DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-18 are objected to because they use different spellings of hangar/hanger. As understood by the examiner, hanger and hangar are the same component. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because cylindrical is misspelled as “cylinderical”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, line 3, and claim 18, line 3, states “a centering component is arranged on the hangar to adjust the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle body on the hanger”.
It is unclear how the centering component “adjusts” the position of the UAV on the hanger. As best understood by the examiner, and for purposes of examiner, the centering component will be treated as a spot for the UAV to land.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni et al. (CN217980809, English translation provided) in view of Anderson (US20110314938).
Claim 1: Ni teaches/discloses a long-distance sampling device f, comprising: an unmanned aerial vehicle body (unmanned aerial vehicle body 1, Fig. 1) comprising a wireless controller (control assembly 3) for controlling flight of the unmanned aerial vehicle body; supporting feet (supporting leg 7) arranged on the unmanned aerial vehicle body; a sampling unit arranged on the unmanned aerial vehicle body for collecting samples, wherein the sampling unit comprises: a sampling power portion (driving motor 12) arranged in the unmanned aerial vehicle body; a sampling portion (soil sampler 5) arranged on the unmanned aerial vehicle body; the sampling portion comprises a cylindrical sampling tube (inner sleeve 15) and a sampling shaft (rotating rod 13) rotatably connected to the sampling tube; spiral blades (soil collecting ring 14); and the sampling power portion drives the sampling shaft to rotate (the rod 13 and ).
Ni fails to teach wherein the spiral blade are fixedly connected to the sampling shaft.
However, Anderson teaches a soil sampling machine including a sampling mechanism 900 (Figs. 10, 11) having an auger 902 wherein the blade is fixedly connected to the sampling shaft.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the blade of Anderson with the device of Ni in order to be able to transport the sample material upward along the blade (Anderson [0035]).
Ni in view of Anderson fails to teach wherein the device is used for sampling feces in a poultry house. However, to satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) .
Claim 4: Ni in view of Anderson teaches the device of claim 1. Ni teaches wherein the sampling tube (inner sleeve) is of a cylindrical structure with an opening at one end, and the opening of the sampling tube is formed in one end (see Figs. 4-5), away from the unmanned aerial vehicle body (the open end of the tube 5 is at the bottom end, away from the body of the AUV 1), of the sampling tube; and a preset space is formed between ends (see Fig. 5, the size of the sleeve 15 is preset), away from the opening of the sampling tube, of the spiral blades and a bottom of the sampling tube for storing the samples (the sample is stored between the sleeve 15 and the rotating rod 13).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang et al. (US20200086982).
Claim 2: Ni in view of Anderson teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein blade protection covers are arranged on the blades of the unmanned aerial vehicle body.
However, Wang teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV 100, Fig. 1) including blades 104 and blade guards 11 arranged on the blades.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the protection covers (blade guards) of Wang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson in order to protect the blades from impact (Wang [0013]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti et al. (US20230140387)
Claim 3: Ni in view of Anderson teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein automatic telescopic supporting feet are provided as the supporting feet.
However, Infanti teaches a landing system for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV 110) Fig. 2 including landing gear 128 comprising a telescoping feet (legs) which are automatic because the telescoping nature is biased by springs [0068] and the landing procedure is automated [0051].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the telescoping feet of Infanti with the device of Ni in view of Anderson in order to reduce the impact force at landing (Infanti [0068]).
Claim 5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge et al. (US20230031586).
Claim 5: Ni in view of Anderson teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the sampling portion is detachably connected with the unmanned aerial vehicle body, and the sampling device further comprises: a clamping unit fixedly connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body for clamping the sampling portion.
However, Bainbridge teaches a AUV 150 includes a retention and loading mechanism 175 including a clamping mechanism for grasping sample containers (portions). [0047] The retention and loading mechanism 175 can include additional actuators for positioning and moving the one or more sample containers 140. The retention and loading mechanism 175 can include or can be one or more robotic arms and/or clamping mechanisms which can be combined with or can take the place of the cylinder 176, piston 177, and head 179.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit and sampling portions as taught by Bainbridge with the device of Ni in view of Anderson in order to dispose, removably place, or attach the sample container onto at least a portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle (Bainbridge [0026]).
