DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 24-29 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Applicant's arguments filed June 22 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While a new ground(s) of rejection has been set forth for amended claim 24, the examiner respectfully disagrees with certain arguments raised by the applicant with respect to the dependent claims 25-29.
For example in regards to the applicants arguments regarding claim 25, the applicant argues that neither Kaikkonen nor Moon disclose the specific categorization of P-SRS/SP-SRS as suppressed in the non-active duration while AP-SRS continues to be transmitted therein. However the applicant is arguing the teachings of Kaikkonen and Moon, when the rejection is an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, which relies on the combined teachings of all the references applied to claim 25. Claim 25 claims the definitions of the first type of uplink reference signal which is a periodic/SPS SRS which Kaikkonen discloses in applied in the DTX active period (Kaikkonen, Para [0102]) and the second type of uplink reference signal which is an aperiodic SRS which Moon discloses is sent in the DTX inactive time (Moon, see Para’s [0161] i.e., SRS scheduled by DCI (i.e., “aperiodic SRS”) may be transmitted in DTX inactive time & [0220]). Therefore the combined teachings of the references arrives to transmitting the periodic/SPS SRS in the DTX active duration and the aperiodic SRS in the DTX non-active duration.
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding claim 26, the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example, the applicant argues that while Dimou ‘472 discloses carrier aggregation in general, it does not disclose that the same DTX2 periodic pattern defined by the serving cell timer is applied concurrently to both NUL and SUL carriers. However claim 26 does not claim a “DTX2” pattern nor does claim 26 claim “applied concurrently to both NUL and SUL carriers”. Rather claim 26 claims the periodic pattern for uplink transmission control applies to both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier. In regards to the DTX periodic pattern defined by the serving cell timer, a new ground(s) of rejection has been set forth for the new feature of the serving cell timer for the DTX periodic pattern, and applying such a DTX period pattern defined by the serving cell timer would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be applied for both of the carriers disclosed in Dimou ‘472 who discloses the network entity and UE communicate using a DTX pattern applied to both carriers (Dimou, ‘472 & see Para’s [0058-0061], [0081], & [0088-0090]). In regards to the applicants arguments regarding claim 26, that “the specification discloses at paragraphs [0058-0065] and [0422]-[0423] that DTX2 applies to NUL and SUL based on the dtx2-uplinkInd field”, a feature not taught by the combination. However the examiner respectfully disagrees as claim 26 does not claim the claim feature of “DTX2 applies to NUL and SUL based on the dtx2-uplinkInd field”.
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding dependent regarding claim 27, the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example the applicant argues that Moon Para [0161] does not provide a complete and specific teachings of the coordinated suppression of SR, configured UL grant, and CSI reporting in a cell-level DTX2 non-active duration context. However the applicant is relying on the teachings of Moon individually for not disclosing all claim elements when the rejection of claim 27 is an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, which relies on the combined teachings of all the references applied to claim 27. For example, Dimou (‘849) was shown in the office action on Pg. 13 to disclose refrain from reporting channel state information on a configured uplink grant resource during the non-active duration (Dimou (‘849), Para’s [0063-0064], [0081], & [0086-0087]). In regards to the claim features of refrain from transmitting the scheduling request on a control channel resource during the non-active duration (see Moon, Para’s [0161-0162]) and refrain from transmitting on a configured uplink grant resource during the non-active duration (Moon, see Para [0161]). For the reasons explained the combined teachings of the references discloses the claim features of dependent claim 27. In regards to the applicants argument that CSI reporting in a cell-level DTX2 non-active duration, claim 27 does not claim CSI reporting in a “cell-level DTX2 non-active duration”.
