DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on November 11th, 2025:
Claims 1-12 are pending in the current application. Claims 3, 5, and 10-12 have been amended.
The previous objection to the claims has been overcome in light of the amendment.
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 is overcome in light of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on November 11th, 2025 with respect to Claims 1-12 are acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
The limitation “small electronic devices” as seen in at least line 8 of Claim 1, is interpreted to include smart phones, smart watches, and tablets as defined in paragraph [0016] of Applicant’s own PG Publication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 4, line 1, and Claim 9, line 1 recite the limitation “the power bank includes a battery life indicator.” The specification fails to describe any part of the power bank that could be interpreted to be a battery life indicator such as a display.
Further clarification is required.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 2 recites the limitation “a durable casing.” The term “durable” renders the claim indefinite. It is wholly unclear what exactly a casing requires to be deemed “durable.” For example, is there a specific force or weight a casing must be able to withstand to be deemed “durable”? The specification as written fails to define the limitation “durable.”
Claim 3, lines 2-3 recite the limitation “high-lumen.” The term “high-lumen” renders the claim indefinite. It is wholly unclear what exactly makes a work light “high-lumen.” For example, is there a specific amount of lumens a work light must output to be deemed “high-lumen.” The specification as written fails to define the limitation “high-lumen.”
Claim 3, line 3 recites the limitation “for extended periods.” The term “extended periods” renders the claim indefinite. It is wholly unclear what the definition of “extended periods” is in relation to the claim limitation. For example, is there a minimum amount of time that must pass for a period of time to be deemed an “extended period.” The specification as written fails to define the limitation “extended periods.”
Claim 5, line 2 recites the limitation “government-approved components.” This renders the claim indefinite. The term “government-approved” fails to specify what items are being claimed because the list of things that are “government-approved” are subject to change. The scope of this limitation will vary as the government modifies their list of travel approved material by adding and removing items.
Claim 8, lines 2-3 recite the limitation “high-lumen.” The term “high-lumen” renders the claim indefinite. It is wholly unclear what exactly makes a work light “high-lumen.” For example, is there a specific amount of lumens a work light must output to be deemed “high-lumen.” The specification as written fails to define the limitation “high-lumen.”
Claim 8, line 3 recites the limitation “for extended periods.” The term “extended periods” renders the claim indefinite. It is wholly unclear what the definition of “extended periods” is in relation to the claim limitation. For example, is there a minimum amount of time that must pass for a period of time to be deemed an “extended period.” The specification as written fails to define the limitation “extended periods.”
Claim 11, line 3 recites the limitation “a removeable and rechargeable power bank.” It is wholly unclear whether this is the same power bank as defined in Claim 6, line 1, from which Claim 11 depends or another, separate power bank. For purposes of examination, the “removable and rechargeable power bank” of Claim 11 is interpreted to be the same as that as defined in Claim 6.
Claim 11, line 4 recites the limitation “a work light.” It is wholly unclear whether this is the same work light as defined in Claim 6, line 10, from which Claim 11 depends or another, separate work light. For purposes of examination, the “work light” of Claim 11 is interpreted to be the same as that as defined in Claim 6.
Claim 11, line 4 recites the limitation “a battery bay.” It is wholly unclear whether this is the same battery bay, as defined in Claim 6, lines 9-10, from which Claim 11 depends or another, separate battery bay. For purposes of examination, the “battery bay” of Claim 11 is interpreted to be the same as that as defined in Claim 6.
written fails to define the limitation “extended periods.”
Claim 12, line 3 recites the limitation “a removeable and rechargeable power bank.” It is wholly unclear whether this is the same power bank as defined in Claim 6, line 1, from which Claim 12 depends or another, separate power bank. For purposes of examination, the “removable and rechargeable power bank” of Claim 12 is interpreted to be the same as that as defined in Claim 6.
Claim 12, line 5 recites the limitation “a work light.” It is wholly unclear whether this is the same work light as defined in Claim 6, line 10, from which Claim 12 depends or another, separate work light. For purposes of examination, the “work light” of Claim 12 is interpreted to be the same as that as defined in Claim 6.
