘283) in view of
Bitar et al. US-PGPUB No. 2008/0174454 (hereinafter Bitar ‘454);
Bitar et al. US-PGPUB No. 2008/0004801 (hereinafter Bitar ‘801);
Bitar et al. US-PGPUB No. 2007/0150117 (hereinafter Bitar ‘117);
Bitar et al. US-PGPUB No. 2007/0088492 (hereinafter Bitar ‘492);
Jafek US-PGPUB No. 2022/0012893 (hereinafter Jafek);
Marty et al. US-PGPUB No. 2008/0306680 (hereinafter Marty);
Colby et al. US-PGPUB No. 2013/0179011 (hereinafter Colby);
Machefer et al. US-PGPUB No. 2022/0391615 (hereinafter Machefer);
McCann et al. US-PGPUB No. 2022/0238025 (hereinafter McCann);
Kanellis US-Patent No. 8,477,062 (hereinafter Kanellis);
Lapis et al. US-Patent No. 6,744,382 (hereinafter Lapis).
Re Claim 1:
Bitar ‘283/Bitar ‘454 in view Machefer/Marty/Jafek/Lapis teaches a computing device comprising:
one or more processing devices configured to (e.g., the computing device of FIG. 16 and Paragraph 0192 including a visual display 62 and the computer 60):
receive raster data including a plurality of raster data values (Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0089 meshing of the pixels is done through a regular scanning of the pixels of the image by the chamber mask.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph 0158 an image is made up of pixels divided up on a regular mesh of rows, columns and diagonals);
obtain classifier grid data including a plurality of classification values selected from among two or more classes (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0018-0026 detection means for detecting points of the lateral zones of tight deployment belonging to one or more types of risk region, and alarm means triggered by the detection means at each detection of a point of a lateral zone of deployment belonging to at least one type of risk region. The detection means of Bitar ‘283 is the same as the classification means. A point (with a score of the risk level) belonging at least one type of risk region to means the point is classified into at least one type of risk region. The risk levels may be mapped to the classification values.
Moreover, the tile elements marked with 0, 1, -1 are also classification values.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 1/14 and Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 (first classification value) in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero (second or third classification values) in the converse case and at Paragraph 0018 detection means for detecting the points of the lateral zones of tight deployment belonging to one or more types of risk regions and at Paragraph 0022-0025 the detection means comprise means for scoring the risk level allocating to each point of the two lateral regions of tight deployment (to at least three classes of risk regions) corresponding to a third type of risk region, a second type of risk region and a first type of risk region.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Bita ‘454 teaches at Paragraph 0090 that 0090] that, the proportions between the meshes of the locating grid and the surfaces of the various types of risk region are not to scale to improve legibility and at Paragraph 0091 that marking the risk region of the cells of the mesh of the locating grid belonging to the selected maneuvering zone, taking a value 0 for the cells of the mesh wholly or partly contained in the regions to be bypassed..
Bita ‘454 teaches at Paragraph 0185 that the risk regions are classified as being risk regions of three types and at Paragraph 0112 that the first type of risk region is registered with contours corresponding not to their real contours but to widened contours and at Paragraph 0182 The two types of risk regions in which the aircraft has more or less limited lateral maneuvering freedom can be represented on a THD map by super-textures (FIG. 16), by sub-textures (FIG. 17) or by contour lines (FIG. 18).
);
generate a contour map at least in part by:
for each of the classes, generating a set of contour segments connecting respective pairs of grid locations included in the raster data, wherein generating the set of contour segments includes (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0018-0026 detection means for detecting points of the lateral zones of tight deployment belonging to one or more types of risk region, and alarm means triggered by the detection means at each detection of a point of a lateral zone of deployment belonging to at least one type of risk region. The detection means of Bitar ‘283 is the same as the classification means. A point (with a score of the risk level) belonging at least one type of risk region to means the point is classified into at least one type of risk region. The risk levels may be mapped to the classification values.
Moreover, the tile elements marked with 0, 1, -1 are also classification values.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero in the converse case and at Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Bita ‘454 teaches at Paragraph 0090 that 0090] that, the proportions between the meshes of the locating grid and the surfaces of the various types of risk region are not to scale to improve legibility and at Paragraph 0091 that marking the risk region of the cells of the mesh of the locating grid belonging to the selected maneuvering zone, taking a value 0 for the cells of the mesh wholly or partly contained in the regions to be bypassed..
Bita ‘454 teaches at Paragraph 0185 that the risk regions are classified as being risk regions of three types and at Paragraph 0112 that the first type of risk region is registered with contours corresponding not to their real contours but to widened contours and at Paragraph 0182 The two types of risk regions in which the aircraft has more or less limited lateral maneuvering freedom can be represented on a THD map by super-textures (FIG. 16), by sub-textures (FIG. 17) or by contour lines (FIG. 18).
Marty teaches at FIGS. 11-16 that the risk regions 3 are represented as polygonal risk regions and the contour segments are represented as rectilinear segments by approximating the series of points of the direct curvilinear path by a sequence of straight segments.
Bitar ‘492 teaches at FIG. 10 and Paragraph 0083 that the plot of the boundary 42 between the zones 41 within range and the zones 40 out of range may be obtained through a polygonal extraction searching for the polygonal contour encompassing maximum of mesh cells with quantity of value 0 while excluding any mesh cell with quantity of value 1.
Jafek teaches at Paragraph 0028 and FIG. 2 Block 206-210 connecting one or more edges in the first image and identifying a contour in the first image and determining a convex hull of the contour.
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have represented the risk regions of Bitar ‘454 and/or Bitar ‘283 by polygonal regions with the contour lines as edges of the polygonal regions in view of Bitar ‘492/MartyJafek/Lapis to have provided a polygonal shape for the risk regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have represented the risk regions of Bitar 454 and/or Bitar ‘283 in terms of the polygonal contour lines for the polygonal risk regions):
computing respective topological cases of a plurality of cells of a superimposed grid, wherein the superimposed grid includes a plurality of cells of the raster data that are associated with respective classification values included in the classifier grid data (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0177] FIG. 12 shows, in the same maneuvering zone as FIGS. 1 and 7, a second type of risk region Z.sub.TURN1 added to the first type of risk region Z.sub.RISK. This second type of risk region Z.sub.TURN1 represented in a lighter shading than the risk regions of the first type Z.sub.RISK is made up of regions close to the risk regions of the first type Z.sub.RISK where the aircraft has very limited lateral maneuvering freedom because their cells do not observe the dynamic lateral separation thresholds MLCD.sub.DYNAMIC assumed here to cover a range of values from 7 to 27.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0178] FIG. 13 shows, in the same maneuvering zone as FIGS. 1 and 7, a third type of risk region Z.sub.TURN2 added to the first type of risk region Z.sub.RISK. This third type of risk region Z.sub.TURN2 represented in a lighter shading than the risk regions of the first type Z.sub.RISK is made up of regions close to the risk regions of the first type Z.sub.RISK where the aircraft has a relatively limited lateral maneuvering freedom because their cells do not observe the static lateral separation threshold MLCD.sub.STATIC which is assumed here, with the assumptions made on the range of values of the dynamic lateral separation thresholds MLCD.sub.DYNAMIC, to have a value of 27.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0179] FIG. 14 shows, in the same maneuvering zone as the preceding FIGS. 1, 7, 12 and 13, a merged map of the three types of risk region. It should be noted that the definitions adopted for the dynamic and static lateral separation thresholds MLCD.sub.DYNAMIC and MLCD.sub.STATIC, require the regions of the second type Z.sub.TURN1 delimited based on the dynamic thresholds MLCD.sub.DYNAMIC to be included in the regions of the third type Z.sub.TURN2 delimited based on the static threshold MLCD.sub.STATIC and the limits of the contours of the regions of the second and third types Z.sub.TURN1 and Z.sub.TURN2 to be merged on the path of the aircraft.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0180] The three types of risk region Z.sub.RISK, Z.sub.TURN1, Z.sub.TURN2, which have just been determined in the selected maneuvering zone and which inform as to the lateral dangers, can be presented on a navigation screen on the dashboard of the aircraft, in addition to or in place of a THD (Terrain Hazard Display) map, displayed by a ground collision risk prevention system of the TAWS type for example.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0181] When the three types of risk region are presented in addition to a THD map, the first type of risk region considered as to be bypassed Z.sub.RISK is already part of the THD map. It normally comprises a horizontal cross section of the terrain being flown over taken at a reference level corresponding to the altitude of the aircraft minus a safety margin, a cross section to which are added the contours of the areas for which overflight is prohibited by the regulations. Sometimes, the shapes of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK are detailed more finely by additional level cross sections. The THD map of FIG. 15 details the shape of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK by means of a level cross section close to the reference altitude and two other level cross sections 500 and 1500 feet above the reference altitude. It also details the regions in which flight is possible by three level cross sections at 500, 100 and 1500 feet below the reference altitude of the aircraft.
