DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2024 and 08/27/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20220078707, Zhou hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Zhou discloses a method of communication operation, adapted to a user equipment, the method comprising:
receiving a message comprising at least one configuration, wherein the at least one configuration is associated with at least one of a cell discontinuous transmission or a cell discontinuous reception (see at least paragraphs [0426] and Fig. 25, A base station may send (e.g., transmit) an RRC message to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise configuration parameters of DRX operation.);
receiving a downlink control information for applying the at least one configuration for a serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0426] and Fig. 25, the base station may send (e.g., transmit), via a PDCCH, DCI for downlink resource allocation, to the wireless device. ); and
performing a communication operation according to the downlink control information (see at least paragraph [0426] and Fig. 25, The wireless device may start a DRX inactivity timer (e.g., drx-InactivityTimer) and may monitor the PDCCH. The wireless device may receive a transmission block (TB), for example, while the DRX inactivity timer is running The wireless device may start a HARQ RTT timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL), and may stop monitoring the PDCCH, for example, based on receiving the TB. The wireless device may transmit a NACK to the base station, for example, if the wireless device fails to receive the TB. The wireless device may monitor the PDCCH and start a HARQ retransmission timer (e.g., drx-RetransmissionTimerDL), for example, based on an expiration of the HARQ RTT Timer.).
As to claim 2: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one configuration or the downlink control information is for the cell discontinuous transmission only, the cell discontinuous reception only, or both the cell discontinuous transmission and the cell discontinuous reception (see at least paragraphs [0426] and Fig. 25, A base station may send (e.g., transmit) an RRC message to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise configuration parameters of DRX operation.).
As to claim 3: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one configuration comprises at least one of an active duration or a cycle for the at least one of the cell discontinuous transmission or the cell discontinuous reception, wherein the cycle comprises the active duration and a non-active duration (see at least paragraphs [0410]-0431] and Figs. 24, 26A,26B, DRX configuration includes DRX operation including DRX on duration and DRX off duration.).
As to claim 4: Zhou discloses the method of claim 3. Zhou further discloses wherein the cycle is common for the cell discontinuous transmission and the cell discontinuous reception when both the cell discontinuous transmission and the cell discontinuous reception are configured to the user equipment (see at least paragraphs [0410]-0431] and Figs. 24, 26A,26B, DRX configuration includes DRX operation including DRX on duration and DRX off duration.).
As to claim 6: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein the downlink control information indicates at least one of an active duration or a cycle for the at least one of the cell discontinuous transmission or the cell discontinuous reception, wherein the cycle comprises the active duration and a non-active duration (see at least paragraphs [0410]-0431] and Figs. 24, 26A,26B, DRX configuration includes DRX operation including DRX on duration and DRX off duration.).
As to claim 9: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one configuration is associated with at least one of the following: a cycle for the at least one of the cell discontinuous transmission or the cell discontinuous reception; an active duration for the at least one of the cell discontinuous transmission or the cell discontinuous reception; or a time offset before starting the active duration (see at least paragraphs [0410]-0431] and Figs. 24, 26A,26B, DRX configuration includes DRX operation including DRX on duration and DRX off duration.).
As to claim 10: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein the communication operation comprises at least one of the following: a physical downlink control channel monitoring, a physical downlink shared channel reception, a channel state information reference signal measurement, or a synchronization signal block measurement (see at least paragraph [0426] and Fig. 25, The wireless device may start a DRX inactivity timer (e.g., drx-InactivityTimer) and may monitor the PDCCH.).
As to claim 11: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein the communication operation comprises at least one of the following: a physical uplink control channel transmission, a physical uplink shared channel transmission, a sounding reference signal transmission, or a random access channel transmission (see at least paragraph [0426] and Fig. 25, The wireless device may start a DRX inactivity timer (e.g., drx-InactivityTimer) and may monitor the PDCCH.).
As to claim 12: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein the communication operation comprises: in response to a downlink slot is within an active duration, receiving one or more downlink signals or channels in the downlink slot from the serving cell; and in response to the downlink slot is within a non-active duration, stopping receiving the one or more downlink signals or channels in the downlink slot (see at least paragraphs [0466]-[0494] and Figs. 33-39, The wireless device may monitor PDCCH candidates in the search space set on symbols 1, 2, 3, and 14 (or any other symbols), for example, based on bits of the 14-bit monitoring indicator associated with symbols 1, 2, 3, and 14 having the first value. The wireless device may skip monitoring PDCCH candidates in the search space set on symbols 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 (or any other symbols), for example, based on those bits having the second value (e.g., 0).).
As to claim 13: Zhou discloses the method of claim 12. Zhou further discloses wherein the downlink slot is a first time period after receiving the downlink control information (see at least Figs. 36-41).
As to claim 14: Zhou discloses the method of claim 12. Zhou further discloses wherein the one or more downlink signals or channels comprises a physical downlink control channel for at least one downlink control information format (see at least paragraphs [0466]-[0494] and Figs. 33-39, The wireless device may monitor PDCCH candidates in the search space set on symbols 1, 2, 3, and 14 (or any other symbols), for example, based on bits of the 14-bit monitoring indicator associated with symbols 1, 2, 3, and 14 having the first value. The wireless device may skip monitoring PDCCH candidates in the search space set on symbols 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 (or any other symbols), for example, based on those bits having the second value (e.g., 0).).