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding claim 28, the applicant argues that claim 28 recites the feature of transmitting aperiodic CSI on a shared channel during the non-active duration on a cell-level DTX2 periodic pattern in response to a base station request during an established connection, however “cell-level DTX2 periodic pattern” is not claimed in claim 28. The applicant argues that this is fundamentally different from Su’s Msg3 based aperiodic CSI reporting in the context of an RA procedure. However regardless of an RA procedure, the combination of at least Moon in view of Su discloses the claim feature in claim 28 of transmitting aperiodic CSI on a shared channel during the non-active duration in response to a request from the base station, (Moon, see Para [0161] i.e., Msg3 is transmitted during the DTX inactive time & Su, see Para [0021]), In regards to the applicants argument that there is no suggestion in any of the five cited references that “aperiodic CSI would be triggered by a base station request and transmitted on PUSCH during the non-active duration of a DTX2 periodic pattern in a connected-state UE”, however claim 28 does not claim a “DTX2 periodic pattern in a connected-state UE”. The combination of Moon in view of Su suggests that aperiodic CSI would be triggered by a base station request and transmitted on PUSCH during the non-active duration of the DTX pattern (Moon, see Para [0161] i.e., Msg3 is transmitted during the DTX inactive time & Su, see Para [0021]).
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding dependent claim 29, the applicant argues the teachings of Tao with respect to dependent claim 29 and states that the present specification in Para’s [0225-0227] and [0157] that DTX2 activation is performed via a MAC control element (DRX2_DTX2) COMMAND) addressed via a group RNTI (D-RNTI) to simultaneously activate DTX2 for a group of UEs. The applicant further states that this dynamic, group-addressed MAC-CE based activation mechanism is distinct from Tao’s UE-specific, RRC-based static configuration. However claim 29 does not claim the claim feature of DTX2 activation is performed via a MAC control element (DRX2_DTX2) COMMAND) addressed via a group RNTI (D-RNTI) to simultaneously activate DTX2 for a group of UEs as argued by the applicant nor does claim 29 claim dynamic, group-addressed MAC CE-based activation mechanism. Therefore the applicant is arguing subject matter which is not claimed in claim 29. Rather claim 29 claims the terminal receiver receives from the base station, an activation command for activating the periodic pattern for the serving cell and the terminal applying the periodic pattern which Tao discloses (Tao, Para’s [0180-181] & [0186]). Claim 29 claims an activation command received from the base station for activating the DTX pattern and therefore the RRC signaling disclosed in Tao which activates the DTX pattern may be the claimed activation command (Tao, see Para [0186]). Therefore the combined teachings of the references applied to claim 29 results in the terminal receiving an activation command for activating the period pattern for the serving cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimou et al. US (2024/0259849) in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324), further in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288), further in view of Jiang US (2023/0180346), and further in view of Kakishima et al. US (2022/0022053).
Regarding Claim 24, Dimou discloses a terminal apparatus (see Fig. 5 i.e., UE 120 & Fig. 10) for wireless communication, the terminal apparatus comprising: a receiver (see Fig. 10 i.e., reception component 1002 of UE & Para [0144] & [0146]) configured to receive, from a base station (see Fig. 5 i.e., network node 110), configuration information for a serving cell, (see Fig. 3A i.e., periodic cell DTX pattern 302 & Para [0081] i.e., the network node 110 utilizes a periodic cell DTX pattern 302. In this example, each pattern 302 comprises an active period 304 and an inactive period 306…In example 300, the network node 110 may indicate the pattern 302 (i.e., “configuration information”) to a UE 120 in the associate cell (such that the UE has knowledge of the inactive periods 306)
wherein the configuration information indicates: a periodic pattern comprising an active duration and a non-active duration for uplink transmission control on the serving cell, (The claim language “for uplink transmission control on the serving cell” is simply a statement of intended use and is not considered limiting to the claim (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use) (see Fig. 3A & Para [0081] i.e., the network node 110 utilizes a periodic cell DTX pattern 302. In this example, each pattern 302 comprises an active period 304 (i.e., “active duration”) and an inactive period 306 (i.e., “non-active duration”). An active period 304 is a period of time which the network node 110 is in an active state…An inactive period 306 is a period of time during which the network node is in an inactive state…During an inactive period 306, the network node 110 may refrain from transmitting or receiving one or more periodic signals or channels in the cell, such as one or more UE-common signals or channels, one or more UE-specific signals or channels, or the like (i.e., “uplink transmission control on the serving cell”)).