);
computing respective classifier cases of the cells of the superimposed grid (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5. Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0166-169 that the risk regions are indicated by the contours 31-35 to indicate the risk regions of various types.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0173-0174 that visual displaying of the alarms can be done by displaying the first, second and third types of risk regions under different textures and the points of the lateral zones in colors depending on the risk level score allocated to them, for example, a red color for a high risk level, a strong yellow color for a medium risk level, a pale yellow color for a low risk level.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0181] When the three types of risk region are presented in addition to a THD map, the first type of risk region considered as to be bypassed Z.sub.RISK is already part of the THD map. It normally comprises a horizontal cross section of the terrain being flown over taken at a reference level corresponding to the altitude of the aircraft minus a safety margin, a cross section to which are added the contours of the areas for which overflight is prohibited by the regulations. Sometimes, the shapes of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK are detailed more finely by additional level cross sections. The THD map of FIG. 15 details the shape of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK by means of a level cross section close to the reference altitude and two other level cross sections 500 and 1500 feet above the reference altitude. It also details the regions in which flight is possible by three level cross.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0184] Used in place of a THD map, the three types of risk region can be used to display a lateral danger map (called LHD, standing for "Lateral Hazard Display"). FIG. 19 shows such a display. In this figure, the first type of risk region Z.sub.RISK corresponding to the regions to be bypassed, that is, with a level cross section of the relief of the selected maneuvering zone taken at a determined reference altitude in the way described previously and complemented by the contours of the regions subject to a flight prohibition regulation, is shown in white with no texture); and
computing the contour segments based at least in part on the topological cases and classifier cases of the cells (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5. Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0166-169 that the risk regions are indicated by the contours 31-35 to indicate the risk regions of various types.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0181] When the three types of risk region are presented in addition to a THD map, the first type of risk region considered as to be bypassed Z.sub.RISK is already part of the THD map. It normally comprises a horizontal cross section of the terrain being flown over taken at a reference level corresponding to the altitude of the aircraft minus a safety margin, a cross section to which are added the contours of the areas for which overflight is prohibited by the regulations. Sometimes, the shapes of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK are detailed more finely by additional level cross sections. The THD map of FIG. 15 details the shape of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK by means of a level cross section close to the reference altitude and two other level cross sections 500 and 1500 feet above the reference altitude. It also details the regions in which flight is possible by three level cross.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0184] Used in place of a THD map, the three types of risk region can be used to display a lateral danger map (called LHD, standing for "Lateral Hazard Display"). FIG. 19 shows such a display. In this figure, the first type of risk region Z.sub.RISK corresponding to the regions to be bypassed, that is, with a level cross section of the relief of the selected maneuvering zone taken at a determined reference altitude in the way described previously and complemented by the contours of the regions subject to a flight prohibition regulation, is shown in white with no texture);
combining the contour segments into a plurality of contours; and computing the contour map as a visual representation of the plurality of contours (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 11-12 and Paragraph 0154 that the spaces delimited by closed contours formed of the two parts of the ground traces of the two circles starting from the initial position of the aircraft at point S up to the points P and P’ corresponding to the chosen change of course and the two straight lines 21 and 21’ joining the ends P and P’ of the two trace parts 20 and 20’ of the initial position S of the aircraft. The closed contours of FIG. 12 are formed by the four contour segments.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0198-0201 that the contours of the first type of risk regions are combined.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5. Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0166-169 that the risk regions are indicated by the contours 31-35 to indicate the risk regions of various types.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0181] When the three types of risk region are presented in addition to a THD map, the first type of risk region considered as to be bypassed Z.sub.RISK is already part of the THD map. It normally comprises a horizontal cross section of the terrain being flown over taken at a reference level corresponding to the altitude of the aircraft minus a safety margin, a cross section to which are added the contours of the areas for which overflight is prohibited by the regulations. Sometimes, the shapes of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK are detailed more finely by additional level cross sections. The THD map of FIG. 15 details the shape of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK by means of a level cross section close to the reference altitude and two other level cross sections 500 and 1500 feet above the reference altitude. It also details the regions in which flight is possible by three level cross.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0184] Used in place of a THD map, the three types of risk region can be used to display a lateral danger map (called LHD, standing for "Lateral Hazard Display"). FIG. 19 shows such a display. In this figure, the first type of risk region Z.sub.RISK corresponding to the regions to be bypassed, that is, with a level cross section of the relief of the selected maneuvering zone taken at a determined reference altitude in the way described previously and complemented by the contours of the regions subject to a flight prohibition regulation, is shown in white with no texture); and
output the contour map for display at a display device (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at [0028] that, the device comprises display means showing the selected zone of deployment in the form of a map of zones at risk presenting under distinct appearances each of the types taken into account of risk region and the part of the selected zone of deployment complementary to the various types taken into account of risk region.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0103 drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types and at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0168 that the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0156 that the contours of the three type of risk regions are drawn and the three risk classification values 0, -1 and 1 associated with three class cases. Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0160 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the first type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0161 the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the second type of risk region that is uncrossable because it is above the crossing capabilities of the aircraft or forbidden to cross and at Paragraph 0162 that the score of the mesh cell equals 1 when the mesh cell belongs to a region of the third type of risk region the aircraft does not have full lateral freedom of maneuver.
Bitar ‘283 teaches Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5. Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0166-169 that the risk regions are indicated by the contours 31-35 to indicate the risk regions of various types.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0181] When the three types of risk region are presented in addition to a THD map, the first type of risk region considered as to be bypassed Z.sub.RISK is already part of the THD map. It normally comprises a horizontal cross section of the terrain being flown over taken at a reference level corresponding to the altitude of the aircraft minus a safety margin, a cross section to which are added the contours of the areas for which overflight is prohibited by the regulations. Sometimes, the shapes of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK are detailed more finely by additional level cross sections. The THD map of FIG. 15 details the shape of the regions to be bypassed of the first type Z.sub.RISK by means of a level cross section close to the reference altitude and two other level cross sections 500 and 1500 feet above the reference altitude. It also details the regions in which flight is possible by three level cross.
Bitar ‘454 teaches at Paragraph [0184] Used in place of a THD map, the three types of risk region can be used to display a lateral danger map (called LHD, standing for "Lateral Hazard Display"). FIG. 19 shows such a display. In this figure, the first type of risk region Z.sub.RISK corresponding to the regions to be bypassed, that is, with a level cross section of the relief of the selected maneuvering zone taken at a determined reference altitude in the way described previously and complemented by the contours of the regions subject to a flight prohibition regulation, is shown in white with no texture).
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the user settable grid cells of Machefer to have modified Bitar ‘283’s cells of the overlaid grids to have provided user-settable sizes of the cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided cells of grids of any suitable sizes including 2*2 sizes of a cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the classification of the storm and turbulence regions of Bita ‘454 into Bitar ‘283 and Machefer’s display of various flight hazard regions classified into different types with the overlaid user-settable grid cells of Machefer and to have identified contours for the hazard regions in relation to the grid cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided grid cells overlaid on the raster image and to have overlaid the classified flight hazard regions over the raster image as different color-coded regions according to the different types of hazard regions.
