DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-11 and 24-29 are canceled in consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I1 , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/12/2026.
Accordingly, the restriction is hereby made FINAL.
Specification (Abstract)
The abstract2 of the disclosure is objected to because it discloses generic and vague language.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 -41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saily (US 2024 0163840).
Regarding Claims 12 and 30, Saily discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at an assisting node (see FIG. 1, non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) 132/133/135; FIG. 5, UE2/UE 3 in wireless network 130; see ¶25, 66-67; also see FIG. 15, UE), comprising:
one or more memories (see FIG. 15, memory 1506); and
one or more processors (see FIG.15, Processor 1504), coupled to the one or more memories, which, individually or in any combination, (see FIG. 15, processor 1504 connect to memory 1506; see ¶¶ 138 )are operable to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network node, (see FIG. 1, 5,7, receive from initiator/first UE0/UE1 and/or Base station BS 134/gNB 712 ) an indication of a channel estimation signal (see ¶¶ 43,44, configuration information/indication of channel estimation information; also see ¶¶ 47, 52-54 ; FIG. 7, Step 3-configuration); and
measure the channel estimation signal as backscattered by a tag (see FIG. 1, 5, 7; measure/determine channel estimating information based on received backscattered signal from one or more of backscatter node [BN(s))/tag(s)]; see ¶¶44, 52-54,68,77; FIG. 7, Steps 8-9: measuring the channel estimation).
Regarding Claims 13 and 31, Saily discloses receive the indication over a Uu interface (see FIG. 5, 15, receiving information/indication over RF transceiver Uu interface; see ¶¶ 66-68; 138).
Regarding Claims 14 and 32, Saily discloses wherein the indication includes a time and a frequency associated with the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 7, information/indication includes time and frequency resources related/associated with channel estimating; see ¶¶ 70, 86, 92, 104, 127).
Regarding Claims 15 and 33, Saily discloses wherein the indication includes a frequency shift induced by the tag (see FIG. 1, 5, 7; the information/indication includes frequency shifted by a assigned backscatter frequency offset and reflected by backscatter node(s)/tag: see ¶¶ 43, 44, 46, 47, 52, 53-57, 59, 62; also see FIG. 12, frequency shifted backscatter signal of tag/backscatter node by RF switch 1212; also see ¶90).
Regarding Claims 16 and 34, Saily discloses transmit, to the network node, an indication of a channel based at least in part on measuring the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1, 5, after measuring the channel, non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) transmit information/indication of channel estimation to initiator/first UE0/UE1 and/or network node/Base station BS 134/gNB 712 ; see ¶¶ 65, 68, 77, 97, 109, 118).
Regarding Claims 17 and 35, Saily discloses transmit, to the network node, an indication of a measurement associated with the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1, 5, after measuring the channel, non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) transmit information/indication of channel estimation to initiator/first UE0/UE1 and/or network node/Base station BS 134/gNB 712 ; see ¶¶ 65, 68, 77, 97, 109, 118); and
receive, from the network node, an indication of a channel between the assisting node and the tag (see FIG. 4, receiving from initiator/first UE0/UE1 and/or network node/Base station BS 134/gNB 712 configuration information/indication (i.e. frequency offset, time-frequency resources) between non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) and backscatter node(s)/tag(s); see ¶¶44, 54, 65, 68, 77; also see ¶¶ 108-110).
Regarding Claims 18 and 36, Saily discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (see FIG. 1, 5, 7, Initiator/first UE0/UE1 and/or Base station BS 134/gNB 712 in wireless network 130; see ¶25, 66-67; also see FIG. 15, UE/BS/gNB), comprising:
one or more memories (see FIG. 15, memory 1506); and
one or more processors (see FIG.15, Processor 1504), coupled to the one or more memories, which, individually or in any combination, (see FIG. 15, processor 1504 connect to memory 1506; see ¶¶ 138 ) are operable to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a plurality of assisting nodes, (see FIG. 1, 5, 7; transmit to non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) 132/133/135 (FIG. 1) or UE2/UE 3 (FIG. 5), UE1-3 (FIG. 7)) an indication of a channel estimation signal (see ¶¶ 43,44, 63-65, configuration information/indication of channel estimation information; also see ¶¶ 67, 70; FIG. 7, Step 3-configuration) and
measure the channel estimation signal, from the plurality of assisting nodes, as backscattered by a tag (see FIG. 1, 5, 7; measure/determine channel estimating information from non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) 132/133/135 (FIG. 1) or UE2/UE 3 (FIG. 5), UE1-3 (FIG. 7) based on received backscattered signal from one or more of backscatter node (BNs)/tag(s)); see ¶¶44, 52-54,67, 68,77; FIG. 7, Steps 8-9-measuring the channel estimation).
Regarding Claims 19 and 37, Saily discloses transmit the indication to each assisting node of the plurality of assisting nodes over a Uu interface (see FIG. 5, 15, transmit information/indication to non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) over RF transceiver Uu interface; see ¶¶ 66-68; 138).
Regarding Claims 20 and 38, Saily discloses wherein the indication includes a time and a frequency associated with the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 7, information/indication includes time and frequency resources related/associated with channel estimating; see ¶¶ 70, 86, 92, 104, 127).