and the periodic pattern repeats with a cycle comprising the active duration followed by the non-active duration, (see Fig. 3A & Para [0081] i.e., the network node 110 utilizes a periodic cell DTX pattern 302. In this example, each pattern 302 comprises an active period 304 and an inactive period 306)
and a transmitter (see Fig. 10 i.e., transmission component 1004 & Para [0147]) configured to: transmit a signal on the serving cell during the active duration, (see Fig. 3A i.e., active period 304 & Para [0081] i.e., During an inactive period 306, the network node 110 may refrain from transmitting or receiving one or more periodic signals or channels in the cell, such as one or more UE-common signals or channels, one or more UE-specific signals or channels, or the like (i.e., suggests the network node 110 can receive the UE-specific signals during the active period 304 of the DTX pattern 302))
refrain from transmitting the signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration; (see Fig. 3A i.e., inactive period 306 & Para [0081] i.e., During an inactive period 306, the network node 110 may refrain from transmitting or receiving one or more periodic signals or channels in the cell, such as one or more UE-common signals or channels, one or more UE-specific signals or channels, or the like).
While Dimou suggests the terminal transmits a UE specific signal on the serving cell during the active duration and refrains from transmitting the UE-specific signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration, (see Fig. 3A i.e., active period 304 and inactive period 306 of DTX pattern 302 & Para [0081] i.e., During an inactive period 306, the network node 110 may refrain from transmitting or receiving one or more periodic signals or channels in the cell, such as one or more UE-common signals or channels, one or more UE-specific signals or channels, or the like (i.e., suggests the network node 110 can receive the UE-specific signals during the active period 304 of the DTX pattern 302)), Dimou does not disclose the claim feature of refrain from transmitting the first type of uplink reference signal during the non-active duration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324).
Kaikkonen discloses transmitting a first type of uplink reference signal during the active duration of a DTX pattern (see Para [0102] i.e., the UE could apply a DTX pattern (i.e., in the “active duration”) for the configured periodic and semi-persistent transmissions, like SRS (i.e., periodic or semi-persistent SRS may be a “first type of uplink reference signal”))
(Kaikkonen suggests applying the DTX pattern for the configured periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmissions results in energy saving opportunities for the UE (see Para’s [0084] & [0102])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal that transmits a UE specific signal on the serving cell during the active duration and refrains from transmitting the UE-specific signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration as disclosed in Dimou to include a UE specific signal such as the first type of uplink SRS reference signal transmitted during the active duration of a DTX pattern as disclosed in the teachings of Kaikkonen, which results in the terminal refraining from transmitting the first type of uplink SRS reference signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration, because the motivation lies in Kaikkonen that applying the DTX pattern for the configured periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmissions results in energy saving opportunities for the UE.
The combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen does not disclose the claim feature of and transmit a second type of uplink reference signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288)
Moon discloses transmit a second type of uplink reference signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., For another example, the terminal may transmit a SRS (i.e., the SRS may be scheduled via DCI which may be a “second type of uplink reference signal” (i.e., aperiodic SRS)) for uplink synchronization, CSI measurement, beam quality measurement, positioning, and sensing in the DTX inactive time. For another example, the terminal may transmit periodic or semi-persistent SRS, CG PUSCH in the DTX inactive time (i.e., suggests the first example SRS may be aperiodic and not the periodic SRS) & [0220] i.e., the terminal may or may not perform the operation indicated by the DCI based on whether or not to perform a transmission operation of the PUCCH (e.g., PUCCH including an SRS) scheduled through DCI (i.e., PUCCH including SRS scheduled through DCI may be an “aperiodic reference signal”)).
(Moon suggests the terminal may transmit a SRS signal transmission in the DRX inactive time for achieving uplink synchronization with the network, performing CSI measurement, and positioning, (see Para [0161])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal, to transmit during the non-active duration such as the inactive period 306 of the DTX pattern on the serving cell disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen a second type of reference signal such as the aperiodic SRS signal transmitted by the terminal in the DRX inactive time as disclosed in the teachings of Moon, because the motivation lies in Moon that the terminal may transmit a SRS signal transmission in the DRX inactive time for achieving uplink synchronization with the network, performing CSI measurement, and positioning.