Claim 8: Ni in view of Anderson teaches the device of claim 4, but fails to teach wherein the sampling portion is detachably connected with the unmanned aerial vehicle body, and the sampling device further comprises: a clamping unit fixedly connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body for clamping the sampling portion.
However, Bainbridge teaches a AUV 150 includes a retention and loading mechanism 175 including a clamping mechanism for grasping sample containers (portions). [0047] The retention and loading mechanism 175 can include additional actuators for positioning and moving the one or more sample containers 140. The retention and loading mechanism 175 can include or can be one or more robotic arms and/or clamping mechanisms which can be combined with or can take the place of the cylinder 176, piston 177, and head 179.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit and sampling portions as taught by Bainbridge with the device of Ni in view of Anderson in order to dispose, removably place, or attach the sample container onto at least a portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle (Bainbridge [0026]).
Claim 6 is rejected under Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang further in view of Bainbridge.
Claim 6: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang teaches the device of claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the sampling portion is detachably connected with the unmanned aerial vehicle body, and the sampling device further comprises: a clamping unit fixedly connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body for clamping the sampling portion.
However, Bainbridge teaches a AUV 150 includes a retention and loading mechanism 175 including a clamping mechanism for grasping sample containers (portions). [0047] The retention and loading mechanism 175 can include additional actuators for positioning and moving the one or more sample containers 140. The retention and loading mechanism 175 can include or can be one or more robotic arms and/or clamping mechanisms which can be combined with or can take the place of the cylinder 176, piston 177, and head 179.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit and sampling portions as taught by Bainbridge with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang in order to dispose, removably place, or attach the sample container onto at least a portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle (Bainbridge [0026]).
Claim 7 is rejected under Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge.
Claim 7: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti teaches the device of claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the sampling portion is detachably connected with the unmanned aerial vehicle body, and the sampling device further comprises: a clamping unit fixedly connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body for clamping the sampling portion.
However, Bainbridge teaches a AUV 150 includes a retention and loading mechanism 175 including a clamping mechanism for grasping sample containers (portions). [0047] The retention and loading mechanism 175 can include additional actuators for positioning and moving the one or more sample containers 140. The retention and loading mechanism 175 can include or can be one or more robotic arms and/or clamping mechanisms which can be combined with or can take the place of the cylinder 176, piston 177, and head 179.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit and sampling portions as taught by Bainbridge with the device of Ni in view of Anderson in order to dispose, removably place, or attach the sample container onto at least a portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle (Bainbridge [0026]).
Claims 9, 12-13, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang (CN218052656, translation provided) further in view of Lui (CN21819883, translation provided).
Claim 9: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge teaches the long-distance sampling device for feces in a poultry house according to claim 5, but fails to teach wherein the clamping unit comprises: two groups of clamping arms arranged on both sides of the sampling portion; the clamping arms are hinged to the unmanned aerial vehicle body; clamping plates arranged on the clamping arms; surfaces, close to the sampling portion, of the clamping plates are in an arc shape to fit the sampling portion; and clamping power portions fixedly connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body for driving the clamping arms to rotate and clamp the sampling portion.
However, Zhang teaches a clamping unit (Fig. 1-2) including two groups of clamping arms (jaws 404) arranged on both sides the target sample (the sample is held between the friction pads 405); the clamping arms are hinged to the support (the jaws 404 are in hinged connection at the worm gear 401 to the support plate 1); clamping plates (friction pads 405) arranged on the clamping arms; and clamping power portions (worm gears 401) fixedly connected to the support body for driving the clamping arms to rotate and clamp the sampling portion.
Bainbridge teaches the use of robotic clamping in order to a sample. Zhang teaches a clamping mechanism which can be attached to a support. Therefore, the problem to be solved -clamping a sample- would have lead one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a suitable clamping member. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit of Zhang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge in order to utilize a clamping unit with a self-locking function (Zhang, page 3, item (2)).
Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang fails to teach wherein the surfaces, close to the sampling portion, of the clamping plates are in an arc shape to fit the sampling portion.
However, Liu teaches a clamping block 787 with an arc-shaped structure (Fig. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an arc-shaped clamping block as taught by Liu with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang in order to match the contours of the clamped object and thereby clamp and protect the object (Liu, middle page 6).
