DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al (US 2014/0375947 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Park et al discloses a securement arm for a head-mountable device (page 3, section [0047] – page 4, section [0055], Figures 10-16, “202a”), comprising: a frame (page 4, sections [0066-0067], Figure 11, “200” & Figure 23A, “1515,” re: HMD “200” used for creating augmented reality environments in the shape of eyeglasses having a frame “1515” with described temple arms); a window secured to the frame (page 4, section [0067], Figure 23A, “1514,” re: optical see-through display); a plurality of arm segments extending from the frame (page 3, section [0049], Figures 10 & 11, “240a,b,c,d”); and a plurality of joints interconnecting the plurality of arm segments (page 3, section [0049], Figure 10, “244a,b,c,d”), wherein each joint of the plurality of joints comprises: adjacent first and second arm segments of the plurality of arm segments (page 3, section [0049], Figure 10, “240a,b,c,d” & “244a,b,c,d”); and a biasing member configured to provide a biasing force resisting a relative movement between the first arm segment and the second arm segment (page 3, sections [0050]-[0051], Figure 12, “246,” re: plate springs bias adjacent arm sections “240” and prevent folding of the adjacent arm section with respect to each other and prevent coiling of temple arms “202”).
Regarding claim 8, Park et al discloses wherein: the securement arm is a first securement arm (page 3, section [0047] – page 4, section [0055], Figures 10-16, “202a”); and the head-mountable device further comprises a frame (page 4, sections [0066-0067], Figure 11, “200” & Figure 23A, “1515,” re: HMD “200” used for creating augmented reality environments in the shape of eyeglasses having a frame “1515” with described temple arms) and a second securement arm (Figures 10-16, “202b”), the first and second securement arms extending from the frame (Figure 11, “202a,b”).
In regard to claim 10, Park et al discloses a wearable device (page 3, section [0047] – page 4, section [0055], Figures 10-16, “200”) comprising: a frame (page 4, sections [0066-0067], Figure 11, “200” & Figure 23A, “1515,” re: HMD “200” used for creating augmented reality environments in the shape of eyeglasses having a frame “1515” with described temple arms); and a pair of securement arms extending from the frame (Figure 11, “202a,b”), each securement arm of the pair of securement arms comprising: a plurality of arm segments (page 3, section [0049) comprising a proximal arm segment coupled to the frame (Figure 11, “202a,b”), a distal arm segment (Figure 11, “240d”), and an intermediate arm segment between the proximal arm segment and the distal arm segment (Figure 11, “240b,c”); and a plurality of joints interconnecting the plurality of arm segments, wherein each joint of the plurality of joints (page 3, section [0049], Figure 10, “244a,b,c,d”) comprises: adjacent first and second arm segments of the plurality of arm segments (page 3, section [0049], Figure 10, “240a,b,c,d”); and a biasing member configured to provide a biasing force resisting a relative movement between the adjacent first and second arm segments (page 3, sections [0050]-[0051], Figure 12, “246,” re: plate springs bias adjacent arm sections “240” and prevent folding of the adjacent arm section with respect to each other and prevent coiling of temple arms “202”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al.
Regarding claim 9, Park et al discloses as set forth above, but does not specifically disclose wherein the head-mountable device comprises a projector configured to project light toward the window.
However, Park et al teaches wherein it is desirable for a head-mountable device to comprise a projector configured to project light toward a window for the purpose of generating a display of the image data while a user also sees through the display optical systems for an actual direct view of the world (page 6, sections [0079] & [0082], Figures 24A,B, “1620”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the head-mountable device of Park et al to comprise a projector configured to project light toward the window since Park et al teaches wherein it is desirable for the purpose of generating a display of the image data while a user also sees through the display optical systems for an actual direct view of the world.
In regard to claim 16, Park et al discloses an electronic device (page 3, section [0047] – page 4, section [0055], Figures 10-16, “200”) comprising: a viewing frame (page 4, sections [0066-0067], Figure 11, “200” & Figure 23A, “1515,” re: HMD “200” used for creating augmented reality environments in the shape of eyeglasses having a frame “1515” with described temple arms); an optically transparent window secured to the viewing frame (page 4, section [0067], Figure 23A, “1514,” re: optical see-through display); and a securement arm (page 3, section [0047] – page 4, section [0055], Figures 10-16, “202a”) extending from the viewing frame (Figures 10 & 11, “200”), the securement arm comprising: a plurality of arm segments (Figures 10 & 11, “240a,b,c,d”) including a first arm segment (Figures 10 & 11, “240a”), a second arm segment (Figures 10 & 11, “240b”), and a third arm segment (Figures 10 & 11, “240c”); and a plurality of joints interconnecting the plurality of arm segments (page 3, section [0049], Figure 10, “244a,b,c,d”), wherein each joint of the plurality of joints (page 3, section [0049], Figure 10, “244a,b,c,d”) comprises: adjacent arm segments of the plurality of arm segments (page 3, section [0049], Figure 10, “240a,b,c,d”); and a biasing member configured to resist an outward rotation of one of the plurality of arm segments away from the viewing frame (page 3, sections [0050]-[0051], Figure 12, “246,” re: plate springs bias adjacent arm sections “240” and prevent folding of the adjacent arm section with respect to each other and prevent coiling of temple arms “202”), but does not specifically disclose a projector secured to the viewing frame and an optical waveguide configured to direct light from the projector and displayed at the optically transparent window.
However, Park et al teaches wherein it is desirable for electronic devices to comprise a projector secured to a viewing frame and an optical waveguide configured to direct light from the projector and displayed at the optically transparent window for the purpose of generating a display of the image data while a user also sees through the display optical systems for an actual direct view of the world (page 6, sections [0079] & [0082], Figures 24A,B, “1620, 1624, 1612”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the electronic device of Park et al to comprise a projector secured to a viewing frame and an optical waveguide configured to direct light from the projector and displayed at the optically transparent window since Park et al teaches wherein it is desirable for the purpose of generating a display of the image data while a user also sees through the display optical systems for an actual direct view of the world.
Regarding claim 17, Park et al discloses wherein each joint further comprises a stop to limit an inward rotation of the one of the one of the plurality of arm segments towards the viewing frame (page 3, sections [0050]-[0051], Figure 12, “246,” re: plate springs bias adjacent arm sections “240” and prevent folding of the adjacent arm section with respect to each other and prevent coiling of temple arms “202”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 11-15, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 2-5: a securement arm as claimed, specifically wherein the biasing member comprises an insert positioned at least partially between the first arm segment and the second arm segment.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 6: a securement arm as claimed, specifically wherein the biasing member comprises an elastomer cord extending along the plurality of arm segments.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 7: a securement arm as claimed, specifically wherein the biasing member comprises a shape memory material.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 11: a wearable device as claimed, specifically wherein the biasing member comprises an elastomer bumper positioned to compress when the pair of securement arms are splayed away from each other.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 12 and 13: a wearable device as claimed, specifically comprising a groove extending contiguously along the plurality of arm segments, wherein the biasing member comprises an elastomer cord positioned within the groove.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 14 and 15: a wearable device as claimed, specifically wherein: the biasing member comprises a shape memory material having an original shape; and the shape memory material is configured to return to the original shape when heated.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 18-20: an electronic device as claimed, specifically wherein the biasing member comprises a first biasing member of shape memory material having a first original shape and extending contiguously along the plurality of arm segments; and further comprising a second biasing member of shape memory material having a second original shape and extending contiguously along the plurality of arm segments.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 February 12, 2026