DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Regarding the limitation(s) of claims 2 - 9, the Examiner has given the term(s) the broadest reasonable interpretation(s) consistent with the written description in Applicants’ specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Donaldson Co., Inc., 16 F.3d 1190, 1192-95, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1848-50 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP 2111. Specifically, since the initial part of each of these claims recites that, for example, the component ‘further comprises a first group of elements’, at least one of the listed elements must be present. E.g. for claim 2, at least one of Mg, Mn and rare earth elements must be >0, as well as meeting the claimed upper limits. The same applies to claims 3 – 9 with the ‘second group’, ‘third group’ and ‘fourth group’ of elements.
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element 1” should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 9) in the paper filed August 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “high-ductility” in these claims (sometimes multiple times in a claim) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-ductility” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of evaluating the prior art, the Examiner has considered any aluminum foil for a battery to have sufficient ductility to be considered ‘high-ductility’. This rejection can be overcome by deleting ‘high-ductility’ from the pre-amble and claim bodies and simply referring the product as “A battery aluminum foil” or by adding in a specific magnitude of the ductility; i.e. “wherein the high-ductility battery aluminum foil has a ductility of at least …”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding numbers (1), (2) and (4), see the rejection(s) provided below. Regarding the level of ordinary skill in the art, the general level of skill is taken as a highly skilled technician having at least a BS, MS, or PhD in the relevant field and 3-5 years experience.
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over IDS reference WO 2014/069119 A1 in view of the Admitted Prior Art (APA). See provided Google Machine Translation for citations.
Regarding claim 1, WO ‘119 A1 discloses a high-ductility (sic) battery aluminum foil (Abstract on page 2), comprising: a first component, and a second component; wherein the first component comprises 0.25~0.40% of Si by mass fraction (Abstract), 0.30~0.50% of Fe by mass fraction (Abstract), and 0.02~0.10% of Cu by mass fraction (middle of page 5); the second component is Al (Abstract and examples); a mass fraction ratio of Fe to Si is 1.0~2.0 (see Table on page 10; e.g. at least examples D, E, G and H).
WO ‘119 A1 fails to explicitly claim “a presence of iron-containing second phase with an equivalent circular diameter of 0.2~3µm, in a cross-section of the high ductility battery aluminum foil, is in a range of 1.1x10²~4x10⁴ particles/mm²; a presence of metal intermetallic compounds, with an equivalent circular diameter of 0.2~3µm, formed by Si and Cu respectively with Al, in the cross-section of the high ductility battery aluminum foil, is not greater than 1.1x10² particles/mm²; a presence of elemental silicon particles with an equivalent circular diameter of 0.2~3µm, in the cross-section of the high ductility battery aluminum foil, is not greater than 1.1x10² particles/mm² “.
However, WO ‘119 A1 does explicitly teach controlling the subgrains and crystal sizes to be 2 microns (µm) or less and the APA also teaches controlling the subgrains, sub-crystals, and grain sizes by controlling the amount of Si and Cu (see as-filed disclosure, Paragraphs 0003 – 0006). It is also clearly recognized in the prior art to minimize unwanted impurities and WO ‘119 A1 does not express any desire for “Al-Si-Cu” intermettalic compounds, nor elemental Si particles.
The Examiner deems that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum value of a results effective variable such as the amount of Fe and, related, the presence of iron-containing second phase with an equivalent circular diameter of 0.2~3µm, in a cross-section of the high ductility battery aluminum foil through routine experimentation, especially given the teaching in both WO ‘119 A1 and the APA regarding the desire to control the sizes of these sub-phases to be 2 microns or less and to expressly add Fe overlapping the claimed amount. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Geisler, 116 F. 3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Aller, 220 F.2d, 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, the Examiner deems that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to minimize the amount of the metal intermetallic compounds, with an equivalent circular diameter of 0.2~3µm, formed by Si and Cu respectively with Al, in the cross-section of the high ductility battery aluminum foil meeting applicants’ claimed range by optimizing the results effective variable through routine experimentation, since this is not desired in the WO ‘119 A1 invention and, as such, is an impurity that one would seek to minimize (i.e. bring to 0). In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Geisler, 116 F. 3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Aller, 220 F.2d, 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Finally, the Examiner deems that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to minimize the amount of elemental silicon particles with an equivalent circular diameter of 0.2~3µm, in the cross-section of the high ductility battery aluminum foil meeting applicants’ claimed range by optimizing the results effective variable through routine experimentation, since this is not desired in the WO ‘119 A1 invention and, as such, is an impurity that one would seek to minimize (i.e. bring to 0). In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Geisler, 116 F. 3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Aller, 220 F.2d, 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants’ invention to make an aluminum foil meeting the totality of the claimed limitations as taught by WO ‘119 A1 since WO ‘119 A1 disclose encompassing compositions while the prior art recognizes that grain sizes and impurities should be controlled to the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 2 - 5, WO ‘119 A1 disclose adding additional elements meeting the claimed limitations in amounts meeting the claimed contents (page 5 and examples).
Claims 6 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over IDS reference WO 2014/069119 A1 in view of the Admitted Prior Art (APA) as applied above, and further in view of one or both of Shingu et al. (U.S. Patent App. No. 2018/0281036 A1) and/or Ashizawa et al. (JP 11-097032 A). See provided Abstract Translation for JP ‘032 A.
WO ‘119 A1 and the APA are relied upon as described above.
Neither of the above disclose adding Be, Bi, Sr or In to the aluminum foil composition.
However, these are conventional additives for forming aluminum foils for battery applications, as taught by Shingu et al. (at least Paragraph 0073) and/or Ashizawa et al. (see Abstract translation). Both references teach adding in amounts meeting the claimed limitations if adding these elements.
Substitution of functional equivalents requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the functional equivalency. In the instant case, a first component not having 1 or more of Be, Bi, Sr, or In and a first component having one or more of Be, Bi, Sr, or In in amounts meeting the claimed limitations are functional equivalents in the field of suitable ‘first components’ for forming aluminum foils for battery applications, as taught above. In re Fount 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc. v. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants’ invention to modify the device WO ‘119 A1 in view of the APA to meet the claimed additive limitations, as these elements are conventional additives and substitution requires no express motivation in the art when the prior art recognizes that the functional equivalency.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M BERNATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785
October 13, 2026