Claim 12: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge teaches the device of claim 8, but fails to teach wherein the clamping unit comprises: two groups of clamping arms arranged on both sides of the sampling portion; the clamping arms are hinged to the unmanned aerial vehicle body; clamping plates arranged on the clamping arms; surfaces, close to the sampling portion, of the clamping plates are in an arc shape to fit the sampling portion; and clamping power portions fixedly connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body for driving the clamping arms to rotate and clamp the sampling portion.
However, Zhang teaches a clamping unit (Fig. 1-2) including two groups of clamping arms (jaws 404) arranged on both sides the target sample (the sample is held between the friction pads 405); the clamping arms are hinged to the support (the jaws 404 are in hinged connection at the worm gear 401 to the support plate 1); clamping plates (friction pads 405) arranged on the clamping arms; and clamping power portions (worm gears 401) fixedly connected to the support body for driving the clamping arms to rotate and clamp the sampling portion.
Bainbridge teaches the use of robotic clamping in order to a sample. Zhang teaches a clamping mechanism which can be attached to a support. Therefore, the problem to be solved -clamping a sample- would have lead one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a suitable clamping member. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit of Zhang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge in order to utilize a clamping unit with a self-locking function (Zhang, page 3, item (2)).
Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang fails to teach wherein the surfaces, close to the sampling portion, of the clamping plates are in an arc shape to fit the sampling portion.
However, Liu teaches a clamping block 787 with an arc-shaped structure (Fig. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an arc-shaped clamping block as taught by Liu with the device of Ni in view of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang in order to match the contours of the clamped object and thereby clamp and protect the object (Liu, middle page 6).
Claim 13: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu teaches the long-distance sampling device for feces in a poultry house according to claim 9. Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge fails to teach wherein the clamping arms are hinged to the unmanned aerial vehicle body through clamping shafts, and the clamping power portions each comprise: a worm gear arranged at an end of a corresponding one of the clamping shafts; a clamping power shaft rotatably connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body; worms rotating in opposite directions are arranged at both ends of the clamping power shaft; the worms are meshed with the worm gears; and a clamping motor fixedly connected into the unmanned aerial vehicle body for driving the clamping power shaft to rotate.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the clamping arms (jaws 404) are hinged to the support through clamping shafts (clamping rod 402), and the clamping power portions each comprise: a worm gear (worm gear 401) arranged at an end of a corresponding one of the clamping shafts; a clamping power shaft (worm 3) rotatably connected to the support; worms rotating in opposite directions are arranged at both ends of the clamping power shaft (middle pg. 3, Detailed Description: worm 3 with two spiral lines with opposite rotation directions); the worms are meshed with the worm gears (the worm 3 and spiral lines are meshed with the worm wheels 401); and a clamping motor (motor 2) fixedly connected into the support for driving the clamping power shaft to rotate (pg 3, second to last paragraph: starter motor 2 begins work, motor 2 drive worm 3 rotates, worm 3 drives two worm wheel 401 and rotates, first connecting rod 402 and second connecting rod 403 rotate under worm wheel 401's drive, make two clamping jaws 404 be close to each other).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit of Zhang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge in order to utilize a clamping unit with a self-locking function (Zhang, page 3, item (2)).
Claim 16: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu teaches the long-distance sampling device for feces in a poultry house according to claim 12. Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge fails to teach wherein the clamping arms are hinged to the unmanned aerial vehicle body through clamping shafts, and the clamping power portions each comprise: a worm gear arranged at an end of a corresponding one of the clamping shafts; a clamping power shaft rotatably connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body; worms rotating in opposite directions are arranged at both ends of the clamping power shaft; the worms are meshed with the worm gears; and a clamping motor fixedly connected into the unmanned aerial vehicle body for driving the clamping power shaft to rotate.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the clamping arms (jaws 404) are hinged to the support through clamping shafts (clamping rod 402), and the clamping power portions each comprise: a worm gear (worm gear 401) arranged at an end of a corresponding one of the clamping shafts; a clamping power shaft (worm 3) rotatably connected to the support; worms rotating in opposite directions are arranged at both ends of the clamping power shaft (middle pg. 3, Detailed Description: worm 3 with two spiral lines with opposite rotation directions); the worms are meshed with the worm gears (the worm 3 and spiral lines are meshed with the worm wheels 401); and a clamping motor (motor 2) fixedly connected into the support for driving the clamping power shaft to rotate (pg 3, second to last paragraph: starter motor 2 begins work, motor 2 drive worm 3 rotates, worm 3 drives two worm wheel 401 and rotates, first connecting rod 402 and second connecting rod 403 rotate under worm wheel 401's drive, make two clamping jaws 404 be close to each other).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit of Zhang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge in order to utilize a clamping unit with a self-locking function (Zhang, page 3, item (2)).