Additionally, Bita ‘801 teaches at Paragraph [0058] As can be seen in FIG. 1, the application, subject to dynamic constraint, of the chamfer mask distance transform has not made it possible to find an appropriate path joining the current position S of the aircraft to certain points of the region being flown over which have an infinite distance estimation, either because they belong to a zone 10 over which propagation has been prevented by the presence of a prohibited zone attribute flagging a regulatory prohibition, or because the propagation has failed in its search for paths that observe the imposed vertical flight profile. Over other points of a zone 11, the application, subject to static and dynamic constraints, of the chamfer mask distance transform has culminated in curvilinear distance estimations that are significantly greater than the Euclidian distances measured as straight lines showing that the curvilinear distances have been measured over avoidance paths. On the edge 12 of the zone 11 facing the current position S of the aircraft, major differences appear between the curvilinear distance estimations for neighboring points indicating the presence of a relief (cliff) that is dangerous because it is uncrossable by a direct path.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have identified an edge along the boundary of each cell of the grid cells relevant to the contour segment of the hazard region located inside each cell of the grid according to Bitar ‘801 to have been incorporated into Bitar ‘283, Machefer and Bitar ‘454 to have provided the internal contour segments for the hazard regions by identifying the edge of each cell of the grid cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have provided contour segments for the hazard regions.
Bitar ‘117 teaches at FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0082-0083 adding a lateral safety margin around prohibited areas such as the classifier grid region 50 while locating grid that maps the selected area of movement and places the contours of the prohibited areas of overflight on this grid prior to computing and superimposing the classified grid cells to the map on the visual display device 63 showing the prohibited areas of overflight, the bands surrounding them.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have added safety margins to the hazard regions while locating grid and placing the contours of the prohibited areas prior to computing and superimposing the classified grid cells to the map on the visual display device 63 showing the prohibited areas of overflight, the bands surrounding them according to Bitar ‘117 to have been incorporated into Bitar ‘283, Machefer and Bitar ‘454 to have identified safety margins for the hazard regions of Bita ‘283. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have identified safety margins for the hazard regions.
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have identified the storm regions (cells) represented by polygons according to Lapis to have been incorporated into Bitar ‘283, Machefer and Bitar ‘454 to have provided polygonal contour segments for the hazard regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have provided polygonal contour segments for the hazard regions.
Kanellis teaches at FIGS. 2-3 that the threat regions are classified into three different types/levels of threats.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the classification of the threat regions of Kanellis into Bitar ‘283, Bitar ‘454 and Machefer’s display of the flight threat regions classified into three different levels with the overlaid user-settable grid cells and to have identified contours for the threat regions in relation to the grid cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided grid cells overlaid on the raster image and to have overlaid the classified flight hazard regions over the raster image.
McCann/Colby in view of Machefer and Bitar ‘492/MartyJafek/Lapis teaches a computing device comprising:
one or more processing devices configured to (e.g., DATCM 201 of McCann FIG. 2 including flight planning tools and software 217 and the sensor data input 204):
receive raster data including a plurality of raster data values (
Colby teaches at Paragraph 0041 that Ground-cover data may be determined from images of the area, e.g., by processing satellite images or reconnaissance images to ascertain different types of ground cover in the area. In some embodiments, the aircraft may be equipped with a camera routinely obtains images of the flight area while the aircraft is in operation, so that ground-cover information can be updated regularly or semi-regularly.
McCann teaches at FIG. 3 acquiring the topological data 218);
obtain classifier grid data including a plurality of classification values selected from among two or more classes (
McCann teaches at FIG. 9 and Paragraph 0052-0054 and Paragraph 0073 creating a comprehensive hazard overlay to the generated grid region 118 and at Paragraph 0083 and Paragraph 0112 that the DATCOM identifies 4D areas for flight hazards including icing hazards, turbulence hazards wherein a CAT calculation component producing color-coded terminal display of turbulence hazard over a specified area (where clear may indicate no turbulence, green may indicate low turbulence hazard, yellow may indicate medium turbulence hazard, and red may indicate high turbulence hazard) 1956 may be integrated mathematically with a mountain wave forecasting component which produces a similar color-coded terminal display 1957, resulting in an integrated display where the resulting hazard matrix 1958 may not be an overlay of the individual turbulence predictions, but an enhanced turbulence forecast where individual areas of low or no hazard turbulence may now indicated high hazard turbulence 1959.
Colby raster image may be overlaid with the grid of Machefer to have met the claim limitation.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Colby teaches at Paragraph 0050 processing system 200 may call up data from data blocks in memory 210 associated with geographical grids lying within the pre-designated range of the aircraft. Colby teaches at FIGS. 3A-3B and Paragraph 0041 that ground cover data may also be displayed as a ground-cover map 302, separately or as an overlay on an elevation map. Various types of ground cover may be visibly distinguished on the map to aid the pilot. For example, the map 302 may indicate trees with a first pattern 314 and grassy areas 316 with a second pattern, as depicted in FIG. 3B. Colby teaches at Paragraph 0048 that a first marking 332 may be used to identify a stream or river, a second marking 334 may be used to identify a temporary stream or river (e.g., a spring-time run-off or heavy rain run-off). A third marking 336 may be used to identify marshes, and a fourth marking 338 may be used to identify ponds, lakes, or oceans. The surface-water map 303 may be displayed separately or displayed as an overlay on a contour map 301, a ground-cover map 302, or a combination of these maps);
generate a contour map at least in part by:
for each of the classes, generating a set of contour segments connecting respective pairs of grid locations included in the raster data, wherein generating the set of contour segments includes (
McCann teaches at FIGS. 19-20 and Paragraph 0157 that severe turbulence areas and/or storm areas are colored (highlighted) with contours.
McCann teaches at FIG. 9 and Paragraph 0052-0054 and Paragraph 0073 creating a comprehensive hazard overlay to the generated grid region 118 and at Paragraph 0083 and Paragraph 0112 that the DATCOM identifies 4D areas for flight hazards including icing hazards, turbulence hazards wherein a CAT calculation component producing color-coded terminal display of turbulence hazard over a specified area (where clear may indicate no turbulence, green may indicate low turbulence hazard, yellow may indicate medium turbulence hazard, and red may indicate high turbulence hazard) 1956 may be integrated mathematically with a mountain wave forecasting component which produces a similar color-coded terminal display 1957, resulting in an integrated display where the resulting hazard matrix 1958 may not be an overlay of the individual turbulence predictions, but an enhanced turbulence forecast where individual areas of low or no hazard turbulence may now indicated high hazard turbulence 1959. McCann teaches at FIG. 19 and Paragraph 0126 that the DATCM may show an initial MWAVE grid output 2601, incorporating MWAVE turbulence calculations into a singular, non-enhanced turbulence map overlay. In one embodiment of the DATCM, the map overlay may be color-coded to indicate areas of turbulence hazard where clear represents no turbulence, green represents light turbulence hazard, yellow represents moderate turbulence hazard, and red represents severe turbulence hazard. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the DATCM may output a forecast as a four-dimensional grid of EDR values in multiple file formats.
Colby raster image may be overlaid with the grid of Machefer to have met the claim limitation.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Colby teaches at Paragraph 0050 processing system 200 may call up data from data blocks in memory 210 associated with geographical grids lying within the pre-designated range of the aircraft. Colby teaches at FIGS. 3A-3B and Paragraph 0041 that ground cover data may also be displayed as a ground-cover map 302, separately or as an overlay on an elevation map. Various types of ground cover may be visibly distinguished on the map to aid the pilot. For example, the map 302 may indicate trees with a first pattern 314 and grassy areas 316 with a second pattern, as depicted in FIG. 3B. Colby teaches at Paragraph 0048 that a first marking 332 may be used to identify a stream or river, a second marking 334 may be used to identify a temporary stream or river (e.g., a spring-time run-off or heavy rain run-off). A third marking 336 may be used to identify marshes, and a fourth marking 338 may be used to identify ponds, lakes, or oceans. The surface-water map 303 may be displayed separately or displayed as an overlay on a contour map 301, a ground-cover map 302, or a combination of these maps.
