DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on August 4, 2026. 1, 4, 5, 10, 13, 14, 17, 20, and 21 have been amended. Claims 1-21 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-14, 16, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2023/0363043).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang teaches a method by a terminal configured with two or more serving cells, the method comprising:
receiving, by the terminal from a base station, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration parameter set of a first serving cell (“a method 1000 for a UE in a wireless communication system comprises receiving a RRC message comprising a DRX configuration (step 1002)” – See [0313]; “The DRX configuration(s) for on duration (time) (e.g., for a DRX group) may be and/or may comprise the length/duration of on duration time (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) and/or the start offset to on duration time (e.g., drx-SlotOffset). The length/duration of on duration time (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) may be (represent by and/or referred to) an on duration timer. The start offset to on duration time (e.g., drx-SlotOffset) may be applied to the start of the on duration timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer)” – See [0246]; “Serving Cells of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters. When RRC does not configure a secondary DRX group, there is only one DRX group and all Serving Cells belong to that one DRX group. When two DRX groups are configured, each Serving Cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two groups” – See [0116]; The UE receives an RRC message comprising configuration parameters of a DRX configuration for a serving cell);
receiving, by the terminal, downlink information, wherein the downlink information comprises a first field associated with the first serving cell, and wherein the first field indicates a first value (“The first indication may be a L1 and/or L2 signaling/indication (e.g., Downlink Control Information (DCI), MAC CE). The UE may receive one or multiple DRX configuration(s) in a RRC message (e.g., RRCSetup, RRCResume, or RRCReconfiguration). The first indication may indicate a pre-configured DRX configuration or a value of the DRX parameter” – See [0255]; The UE receives a first indication (downlink information) via DCI or MAC CE, wherein the first indication includes a first field indicating a value of a DRX parameter or a pre-configured DRX configuration); and
performing, by the terminal and based on the configuration parameter set of the first serving cell, an uplink transmission operation of the first serving cell in case that Discontinuous Reception (DRX) is configured for the terminal; and the two or more serving cells are in Active Time of the DRX (“The UE may determine to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; The UE transmits the CSI report (uplink transmission) to the serving cell when DRX is configured for the UE, and the group of cells in the DRX group (i.e., two or more serving cells) associated with the DRX configuration are in DRX Active Time/on duration time),
wherein, for the uplink transmission operation of the first serving cell, the terminal performs Channel State Information (CSI) transmission in the first serving cell in case that a specific timer of the first serving cell is running (“The UE may determine to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; “the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running” – See [0117]-[0118]; The Active Time occurs when drx-onDurationTimer (specific timer of the first serving cell) is running. The UE transmits the CSI report during the Active Time when drx-onDurationTimer is running); and
does not perform CSI transmission in the first serving cell in case that the specific timer of the first serving cell is not running (“The UE may determine not to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is not (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; “the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running” – See [0117]-[0118]; The Active Time occurs when drx-onDurationTimer (specific timer of the first serving cell) is running. The UE does not transmit the CSI report outside of the Active Time when drx-onDurationTimer is not running).
