DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, 25 and 26 in the reply filed on April 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stillwagon, Jr. (3,707,894) in view of Phillips et al. (6,668,941).
[AltContent: textbox (1st CON)][AltContent: arrow] Stillwagon meets all of the limitations of claim 1 and its associated process of claim 25, i.e., a magnetic bit holder comprising:
a ring magnet, e.g., 42 surrounding an axis of rotation of the magnetic bit holder, e.g., Fig. 6;
a first connector RT end of 35, annotated Fig. 6 fixed with respect to the ring magnet 42 and positioned along the axis of rotation on a first side of the ring magnet Fig. 6, the first connector RT end being operable to secure to a tool not shown along the axis of rotation Figs, 6 and 7; a solid shaft 35 42; and
a second connector 36 positioned along the axis of rotation on a second side LF side of the ring magnet 42, the second connector being operable to hold a tool bit integral piece, Fig. 6, except for the shaft to be of a non-ferrous material.
Phillips teaches a driving tool comprising a shaft 132 of non-ferrous material, e.g., aluminum 07:36 defining a first connecting end 190,110 and a second connecting end 186 for an operable and removable coupling to a driving bit 74, Fig. 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hillinger with a non-ferrous shaft, e.g., aluminum as taught by Phillips to lighten the tool.
Regarding claim 2, PA (prior art, Stillwagon, Jr. modified by Phillips) meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 1, wherein the second connector 36 and the solid shaft 35 are formed in a single integral piece Fig. 6. Please note that all references to figures and characters refers to the base reference Stillwagon.
Regarding claim 3, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 2, wherein the solid shaft 35 is received in a second end LF, Fig. 6 of a base 44, except for the first connector RT 35 to be formed as a female socket in a first end LF of the base. Stillwagon in the embodiment of Fig. 2, discloses a female socket at the first connector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the first connector of the PA with a female socket configuration as suggested by Stillwagon in adapting the tool for connection to a driving tool with a male connector and since it has been held that changing shape, dependent on work-piece parameters, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 US PQ 284(CCPA1954).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd END
BASE 44)]
Regarding claim 4, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 3, wherein the ring magnet 42 is attached to the second end RT of the base 44, Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 5, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 4, further comprising a non-ferrous sleeve 50, e.g., brass 02:36 surrounding the ring magnet and the base.
Regarding claim 6, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 3, wherein the solid shaft 35 is removable via setscrew 47 from the base 44.
Regarding claim 7, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 1, wherein the first connector RT end 35, second connector 36, and solid shaft 35 are part of a base 44 that is formed in a single integral piece Fig. 6 (similar to the instant application, e.g., Figs 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 8, PA meets the limitations, i.e., magnetic bit holder of claim 7, wherein the ring magnet 42 extends around a middle portion of the base 44 Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 9, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 1, except for the first connector RT 35 to be a female connector. Stillwagon in the embodiment of Fig. 2, discloses a female socket at the first connector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the first connector of the PA with a female socket configuration as suggested by Stillwagon in adapting the tool for connection to a driving tool with a male connector and since it has been held that changing shape, dependent on work-piece parameters, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 US PQ 284(CCPA1954).
Regarding claim 10, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 1, wherein the first connector RT 35 is a male connector Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 11, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the magnetic bit holder of claim 1, except for the second connector 36 to a bit socket. Phillips teaches a female socket at the second connector 186, Figs. 2, 24. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the second connector of the PA with a female socket configuration as taught by Phillips in adapting the tool for receiving bits of different shapes and sizes and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
CLAIM 12
[AltContent: textbox (1st CON)][AltContent: arrow]Stillwagon meets all of the limitations of claim 12, i.e., an apparatus comprising:
a tool driving tool not shown comprising a rotatable shaft, e.g., 18 having an axis of rotation defined by 18;
a magnetic bit holder comprising:
a first connector annotated Fig. 6 coupled to the rotatable shaft of the tool,
a ring magnet 42 surrounding the axis of rotation and fixed with respect to the first connector such that the first connector is positioned along the axis of rotation on a first side of the ring magnet 42 Fig. 6,
shaft 35 42, and
a second connector 36 positioned along the axis of rotation on a second side LF side of the ring magnet 42; and
a bit 36 integrally formed to the second connector, except for the shaft to be of a non-ferrous material and for a driving bit to be formed of a ferrous material.
Phillips teaches a magnetic driver Fig. 24 comprising a shaft 132 of a non-ferrous material, e.g., aluminum 07:36 defining a first connecting end 190,110 and a second connecting end 186 for an operable and removable coupling to a driving bit 74 Fig. 2 or 114 Fig. 6 made of a ferrous material 05:28-30. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Stillwagon with the aluminum shaft and the ferrous bit as taught by Phillips to lighten the tool and attract and retain the bit in the driving shaft.
Regarding claim 13, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the apparatus of claim 12, further comprising a fastener magnetically coupled to an end of the bit Figs. 4, 8. Please note that all references to figures and characters refers to the base reference Stillwagon.
Regarding claim 14, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first connector RT 35 and the solid shaft 35 of the magnetic bit holder are formed in a single integral piece Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 15, PA meets the limitations, i.e., apparatus of claim 14, wherein the solid shaft 35 is received in a first end RT of a base 44, except for the second connector 36 to be formed as a female socket in a second end of the base. Phillips teaches a female socket at the second connector 186, Figs. 2, 24. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the second connector of the PA with a female socket configuration as taught by Phillips in adapting the tool for receiving bits of different shapes and sizes and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 16, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the solid shaft 35 is removable from the base 44, setscrews 47, Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 17, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first connector RT 35, second connector 36, and solid shaft 35 are part of a base 47 that is formed in a single integral piece Fig. 6 (similar to the instant application, e.g., Figs 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 18, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the ring magnet 42 extends around a middle portion of the base Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 26, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the method claim 25, further comprising rotating the shaft of the tool e.g., as in Fig. 8.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon at this time, are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Hoff, Anderson and Zhang et al. are cited to show related inventions.
/Hadi Shakeri/
June 19, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723