Marty teaches at FIGS. 11-16 that the risk regions 3 are represented as polygonal risk regions and the contour segments are represented as rectilinear segments by approximating the series of points of the direct curvilinear path by a sequence of straight segments.
Bitar ‘492 teaches at FIG. 10 and Paragraph 0083 that the plot of the boundary 42 between the zones 41 within range and the zones 40 out of range may be obtained through a polygonal extraction searching for the polygonal contour encompassing maximum of mesh cells with quantity of value 0 while excluding any mesh cell with quantity of value 1.
Jafek teaches at Paragraph 0028 and FIG. 2 Block 206-210 connecting one or more edges in the first image and identifying a contour in the first image and determining a convex hull of the contour.
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have represented the risk regions of Bitar ‘454 and/or Bitar ‘283 by polygonal regions with the contour lines as edges of the polygonal regions in view of Bitar ‘492/MartyJafek/Lapis to have provided a polygonal shape for the risk regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have represented the risk regions of Bitar 454 and/or Bitar ‘283 in terms of the polygonal contour lines for the polygonal risk regions):
computing respective topological cases of a plurality of cells of a superimposed grid, wherein the superimposed grid includes a plurality of cells of the raster data that are associated with respective classification values included in the classifier grid data (
McCann teaches at FIGS. 19-20 and Paragraph 0157 that severe turbulence areas and/or storm areas are colored (highlighted) with contours.
McCann teaches at FIG. 9 and Paragraph 0052-0054 and Paragraph 0073 creating a comprehensive hazard overlay to the generated grid region 118 and at Paragraph 0083 and Paragraph 0112 that the DATCOM identifies 4D areas for flight hazards including icing hazards, turbulence hazards wherein a CAT calculation component producing color-coded terminal display of turbulence hazard over a specified area (where clear may indicate no turbulence, green may indicate low turbulence hazard, yellow may indicate medium turbulence hazard, and red may indicate high turbulence hazard) 1956 may be integrated mathematically with a mountain wave forecasting component which produces a similar color-coded terminal display 1957, resulting in an integrated display where the resulting hazard matrix 1958 may not be an overlay of the individual turbulence predictions, but an enhanced turbulence forecast where individual areas of low or no hazard turbulence may now indicated high hazard turbulence 1959. McCann teaches at FIG. 19 and Paragraph 0126 that the DATCM may show an initial MWAVE grid output 2601, incorporating MWAVE turbulence calculations into a singular, non-enhanced turbulence map overlay. In one embodiment of the DATCM, the map overlay may be color-coded to indicate areas of turbulence hazard where clear represents no turbulence, green represents light turbulence hazard, yellow represents moderate turbulence hazard, and red represents severe turbulence hazard. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the DATCM may output a forecast as a four-dimensional grid of EDR values in multiple file formats.
Colby raster image may be overlaid with the grid of Machefer to have met the claim limitation.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Colby teaches at Paragraph 0050 processing system 200 may call up data from data blocks in memory 210 associated with geographical grids lying within the pre-designated range of the aircraft. Colby teaches at FIGS. 3A-3B and Paragraph 0041 that ground cover data may also be displayed as a ground-cover map 302, separately or as an overlay on an elevation map. Various types of ground cover may be visibly distinguished on the map to aid the pilot. For example, the map 302 may indicate trees with a first pattern 314 and grassy areas 316 with a second pattern, as depicted in FIG. 3B. Colby teaches at Paragraph 0048 that a first marking 332 may be used to identify a stream or river, a second marking 334 may be used to identify a temporary stream or river (e.g., a spring-time run-off or heavy rain run-off). A third marking 336 may be used to identify marshes, and a fourth marking 338 may be used to identify ponds, lakes, or oceans. The surface-water map 303 may be displayed separately or displayed as an overlay on a contour map 301, a ground-cover map 302, or a combination of these maps.
);
computing respective classifier cases of the cells of the superimposed grid (
McCann teaches at FIGS. 19-20 and Paragraph 0157 that severe turbulence areas and/or storm areas are colored (highlighted) with contours.
McCann teaches at FIG. 9 and Paragraph 0052-0054 and Paragraph 0073 creating a comprehensive hazard overlay to the generated grid region 118 and at Paragraph 0083 and Paragraph 0112 that the DATCOM identifies 4D areas for flight hazards including icing hazards, turbulence hazards wherein a CAT calculation component producing color-coded terminal display of turbulence hazard over a specified area (where clear may indicate no turbulence, green may indicate low turbulence hazard, yellow may indicate medium turbulence hazard, and red may indicate high turbulence hazard) 1956 may be integrated mathematically with a mountain wave forecasting component which produces a similar color-coded terminal display 1957, resulting in an integrated display where the resulting hazard matrix 1958 may not be an overlay of the individual turbulence predictions, but an enhanced turbulence forecast where individual areas of low or no hazard turbulence may now indicated high hazard turbulence 1959. McCann teaches at FIG. 19 and Paragraph 0126 that the DATCM may show an initial MWAVE grid output 2601, incorporating MWAVE turbulence calculations into a singular, non-enhanced turbulence map overlay. In one embodiment of the DATCM, the map overlay may be color-coded to indicate areas of turbulence hazard where clear represents no turbulence, green represents light turbulence hazard, yellow represents moderate turbulence hazard, and red represents severe turbulence hazard. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the DATCM may output a forecast as a four-dimensional grid of EDR values in multiple file formats.
Colby raster image may be overlaid with the grid of Machefer to have met the claim limitation.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Colby teaches at Paragraph 0050 processing system 200 may call up data from data blocks in memory 210 associated with geographical grids lying within the pre-designated range of the aircraft. Colby teaches at FIGS. 3A-3B and Paragraph 0041 that ground cover data may also be displayed as a ground-cover map 302, separately or as an overlay on an elevation map. Various types of ground cover may be visibly distinguished on the map to aid the pilot. For example, the map 302 may indicate trees with a first pattern 314 and grassy areas 316 with a second pattern, as depicted in FIG. 3B. Colby teaches at Paragraph 0048 that a first marking 332 may be used to identify a stream or river, a second marking 334 may be used to identify a temporary stream or river (e.g., a spring-time run-off or heavy rain run-off). A third marking 336 may be used to identify marshes, and a fourth marking 338 may be used to identify ponds, lakes, or oceans. The surface-water map 303 may be displayed separately or displayed as an overlay on a contour map 301, a ground-cover map 302, or a combination of these maps); and
computing the contour segments based at least in part on the topological cases and classifier cases of the cells (
Colby raster image may be overlaid with the grid of Machefer to have met the claim limitation.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Colby teaches at Paragraph 0050 processing system 200 may call up data from data blocks in memory 210 associated with geographical grids lying within the pre-designated range of the aircraft. Colby teaches at FIGS. 3A-3B and Paragraph 0041 that ground cover data may also be displayed as a ground-cover map 302, separately or as an overlay on an elevation map. Various types of ground cover may be visibly distinguished on the map to aid the pilot. For example, the map 302 may indicate trees with a first pattern 314 and grassy areas 316 with a second pattern, as depicted in FIG. 3B. Colby teaches at Paragraph 0048 that a first marking 332 may be used to identify a stream or river, a second marking 334 may be used to identify a temporary stream or river (e.g., a spring-time run-off or heavy rain run-off). A third marking 336 may be used to identify marshes, and a fourth marking 338 may be used to identify ponds, lakes, or oceans. The surface-water map 303 may be displayed separately or displayed as an overlay on a contour map 301, a ground-cover map 302, or a combination of these maps.
);
combining the contour segments into a plurality of contours; and computing the contour map as a visual representation of the plurality of contours (
McCann teaches at FIGS. 19-20 and Paragraph 0157 that severe turbulence areas and/or storm areas are colored (highlighted) with contours.