Regarding Claim 2, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches receiving, by the terminal, the downlink information, wherein the first field associated with the first serving cell indicates a second value (“The first indication may be a L1 and/or L2 signaling/indication (e.g., Downlink Control Information (DCI), MAC CE). The UE may receive one or multiple DRX configuration(s) in a RRC message (e.g., RRCSetup, RRCResume, or RRCReconfiguration). The first indication may indicate a pre-configured DRX configuration or a value of the DRX parameter” – See [0255]; “The first indication may comprise and/or indicate value(s) of one or more DRX configurations” – See [0259]; The UE receives a first indication (downlink information) via DCI or MAC CE, wherein the first indication includes a first field indicating a plurality of DRX parameter values (i.e., a second value in addition to the first value)); and
performing, by the terminal, CSI transmission in the first serving cell in case that: the DRX is configured for the terminal; and the two or more serving cells are in Active Time of the DRX (“The UE may determine to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; The UE transmits the CSI report to the serving cell when DRX is configured for the UE, and the group of cells in the DRX group (i.e., two or more serving cells) associated with the DRX configuration are in DRX Active Time/on duration time).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches receiving, by the terminal, the downlink information, wherein the first field associated with the first serving cell indicates a second value (“The first indication may be a L1 and/or L2 signaling/indication (e.g., Downlink Control Information (DCI), MAC CE). The UE may receive one or multiple DRX configuration(s) in a RRC message (e.g., RRCSetup, RRCResume, or RRCReconfiguration). The first indication may indicate a pre-configured DRX configuration or a value of the DRX parameter” – See [0255]; “The first indication may comprise and/or indicate value(s) of one or more DRX configurations” – See [0259]; The UE receives a first indication (downlink information) via DCI or MAC CE, wherein the first indication includes a first field indicating a plurality of DRX parameter values (i.e., a second value in addition to the first value)); and
not performing, by the terminal, CSI transmission in the first serving cell in case that: the DRX is configured for the terminal; and the two or more serving cells are not in Active Time of the DRX (“The UE may determine not to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is not (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; “the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running” – See [0117]-[0118]; The Active Time occurs when drx-onDurationTimer (specific timer of the first serving cell) is running. The UE does not transmit the CSI report outside of the Active Time when drx-onDurationTimer is not running).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that for the uplink transmission operation of the first serving cell, the terminal: performs Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) transmission in the first serving cell in case that the specific timer of the first serving cell is running (“The UE may determine to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; “the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running” – See [0117]-[0118]; The Active Time occurs when drx-onDurationTimer (specific timer of the first serving cell) is running. The UE transmits the SRS during the Active Time when drx-onDurationTimer is running); and
does not perform SRS transmission in the first serving cell in case that the specific timer of the first serving cell is not running (“The UE may determine not to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is not (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; “the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running” – See [0117]-[0118]; The Active Time occurs when drx-onDurationTimer (specific timer of the first serving cell) is running. The UE does not transmit the SRS outside of the Active Time when drx-onDurationTimer is not running).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the DRX is configured for the terminal in case that a DRX configuration parameter set is provided to the terminal (“a method 1000 for a UE in a wireless communication system comprises receiving a RRC message comprising a DRX configuration (step 1002)” – See [0313]; “The DRX configuration(s) for on duration (time) (e.g., for a DRX group) may be and/or may comprise the length/duration of on duration time (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) and/or the start offset to on duration time (e.g., drx-SlotOffset). The length/duration of on duration time (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) may be (represent by and/or referred to) an on duration timer. The start offset to on duration time (e.g., drx-SlotOffset) may be applied to the start of the on duration timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer)” – See [0246]; “Serving Cells of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters. When RRC does not configure a secondary DRX group, there is only one DRX group and all Serving Cells belong to that one DRX group. When two DRX groups are configured, each Serving Cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two groups” – See [0116]; DRX is configured for the UE when the UE is provided with the DRX parameters via RRC signaling).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang teaches the method of Claim 8. Huang further teaches that the DRX configuration parameter set comprises: a parameter related to a drx-onDurationTimer; a parameter related to a drx-InactivityTimer; a parameter related to a drx-RetransmissionTimerDL; and a parameter related to a drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (“RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer … drx-InactivityTimer … drx-RetransmissionTimerDL … drx-RetransmissionTimerUL” – See [0099]-[0104]).
Regarding Claim 10, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the two or more serving cells are in Active Time of the DRX in case that: a drx-onDurationTimer is running; a drx-InactivityTimer is running; a drx-RetransmissionTimerDL is running; or a drx-RetransmissionTimerUL is running (“the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running” – See [0117]-[0118]; The serving cells are in active time when drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer is running).
Regarding Claim 11, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the configuration parameter set of the first serving cell comprises: a parameter related to a length of the specific timer of the first serving cell; a parameter related to a cycle configured for the first serving cell; and a parameter related to a slot offset configured for the first serving cell (“RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer … drx-SlotOffset … drx-LongCycleStartOffset” – See [0099]-[0105]; The parameter set includes drx-onDurationTimer (length of the specific timer of the first serving cell), drx-LongCycleStartOffset (parameter related to a cycle configured for the first serving cell), and drx-slotOffset (a slot offset configured for the first serving cell)).