Claim 12, line 5 recites the limitation “a battery bay.” It is wholly unclear whether this is the same battery bay, as defined in Claim 6, lines 9-10, from which Claim 12 depends or another, separate battery bay. For purposes of examination, the “battery bay” of Claim 12 is interpreted to be the same as that as defined in Claim 6.
Further clarification is required.
Claims 2, 4, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Prior Art
Aida US PG Publication 2016/0043357 (“Aida”)
Previously cited McLennan US PG Publication 2015/0176782 (“McLennan”)
Previously cited Gray US PG Publication 2018/0123361 (“Gray”)
Previously cited Bhatnagar US PG Publication 2019/0045897 (“Bhatnagar”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aida US PG Publication 2016/0043357 in view of McLennan US PG Publication 2015/0176782.
Regarding Claim 1, Aida discloses a portable power supply 10 (Abstract, Fig. 1, entire disclosure dependent upon) that is rechargeable ([0064]) and comprises battery cells ([0074]) (rechargeable power bank containing lithium-ion cells) housed in a housing 14 made of rigid material (Fig. 1, [0009], [0051]) (durable casing) comprising:
a rectangular housing 14 having a front, left side, right side, and a back of the power bank 10 (Fig. 1, [0051]);
a first segment located at the front of the power bank 10; a second or middle segment; and a third segment located at the back of the power bank 10 (Fig. 1, [0051]);
USB ports 40, 44, 48 located in the middle segment and on the left side of the power bank 10 (Fig. 2, [0059]-[0060]); and
said USB ports 40, 44, 48 are covered by a closed door 52, which when opened, exposes the USB ports 40, 44, 48 and facilitates the charging of small electronic devices including a cellular phone ([0005], [0012], [0061]); and
wherein the power bank 10 is used to power a corresponding flashlight (work lights) in emergency situations ([0088]).
While Aida does not explicitly disclose wherein the work lights comprise a hollow rectangular battery bay, the power bank 10 of Aida comprises a hollow chamber of the housing 14 for storing the battery ([0014], [0068]) and wherein the power bank 10 is incorporated with the work lights ([0088]).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the work lights of Aida have a hollow rectangular battery bay.
Annotated Figure 2 of Aida
Further, McLennan discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a USB connector (Abstract, [0021], entire disclosure dependent upon).
McLennan teaches a rectangular housing comprising a rectangular internal cavity for receiving the rechargeable battery such that the battery can power a light while being light weight ([0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power bank of Aida such that it is used to power corresponding work lights having a hollow rectangular battery bay such that the battery within the power bank can power a light while being light weight, as taught by McLennan.
Regarding Claim 3, Aida in view of McLennan teaches the instantly claimed power bank according to Claim 1, and Aida discloses wherein the power bank is configured to provide a power output sufficient to charge small electronic devices and to power work lights both at the same time ([0088]).
Further, the skilled artisan would recognize that the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan discloses all of the positively recited structures of the claimed power bank, and would therefore be capable of performing the same tasks as the claimed power bank including providing power output sufficient to charge small electronic devices and to power high-lumen work lights, both at the same time for extended periods1.
1 The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The Courts have held that it is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114).
Regarding Claim 4, Aida in view of McLennan teaches the instantly claimed power bank according to Claim 1, and Aida discloses wherein the power bank 10 includes a battery life indicator that determines power levels on its exterior surface to display remaining charge levels ([0088]).