McCann teaches at FIG. 9 and Paragraph 0052-0054 and Paragraph 0073 creating a comprehensive hazard overlay to the generated grid region 118 and at Paragraph 0083 and Paragraph 0112 that the DATCOM identifies 4D areas for flight hazards including icing hazards, turbulence hazards wherein a CAT calculation component producing color-coded terminal display of turbulence hazard over a specified area (where clear may indicate no turbulence, green may indicate low turbulence hazard, yellow may indicate medium turbulence hazard, and red may indicate high turbulence hazard) 1956 may be integrated mathematically with a mountain wave forecasting component which produces a similar color-coded terminal display 1957, resulting in an integrated display where the resulting hazard matrix 1958 may not be an overlay of the individual turbulence predictions, but an enhanced turbulence forecast where individual areas of low or no hazard turbulence may now indicated high hazard turbulence 1959. McCann teaches at FIG. 19 and Paragraph 0126 that the DATCM may show an initial MWAVE grid output 2601, incorporating MWAVE turbulence calculations into a singular, non-enhanced turbulence map overlay. In one embodiment of the DATCM, the map overlay may be color-coded to indicate areas of turbulence hazard where clear represents no turbulence, green represents light turbulence hazard, yellow represents moderate turbulence hazard, and red represents severe turbulence hazard. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the DATCM may output a forecast as a four-dimensional grid of EDR values in multiple file formats.
Colby raster image may be overlaid with the grid of Machefer to have met the claim limitation.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Colby teaches at Paragraph 0050 processing system 200 may call up data from data blocks in memory 210 associated with geographical grids lying within the pre-designated range of the aircraft. Colby teaches at FIGS. 3A-3B and Paragraph 0041 that ground cover data may also be displayed as a ground-cover map 302, separately or as an overlay on an elevation map. Various types of ground cover may be visibly distinguished on the map to aid the pilot. For example, the map 302 may indicate trees with a first pattern 314 and grassy areas 316 with a second pattern, as depicted in FIG. 3B. Colby teaches at Paragraph 0048 that a first marking 332 may be used to identify a stream or river, a second marking 334 may be used to identify a temporary stream or river (e.g., a spring-time run-off or heavy rain run-off). A third marking 336 may be used to identify marshes, and a fourth marking 338 may be used to identify ponds, lakes, or oceans. The surface-water map 303 may be displayed separately or displayed as an overlay on a contour map 301, a ground-cover map 302, or a combination of these maps.
); and
output the contour map for display at a display device (
McCann teaches at FIGS. 19-20 and Paragraph 0157 that severe turbulence areas and/or storm areas are colored (highlighted) with contours.
McCann teaches at FIG. 9 and Paragraph 0052-0054 and Paragraph 0073 creating a comprehensive hazard overlay to the generated grid region 118 and at Paragraph 0083 and Paragraph 0112 that the DATCOM identifies 4D areas for flight hazards including icing hazards, turbulence hazards wherein a CAT calculation component producing color-coded terminal display of turbulence hazard over a specified area (where clear may indicate no turbulence, green may indicate low turbulence hazard, yellow may indicate medium turbulence hazard, and red may indicate high turbulence hazard) 1956 may be integrated mathematically with a mountain wave forecasting component which produces a similar color-coded terminal display 1957, resulting in an integrated display where the resulting hazard matrix 1958 may not be an overlay of the individual turbulence predictions, but an enhanced turbulence forecast where individual areas of low or no hazard turbulence may now indicated high hazard turbulence 1959. McCann teaches at FIG. 19 and Paragraph 0126 that the DATCM may show an initial MWAVE grid output 2601, incorporating MWAVE turbulence calculations into a singular, non-enhanced turbulence map overlay. In one embodiment of the DATCM, the map overlay may be color-coded to indicate areas of turbulence hazard where clear represents no turbulence, green represents light turbulence hazard, yellow represents moderate turbulence hazard, and red represents severe turbulence hazard. In some embodiments of the disclosure, the DATCM may output a forecast as a four-dimensional grid of EDR values in multiple file formats.
Colby raster image may be overlaid with the grid of Machefer to have met the claim limitation.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503.
Colby teaches at Paragraph 0050 processing system 200 may call up data from data blocks in memory 210 associated with geographical grids lying within the pre-designated range of the aircraft. Colby teaches at FIGS. 3A-3B and Paragraph 0041 that ground cover data may also be displayed as a ground-cover map 302, separately or as an overlay on an elevation map. Various types of ground cover may be visibly distinguished on the map to aid the pilot. For example, the map 302 may indicate trees with a first pattern 314 and grassy areas 316 with a second pattern, as depicted in FIG. 3B. Colby teaches at Paragraph 0048 that a first marking 332 may be used to identify a stream or river, a second marking 334 may be used to identify a temporary stream or river (e.g., a spring-time run-off or heavy rain run-off). A third marking 336 may be used to identify marshes, and a fourth marking 338 may be used to identify ponds, lakes, or oceans. The surface-water map 303 may be displayed separately or displayed as an overlay on a contour map 301, a ground-cover map 302, or a combination of these maps).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the classification of the segmentation regions of Colby into Bitar ‘283, Bitar ‘454 and Machefer’s display of the flight threat regions classified into three different levels with the overlaid user-settable grid cells and to have identified contours for the threat regions in relation to the grid cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided grid cells overlaid on the raster image and to have overlaid the classified flight hazard regions over the raster image.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the classification of the storm and turbulence regions of McCann into Bitar ’28, Bitar ‘454 and Machefer’s display of various flight hazard regions classified into different types with the overlaid user-settable grid cells of Machefer and to have identified contours for the hazard regions in relation to the grid cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided grid cells overlaid on the raster image and to have overlaid the classified flight hazard regions over the raster image as different color-coded regions according to the different types of hazard regions.
Re Claim 2:
The claim 2 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that, in the superimposed grid, the classifier grid data is offset from the raster data by half a pixel along both a horizontal axis and a vertical axis; and each of the cells of the superimposed grid is a 2 x 2 cell of raster data values.
Bita ‘283 in view of Machefer further teaches the claim limitation that in the superimposed grid, the classifier grid data is offset from the raster data by half a pixel along both a horizontal axis and a vertical axis; and each of the cells of the superimposed grid is a 2 x 2 cell of raster data values (Bitar ‘283 also shows a 2 by 2 cell with a height of two raster data values 1 and a width of two raster data values 1 and another 2 by 2 cell with a height of two raster data values 0 and a width of two raster data values 0 included in FIG. 12 in the same manner as applicant’s FIG. 4.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 5 that the classifier grid data includes the contour segment that is offset from a mesh cell by a half pixel length (a half pixel mesh cell) along both horizontal axis and a vertical axis.
Bita ‘283 teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0078 that this tagging is done by a marking Z.sub.CLIMB (i, j) of the cells of the mesh of the location grid belonging to the selected zone of deployment, taking the value 1 for the cells of the mesh that are contained entirely or in part in uncrossable regions and the value 0 for the others and at Paragraph 0100 that This tagging is done by a marking Z.sub.LEVEL(i, j) of the cells of the mesh of the location grid belonging to the selected zone of deployment, taking the value 1 for the cells of the mesh that are contained entirely or in part in inaccessible regions after a flattening out and the value 0 for the others.
Machefer teaches at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0104 that the dimensions of each cell 503 and hen the area covered by each cell 503 may be set of the user wherein FIG. 5 shows an image overlaid with a gridded lettuce mask 500 and a grid 502 may be applied to the image of the area 501, which splits the image 501 into cells 503 and at Paragraph 0029 that each cell represents an area of 2*2 metres.
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the user settable grid cells of Machefer to have modified Bitar ‘283’s cells of the overlaid grids to have provided user-settable sizes of the cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided cells of grids of any suitable sizes including 2*2 area sizes of a cell).
Re Claim 3:
The claim 3 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 2 except additional claim limitation that for each of the classes, the one or more processing devices are configured to generate two or more respective sets of contour segments; and the two or more sets of contour segments correspond to different contour levels of the raster data values.