Regarding Claim 12, Huang teaches the method of Claim 11. Huang further teaches that the parameter related to the length of the specific timer of the first serving cell indicates an active duration at a beginning of the cycle in the first serving cell (“the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running” – See [0117]-[0118]; drx-onDurationTimer (parameter related to the length of the specific timer of the first serving cell) indicates a duration of the Active Time at the beginning of the DRX cycle in the serving cell).
Regarding Claim 13, Huang teaches the method of Claim 11. Huang further teaches that a time point at which the specific timer starts is determined based on: the cycle configured for the first serving cell; and the slot offset configured for the first serving cell (“drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer” – See [0101]; “drx-LongCycleStartOffset: the Long DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long and Short DRX cycle starts” – See [0105]; The time when the drx-onDurationTimer starts is based on drx-SlotOffset (slot offset configured for the first serving cell) and the drx-LongCycleStartOffset (cycle configured for the first serving cell)).
Regarding Claim 14, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that an association between the first field and the first serving cell in the downlink information is determined based on information indicating the first serving cell (“a method 1000 for a UE in a wireless communication system comprises receiving a RRC message comprising a DRX configuration (step 1002)” – See [0313]; “The DRX configuration(s) for on duration (time) (e.g., for a DRX group) may be and/or may comprise the length/duration of on duration time (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) and/or the start offset to on duration time (e.g., drx-SlotOffset). The length/duration of on duration time (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) may be (represent by and/or referred to) an on duration timer. The start offset to on duration time (e.g., drx-SlotOffset) may be applied to the start of the on duration timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer)” – See [0246]; “Serving Cells of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters. When RRC does not configure a secondary DRX group, there is only one DRX group and all Serving Cells belong to that one DRX group. When two DRX groups are configured, each Serving Cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two groups” – See [0116]; The first field and the serving cell are associated based on a DRX group in the information which indicates the first serving cell).
Regarding Claim 16, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the downlink information is received based on a specific Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) (“the UE's PDCCH monitoring activity for the MAC entity's C-RNTI, CI-RNTI, CS-RNTI, INT-RNTI, SFI-RNTI, SP-CSI-RNTI, TPC-PUCCH-RNTI, TPC-PUSCH-RNTI, TPC-SRS-RNTI, AI-RNTI, SL-RNTI, SLCS-RNTI and SL Semi-Persistent Scheduling V-RNTI” – See [0098]; The UE monitors the PDCCH for its RNTI).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2023/0363043) in view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0274535).
Regarding Claim 4, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches receiving, by the terminal, the downlink information, wherein the first field associated with the first serving cell indicates the first value (“The first indication may be a L1 and/or L2 signaling/indication (e.g., Downlink Control Information (DCI), MAC CE). The UE may receive one or multiple DRX configuration(s) in a RRC message (e.g., RRCSetup, RRCResume, or RRCReconfiguration). The first indication may indicate a pre-configured DRX configuration or a value of the DRX parameter” – See [0255]; The UE receives a first indication (downlink information) via DCI or MAC CE, wherein the first indication includes a first field indicating a value of a DRX parameter or a pre-configured DRX configuration); and
performing, by the terminal and based on the configuration parameter set of the first serving cell, the uplink transmission operation of the first serving cell (“The UE may determine to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; The UE transmits the CSI report to the serving cell).
Huang does not explicitly teach that the uplink transmission operation is performed in case that the DRX is not configured for the terminal.
However, Yi teaches that the uplink transmission operation is performed in case that the DRX is not configured for the terminal (“The wireless device may be sending/transmitting periodic CSI reports and/or SRSs frequently (e.g., based on the configuration), for example, if DRX is not configured” – See [0315]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang such that the uplink transmission operation is performed in case that the DRX is not configured for the terminal. Motivation for doing so would be to enable frequent transmissions of CSI reports to be performed (See Yi, [0315]).