Regarding Claim 6, Aida discloses a portable power supply 10 (Abstract, Fig. 1, entire disclosure dependent upon) that is rechargeable ([0064]) and comprises battery cells ([0074]) (rechargeable power bank containing lithium-ion cells) housed in a housing 14 made of rigid material (Fig. 1, [0009], [0051]) (durable casing) comprising:
a rectangular housing 14 having a front, left side, right side, and a back of the power bank 10 (Fig. 1, [0051]);
a first segment located at the front of the power bank 10; a second or middle segment; and a third segment located at the back of the power bank 10 (Fig. 1, [0051]);
USB ports 40, 44, 48 located in the middle segment and on the left side of the power bank 10 (Fig. 2, [0059]-[0060]); and
said USB ports 40, 44, 48 are covered by a closed door 52, which when opened, exposes the USB ports 40, 44, 48 and facilitates the charging of small electronic devices including a cellular phone ([0005], [0012], [0061]); and
the casing of the power bank 10 includes a material composition comprising a rigid elastomeric material providing enhanced impact resistance and environmental sealing against dust and water ingress, ensuring functionality in rugged environments such as being dropped ([0009]-[0011]); and
the power bank 10 includes a tongue and groove attachment system 104 (mechanism for secure attachment) within the battery compartment 78 (battery bay), ensuring stability and electrical connectivity when in use1 ([0070], [0074]).
While Aida does not explicitly disclose wherein the power bank is specifically configured to be insertable into and removable from a battery bay of a corresponding work light, wherein the battery bay is designed to accept the dimensions and configuration of the power bank, the power bank 10 of Aida comprises a hollow chamber/battery compartment 78 (battery bay) of the housing 14 for storing the battery ([0014], [0068], [0070], [0074]) and wherein the power bank 10 is incorporated with a flashlight ([0088]). Aida also discloses wherein the power bank 10 is used to power a corresponding flashlight (work lights) in emergency situations ([0088]).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the power bank of Aida is specifically configured to be insertable into a battery bay of a corresponding work light, wherein the battery bay is designed to accept the dimensions and configuration of the power bank.
Further, McLennan discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a USB connector (Abstract, [0021], entire disclosure dependent upon).
McLennan teaches a rectangular housing comprising a rectangular internal cavity for receiving and removing the rechargeable battery such that the battery can power a light while being light weight ([0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power bank of Aida such that the power bank is specifically configured to be insertable into and removable from a battery bay of a corresponding work light, wherein the battery bay is designed to accept the dimensions and configuration of the power bank such that the battery within the power bank can power a light while being light weight, as taught by McLennan.
Regarding Claim 8, Aida in view of McLennan teaches the instantly claimed power bank according to Claim 1, and Aida discloses wherein the power bank is configured to provide a power output sufficient to charge small electronic devices and to power work lights both at the same time ([0088]).
Further, the skilled artisan would recognize that the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan discloses all of the positively recited structures of the claimed power bank, and would therefore be capable of performing the same tasks as the claimed power bank including providing power output sufficient to charge small electronic devices and to power high-lumen work lights, both at the same time for extended periods1.
Regarding Claim 9, Aida in view of McLennan teaches the instantly claimed power bank according to Claim 1, and Aida discloses wherein the power bank 10 includes a battery life indicator that determines power levels on its exterior surface to display remaining charge levels ([0088]).
Regarding Claim 11, Aida discloses a system for providing power to electronic devices (including cellular phones) and flashlights (work lights) (Abstract, [0005], [0060], [0088]) comprising:
the removable and rechargeable power bank 10 of Aida in view of McLennan as cited in the rejection of Claim 6 ([0051]);
a work light having a battery bay 78 specifically configured to receive the power bank 10, wherein the battery bay 78 includes electrical leads 88 (electrical contacts) that align with corresponding contacts 88 on the power bank 10 to establish an electrical connection when the power bank 10 is inserted ([0068], [0070], [0088]); and
wherein the work light is configured to utilize power from the power bank 10 to emit light1 ([0088]).
Regarding Claim 12, Aida discloses a method for powering electronic devices (including cellular phones) and flashlights (work lights) (Abstract, [0005], [0060], [0088]), the method comprising:
providing the removable and rechargeable power bank 10 of Aida in view of McLennan as cited in the rejection of Claim 6 ([0051]);
inserting the power bank 10 into the battery bay 78 of a wok light, wherein the battery bay 78 is specifically configured to receive the power bank ([0068], [0070], [0088]);
establishing an electrical connection between the power bank and the work light to power the work light ([0068], [0070], [0088]); and
activating the work light to emit light using power from the power bank 10 ([0088]); and
removing the power bank 10 from the battery bay 781 (McLennan [0021]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aida US PG Publication 2016/0043357 in view of McLennan US PG Publication 2015/0176782, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Gray US PG Publication 2018/0123361.