Bita ‘801 and Bita ‘283 further teach the claim limitation that for each of the classes, the one or more processing devices are configured to generate two or more respective sets of contour segments; and the two or more sets of contour segments correspond to different contour levels of the raster data values (Bita ‘801 teaches at Paragraph [0058] As can be seen in FIG. 1, the application, subject to dynamic constraint, of the chamfer mask distance transform has not made it possible to find an appropriate path joining the current position S of the aircraft to certain points of the region being flown over which have an infinite distance estimation, either because they belong to a zone 10 over which propagation has been prevented by the presence of a prohibited zone attribute flagging a regulatory prohibition, or because the propagation has failed in its search for paths that observe the imposed vertical flight profile. Over other points of a zone 11, the application, subject to static and dynamic constraints, of the chamfer mask distance transform has culminated in curvilinear distance estimations that are significantly greater than the Euclidian distances measured as straight lines showing that the curvilinear distances have been measured over avoidance paths. On the edge 12 of the zone 11 facing the current position S of the aircraft, major differences appear between the curvilinear distance estimations for neighboring points indicating the presence of a relief (cliff) that is dangerous because it is uncrossable by a direct path.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero in the converse case and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph [0173] In the situation shown in FIG. 14, the points whose risk level score is the highest (scores +3 or -3) belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31, which prompts the emission, for the attention of the crew of the aircraft, of an alarm of high risk to the right, either audible, or visual, or at one and the same time audible and visual.
Bita ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions).
Re Claim 4:
The claim 4 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 3 except additional claim limitation that, for each of the cells of the superimposed grid, the corresponding topological case indicates which of the raster data values included in the cell are greater than a current contour level.
Bita ‘801 and Bita ‘283 further teaches the claim limitation that for each of the cells of the superimposed grid, the corresponding topological case indicates which of the raster data values included in the cell are greater than a current contour level (
Bita ‘801 teaches at Paragraph [0058] As can be seen in FIG. 1, the application, subject to dynamic constraint, of the chamfer mask distance transform has not made it possible to find an appropriate path joining the current position S of the aircraft to certain points of the region being flown over which have an infinite distance estimation, either because they belong to a zone 10 over which propagation has been prevented by the presence of a prohibited zone attribute flagging a regulatory prohibition, or because the propagation has failed in its search for paths that observe the imposed vertical flight profile. Over other points of a zone 11, the application, subject to static and dynamic constraints, of the chamfer mask distance transform has culminated in curvilinear distance estimations that are significantly greater than the Euclidian distances measured as straight lines showing that the curvilinear distances have been measured over avoidance paths. On the edge 12 of the zone 11 facing the current position S of the aircraft, major differences appear between the curvilinear distance estimations for neighboring points indicating the presence of a relief (cliff) that is dangerous because it is uncrossable by a direct path.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero in the converse case and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph [0173] In the situation shown in FIG. 14, the points whose risk level score is the highest (scores +3 or -3) belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31, which prompts the emission, for the attention of the crew of the aircraft, of an alarm of high risk to the right, either audible, or visual, or at one and the same time audible and visual.
Bita ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions).
Re Claim 5:
The claim 5 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 2 except additional claim limitation that, for each of the cells of the superimposed grid, the corresponding classifier case indicates which of a plurality of neighboring-cell classification values are equal to the classification value of the cell.
Bita ‘283 further teaches the claim limitation that for each of the cells of the superimposed grid, the corresponding classifier case indicates which of a plurality of neighboring-cell classification values are equal to the classification value of the cell (Bitar ‘283 teaches Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero in the converse case and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph [0173] In the situation shown in FIG. 14, the points whose risk level score is the highest (scores +3 or -3) belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31, which prompts the emission, for the attention of the crew of the aircraft, of an alarm of high risk to the right, either audible, or visual, or at one and the same time audible and visual.
Bita ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions).
Re Claim 6:
The claim 6 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 5 except additional claim limitation that the one or more processing devices are configured to compute the contour segments at least in part by:
based at least in part on the topological cases, computing a plurality of internal contour segments located within respective cells of the superimposed grid; and
based at least in part on the topological cases and the classifier cases, computing a plurality of edge segments located along horizontal or vertical boundaries of respective cells of the superimposed grid.
Bita ‘801 and Bita ‘283 further teaches the claim limitation that the one or more processing devices are configured to compute the contour segments at least in part by:
based at least in part on the topological cases, computing a plurality of internal contour segments located within respective cells of the superimposed grid; and
based at least in part on the topological cases and the classifier cases, computing a plurality of edge segments located along horizontal or vertical boundaries of respective cells of the superimposed grid (
Bitar ‘283 teaches at FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0103 that based at least in part on the topological cases of the mesh cells having the different classification values and the classifier cases of the risk regions, computing a plurality of contour segments located along horizontal or vertical boundaries of the grid of the mesh cells and computing a plurality of interior contour segments located within the grid of mesh cells.
Bitar ‘283 clearly shows at FIG. 5 or FIG. 7 the claim limitations of the claim 6. For example, FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0103 shows the enclosed contours for the third type of risk region including the vertical contour segment and horizontal contour segment on the boundary of the mesh cells as well curved contour segments in the interior of the grid of mesh cells wherein the cells of the mesh of the location grid belonging to the selected zone of deployment taking the value 1 for the cells of the mesh that are contained entirely or in part in regions with limited or nonexistent freedom of lateral deployment. It involves the drawing about the contours of the risk regions of the first and second types of margins.
Bitar ‘283 shows at FIG. 5 that the enclosed contours include edge contour segments on the boundary of the mesh cells located along a horizontal or vertical boundary of the superimposed mesh grid and internal contour segments that relied inside of the mesh cells. The internal contour segments are the segments within the mesh cells as opposed to the boundary of the mesh cells. The claim 6 is met by Bitar ‘283 FIG. 5.
Bita ‘801 teaches at Paragraph [0058] As can be seen in FIG. 1, the application, subject to dynamic constraint, of the chamfer mask distance transform has not made it possible to find an appropriate path joining the current position S of the aircraft to certain points of the region being flown over which have an infinite distance estimation, either because they belong to a zone 10 over which propagation has been prevented by the presence of a prohibited zone attribute flagging a regulatory prohibition, or because the propagation has failed in its search for paths that observe the imposed vertical flight profile. Over other points of a zone 11, the application, subject to static and dynamic constraints, of the chamfer mask distance transform has culminated in curvilinear distance estimations that are significantly greater than the Euclidian distances measured as straight lines showing that the curvilinear distances have been measured over avoidance paths. On the edge 12 of the zone 11 facing the current position S of the aircraft, major differences appear between the curvilinear distance estimations for neighboring points indicating the presence of a relief (cliff) that is dangerous because it is uncrossable by a direct path.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero in the converse case and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph [0173] In the situation shown in FIG. 14, the points whose risk level score is the highest (scores +3 or -3) belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31, which prompts the emission, for the attention of the crew of the aircraft, of an alarm of high risk to the right, either audible, or visual, or at one and the same time audible and visual.
Bita ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have identified an edge along the boundary of each cell of the grid cells relevant to the contour segment of the hazard region located inside each cell of the grid according to Bita ‘801 to have been incorporated into Bita ‘283 to have provided the internal contour segments for the hazard regions by identifying the edge of each cell of the grid cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have provided contour segments for the hazard regions.
Marty teaches at FIGS. 11-16 that the risk regions 3 are represented as polygonal risk regions and the contour segments are represented as rectilinear segments by approximating the series of points of the direct curvilinear path by a sequence of straight segments.
Bitar ‘492 teaches at FIG. 10 and Paragraph 0083 that the plot of the boundary 42 between the zones 41 within range and the zones 40 out of range may be obtained through a polygonal extraction searching for the polygonal contour encompassing maximum of mesh cells with quantity of value 0 while excluding any mesh cell with quantity of value 1.