Regarding Claim 5, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang further teaches receiving, by the terminal, the downlink information, wherein the first field indicates a second value (“The first indication may be a L1 and/or L2 signaling/indication (e.g., Downlink Control Information (DCI), MAC CE). The UE may receive one or multiple DRX configuration(s) in a RRC message (e.g., RRCSetup, RRCResume, or RRCReconfiguration). The first indication may indicate a pre-configured DRX configuration or a value of the DRX parameter” – See [0255]; “The first indication may comprise and/or indicate value(s) of one or more DRX configurations” – See [0259]; The UE receives a first indication (downlink information) via DCI or MAC CE, wherein the first indication includes a first field indicating a plurality of DRX parameter values (i.e., a second value in addition to the first value)); and
performing, by the terminal, CSI transmission in the first serving cell (“The UE may determine to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]; The UE transmits the CSI report to the serving cell).
Huang does not explicitly teach that the CSI transmission is performed in case that the DRX is not configured for the terminal.
However, Yi teaches that the CSI transmission is performed in case that the DRX is not configured for the terminal (“The wireless device may be sending/transmitting periodic CSI reports and/or SRSs frequently (e.g., based on the configuration), for example, if DRX is not configured” – See [0315]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang such that the CSI transmission is performed in case that the DRX is not configured for the terminal for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 4.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2023/0363043) in view of Jiang et al. (US 2025/0175840).
Regarding Claim 7, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang does not explicitly teach that the terminal performs CSI transmission, for the uplink transmission operation of the first serving cell, in a supplementary uplink in case that the configuration parameter set of the first serving cell comprises a second parameter related to the supplementary uplink.
However, Jiang teaches that the terminal performs CSI transmission, for the uplink transmission operation of the first serving cell, in a supplementary uplink in case that the configuration parameter set of the first serving cell comprises a second parameter related to the supplementary uplink (“if the default cell includes more than one uplink carrier, such as including NUL and SUL, on which uplink carrier of the cell that the CSI report is transmitted is indicated e.g. by a field for indicating an uplink carrier of the cell (such as UL-SUL indicator) included in DCI format 0_X” – See [0121]; CSI report is transmitted on a SUL (supplementary uplink) in response to a configuration parameter that configures the SUL as the uplink carrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang such that the terminal performs CSI transmission, for the uplink transmission operation of the first serving cell, in a supplementary uplink in case that the configuration parameter set of the first serving cell comprises a second parameter related to the supplementary uplink. Motivation for doing so would be to improve CSI feedback efficiency (See Jiang, [0145]).
Claims 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2023/0363043) in view of Muller et al. (US 2021/0195521).
Regarding Claim 15, Huang teaches the method of Claim 1. Huang does not explicitly teach that the downlink information is received based on a specific common search space.
However, Muller teaches that the downlink information is received based on a specific common search space (“A common search space is also defined within which multiple user equipments commonly search for control messages/channels (e.g., PDCCH”) intended for them. In some embodiments, a search space is a set of candidate control channels (e.g., candidate PDCCHs) formed by control channel elements (CCEs) on a given aggregation level, which the user equipment 14 may attempt to decode. Regardless, according to some embodiments, during the wake-up monitoring period 24, the user equipment 14 is configured to only monitor the common search space (e.g., of the PDCCH) that is common to multiple user equipments. The radio network node 12 is correspondingly configured to, during the wake-up monitoring period 24, transmit the message 26 (or any control messages) only in the common search space (e.g., of the PDCCH)” – See [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang such that the downlink information is received based on a specific common search space. Motivation for doing so would be to avoid the time, complexity, and power that would otherwise be required to decode a user-specific search space (See Muller, [0054]).
Regarding Claim 17, Huang teaches the method of Claim 16. Huang does not explicitly teach that the specific RNTI is used only for reception of the downlink information.
However, Muller teaches that the specific RNTI is used only for reception of the downlink information (“In this regard, the user equipment 14 according to some embodiments is configured with a so-called DRX radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), DRX-RNTI 22, also referred to herein as a C-DRX-RNTI as specifically applicable to C-DRX mode” – See [0048]; The RNTI is used only for receiving downlink information applicable to the DRX mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang such that the specific RNTI is used only for reception of the downlink information. Motivation for doing so would be to assign a single identifier to a group of UEs that are assigned to a same DRX on duration/active time cycle (See Muller, [0010]).