Claim 17: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu teaches the device of claim 9. Bainbridge teaches the use of [0026] cylinders, pistons, rods, conveyors, ramps, latches, stations, robotic arms, carousels, and other components that can hold, manipulate, and/or move the sample container 140; a hangar (retention and loading mechanism 175), a sample bank (the collection of container stations 305) arranged in the hangar; sample bases (the container stations 305, which include means for securing a portion of the sample container [0048] Each sample container station 305 can also include a securing mechanism, such as a clamp that can grasp at least a portion of each sample container 140, or protrusions configured to and adapted to surround at least a portion of each sample container 140 to secure one or more sample containers 140 within each sample container station 305. Therefore a cylindrical container station would have been an obvious option to surround and secure the cylindrical sample container) can be arranged in the shape of a carousel [0048] (an annular groove) and can be controlled to move the sample containers about and between stations; a centering component ([0029]unmanned aerial vehicle station 154) is arranged on the hanger to adjust position of the unmanned aerial vehicle body on the hanger ([0029] An unmanned aerial vehicle station 154 can be a location where the unmanned aerial vehicle 150 can land and depart. In examples, the unmanned aerial vehicle station 154 can be located or disposed adjacent the enclosure 101, disposed within the enclosure 101, and/or disposed adjacent the one or more apparatus for generating power or electricity 103. The unmanned aerial vehicle station 154 can be proximate or adjacent the sample container 140 or adjacent a location where the sample container 140 can be loaded or otherwise disposed on the unmanned aerial vehicle 150 present in the unmanned aerial vehicle station 154.); base moving wheels (rollers [0048]) arranged in the hangar for controlling the sampling bases to move in the sample bank. Therefore the sample handling after collection by the UAV can be tailored and does not affect operation of the UAV.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Bainbridge with the device of claim 9 in order to receive, hold, and move sample containers from an unmanned aerial vehicle (Bainbridge [0048]).
Claim 18: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu teaches the device of claim 13. Bainbridge teaches the use of [0026] cylinders, pistons, rods, conveyors, ramps, latches, stations, robotic arms, carousels, and other components that can hold, manipulate, and/or move the sample container 140; a hangar (retention and loading mechanism 175), a sample bank (the collection of container stations 305) arranged in the hangar; sample bases (the container stations 305, which include means for securing a portion of the sample container [0048] Each sample container station 305 can also include a securing mechanism, such as a clamp that can grasp at least a portion of each sample container 140, or protrusions configured to and adapted to surround at least a portion of each sample container 140 to secure one or more sample containers 140 within each sample container station 305. Therefore a cylindrical container station would have been an obvious option to surround and secure the cylindrical sample container) can be arranged in the shape of a carousel [0048] (an annular groove) and can be controlled to move the sample containers about and between stations; a centering component ([0029]unmanned aerial vehicle station 154) is arranged on the hanger to adjust position of the unmanned aerial vehicle body on the hanger ([0029] An unmanned aerial vehicle station 154 can be a location where the unmanned aerial vehicle 150 can land and depart. In examples, the unmanned aerial vehicle station 154 can be located or disposed adjacent the enclosure 101, disposed within the enclosure 101, and/or disposed adjacent the one or more apparatus for generating power or electricity 103. The unmanned aerial vehicle station 154 can be proximate or adjacent the sample container 140 or adjacent a location where the sample container 140 can be loaded or otherwise disposed on the unmanned aerial vehicle 150 present in the unmanned aerial vehicle station 154.); base moving wheels (rollers [0048]) arranged in the hangar for controlling the sampling bases to move in the sample bank. Therefore the sample handling after collection by the UAV can be tailored and does not affect operation of the UAV.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Bainbridge with the device of claim 13 in order to receive, hold, and move sample containers from an unmanned aerial vehicle (Bainbridge [0048]).
Claim 10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu.