Jafek teaches at Paragraph 0028 and FIG. 2 Block 206-210 connecting one or more edges in the first image and identifying a contour in the first image and determining a convex hull of the contour.
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have represented the risk regions of Bitar ‘454 and/or Bitar ‘283 by polygonal regions with the contour lines as edges of the polygonal regions in view of Bitar ‘492/MartyJafek/Lapis to have provided a polygonal shape for the risk regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have represented the risk regions of Bitar 454 and/or Bitar ‘283 in terms of the polygonal contour lines for the polygonal risk regions.
Re Claim 7:
The claim 7 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 6 except additional claim limitation that the one or more processing devices are further configured to:
compute a plurality of intersections between respective contour segments and the horizontal or vertical boundaries of corresponding cells; and compute the internal contour segments based at least in part on the intersections.
Bita ‘801 and Bita ‘283 further teaches the claim limitation that the one or more processing devices are further configured to:
compute a plurality of intersections between respective contour segments and the horizontal or vertical boundaries of corresponding cells; and compute the internal contour segments based at least in part on the intersections (
Bita ‘801 teaches at Paragraph [0058] As can be seen in FIG. 1, the application, subject to dynamic constraint, of the chamfer mask distance transform has not made it possible to find an appropriate path joining the current position S of the aircraft to certain points of the region being flown over which have an infinite distance estimation, either because they belong to a zone 10 over which propagation has been prevented by the presence of a prohibited zone attribute flagging a regulatory prohibition, or because the propagation has failed in its search for paths that observe the imposed vertical flight profile. Over other points of a zone 11, the application, subject to static and dynamic constraints, of the chamfer mask distance transform has culminated in curvilinear distance estimations that are significantly greater than the Euclidian distances measured as straight lines showing that the curvilinear distances have been measured over avoidance paths. On the edge 12 of the zone 11 facing the current position S of the aircraft, major differences appear between the curvilinear distance estimations for neighboring points indicating the presence of a relief (cliff) that is dangerous because it is uncrossable by a direct path.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero in the converse case and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph [0173] In the situation shown in FIG. 14, the points whose risk level score is the highest (scores +3 or -3) belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31, which prompts the emission, for the attention of the crew of the aircraft, of an alarm of high risk to the right, either audible, or visual, or at one and the same time audible and visual.
Bita ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have identified an edge along the boundary of each cell of the grid cells relevant to the contour segment of the hazard region located inside each cell of the grid according to Bita ‘801 to have been incorporated into Bita ‘283 to have provided the internal contour segments for the hazard regions by identifying the edge of each cell of the grid cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have provided contour segments for the hazard regions.
Marty teaches at FIGS. 11-16 that the risk regions 3 are represented as polygonal risk regions and the contour segments are represented as rectilinear segments by approximating the series of points of the direct curvilinear path by a sequence of straight segments.
Bitar ‘492 teaches at FIG. 10 and Paragraph 0083 that the plot of the boundary 42 between the zones 41 within range and the zones 40 out of range may be obtained through a polygonal extraction searching for the polygonal contour encompassing maximum of mesh cells with quantity of value 0 while excluding any mesh cell with quantity of value 1.
Jafek teaches at Paragraph 0028 and FIG. 2 Block 206-210 connecting one or more edges in the first image and identifying a contour in the first image and determining a convex hull of the contour.
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have represented the risk regions of Bitar ‘454 and/or Bitar ‘283 by polygonal regions with the contour lines as edges of the polygonal regions in view of Bitar ‘492/MartyJafek/Lapis to have provided a polygonal shape for the risk regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have represented the risk regions of Bitar 454 and/or Bitar ‘283 in terms of the polygonal contour lines for the polygonal risk regions.
Re Claim 8:
The claim 8 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 2 except additional claim limitation that the one or more processing devices are further configured to add a padding value border to the classifier grid data prior to computing the superimposed grid.
Bita ‘801, Bitar ‘117 and Bita ‘283 further teaches the claim limitation that the one or more processing devices are further configured to add a padding value border to the classifier grid data prior to computing the superimposed grid (
Bitar ‘283 teaches adding margins outside their contours to the risk region prior to computing the superimposed grid.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0029 that the third type of risk region corresponding to marginal fringes surrounding the regions of the first and second types, of width corresponding to that necessary for the aircraft to perform a complete flat turn with the shortest permitted radius and the two lateral regions of tight deployment corresponding to an arbitrary amplitude change of direction during a turn of also arbitrary radius of curvature.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at [0015] means for determining, in the selected zone of deployment, a third type of risk region surrounding the regions of first and second types and constituting margins necessary for a free lateral deployment of the craft.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at [0008] It is an object of the present invention to provide a more complete signaling of the risks incurred by a craft on account of obstacles situated in its domain of progress taking account not only of the regions that are uncrossable because they are above the capabilities of the craft at the time, of the regions forming the subject of a crossing prohibition regulation and, possibly, of margins outside their contours where the craft has a restricted freedom of lateral deployment but also of the regions which would pose crossing problems to the craft if it changed behavior and adopted a fallback trajectory profile, envisaged in advance.
Bitar ‘117 teaches at FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0082-0083 adding a lateral safety margin around prohibited areas such as the classifier grid region 50 while locating grid that maps the selected area of movement and places the contours of the prohibited areas of overflight on this grid prior to computing and superimposing the classified grid cells to the map on the visual display device 63 showing the prohibited areas of overflight, the bands surrounding them.
Bita ‘801 teaches at Paragraph [0058] As can be seen in FIG. 1, the application, subject to dynamic constraint, of the chamfer mask distance transform has not made it possible to find an appropriate path joining the current position S of the aircraft to certain points of the region being flown over which have an infinite distance estimation, either because they belong to a zone 10 over which propagation has been prevented by the presence of a prohibited zone attribute flagging a regulatory prohibition, or because the propagation has failed in its search for paths that observe the imposed vertical flight profile. Over other points of a zone 11, the application, subject to static and dynamic constraints, of the chamfer mask distance transform has culminated in curvilinear distance estimations that are significantly greater than the Euclidian distances measured as straight lines showing that the curvilinear distances have been measured over avoidance paths. On the edge 12 of the zone 11 facing the current position S of the aircraft, major differences appear between the curvilinear distance estimations for neighboring points indicating the presence of a relief (cliff) that is dangerous because it is uncrossable by a direct path.
Bitar ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0077 that the tiling elements or mesh cells of the location grid are marked with a digit taking the value 0 in the absence of risk to be signaled and a value different from zero in the converse case and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph [0173] In the situation shown in FIG. 14, the points whose risk level score is the highest (scores +3 or -3) belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31, which prompts the emission, for the attention of the crew of the aircraft, of an alarm of high risk to the right, either audible, or visual, or at one and the same time audible and visual.
Bita ‘283 teaches at Paragraph 0166-0174 overlaid on the mesh of the location grid ruled on the selected zone of deployment are the instantaneous position 30 of the aircraft with the contours 31 and 32 of the two lateral zones and the contours 33 of the regions of the first type of risk region is shown in FIG. 1 and the contours 34 of the regions of the second type of risk region is shown in FIG. 5 and the points whose risk level score is the highest belong to the right lateral zone of tight deployment 31 and visual displaying of the alarms can be done by the displaying, in the cockpit of the aircraft of a navigation map showing the first, second and third type of risk regions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have identified an edge along the boundary of each cell of the grid cells relevant to the contour segment of the hazard region located inside each cell of the grid according to Bita ‘801 to have been incorporated into Bita ‘283 to have provided the internal contour segments for the hazard regions by identifying the edge of each cell of the grid cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have provided contour segments for the hazard regions before computing the contour map for superimposing the contour map on the superimposed grid.