Regarding Claim 18, Huang in view of Muller teaches the method of Claim 15. Muller further teaches that the specific common search space is selected from one or more common search spaces (“A common search space is also defined within which multiple user equipments commonly search for control messages/channels (e.g., PDCCH”) intended for them. In some embodiments, a search space is a set of candidate control channels (e.g., candidate PDCCHs) formed by control channel elements (CCEs) on a given aggregation level, which the user equipment 14 may attempt to decode. Regardless, according to some embodiments, during the wake-up monitoring period 24, the user equipment 14 is configured to only monitor the common search space (e.g., of the PDCCH) that is common to multiple user equipments. The radio network node 12 is correspondingly configured to, during the wake-up monitoring period 24, transmit the message 26 (or any control messages) only in the common search space (e.g., of the PDCCH)” – See [0054]; The common search space is selected from among at least one available common search space).
Regarding Claim 19, Huang in view of Muller teaches the method of Claim 18. Muller further teaches that the one or more common search spaces are indicated in the configuration parameter set of the first serving cell (“A common search space is also defined within which multiple user equipments commonly search for control messages/channels (e.g., PDCCH”) intended for them. In some embodiments, a search space is a set of candidate control channels (e.g., candidate PDCCHs) formed by control channel elements (CCEs) on a given aggregation level, which the user equipment 14 may attempt to decode” – See [0054]; The common search space is indicated in configuration parameters of the serving cell).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 1-2 of the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that Huang does not teach “downlink information comprising a first field associated with the first serving cell,” as recited in independent claim 1. In particular, Applicant argues “This language requires that the downlink information include a field that is explicitly associated with—i.e., mapped to—a specific individual serving cell.”
The Examiner disagrees. The language “first field associated with the first serving cell” does not require that the field is explicitly associated with/mapped to a specific individual serving cell. According to the broadest reasonable interpretation, a “first field” that is related in any way to the first serving cell is considered to be a “first field associated with the first serving cell.”
As disclosed by Huang, the UE/terminal receives a DRX configuration via RRC signaling, wherein the DRX configuration configures DRX parameters for a serving cell (“a method 1000 for a UE in a wireless communication system comprises receiving a RRC message comprising a DRX configuration (step 1002)” – See [0313]; “The DRX configuration(s) for on duration (time) (e.g., for a DRX group) may be and/or may comprise the length/duration of on duration time (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) and/or the start offset to on duration time (e.g., drx-SlotOffset). The length/duration of on duration time (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) may be (represent by and/or referred to) an on duration timer. The start offset to on duration time (e.g., drx-SlotOffset) may be applied to the start of the on duration timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer)” – See [0246]; “Serving Cells of a MAC entity may be configured by RRC in two DRX groups with separate DRX parameters. When RRC does not configure a secondary DRX group, there is only one DRX group and all Serving Cells belong to that one DRX group. When two DRX groups are configured, each Serving Cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two groups” – See [0116]). That is, the RRC signaling configures DRX parameters for at least a first DRX group, wherein the first DRX group includes a serving cell (i.e., the first serving cell).
Afterward, the UE receives a first or second indication that includes downlink information (e.g., DCI) that dynamically modifies/shifts/adjusts the previously configured DRX configuration (“The second indication may comprise/indicate a DRX configuration (e.g., for a DRX group) and/or a DRX group (number). The UE may apply (the information of) the second indication to the indicated DRX group(s). The UE may apply (the information of) the second indication to a first DRX group” – See [0288]). This indication applies to the first DRX group which, as shown above, includes the first serving cell. Thus, the indication/downlink information is associated with the first serving cell.
On pages 2-3 of the remarks, Applicant argues:
“Claim 1 establishes a two-tier control structure for CSI transmission:
Upper tier (AND condition for UL operation): The uplink transmission operation is performed only when (a) DRX is configured for the terminal AND (b) the two or more serving cells are in Active Time of the DRX.
Lower tier (CSI sub-condition within UL operation): Within that UL operation, CSI transmission is performed only when the specific timer of the first serving cell is running; and is not performed when that specific timer is not running.
Reading these two tiers together, Claim 1 requires that CSI transmission occur only when both conditions are simultaneously satisfied: (1) the serving cells are in Active Time, AND (2) the specific timer (drx-onDurationTimer) of the first serving cell is running. Critically, even if condition (1) is met - i.e., the serving cells are in Active Time - CSI transmission is withheld if condition (2) is not independently satisfied.