As to claim 15: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein the communication operation comprises: monitoring a physical downlink control channel for at least one downlink control information format during an active duration for the cell discontinuous transmission; and stopping monitoring the physical downlink control channel for the at least one downlink control information format during a non-active duration for the cell discontinuous transmission (see at least paragraph [0408], A wireless device may discontinuously monitor downlink control channel (e.g., PDCCH or EPDCCH), for example, if the wireless device is operating using DRX. The base station may configure DRX operation with a set of DRX parameters. The base station may configure the DRX operation using an RRC configuration. The set of DRX parameters may be selected (e.g., by the base station) based on a network use case. A wireless device may receive data packets over an extended delay, based on the configured DRX operation. The configured DRX may be used such that a base station may wait, at least until the wireless device transitions to a DRX ON state, to receive data packets. The wireless device may be in a DRX Sleep/OFF state, for example, if not receiving any data packets.).
As to claim 16: Zhou discloses the method of claim 15. Zhou further discloses wherein the user equipment is in connected mode discontinuous reception active time (see at least paragraph [0335], A wireless device may be in at least one RRC state among an RRC connected state (e.g., RRC Connected 1530, RRC_Connected, etc.), an RRC idle state (e.g., RRC Idle 1510, RRC_Idle, etc.), and/or an RRC inactive state (e.g., RRC Inactive 1520, RRC_Inactive, etc.). In an RRC connected state, a wireless device may have at least one RRC connection with at least one base station (e.g., gNB and/or eNB).).
As to claim 20: Zhou discloses a user equipment, comprising: a transceiver (see at least paragraphs [0249]-[0250], an antenna and/or like); and a processor (see at least paragraphs [0249]-[0250], a processor), coupled to the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a message comprising at least one configuration, wherein the at least one configuration is associated with at least one of a cell discontinuous transmission or a cell discontinuous reception (see at least paragraphs [0426] and Fig. 25, A base station may send (e.g., transmit) an RRC message to a wireless device. The RRC message may comprise configuration parameters of DRX operation.);
receive a downlink control information for applying the at least one configuration for a serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0426] and Fig. 25, the base station may send (e.g., transmit), via a PDCCH, DCI for downlink resource allocation, to the wireless device. ); and
perform a communication operation according to the downlink control information (see at least paragraph [0426] and Fig. 25, The wireless device may start a DRX inactivity timer (e.g., drx-InactivityTimer) and may monitor the PDCCH. The wireless device may receive a transmission block (TB), for example, while the DRX inactivity timer is running The wireless device may start a HARQ RTT timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL), and may stop monitoring the PDCCH, for example, based on receiving the TB. The wireless device may transmit a NACK to the base station, for example, if the wireless device fails to receive the TB. The wireless device may monitor the PDCCH and start a HARQ retransmission timer (e.g., drx-RetransmissionTimerDL), for example, based on an expiration of the HARQ RTT Timer.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7-8 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220078707, Zhou hereinafter) in view of Wu et al. (US 20240237135, Wu hereinafter).
As to claim 5: Zhou discloses the method of claim 3. Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the active duration at least partially overlaps with an on-duration of a connected mode discontinuous reception configured to the user equipment.
However Wu discloses wherein the active duration at least partially overlaps with an on-duration of a connected mode discontinuous reception configured to the user equipment (see at least paragraph [0255], a duration of the active time in the cycle of the cell DTX and/or the cell DRX fully or partially overlaps with a duration of the active time in the cycle of the UE DRX, i.e., the semi-statically configured UE DRX active duration may fully overlap with the semi-statically configured cell DTX/DRX active duration, i.e., the UE DRX active duration is fully in the cell DTX/DRX active duration; or, the semi-statically configured UE DRX active duration may at least partially overlap with the semi-statically configured cell DTX/DRX active duration, i.e., the UE DRX active duration is at least partially in the cell DTX/DRX active duration.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement overlapping of active duration, as taught by Wu, into the invention of Zhou in order to improve power saving during DRX (see Wu, paragraphs [0191]).
As to claim 7: Zhou discloses the method of claim 6. Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the cycle is common for the cell discontinuous transmission and the cell discontinuous reception when both the cell discontinuous transmission and the cell discontinuous reception are configured to the user equipment.
However Wu discloses wherein the cycle is common for the cell discontinuous transmission and the cell discontinuous reception when both the cell discontinuous transmission and the cell discontinuous reception are configured to the user equipment (see at least paragraph [0227], cell DRX and cell DTX are combined into one configuration, as shown in FIG. 7, the state of the cell DTX/DRX has periodicity, each cell DTX/DRX cycle including a duration of the active time of the cell DTX/DRX and another duration of the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX, the active time of the cell DTX/DRX is at the front of cell DTX/DRX cycle, and the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX is at the back of the cell DTX/DRX cycle, the duration of the active time of the cell DTX/DRX and the duration of the inactive time of the cell DTX/DRX together constitute the size of the cell DTX/DRX cycle).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement overlapping of active duration, as taught by Wu, into the invention of Zhou in order to improve power saving during DRX (see Wu, paragraphs [0191]).