Bitar ‘117 teaches at FIG. 7 and Paragraph 0082-0083 adding a lateral safety margin around prohibited areas such as the classifier grid region 50 while locating grid that maps the selected area of movement and places the contours of the prohibited areas of overflight on this grid prior to computing and superimposing the classified grid cells to the map on the visual display device 63 showing the prohibited areas of overflight, the bands surrounding them.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have added safety margins to the hazard regions while locating grid and placing the contours of the prohibited areas prior to computing and superimposing the classified grid cells to the map on the visual display device 63 showing the prohibited areas of overflight, the bands surrounding them according to Bitar ‘117 to have been incorporated into Bitar ‘283 to have identified safety margins for the hazard regions of Bita ‘283. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have identified safety margins for the hazard regions.
Bita ‘283 and Lapis further teach the claim limitation that the one or more processing devices are further configured to add a padding value border to the classifier grid data prior to computing the superimposed grid (
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have identified envelops in relation to the intensities of the storm regions (cells) represented by polygons according to Lapis to have been incorporated into Bitar ‘283, Machefer and Bitar ‘454 to have provided envelops to indicate the intensities of the hazard regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have provided padded borders to the hazard regions before computing the contour map for superimposing the contour map on the superimposed grid.
Re Claim 9:
The claim 9 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the contour map visually represents the contours as closed polygons; and the contour map indicates the two or more classes associated with the contours in a visually distinguishable manner.
Lapis further teaches the claim limitation that the contour map visually represents the contours as closed polygons; and the contour map indicates the two or more classes associated with the contours in a visually distinguishable manner (
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the a storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have identified the storm regions (cells) represented by polygons according to Lapis to have been incorporated into Bita ‘283 to have provided polygonal contour segments for the hazard regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have provided polygonal contour segments for the hazard regions.
Marty teaches at FIGS. 11-16 that the risk regions 3 are represented as polygonal risk regions and the contour segments are represented as rectilinear segments by approximating the series of points of the direct curvilinear path by a sequence of straight segments.
Jafek teaches at Paragraph 0028 and FIG. 2 Block 206-210 connecting one or more edges in the first image and identifying a contour in the first image and determining a convex hull of the contour.
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have represented the hazard regions of Colby/McCann by polygonal regions with the contour lines as edges of the polygonal regions in view of MartyJafek/Lapis to have provided a polygonal shape for the risk regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have represented the hazard regions of Colby/McCann in terms of the polygonal contour lines for the polygonal risk regions.
Re Claim 10:
The claim 10 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the contour map is a weather map; the raster data is temperature data, precipitation quantity data, wind speed data, pressure data, humidity data, air quality data, pollen data, visibility data, dew point data, or wind chill data; and the classifier grid data is precipitation type data, cloud cover data, or advisory data.
Lapis further teaches the claim limitation that the contour map is a weather map; the raster data is temperature data, precipitation quantity data, wind speed data, pressure data, humidity data, air quality data, pollen data, visibility data, dew point data, or wind chill data; and the classifier grid data is precipitation type data, cloud cover data, or advisory data (
Lapis teaches at FIGS. 1-2 tracking the storm cells 110/120/130/140 on the iso-grids 104 wherein the storm cells can be represented by polygons with the intensities of the storm cells being classified and represented by the sizes of the envelopes 212/222/232/242, and the a storm cell is tagged by yellow (30 dBZ) contour of the storm and a storm region is tagged with larger envelop for (>55 dBZ) storm cell).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have identified the storm regions (cells) represented by polygons according to Lapis to have been incorporated into Bita ‘283 to have provided polygonal contour segments for the hazard regions. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have provided polygonal contour segments for the hazard regions.
Re Claim 11:
The claim 11 recites a method for use with a computing device, the method comprising:
receiving raster data including a plurality of raster data values;
obtaining classifier grid data including a plurality of classification values selected from among two or more classes;
generating a contour map at least in part by: for each of the classes, generating a set of contour segments connecting respective pairs of grid locations included in the raster data, wherein generating the set of contour segments includes:
computing respective topological cases of a plurality of cells of a superimposed grid, wherein the superimposed grid includes a plurality of cells of the raster data that are associated with respective classification values included in the classifier grid data;
computing respective classifier cases of the cells of the superimposed grid; and
computing the contour segments based at least in part on the topological cases and classifier cases of the cells;
combining the contour segments into a plurality of contours; and
computing the contour map as a visual representation of the plurality of contours; and
outputting the contour map for display at a display device.
The claim 11 is in parallel with the claim 1 in a method form. The claim 11 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 1.
Re Claim 12:
The claim 12 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that: in the superimposed grid, the classifier grid data is offset from the raster data by half a pixel along both a horizontal axis and a vertical axis; and each of the cells of the superimposed grid is a 2 x 2 cell of raster data values.
The claim 12 is in parallel with the claim 2 in a method form. The claim 12 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 2.
Re Claim 13:
The claim 13 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 12 except additional claim limitation that, for each of the classes, generating two or more respective sets of contour segments, wherein the two or more sets of contour segments correspond to different contour levels of the raster data values.
The claim 13 is in parallel with the claim 3 in a method form. The claim 13 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 3.
Re Claim 14:
The claim 14 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 13 except additional claim limitation that, for each of the cells of the superimposed grid, the corresponding topological case indicates which of the raster data values included in the cell are greater than a current contour level.
The claim 14 is in parallel with the claim 4 in a method form. The claim 14 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 4.
Re Claim 15:
The claim 15 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 12 except additional claim limitation that, for each of the cells of the superimposed grid, the corresponding classifier case indicates which of a plurality of neighboring-cell classification values are equal to the classification value of the cell.
The claim 15 is in parallel with the claim 5 in a method form. The claim 15 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 5.
Re Claim 16:
The claim 16 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 15 except additional claim limitation that computing the contour segments includes:
based at least in part on the topological cases, computing a plurality of internal contour segments located within respective cells of the superimposed grid; and
based at least in part on the topological cases and the classifier cases, computing a plurality of edge segments located along horizontal or vertical boundaries of respective cells of the superimposed grid.
The claim 16 is in parallel with the claim 6 in a method form. The claim 16 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 6.
Re Claim 17 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 16 except additional claim limitation that computing a plurality of intersections between respective contour segments and the horizontal or vertical boundaries of corresponding cells; and
computing the internal contour segments based at least in part on the intersections.
The claim 17 is in parallel with the claim 7 in a method form. The claim 17 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 7.
Re Claim 18:
The claim 18 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 12 except additional claim limitation that adding a padding value border to the classifier grid data prior to computing the superimposed grid.
The claim 18 is in parallel with the claim 8 in a method form. The claim 18 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 8.
Re Claim 19:
The claim 19 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that the contour map visually represents the contours as closed polygons; and the contour map indicates the two or more classes associated with the contours in a visually distinguishable manner.
The claim 19 is in parallel with the claim 9 in a method form. The claim 19 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 9.
Re Claim 20:
The claim 20 recites a computing device comprising:
one or more processing devices configured to:
receive raster data including a plurality of raster data values;
obtain classifier grid data including a plurality of classification values selected from among two or more classes;
add a padding value border to the classifier grid data prior to computing the superimposed grid;
generate a contour map at least in part by: computing a superimposed grid in which the classifier grid data is offset from the raster data by half a pixel along both a horizontal axis and a vertical axis, wherein: the superimposed grid includes a plurality of cells of the raster data that are associated with respective classification values included in the classifier grid data; and each of the cells of the superimposed grid is a 2 x 2 cell of raster data values;
for each of the classes, generating a set of contour segments connecting respective pairs of grid locations included in the raster data, wherein generating the set of contour segments includes:
computing respective topological cases of a plurality of cells of the superimposed grid;
computing respective classifier cases of the cells of the superimposed grid at least in part by, for each of the cells, computing which of a plurality of neighboring-cell classification values are equal to the classification value of the cell; and
computing the contour segments based at least in part on the topological cases and classifier cases of the cells; combining the contour segments into a plurality of contours; and
computing the contour map as a visual representation of the plurality of contours; and
output the contour map for display at a display device.
The claim 20 encompasses the same scope of inventio as the claim 7 and is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 7.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIN CHENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617