This two-tier AND structure has concrete operational significance. Under Huang [0117], Active Time encompasses the time while any one of the following timers is running: drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, ra-ContentionResolutionTimer or others. Accordingly, a scenario exists in which serving cells are in Active Time (because, for example, drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimer is running) while the drx-onDurationTimer is not running. In such a scenario:
Under Claim 1: Active Time condition (upper tier) is satisfied, but the specific timer condition (lower tier) is not satisfied CSI transmission is not performed.
Under Huang [0450]: Active Time condition is satisfied CSI transmission is performed.
Huang [0450] provides a single-tier rule: ‘the UE may determine to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time.’ There is no further sub-condition based on whether a specific timer is running within that Active Time. Huang does not disclose, and does not suggest, a mechanism that further restricts CSI transmission within Active Time based on the running status of a specific individual timer.
This structural gap is further confirmed by Huang [0099], which discloses optional parameters ‘ps-TransmitOtherPeriodicCSI’ and ‘ps-TransmitPeriodicL1-RSRP,’ defined as configurations to transmit periodic CSI on PUCCH ‘in case DCP is configured but associated drx-onDurationTimer is not started.’ These parameters affirmatively teach that, in Huang’s framework, CSI can be transmitted even when the drx-onDurationTimer is not running — the precise scenario that Claim 1 prohibits. This is a direct, affirmative teaching away from the lower-tier condition of Claim 1.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Huang does not anticipate Claim 1. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of this rejection.”
The Examiner disagrees. In response to Applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the uplink transmission operation is performed only when (a) DRX is configured for the terminal AND (b) the two or more serving cells are in Active Time of the DRX”, and “CSI transmission is performed only when the specific timer of the first serving cell is running; and is not performed when that specific timer is not running” (emphasis added)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner notes that the term “only” is not recited at any point in claim 1. This is of special significance since such a recitation would require that the “uplink transmission” is only performed when “DRX is configured for the terminal” and “the two or more serving cells are in Active Time of the DRX”, and the uplink transmission is never performed under any other circumstances. Similar reasoning also applies to Applicant’s argument that CSI transmission is performed only when certain conditions are met. However, since the word “only” is never recited in the claims such a limitation on the functionality of the uplink transmission and CSI transmission is not read into the claims.
On page 3 of the remarks, Applicant argues:
“Claims 2 and 3 each require that the first field indicate a second value, and that this second value triggers a different CSI transmission rule from the first value:
Claim 2: second value ⟶ CSI transmission performed when DRX is configured AND serving cells are in Active Time (Active Time-based, timer-agnostic).
Claim 3: second value ⟶ CSI transmission not performed when DRX is configured AND serving cells are NOT in Active Time.
Comparing Claim 1 (first value ⟶ specific timer-based CSI control) with Claims 2 and 3 (second value ⟶ Active Time-based CSI control), the structure reveals that the field value selects between two different CSI control regimes: one that applies the two-tier AND condition of Claim 1, and one that applies an Active Time-only condition. This value-indexed switching of CSI control logic is not disclosed anywhere in Huang.
Huang [0255] and [0259] disclose that an indication may indicate values of DRX parameters. However, these disclosures concern modifying DRX configuration parameters (e.g., adjusting drx-SlotOffset or drx-onDurationTimer) Huang nowhere discloses using a field value to switch between structurally different CSI transmission condition frameworks. Accordingly, the independent grounds of Claims 2 and 3 are not met by Huang.”
The Examiner disagrees. In response to Applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the “second value” triggers a “different CSI transmission rule”, and “using a field value to switch between structurally different CSI transmission condition frameworks) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 2 specifies that the first field indicates a second value. However, the claim does not specify whether this second value takes the place of the “first value” from claim 1 or if it is included in addition to the first value. Furthermore, the “performing” step recited in claim 2 does not make any reference back to the “second value”. According to the broadest reasonable interpretation, since the claim does not explicitly specify any relation between the “second value” and the performing of the CSI transmission, the CSI transmission is considered to occur independently of the second value.
