DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image forming unit” in claim 9.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
image forming unit – page 8, lines 1-5
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 2013/0222858) in view of Shirato (JP 2010220076).
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoyama teaches an image reading apparatus (Paragraph 2) comprising:
a white reference plate (Element 43, wherein there is a white reference plate);
a reading unit to read the white reference plate (Paragraphs 43, wherein the sensor is used to read the plate); and
circuitry configured to:
cause the reading unit to read the white reference plate under a first reading condition before shipment of the image reading apparatus to obtain a first reading value (Paragraph 49, wherein the white reference plate is read before shipping); and
cause the reading unit to read the white reference plate under a second reading condition same with the first reading condition after replacement of a part of the image reading apparatus after the shipment to obtain a second reading value (Paragraph 100, wherein the white reference plate is read after it is replaced).
Yokoyama does not teach adjust a gray balance coefficient based on the first reading value and the second reading value.
Shirato does teach adjust a gray balance coefficient based on the first reading value and the second reading value (Paragraph 25, wherein the gray balance coefficient is adjusted based on the reading values).
Yokoyama and Shirato are combinable because they both deal with making corrections for scanning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yokoyama with the teachings of Shirato for the purpose of accurately performing gray scale adjustments (Shirato: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 2, Shirato further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
cause the reading unit to read an original document to obtain a third reading value (Paragraph 33, wherein the sheet is read);
perform a shading compensation on the third reading value of the original document using the gray balance coefficient adjusted by the circuitry (Paragraph 34, wherein the shading compensation can be performed).
Yokoyama and Shirato are combinable because they both deal with making corrections for scanning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yokoyama with the teachings of Shirato for the purpose of accurately performing gray scale adjustments (Shirato: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 3, Yokoyama further teaches a light source to emit light (Element 53, wherein there is a light source); and
a sensor to detect the light (Paragraphs 77 and 78, wherein there are sensors to detect the light),
wherein the first reading condition has:
a light quantity of the light source (Paragraph 78, wherein the reflectivity is measured); and
the circuitry is further configured to:
adjust a light quantity of the light source of the second reading condition to be same with the first reading condition (Paragraph 87, wherein an adjustment is made); and
cause the reading unit to read the white reference plate to obtain the second reading value under the second reading condition (Paragraph 87, wherein the reading is done based on the adjustments).
Yokoyama does not teach a sensitivity of the sensor,
adjust a sensitivity of the sensor of the second reading condition to be same with the first reading condition.
Shirato does teach a sensitivity of the sensor (Paragraph 42, wherein there is a gain adjustment),
adjust a sensitivity of the sensor of the second reading condition to be same with the first reading condition (Paragraphs 42-44, wherein the gain can be adjusted accordingly).
Yokoyama and Shirato are combinable because they both deal with making corrections for scanning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yokoyama with the teachings of Shirato for the purpose of accurately performing gray scale adjustments (Shirato: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 4, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to:
adjust the light quantity of the light source in response to an input receipt by an operation unit (Paragraph 62, wherein the user can perform an adjustment of values); and
adjust the sensitivity of the sensor in response to the input receipt by the operation unit (Paragraph 62, wherein the user can perform an adjustment of values. This would include the sensitivity of Shirato as all values can be adjusted based on what is needed).
Yokoyama and Shirato are combinable because they both deal with making corrections for scanning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yokoyama with the teachings of Shirato for the purpose of accurately performing gray scale adjustments (Shirato: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 5, Yokoyama further teaches a storing unit to store the light quantity of the light source and the sensitivity of the first reading value (Paragraph 49, wherein the values are stored),
wherein the circuitry is configured to:
read the light quantity of the first reading condition from the storing unit (Paragraphs 72 and 87, wherein an adjustment is made in terms of the comparison);
adjust a light quantity of the second reading condition to be same as the first reading condition and cause the reading unit to obtain the second reading value (Paragraphs 72 and 87, wherein an adjustment is made in terms of the comparison).
Yokoyama does not teach a storing unit to store the sensitivity of the first reading value,
read the sensitivity of the first reading condition from the storing unit; and
adjust a sensitivity of the second reading condition to be same as the first reading condition and cause the reading unit to obtain the second reading value.
Shirato does teach a storing unit to store the sensitivity of the first reading value (Paragraph 43, wherein the reference value is stored),
read the sensitivity of the first reading condition from the storing unit (Paragraph 43, wherein the reference value is read); and
adjust a sensitivity of the second reading condition to be same as the first reading condition and cause the reading unit to obtain the second reading value (Paragraphs 42-44, wherein the gain can be adjusted accordingly).
Yokoyama and Shirato are combinable because they both deal with making corrections for scanning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yokoyama with the teachings of Shirato for the purpose of accurately performing gray scale adjustments (Shirato: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 6, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the reading unit to read the second reading value in response to the input receipt by an operation unit (Paragraph 62, wherein the user can perform an adjustment of values).
Regarding Claim 7, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to:
cause the sensor to detect a light quantity of light reflected from a surface of the white reference plate, and cause the storage to store the light quantity in a storing unit as the first reading condition (Paragraph 78, wherein the reflectivity is measured and would be stored); and
adjust the light quantity of the light reflected from the surface of the white reference plate under the second reading condition to be same as the first reading condition, and cause the reading unit to obtain the second reading value (Paragraph 87, wherein an adjustment is made).
Regarding Claim 8, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to:
detect the replacement of the part of the image reading apparatus (Paragraph 100, wherein the reference plate can be replaced); and
cause the reading unit to obtain the second reading value in response to a detection of the replacement of the part of the image reading apparatus (Paragraph 100, wherein the adjustment is made as a result of replacement).
Regarding Claim 9, Yokoyama further teaches an image forming apparatus (Paragraph 2) comprising:
the image reading apparatus according to claim 2; and
an image forming unit to form an image based on the third reading value on which a shading compensation is performed by the circuitry (Paragraph 31, wherein there is an image forming unit).
Yokoyama and Shirato are combinable because they both deal with making corrections for scanning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yokoyama with the teachings of Shirato for the purpose of accurately performing gray scale adjustments (Shirato: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 10, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of A-C, E, and F all relate to dealing with adjustments to make to calibration after shipment of the device.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699