Regarding Claims 21 and 39, Saily discloses wherein the indication includes a frequency shift induced by the tag (see FIG. 1, 5, 7; the information/indication includes frequency shifted by a assigned backscatter frequency offset and reflected by backscatter node(s)/tag: see ¶¶ 43, 44, 46, 47, 52, 53-57, 59, 62; also see FIG. 12, frequency shifted backscatter signal of tag/backscatter node by RF switch 1212; also see ¶90).
Regarding Claims 22 and 40, Saily discloses transmit, to at least one assisting node in the plurality of assisting nodes (see FIG. 1, 5, transmit to one non-initiator/second user device (UE) [e.g. UE132/133/135 (FIG. 1), UE2/UE3/U5/U6 (FIG. 5), UE1-UE3 (FIG.7)] of plurality of non-initiator/second user devices (UEs)), an indication of a channel based at least in part on measuring the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1, 5, after measuring/determining channel estimation , initiator/first UE0/UE1 and/or network node/Base station BS 134/gNB 712 transmit information/indication of channel estimation/position; see ¶¶ 65, 68, 77, 97, 109, 118; also see FIG. 2-4).
Regarding Claims 23 and 41, Saily discloses transmit, to an assisting node in the plurality of assisting nodes, an indication of a measurement associated with the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1, 5, after measuring/determining channel estimation , transmit to one non-initiator/second user device (UE) [e.g. UE132/133/135 (FIG. 1), UE2/UE3/U5/U6 (FIG. 5), UE1-UE3 (FIG.7)] of plurality of non-initiator/second user devices (UEs), information/indication of channel estimation/position; see ¶¶ 65, 68, 77, 97, 109, 118; also see FIG. 2-4); and
receive, from the assisting node, an indication of a channel between the assisting node and the tag (see FIG. 2-4, receiving from non-initiator/second user device (UE), configuration information/indication (i.e. frequency offset, time-frequency resources) between non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) and backscatter node(s)/tag(s); see ¶¶44, 54, 65, 68, 77,; also see ¶¶ 108-110).
Second Rejection
Claims 12, 14-18, 20-23, 30, 32-36, 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hewett (US 2026 00165903).
Regarding Claims 12 and 30, Hewett discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at an assisting node (see FIG. 1 A-B, Reader/Sensor 150 for wireless communication; see ¶45), comprising:
one or more memories (see ¶45, memory); and
one or more processors (see FIG. 1B, processor 152), coupled to the one or more memories, which, individually or in any combination, (see FIG. 1B, processor 152 connected to memory; see ¶¶ 16, 61 ) are operable to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network node, (see FIG. 1A-B, receive from Controller Appliance 140) an indication of a channel estimation signal (see ¶¶ 45, 50,; command/indication of channel estimation message/query; also see ¶¶ 53, 54, 58, 91, 93 ); and
measure the channel estimation signal as backscattered by a tag (see FIG. , 1A, B; see ¶¶ 45, 47, 50; measure/determine channel estimation as backscattered by a RFID tag 101; also see ¶¶54, 58,59, 60, 66,86, 80,85-88, 91, 99).
Regarding Claims 14 and 32, Hewett discloses wherein the indication includes a time and a frequency associated with the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1B-C, information/indication includes time and carrier frequency parameters related/associated with channel estimating; see ¶¶ 52, 75, 87, 94; also see FIG. 6).
Regarding Claims 15 and 33, Hewett discloses wherein the indication includes a frequency shift induced by the tag (see FIG. 1B-C; the information/indication includes rotating/shifting/switching frequency/kHz by backscatter RFID tag between different modes and antenna array changes: see ¶¶ 51, 60, 66, 74).
Regarding Claims 16 and 34, Hewett discloses transmit, to the network node, an indication of a channel based at least in part on measuring the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1A-B, 2 Steps 216: Reader/Sensor 150 transmit to Control appliance 140 information/indication regarding a channel condition based on measuring/determining channel estimates ; see ¶¶ 44, 45,54, 103, 106, 127; also see FIG. 4B).
Regarding Claims 17 and 35, Hewett discloses transmit, to the network node, an indication of a measurement associated with the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1A-C, 2 Steps 216: Reader/Sensor 150 transmit to Control appliance 140 information/indication regarding a channel condition based on measuring/determining channel estimates ; see ¶¶ 44, 45,54, 103, 106, 127; also see FIG. 4B) and
receive, from the network node, an indication of a channel between the assisting node and the tag (see FIG. 1A-C, receive command/query from Control appliance 140 information/indication of a channel condition/estimate/ between Reader/Sensor 150 and RFID tag 101; see ¶¶ 45, 50, 103, 117, 125; also see FIG. 3A, see ¶¶ 68-72).