As shown above in the rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Huang teaches that the first field associated with the first serving cell indicates a second value (“The first indication may be a L1 and/or L2 signaling/indication (e.g., Downlink Control Information (DCI), MAC CE). The UE may receive one or multiple DRX configuration(s) in a RRC message (e.g., RRCSetup, RRCResume, or RRCReconfiguration). The first indication may indicate a pre-configured DRX configuration or a value of the DRX parameter” – See [0255]; “The first indication may comprise and/or indicate value(s) of one or more DRX configurations” – See [0259]). The UE receives a first indication (downlink information) via DCI or MAC CE, wherein the first indication includes a first field indicating a plurality of DRX parameter values (i.e., a second value in addition to the first value).
Furthermore, Huang teaches that the UE performs CSI transmission in the first serving cell in case that the DRX is configured for the terminal and the two or more serving cells are in Active Time of the DRX in the same manner as claim 1.
Similar reasoning also applies to Applicant’s argument that the second value triggers a different CSI transmission rule with respect to Claim 3. That is, the step of “not performing, by the terminal, CSI transmission in the first serving cell in case that: the DRX is configured for the terminal; and the two or more serving cells are not in Active Time of the DRX” does not depend on the second value and the step is considered to occur independently of the second value, according to the broadest reasonable interpretation.
On page 4 of the remarks, Applicant argues:
“Claim 6 requires that SRS transmission follow the same two-tier AND structure as CSI in Claim 1: SRS is performed when the specific timer of the first serving cell is running, and not performed when it is not running.
As argued with respect to Claim 1, Huang [0450] discloses SRS transmission based on Active Time as a whole, without the lower-tier specific-timer condition. The same Active Time vs. specific-timer-running distinction applies to SRS.
Additionally, and as noted above, Huang [0099]’s ‘ps-TransmitOtherPeriodicCSI’ parameter affirmatively teaches that periodic CSI (and by structural analogy, SRS) may be transmitted even when the drx-onDurationTi is not running. This directly contradicts Claim 6’s requirement that SRS is not transmitted in that same scenario. A reference that affirmatively teaches the opposite of a claim limitation cannot anticipate that limitation.”
The Examiner disagrees. Huang clearly and explicitly teaches performing Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) transmission in the first serving cell in case that the specific timer of the first serving cell is running (“The UE may determine to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]). That is, the UE transmits SRS during DRX active time/on duration time, wherein DRX active time/on duration is the period when the drx-onDurationTimer (specific timer) is running (“the Active Time for Serving Cells in a DRX group includes the time while: drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer configured for the DRX group is running” – See [0117]-[0118]).
Additionally, Huang clearly and explicitly teaches not performing SRS transmission in the first serving cell in case that the specific timer of the first serving cell is not running (“The UE may determine not to transmit SRS and/or CSI report if the symbol n is not (considered/determined as) in DRX Active Time and/or on duration time” – See [0450]). That is, the UE determines not to transmit the SRS when not in DRX active time/on duration time, wherein the UE is not in DRX active time/on duration time when the drx-onDurationTimer (specific timer) is not running.
Furthermore, this SRS transmission feature is performed as part of the “uplink transmission operation” of claim 1 as shown above in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103. In the above rejection, it is clearly shown how Huang teaches that the SRS transmission (uplink transmission operation) is performed when DRX is configured for the UE, and a DRX group (which includes the two serving cells) is in Active Time.
On page 4 of the remarks, Applicant argues:
“Claim 14 requires that the association between the first field and the first serving cell in the downlink information be determined based on ‘information indicating the first serving cell.’ The Examiner maps this to Huang's DRX group disclosures ([0313], [0246], [0116]). However, as argued above, Huang's downlink indication operates at the DRX group level. The association in Huang is between the indication and a DRX group; serving cells are only indirectly associated through group membership. This two-step, group-mediated association does not satisfy the requirement that the field-to-serving-cell association be based on information that directly indicates the first serving cell.”
The Examiner disagrees. In response to Applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the field-to-serving-cell association be based on information that directly indicates the first serving cell”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
On page 5 of the remarks, Applicant argues:
“Furthermore, the Examiner relies on Yi [0315] for the proposition that ‘the wireless device may be sending/transmitting periodic CSI reports and/or SRSs frequently (e.g., based on the configuration), for example, if DRX is not configured.’ This passage is a general background statement about DRX behavior, not a teaching directed to the specific architecture of Claims 4 and 5 - namely, a terminal that performs uplink transmission when DRX is not configured, based on the configuration parameter set of the first serving cell and in response to receiving downlink information comprising a serving cell-associated field indicating a specific value. The combination of Huang’s group-level DRX indication with Yi’s general background statement does not yield the specific cell-level, field-value-conditioned uplink transmission architecture of Claims 4 and 5.”