As to claim 8: Zhou discloses the method of claim 6. Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the active duration at least partially overlaps with an on-duration of a connected mode discontinuous reception configured to the user equipment.
However Wu discloses wherein the active duration at least partially overlaps with an on-duration of a connected mode discontinuous reception configured to the user equipment (see at least paragraph [0255], a duration of the active time in the cycle of the cell DTX and/or the cell DRX fully or partially overlaps with a duration of the active time in the cycle of the UE DRX, i.e., the semi-statically configured UE DRX active duration may fully overlap with the semi-statically configured cell DTX/DRX active duration, i.e., the UE DRX active duration is fully in the cell DTX/DRX active duration; or, the semi-statically configured UE DRX active duration may at least partially overlap with the semi-statically configured cell DTX/DRX active duration, i.e., the UE DRX active duration is at least partially in the cell DTX/DRX active duration.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement overlapping of active duration, as taught by Wu, into the invention of Zhou in order to improve power saving during DRX (see Wu, paragraphs [0191]).
As to claim 17: Zhou discloses the method of claim 1. Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication operation comprises: in response to an uplink slot is within an active duration, transmitting one or more uplink signals or channels in the uplink slot to the serving cell; and in response to the uplink slot is within a non-active duration, stopping transmitting the one or more uplink signals or channels in the uplink slot to the serving cell.
However Wu discloses wherein the communication operation comprises: in response to an uplink slot is within an active duration, transmitting one or more uplink signals or channels in the uplink slot to the serving cell; and in response to the uplink slot is within a non-active duration, stopping transmitting the one or more uplink signals or channels in the uplink slot to the serving cell (see at least paragraph [0209], during the cell DRX active duration, the cell may normally receive uplink signals/channels, and correspondingly, the UE may transmit uplink signals/channels normally. During the cell DRX inactive duration, the reception behavior of the cell and the transmission behavior of the UE may be any one of the following restricted behaviors: [0210] (1) the cell does not receive any uplink signal/channel, and correspondingly the UE does not transmit any uplink signal/channel; [0211] (2) the cell does not receive any uplink signal/channel other than PRACH, MsgB, Msg3 and, correspondingly, the UE does not transmit any other uplink signal/channel other than PRACH, MsgB, Msg3; and/or [0212] (3) the cell does not receive any uplink signal/channel other than PRACH, MsgB, Msg3, CG-PUSCH and their retransmission, correspondingly, the UE does not transmit any other uplink signal/channel other than PRACH, MsgB, Msg3, CG-PUSCH and their retransmission; optionally, the cell switches to the inactive duration from the DRX active duration and the CG-PUSCH resource remains available. Where CG-PUSCH means type 1 CG-PUSCH and/or CG-PUSCH.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement overlapping of active duration, as taught by Wu, into the invention of Zhou in order to improve power saving during DRX (see Wu, paragraphs [0191]).
As to claim 18: Zhou discloses the method of claim 17. Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink slot is a second time period after receiving the downlink control information.
However Wu discloses wherein the uplink slot is a second time period after receiving the downlink control information (see at least paragraphs [0088]-[0090],[0293], determining that the cell DTX and/or the cell DRX is in the active time if DCI for scheduling a PUSCH or a PDSCH is detected during a sixth time window starting at the starting position of the cycle of the DRX; and/or [0090] determining that the cell DTX and/or the cell DRX is in the inactive time if no DCI for scheduling the PUSCH or PDSCH is detected during the sixth time window starting at the starting position of the cycle of the DRX).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement overlapping of active duration, as taught by Wu, into the invention of Zhou in order to improve power saving during DRX (see Wu, paragraphs [0191]).
As to claim 19: Zhou discloses the method of claim 14. Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more uplink signals or channels comprises at least one of a channel state information reference signal report or a sound reference signal transmission.
However Wu discloses wherein the one or more uplink signals or channels comprises at least one of a channel state information reference signal report or a sound reference signal transmission (see at least paragraph [0364], suspend or clear all PUSCH resources used for semi-persistent CSI report for that cell).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement overlapping of active duration, as taught by Wu, into the invention of Zhou in order to improve power saving during DRX (see Wu, paragraphs [0191]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahmad et al. (US 20200229093) discloses Method and Apparatus having a Discontinuous Reception Configuration.
HONG, Sung Pyo (US 20250351224) discloses Method And Apparatus For Performing Cell DTX and/or CELL DRX In Wireless Communication System.
MOON et al. (US 20240267985) discloses Method And Apparatus For Discontinuous Transmission And Discontinuous Reception Operation.
Jeon et al. (US 20240267984) discloses Configuration And Activation Of Cell Discontinuous Transmission And Reception.
YUAN et al. (US 20250374191) discloses PDCCH Skipping Without Channel Assignments And On Multiple Component Carriers.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464