While Dimou discloses the active period 304 (i.e., “active duration”) is defined by a time period associated with the serving cell wherein the inactive period 306 (i.e., non-active duration) begins when the active duration period 304 expires (see Fig. 3A i.e., active inactive period 306 begins after active period 304 duration expires & Para [0081] i.e., each pattern 302 comprises an active period 304 and an inactive period 306. An active period 304 is a period of time during which the network node 110 is in an active state…an inactive period 306 is a period of time during which the network node is in an inactive state), the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Moon does not disclose the claim features of wherein: the active duration is defined by a running state of a timer associated with the serving cell, wherein the non-active duration begins when the timer expires. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Jiang US (2023/0180346).
Jiang discloses wherein the active duration is defined by a running state of a timer associated with the serving cell (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3 i.e., on-duration (i.e., “active duration”) and off time (i.e., “non-active duration”) of discontinuous transmission cycle & Para’s [0026] i.e., first device 11 may be a base station (i.e., serving cell) & [0053-0055] i.e., one DTX cycle includes two parts: the DTX on-duration and the DTX off time…the first device enters the DTX off time after the DTX on-duration elapses (i.e., “the first device enters the DTX off time after the DTX on-duration elapses” in Para [0055] implies a timer that determines when the duration of the DTX on-duration period elapses or expires))
wherein the non-active duration begins when the timer expires (see Fig. 3 i.e., on-duration (i.e., “active duration”) and off time (i.e., “non-active duration”) of discontinuous transmission cycle & Para’s [0055] i.e., the first device enters the DTX off time after the DTX on-duration elapses (i.e., “the first device enters the DTX off time after the DTX on-duration elapses” in Para [0055] implies a timer that determines when the duration of the DTX on-duration period elapses or expires))
(Jiang suggests the first device (i.e., base station) uses the DTX cycle which includes the configured DTX on-duration and DTX off time for communicating with a second device (i.e., UE) discontinuously which results in reducing power consumption of the first device (see Para’s [0040] & [0053-0055]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the active duration of the DTX pattern associated with the serving cell as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Moon, to be defined by the running state of a timer associated with the serving cell such as the timer configured for determining when the DTX on-duration elapses as disclosed in Jiang who discloses the first device (i.e., “base station”) enters the DTX off time after the DTX on-duration elapses, because the motivation lies in Jiang that the first device (i.e., base station) uses the DTX cycle which includes the configured DTX on-duration and DTX off time for communicating with a second device (i.e., UE) discontinuously which results in reducing power consumption of the first device.
The combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, and further in view of Jiang does not disclose the claim feature of wherein, for each of the first type and the second type of uplink reference signal, which sounding reference signal corresponds to the respective type is determined based on a radio resource control (RRC) message received from the base station. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kakishima et al. US (2022/0022053).