Claim 10: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang further in view of Bainbridge teaches the device of claim 6, but fails to teach wherein the clamping unit comprises: two groups of clamping arms arranged on both sides of the sampling portion; the clamping arms are hinged to the unmanned aerial vehicle body; clamping plates arranged on the clamping arms; surfaces, close to the sampling portion, of the clamping plates are in an arc shape to fit the sampling portion; and clamping power portions fixedly connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body for driving the clamping arms to rotate and clamp the sampling portion.
However, Zhang teaches a clamping unit (Fig. 1-2) including two groups of clamping arms (jaws 404) arranged on both sides the target sample (the sample is held between the friction pads 405); the clamping arms are hinged to the support (the jaws 404 are in hinged connection at the worm gear 401 to the support plate 1); clamping plates (friction pads 405) arranged on the clamping arms; and clamping power portions (worm gears 401) fixedly connected to the support body for driving the clamping arms to rotate and clamp the sampling portion.
Bainbridge teaches the use of robotic clamping in order to a sample. Zhang teaches a clamping mechanism which can be attached to a support. Therefore, the problem to be solved -clamping a sample- would have lead one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a suitable clamping member. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit of Zhang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge in order to utilize a clamping unit with a self-locking function (Zhang, page 3, item (2)).
Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang fails to teach wherein the surfaces, close to the sampling portion, of the clamping plates are in an arc shape to fit the sampling portion.
However, Liu teaches a clamping block 787 with an arc-shaped structure (Fig. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an arc-shaped clamping block as taught by Liu with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang in order to match the contours of the clamped object and thereby clamp and protect the object (Liu, middle page 6).
Claim 14: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu teaches the device of claim 10. Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang further in view of Bainbridge fails to teach wherein the clamping arms are hinged to the unmanned aerial vehicle body through clamping shafts, and the clamping power portions each comprise: a worm gear arranged at an end of a corresponding one of the clamping shafts; a clamping power shaft rotatably connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body; worms rotating in opposite directions are arranged at both ends of the clamping power shaft; the worms are meshed with the worm gears; and a clamping motor fixedly connected into the unmanned aerial vehicle body for driving the clamping power shaft to rotate.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the clamping arms (jaws 404) are hinged to the support through clamping shafts (clamping rod 402), and the clamping power portions each comprise: a worm gear (worm gear 401) arranged at an end of a corresponding one of the clamping shafts; a clamping power shaft (worm 3) rotatably connected to the support; worms rotating in opposite directions are arranged at both ends of the clamping power shaft (middle pg. 3, Detailed Description: worm 3 with two spiral lines with opposite rotation directions); the worms are meshed with the worm gears (the worm 3 and spiral lines are meshed with the worm wheels 401); and a clamping motor (motor 2) fixedly connected into the support for driving the clamping power shaft to rotate (pg 3, second to last paragraph: starter motor 2 begins work, motor 2 drive worm 3 rotates, worm 3 drives two worm wheel 401 and rotates, first connecting rod 402 and second connecting rod 403 rotate under worm wheel 401's drive, make two clamping jaws 404 be close to each other).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit of Zhang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Wang further in view of Bainbridge in order to utilize a clamping unit with a self-locking function (Zhang, page 3, item (2)).
Claims 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu.
Claim 11: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge teaches the device of claim 7, but fails to teach wherein the clamping unit comprises: two groups of clamping arms arranged on both sides of the sampling portion; the clamping arms are hinged to the unmanned aerial vehicle body; clamping plates arranged on the clamping arms; surfaces, close to the sampling portion, of the clamping plates are in an arc shape to fit the sampling portion; and clamping power portions fixedly connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body for driving the clamping arms to rotate and clamp the sampling portion.
However, Zhang teaches a clamping unit (Fig. 1-2) including two groups of clamping arms (jaws 404) arranged on both sides the target sample (the sample is held between the friction pads 405); the clamping arms are hinged to the support (the jaws 404 are in hinged connection at the worm gear 401 to the support plate 1); clamping plates (friction pads 405) arranged on the clamping arms; and clamping power portions (worm gears 401) fixedly connected to the support body for driving the clamping arms to rotate and clamp the sampling portion.
Bainbridge teaches the use of robotic clamping in order to a sample. Zhang teaches a clamping mechanism which can be attached to a support. Therefore, the problem to be solved -clamping a sample- would have lead one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a suitable clamping member. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit of Zhang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge in order to utilize a clamping unit with a self-locking function (Zhang, page 3, item (2)).
Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge fails to teach wherein the surfaces, close to the sampling portion, of the clamping plates are in an arc shape to fit the sampling portion.
However, Liu teaches a clamping block 787 with an arc-shaped structure (Fig. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an arc-shaped clamping block as taught by Liu with the device of Ni in view of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang in order to match the contours of the clamped object and thereby clamp and protect the object (Liu, middle page 6).
Claim 15: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu teaches the device of claim 11. Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge fails to teach the clamping arms are hinged to the unmanned aerial vehicle body through clamping shafts, and the clamping power portions each comprise: a worm gear arranged at an end of a corresponding one of the clamping shafts; a clamping power shaft rotatably connected to the unmanned aerial vehicle body; worms rotating in opposite directions are arranged at both ends of the clamping power shaft; the worms are meshed with the worm gears; and a clamping motor fixedly connected into the unmanned aerial vehicle body for driving the clamping power shaft to rotate.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the clamping arms (jaws 404) are hinged to the support through clamping shafts (clamping rod 402), and the clamping power portions each comprise: a worm gear (worm gear 401) arranged at an end of a corresponding one of the clamping shafts; a clamping power shaft (worm 3) rotatably connected to the support; worms rotating in opposite directions are arranged at both ends of the clamping power shaft (middle pg. 3, Detailed Description: worm 3 with two spiral lines with opposite rotation directions); the worms are meshed with the worm gears (the worm 3 and spiral lines are meshed with the worm wheels 401); and a clamping motor (motor 2) fixedly connected into the support for driving the clamping power shaft to rotate (pg 3, second to last paragraph: starter motor 2 begins work, motor 2 drive worm 3 rotates, worm 3 drives two worm wheel 401 and rotates, first connecting rod 402 and second connecting rod 403 rotate under worm wheel 401's drive, make two clamping jaws 404 be close to each other).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the clamping unit of Zhang with the device of Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Infanti further in view of Bainbridge in order to utilize a clamping unit with a self-locking function (Zhang, page 3, item (2))
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu further in view of Varhaniovszki (US20100116026).
Claim 19: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu teaches the device of claim 17, but fails to teach the base moving wheels are each of a disc-shaped structure with several arc notches at an edge, and the arc notches in the base moving wheels fit the sampling bases.
Varhaniovszki teaches the use of one or more starwheels in combination with a conveyor [0052, 0056] in order to move bottles (cylinders to be inspected). A starwheel is a notched wheel used to engage and move individual units which are correspondingly shaped to the wheel notches.
The nature of the problem to be solved -moving cylinders- as well as the close proximity of the samples would have lead one of ordinary skill in the art to choose an appropriate conveying means. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use one or more starwheels, as taught by Varhaniovszki with the device of claim 17 in order to maintain the samples in an upright position during movement (Varhaniovszki [0025]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu further in view of Ding et al. (CN10806151, translation provided).
Claim 20: Ni in view of Anderson further in view of Bainbridge further in view of Zhang further in view of Liu teaches the device of claim 17, but fails to teach wherein the clamping arms each comprise a telescopic arm, a fixed arm, and a spring; an end of the telescopic arm is slidably connected to the fixed arm; the spring is arranged in the fixed arm, and both ends of the spring respectively abut against the telescopic arm and the fixed arm; and a the fixed arm is in the shape in a cylinderical shape with an opening at one end.
However, Ding teaches a clamping device including the clamping arms each comprise a telescopic arm (guide shaft 53), a fixed arm (guide sleeve 55), and a spring (guide spring 54); an end of the telescopic arm is slidably connected to the fixed arm (the guide shaft 53 is slidably fixed to the sleeve 55 and limited by the protrusion 532 to prevent separation of the shaft 53 and the sleeve 55); the spring is arranged in the fixed arm (See Figs. 6-7), and both ends of the spring respectively abut against the telescopic arm and the fixed arm (see Fig. 6-7); and a the fixed arm is in the shape in a cylinderical shape with an opening at one end (see Fig. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device of Ding the with the device of claim 19 in order to prevent skidding when using the clamp (Ding, page 4, third full paragraph).
Conclusion
/JEAN F MORELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 1/23/25
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855