The Examiner disagrees. In response to Applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Claims 4 and 5 merely recite, in a broad manner with a high level of generality, performing an uplink transmission operation/CSI transmission in the case that DRX is not configured for the terminal.
While Huang shows the case where an uplink transmission operation/CSI transmission is performed in the case where DRX is configured for the terminal (See rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103), Huang does not explicitly teach the case wherein the uplink transmission operation/CSI transmission is performed in the case where DRX is not configured for the terminal. Yi is relied upon to show that CSI/uplink transmissions can still be performed by a terminal in the instance that DRX is not configured for the terminal. The combination of Huang and Yi yields the predictable result that a terminal still sends uplink transmissions to the base station even when DRX is not configured.
On page 6 of the remarks, Applicant argues:
“The Examiner relies on Jiang [0121], which discloses that if a default cell includes NUL and SUL, the uplink carrier for CSI transmission is indicated by a UL-SUL indicator field in DCI format 0_X.
There is a fundamental structural mismatch between Claim 7 and Jiang [0121]. Claim 7 conditions SUL-based CSI transmission on the presence of a SUL-related parameter in the RRC configuration parameter set of the serving cell - a semi-static, RRC-layer condition. In contrast, Jiang [0121] conditions the uplink carrier selection on a DCI field (UL-SUL indicator), which is a dynamic, L1-layer signaling mechanism. These are architecturally distinct layers of control, serving different purposes in the protocol stack.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to restructure Jiang's dynamic DCI-based carrier selection into a static RRC-configuration-based condition. The Examiner has not provided a sufficient rationale for such restructuring.”
The Examiner disagrees. There is no restructuring required for the combination of Jiang with Huang. In addition to configuring the parameter via DCI, Jiang discloses that the parameter is configured via RRC signaling (“The terminal equipment transmits a CSI report on a cell and/or uplink carrier that is default or configured by signaling (such as RRC” – See [0116]). Thus, Jiang’s RRC signaling and Huang’s RRC signaling that configures the parameter set of the first serving cell may be combined directly without any restructuring of signaling performed at different layers.
On page 6 of the remarks, Applicant argues:
“A critical contextual distinction exists. Muller’s common search space ([0054]) is used during a wake-up monitoring period - a period preceding the DRX on-duration, during which a UE monitors for a wake-up signal to decide whether to monitor the PDCCH in the subsequent on-duration. This is a power-saving mechanism that is architecturally and functionally distinct from the downlink information of Claim 1, which is a serving cell-specific DL message carrying a field value that governs CSI/SRS uplink transmission behavior.
Furthermore, Claims 15 and 17-19 each depend from Claim 1. Because Huang fails to anticipate Claim 1, the Huang + Muller combination cannot render these claims obvious.
Regarding Claim 17 specifically: Muller [0048] discloses a DRX-RNTI used for receiving wake-up messages during the wake-up monitoring period. Claim 17 requires that the specific RNTI be used only for reception of the "downlink information" - the serving cell- specific downlink information that controls uplink transmission in Claim 1. Muller's DRX-RNTI and Claim 17's specific RNTI serve functionally different purposes and are not equivalent.”
The Examiner disagrees. In response to Applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Muller’s DRX-RNTI is used for DRX-related DCI control messages (See [0051]). Although Muller’s DCI and Huang’s DCI differ in their exact contents, they are both similar in that the DCI carries information related to the DRX operation of the terminal. In view of this similarity, Huang’s DCI is modified based on Muller such that the DCI/downlink information includes a DRX-RNTI (specific RNTI that is used only for reception of the downlink information) which can be monitored by the terminal so that the downlink information can be identified/detected. The use of this specific identifier enables a group of UEs that are assigned to a same DRX on duration/active time cycle to share a single identifier (See Muller, [0010]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478