Kakishima discloses wherein, for each of the first type and the second type of uplink reference signal (see Para’s [0042-0043] i.e., SRS resource types such as aperiodic (i.e.,, aperiodic may be the “second type of uplink reference signal”), semi-persistent or periodic (i.e., periodic may be the “first type of uplink reference signal”)), which sounding reference signal corresponds to the respective type is determined based on a radio resource control (RRC) message received from the base station (see Para’s [0042] i.e., More specifically, in Fig. 1B, the base station may transmit configuration information (e.g., an IE, “SRS-Config” of RRC) for SRS transmission to the UE in advance. SRS-Config may include information related to one or more SRS resources & [0043-0044] i.e., the information related to the SRS resources may include at least ones of, for example, SRS resource IDs…SRS resource types (e.g., aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic) (i.e., the SRS-Config of RRC which includes information related to one or more SRS resources may indicate an SRS resource corresponding to an aperiodic SRS resource type (i.e., “second type”) and an SRS resource corresponding to a periodic SRS resource type (i.e., “first type”))
(Kakishima suggests the base station transmits the configuration information (i.e., SRS-Config of RRC) (i.e., “RRC message”) for configuring the UE in advance with configuration information of the one or more SRS resources in order for the UE to determine spatial information such as beams associated with the SRS resources for efficiently performing the SRS transmission according to the configuration information in order to perform uplink channel estimation and sounding measurement, (see Para’s [0036], [0042-0044], & [0152])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first type and the second type of the SRS uplink reference signals as disclosed in the teachings of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, and further in view of Jiang to be configured for the UE according to the RRC message including SRS configuration information of one or more SRS resources associated with a respective SRS resource type as disclosed in Kakishima who discloses wherein, for each of the first type and the second type of uplink reference signal, which sounding reference signal corresponds to the respective type is determined based on the radio resource control (RRC) message received from the base station, because the motivation lies in Kakishima that the base station transmits the configuration information (i.e., SRS-Config of RRC) (i.e., “RRC message”) for configuring the UE in advance with configuration information of the one or more SRS resources in order for the UE to determine spatial information such as beams associated with the SRS resources for efficiently performing the SRS transmission according to the configuration information in order to perform uplink channel estimation and sounding measurement.
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Dimou in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, but does not disclose wherein: the first type of uplink reference signal comprises at least one of a periodic sounding reference signal or a semi-persistent sounding reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324).
Kaikkonen discloses wherein: the first type of uplink reference signal comprises at least one of a periodic sounding reference signal or a semi-persistent sounding reference signal (see Para [0102] i.e., the UE could apply a DTX pattern (i.e., in the “active duration”) for the configured periodic and semi-persistent transmissions, like SRS (i.e., periodic or semi-persistent SRS may be a “first type of uplink reference signal”))
(Kaikkonen suggests applying the DTX pattern for the configured periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmissions results in energy saving opportunities for the UE (see Para’s [0084] & [0102])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal that transmits a UE specific signal on the serving cell during the active duration and refrains from transmitting the UE-specific signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration as disclosed in Dimou in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima to include a UE specific signal such as the first type of uplink SRS reference signal transmitted during the active duration of a DTX pattern such as at least one of a periodic sounding reference signal or a semi-persistent sounding reference signal as disclosed in the teachings of Kaikkonen, because the motivation lies in Kaikkonen that applying the DTX pattern for the configured periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmissions results in energy saving opportunities for the UE.
The combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima does not disclose the claim feature of and the second type of uplink reference signal comprises an aperiodic sounding reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moon et al. (2025/0081288).
Moon discloses and the second type of uplink reference signal may comprises an aperiodic sounding reference signal (see Para [0161] i.e., For another example, the terminal may transmit a SRS (i.e., may also be the “second type of uplink reference signal comprising an aperiodic SRS”) for uplink synchronization, CSI measurement, beam quality measurement, positioning, and sensing in the DTX inactive time…For another example, the terminal may transmit periodic or semi-persistent SRS, CG PUSCH in the DTX inactive time (i.e., suggests the first example SRS may be aperiodic and not the periodic SRS) & [0220] i.e., the terminal may or may not perform the operation indicated by the DCI based on whether or not to perform a transmission operation of the PUCCH (e.g., PUCCH including an SRS) scheduled through DCI (i.e., PUCCH including SRS scheduled through DCI may be an “aperiodic reference signal”)).
(Moon suggests the terminal may transmit a SRS signal transmission in the DRX inactive time for achieving uplink synchronization with the network, performing CSI measurement, and positioning, (see Para [0161])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal, to transmit during the non-active duration such as the inactive period 306 of the DTX pattern on the serving cell disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima a second type of reference signal such as the aperiodic SRS signal transmitted by the terminal in the DRX inactive time as disclosed in the teachings of Moon, because the motivation lies in Moon that the terminal may transmit a SRS signal transmission in the DRX inactive time for achieving uplink synchronization with the network, performing CSI measurement, and positioning.