Regarding Claim 2, Aida in view of McLennan teaches the instantly claimed power bank according to Claim 1, however, Aida in view of McLennan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the USB ports include both USB Type A and USB Type C ports.
However, Gray discloses a portable charger with a rectangular shape located in a storage recess with direct connection to external devices via USB ports ([0036]).
Gray teaches the USB ports can be a variety of connecting ports including both USB-A and USB-C ports in order to accommodate a set of portable electronic devices to be charged ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan such that the USB ports include both USB-A and USB-C type ports in order to accommodate a set of portable electronic devices to be charged, as taught by Gray.
The skilled artisan would recognize that the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan and Gray discloses all of the positively recited structures of the claimed power bank, and would therefore be capable of performing the same tasks as the claimed power bank including accommodating a variety of electronic devices1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aida US PG Publication 2016/0043357 in view of McLennan US PG Publication 2015/0176782, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Bhatnagar US PG Publication 2019/0045897.
Regarding Claim 5, Aida in view of McLennan teaches the instantly claimed power bank according to Claim 1, however, Aida in view of McLennan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the power bank includes government-approved components.
However, Bhatnagar discloses an electronic device used for charging batteries (Abstract). Bhatnagar teaches that it is imperative for any battery device for charging portable electronic devices to be TSA/government compliant in order to comply with the appropriate regulations for travel and reduce the risk of any potential fires during travel ([0002]-[0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan such that the power bank includes government-approved components in order to comply with the appropriate regulations for travel and reduce the risk of any potential fires during travel, as taught by Bhatnagar.
The skilled artisan would recognize that the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan and Gray discloses all of the positively recited structures of the claimed power bank, and would therefore be capable of performing the same tasks as the claimed power bank including facilitating travel through security checkpoints without restrictions1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aida US PG Publication 2016/0043357 in view of McLennan US PG Publication 2015/0176782, as applied to Claim 6, further in view of Gray US PG Publication 2018/0123361.
Regarding Claim 7, Aida in view of McLennan teaches the instantly claimed power bank according to Claim 6, however, Aida in view of McLennan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the USB ports include both USB Type A and USB Type C ports.
However, Gray discloses a portable charger with a rectangular shape located in a storage recess with direct connection to external devices via USB ports ([0036]).
Gray teaches the USB ports can be a variety of connecting ports including both USB-A and USB-C ports in order to accommodate a set of portable electronic devices to be charged ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan such that the USB ports include both USB-A and USB-C type ports in order to accommodate a set of portable electronic devices to be charged, as taught by Gray.
The skilled artisan would recognize that the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan and Gray discloses all of the positively recited structures of the claimed power bank, and would therefore be capable of performing the same tasks as the claimed power bank including accommodating a variety of electronic devices1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aida US PG Publication 2016/0043357 in view of McLennan US PG Publication 2015/0176782, as applied to Claim 6, further in view of Bhatnagar US PG Publication 2019/0045897.
Regarding Claim 10, Aida in view of McLennan teaches the instantly claimed power bank according to Claim 6, however, Aida in view of McLennan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the power bank includes government-approved components.
However, Bhatnagar discloses an electronic device used for charging batteries (Abstract). Bhatnagar teaches that it is imperative for any battery device for charging portable electronic devices to be TSA/government compliant in order to comply with the appropriate regulations for travel and reduce the risk of any potential fires during travel ([0002]-[0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan such that the power bank includes government-approved components in order to comply with the appropriate regulations for travel and reduce the risk of any potential fires during travel, as taught by Bhatnagar.
The skilled artisan would recognize that the power bank of Aida in view of McLennan and Gray discloses all of the positively recited structures of the claimed power bank, and would therefore be capable of performing the same tasks as the claimed power bank including facilitating travel through security checkpoints without restrictions1.
Conclusion
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729