Regarding Claims 18 and 36, Hewett discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (see FIG. 1 A, C, Controller Appliance 140 reside on Ethernet/network for wireless communication; see ¶45, 68), comprising:
one or more memories (see FIG. 1C, non-volatile memories: see ¶¶ 68 ); and
one or more processors (see FIG. 1C, CPU 142), coupled to the one or more memories, which, individually or in any combination, (see FIG. 1C, memories are connected to CPU 142; see ¶¶ 68-69) are operable to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a plurality of assisting nodes, (see FIG. 1A, C transmit to plurality of Reader/Sensor 150a-g; also see ¶¶ 53, 54, 58, 91, 93) an indication of a channel estimation signal (see ¶¶ 45, 50; command/indication of channel estimation message/query; also see ¶¶ 53, 54, 58, 91, 93); and
measure the channel estimation signal, from the plurality of assisting nodes, (see ¶¶ 45, 86; measure/determine channel estimation from plurality of Reader/Sensor 150a-g; also see ¶¶ 99, 103, 104, 109-112, 119-121) as backscattered by a tag (see ¶¶ 47, 58, 60: as backscattered by a RFID tag 101; also see ¶¶ 66, 69,74,78,91 ).
Regarding Claims 20 and 38, Hewett discloses wherein the indication includes a time and a frequency associated with the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1B-C, information/indication includes time and carrier frequency parameters related/associated with channel estimating; see ¶¶ 52, 75, 87, 94; also see FIG. 6).
Regarding Claims 21 and 39, Hewett discloses wherein the indication includes a frequency shift induced by the tag (see FIG. 1B-C; the information/indication includes rotating/shifting/switching frequency/kHz by backscatter RFID tag between different modes and antenna array changes: see ¶¶ 51, 60, 66, 74).
Regarding Claims 22 and 40, Hewett discloses transmit, to at least one assisting node in the plurality of assisting nodes (see FIG. 1A-C, transmit/command to at least one Reader/Sensor 150a of plurality of Readers/Sensors 150a-g; see ¶¶ 45-48), an indication of a channel based at least in part on measuring the channel estimation signal (see ¶¶ 44, 45,54, 103, 106, 127; information/indication regarding a channel condition based on measuring/determining channel estimates; also see FIG. 4B).
Regarding Claims 23 and 41, Hewett discloses transmit, to an assisting node in the plurality of assisting nodes, an indication of a measurement associated with the channel estimation signal (see FIG. 1A-C, transmit a command/query to Reader/Sensor 150a of plurality of Readers/Sensors 150a-g information/indication of determined/measurement regarding channel estimation; see ¶¶ 44, 45,54, 103, 106, 127; also see FIG. 4B) , and
receive, from the assisting node, an indication of a channel between the assisting node and the tag (see FIG. 1A-C, receive a command/query from Reader/Sensor 150 information/indication of a channel condition/estimate/ between Reader/Sensor 150 and RFID tag 101; see ¶¶ 45, 50, 103, 117, 125; also see FIG. 3A, see ¶¶ 68-72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13, 19, 31 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewett in view of Saily (US 2024 0163840).
Regarding Claims 13 and 31, Hewett discloses an assisting node receive the indication over an interface (see FIG. 1A, B, Reader/Sensor 150 receive over an interface RF antenna array 156; see ¶¶ 61-62).
Although Hewett discloses an interface as set forth above, Hewett does not explicitly disclose “Uu” Interface.
However, Saily discloses receive the indication over a Uu interface (see FIG. 5, 15, receiving information/indication over RF transceiver Uu interface; see ¶¶ 66-68; 138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “Uu” Interface” as taught by Saily in the system of Hewett, so that it would provide interoperability with 5G standard which provide significant improvement in wireless performance; see Saily ¶¶4, 30, 42.
Regarding Claims 19 and 37, Hewett the network node transmit the indication to each assisting node of the plurality of assisting nodes over an interface (see FIG. 1A, C, Controller Appliance 140 to Reader/Sensor 150 of plurality of Reader/senor 150s over an wireless interface ; see ¶¶ 50, 69).
Although Hewett discloses an interface as set forth above, Hewett does not explicitly disclose “Uu” Interface.
However, Saily discloses transmit the indication to each assisting node of the plurality of assisting nodes over a Uu interface (see FIG. 5, 15, transmit information/indication to non-initiator/second user device(s) (UE) over RF transceiver Uu interface; see ¶¶ 66-68; 138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “Uu” Interface” as taught by Saily in the system of Hewett, so that it would provide interoperability with 5G standard which provide significant improvement in wireless performance; see Saily ¶¶4, 30, 42.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barbu’229 (US 20250324229): FIG. 3-4
Barbu’677 (US 20240205677): FIG. 1, 4
Li (US 20250317715): FIG. 12a-b, 13a-b
Ye (WO 2023211965): FIG. 1, 3, 4a
IAN N. MOORE
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Id. ¶2 Requirement for Restriction/Election (1/23/26)
2 Various aspects of the present disclosure generally relate to wireless communication. In some aspects, a network node may transmit, to a plurality of additional nodes, an indication of a channel estimation signal. The network node may transmit the channel estimation signal to be backscattered by a tag. Numerous other aspects are described.
3 As evidenced by provisional application 63/490836 (see FIG. 1-4, see ¶¶ 27-100) and provisional application 63/603892 (see FIG. 1-4, see ¶¶ 26-61).