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, , and further in view of Dimou discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, including refrain from reporting channel state information on a configured uplink resource during the non-active duration, (Dimou (‘849), see Para’s [0063] i.e., on the uplink, at the UE 120, a transmitter processor 264 may receive and process data from a data source 262 and control information (for example, for reports that include RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, or CQI from the controller/processor 280 (i.e., measurement reports are transmitted on the uplink), [0064] i.e., the network node 110 may include a scheduler 246 to schedule one or more UEs 120 for uplink communications (i.e., uplink communications are scheduled on a configured uplink resource), [0081] i.e., during the inactive period 306, the network node 110 may have no transmission or reception in the cell (i.e., measurement reporting of CSI is refrained during inactive period 306), & [0086-0087] i.e., RSRP or RSRQ measurement report from UE to the network node 110).
While Dimou (‘849) discloses that during the inactive period 306, the network node 110 may have no transmission or reception in the cell (see Para [0081]), the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Dimou does not disclose wherein the transmitter is further configured to: refrain from transmitting a scheduling request on a control channel resource during the non-active duration and refrain from transmitting on a configured uplink grant resource during the non-active duration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288).
Moon discloses wherein the transmitter is further configured to: refrain from transmitting a scheduling request on a control channel resource during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., Similarly, the terminal may not transmit uplink signals in a DTX inactive time. For example the terminal may not transmit a PUCCH, PUSCH to the base station in the DTX inactive time & [0162] i.e., the terminal may request an uplink resource by transmitting a scheduling request (SR) to the base station for transmission of uplink traffic. The SR may be transmitted in an uplink resource (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) (i.e., scheduling request transmitted in PUCCH or PUSCH will be refrained during the DTX inactive time))
and refrain from transmitting on a configured uplink grant resource during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., Specifically, the terminal may not transmit a specific PUSCH (i.e., a PUSCH scheduled by DCI (i.e., “configured uplink grant resource”) transmitted in a USS set) in the DTX inactive time))
(Moon suggests power consumption of the base station may be reduced based on using the DTX operation including the DTX inactive time, (see Para’s [0159-0161])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX pattern which refrains from receiving signals during the inactive period as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Dimou to further refrain from transmitting a scheduling request on a control channel resource during the non-active duration and refrain from transmitting on a configured uplink grant resource during the non-active duration as disclosed in the teachings of Moon, because the motivation lies in Moon that power consumption of the base station may be reduced based on using the DTX operation including the DTX inactive time.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimou et al. US (2024/0259849) in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324), further in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288), further in view of Jiang US (2023/0180346), and further in view of Kakishima et al. US (2022/0022053) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Dimou et al. US (2024/0251472).
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the serving cell is configured with a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier; and the periodic pattern for uplink transmission control applies to both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Dimou et al. US (2024/0251472).
Dimou discloses wherein the serving cell is configured with a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier; (see Para’s [0058-0059] i.e., The UEs 115 and the network entities 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 using resources associated with one or more carriers…The wireless communication system 100 may support communication with a UE 115 using carrier aggregation or multi-carrier operation. A UE 115 may be configured with…one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration (i.e. uplink carriers are also configured for the serving cell), & [0060-0061])
and the periodic pattern for uplink transmission control applies to both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier (see Para’s [0041] i.e., the network entity will operate in accordance with a DTX pattern, [0058-0059] i.e., A UE 115 may be configured with…one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration, [0081], & [0088-0090] i.e., the network entity 105 may communicate with the UE 115 in the DTX pattern).
(Dimou suggests the DTX pattern of the network entity achieves an energy saving operation for the network entity for saving energy at the network entity based on communicating with the UE on the configured carriers according to the DTX pattern, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0104-0105])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the serving cell that uses the periodic pattern for uplink transmission control with the UE as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima to be configured with the first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier configured and applied for the serving cells DTX pattern as disclosed in the teachings of Dimou, because the motivation lies in Dimou that the DTX pattern of the network entity achieves an energy saving operation for the network entity for saving energy at the network entity based on communicating with the UE on the configured carriers according to the DTX pattern.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimou et al. US (2024/0259849) in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324), further in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288), further in view of Jiang US (2023/0180346), and further in view of Kakishima et al. US (2022/0022053) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Su et al. US (2023/0189344).
Regarding Claim 28, the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, but does not disclose wherein the transmitter is further configured to: transmit hybrid automatic repeat request feedback during the non-active duration; and transmit aperiodic channel state information on a shared channel during the non-active duration in response to a request from the base station. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288).
Moon discloses wherein the UE is further configured to transmit hybrid automatic repeat request feedback during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., For example, the terminal may transmit an initial access signal (e.g., HARQ-ACK which is a reception response to Msg4) in the DTX inactive time).
and transmit Msg3 on a shared channel during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., For example, the terminal may transmit an initial access signal (e.g., Msg3) in the DTX inactive time).
(Moon suggests the initial access signal such as (e.g., Msg3, HARQ-ACK) in the DTX inactive time can be used for successfully accessing the network and achieving uplink synchronization with the network, (see Para [0161]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX non-active duration as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima to include the transmission of initial access signals such as Msg3 and HARQ-ACK in the DTX inactive time as disclosed in the teachings of Moon, because the motivation lies in Moon that the initial access signals such as Msg3 and HARQ-ACK in the DTX inactive time can be used for successfully accessing the network and achieving uplink synchronization with the network.
While Moon discloses the UE transmits Msg3 during the DTX non-active duration (see Para [0161]), the references combined does not disclose the UE transmitting aperiodic channel state information on a shared channel during the non-active duration in response to a request from the base station. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Su et al. US (2023/0189344).
Su discloses the UE transmitting aperiodic channel state information on a shared channel in Msg3 in response to a request from the base station (see Fig. 3 i.e., PUSCH msg3 & Para [0021] i.e., a CSI request field in msg2 RAR indicates ‘N’ and report quantities to trigger (i.e., “request from the base station”) aperiodic early CSI reporting in msg3)
(Su suggests the early aperiodic CSI report transmitted in the msg3 PUSCH results in the network taking one or more actions such as adjusting transmission beam, determining a TB scaling factor, and MCS for achieving optimal communication with the network based on the CSI report, (see Para [0019])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the Msg3 transmission during the DTX non-active duration as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima to include aperiodic channel state information disclosed in Su who discloses the UE transmitting aperiodic channel state information on a shared channel in Msg3 in response to a request from the base station, because the motivation lies in Su that the early aperiodic CSI report transmitted in the msg3 PUSCH results in the network taking one or more actions such as adjusting transmission beam, determining a TB scaling factor, and MCS for achieving optimal communication with the network based on the CSI report.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimou et al. US (2024/0259849) in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324), further in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288), further in view of Jiang US (2023/0180346), and further in view of Kakishima et al. US (2022/0022053) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Tao et al. US (2025/0351221).
Regarding Claim 29, the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein: the receiver is further configured to receive, from the base station, an activation command for activating the periodic pattern for the serving cell; and the terminal apparatus is configured to apply the periodic pattern to the serving cell in response to receiving the activation command. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Tao et al. US (2025/0351221).
Tao discloses wherein the UE receiver is further configured to receive, from the base station, an activation command for activating the periodic pattern for the serving cell, (see Para’s [0180-0181] & [0186] i.e., RRC signaling which indicates the DTX pattern to activate and deactivate the DTX pattern)
and the terminal apparatus is configured to apply the periodic pattern to the serving cell in response to receiving the activation command (see Para’s [0181] i.e., the indication may indicate may comprise a selection of one of the plurality of DTX configurations to activate at the UE & [0186] i.e., RRC signaling which indicates the DTX pattern to activate and deactivate the DTX pattern)
(Tao suggests that activating the DTX pattern results in saving energy at the base station and improving network efficiency, (see Para’s [0162], [0167], [0186], & [0214])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX pattern of the serving cell indicated to the UE as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Kakishima to activate the DTX pattern by receiving, from the base station, an activation command for activating the periodic pattern for the serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Tao, because the motivation lies in Tao that activating the DTX pattern results in saving energy at the base station and improving network efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461