DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimou et al. US (2024/0259849) in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324), further in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288), and further in view of Dimou et al. US (2024/0251472).
Regarding Claim 24, Dimou discloses a terminal apparatus (see Fig. 5 i.e., UE 120 & Fig. 10) for wireless communication, the terminal apparatus comprising: a receiver (see Fig. 10 i.e., reception component 1002 of UE & Para [0144] & [0146]) configured to receive, from a base station (see Fig. 5 i.e., network node 110), configuration information for a serving cell, (see Fig. 3A i.e., periodic cell DTX pattern 302 & Para [0081] i.e., the network node 110 utilizes a periodic cell DTX pattern 302. In this example, each pattern 302 comprises an active period 304 and an inactive period 306…In example 300, the network node 110 may indicate the pattern 302 (i.e., “configuration information”) to a UE 120 in the associate cell (such that the UE has knowledge of the inactive periods 306)
wherein the configuration information indicates: a periodic pattern comprising an active duration and a non-active duration for uplink transmission control on the serving cell, (The claim language “for uplink transmission control on the serving cell” is simply a statement of intended use and is not considered limiting to the claim (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use) (see Fig. 3A & Para [0081] i.e., the network node 110 utilizes a periodic cell DTX pattern 302. In this example, each pattern 302 comprises an active period 304 (i.e., “active duration”) and an inactive period 306 (i.e., “non-active duration”). An active period 304 is a period of time which the network node 110 is in an active state…An inactive period 306 is a period of time during which the network node is in an inactive state…During an inactive period 306, the network node 110 may refrain from transmitting or receiving one or more periodic signals or channels in the cell, such as one or more UE-common signals or channels, one or more UE-specific signals or channels, or the like (i.e., “uplink transmission control on the serving cell”)).
and the periodic pattern repeats with a cycle comprising the active duration followed by the non-active duration, (see Fig. 3A & Para [0081] i.e., the network node 110 utilizes a periodic cell DTX pattern 302. In this example, each pattern 302 comprises an active period 304 and an inactive period 306)
and a transmitter (see Fig. 10 i.e., transmission component 1004 & Para [0147]) configured to: transmit a signal on the serving cell during the active duration, (see Fig. 3A i.e., active period 304 & Para [0081] i.e., During an inactive period 306, the network node 110 may refrain from transmitting or receiving one or more periodic signals or channels in the cell, such as one or more UE-common signals or channels, one or more UE-specific signals or channels, or the like (i.e., suggests the network node 110 can receive the UE-specific signals during the active period 304 of the DTX pattern 302))
refrain from transmitting the signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration; (see Fig. 3A i.e., inactive period 306 & Para [0081] i.e., During an inactive period 306, the network node 110 may refrain from transmitting or receiving one or more periodic signals or channels in the cell, such as one or more UE-common signals or channels, one or more UE-specific signals or channels, or the like).
While Dimou suggests the terminal transmits a UE specific signal on the serving cell during the active duration and refrains from transmitting the UE-specific signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration, (see Fig. 3A i.e., active period 304 and inactive period 306 of DTX pattern 302 & Para [0081] i.e., During an inactive period 306, the network node 110 may refrain from transmitting or receiving one or more periodic signals or channels in the cell, such as one or more UE-common signals or channels, one or more UE-specific signals or channels, or the like (i.e., suggests the network node 110 can receive the UE-specific signals during the active period 304 of the DTX pattern 302)), Dimou does not disclose the claim feature of transmitting a first type of uplink reference signal during the active duration and refrain from transmitting the first type of uplink reference signal during the non-active duration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324).
Kaikkonen discloses transmitting a first type of uplink reference signal during the active duration of a DTX pattern (see Para [0102] i.e., the UE could apply a DTX pattern (i.e., in the “active duration”) for the configured periodic and semi-persistent transmissions, like SRS (i.e., periodic or semi-persistent SRS may be a “first type of uplink reference signal”))
(Kaikkonen suggests applying the DTX pattern for the configured periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmissions results in energy saving opportunities for the UE (see Para’s [0084] & [0102])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal that transmits a UE specific signal on the serving cell during the active duration and refrains from transmitting the UE-specific signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration as disclosed in Dimou to include a UE specific signal such as the first type of uplink SRS reference signal transmitted during the active duration of a DTX pattern as disclosed in the teachings of Kaikkonen, which results in the terminal refraining from transmitting the first type of uplink SRS reference signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration, because the motivation lies in Kaikkonen that applying the DTX pattern for the configured periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmissions results in energy saving opportunities for the UE.
The combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen does not disclose the claim feature of and transmit a second type of uplink reference signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288)
Moon discloses transmit a second type of uplink reference signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., Alternatively, the terminal may transmit some uplink signals to the base station regardless of whether they are included in the DTX active time. For example, the terminal may transmit an initial access signal (e.g., PRACH) (i.e., PRACH may be a “second type of uplink reference signal”) in the DTX inactive time. For another example, the terminal may transmit a signal (e.g., PRACH, SRS, etc.) (i.e., PRACH may be a “second type of uplink reference signal”) for uplink synchronization, CSI measurement, beam quality measurement, positioning, and sending in the DTX inactive time).
(Moon suggests the terminal may transmit a PRACH signal in the DRX inactive time for achieving uplink synchronization with the network, performing CSI measurement, and beam quality measurement for beam management, (see Para [0161])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal, to transmit during the non-active duration such as the inactive period 306 of the DTX pattern on the serving cell disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen a second type of reference signal such as the PRACH signal transmitted by the terminal in the DRX inactive time as disclosed in the teachings of Moon, because the motivation lies in Moon that the terminal may transmit the PRACH signal in the DRX inactive time for achieving uplink synchronization with the network, performing CSI measurement, and beam quality measurement for beam management.
While Dimou discloses the active duration is defined by a time period associated with the serving cell (see Fig. 3A i.e., active period 304 & Para [0081] i.e., an active period 304 is a period of time which the network node 110 is in an active state), the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Moon does not disclose the claim feature of wherein: the active duration is defined by a running state of a timer associated with the serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Dimou et al. US (2024/0251472).
Dimou discloses wherein the active duration is defined by a running state of a timer associated with the serving cell (see Fig. 3 i.e., DTX pattern 300 & Para’s [0004-0005] i.e., the UE receiving from the network entity, control signaling indicating a timer configuration for operation of a timer at the UE associated with a DTX pattern at the network entity, [0090] i.e., For example, the timer configuration 230 may indicate for the UE 115 to…resume or reset the timer (e.g., reset to an initial value of the timer) based on the network entity 105-a entering the active transmission mode, [0093-0094], [0123], & [0127] i.e., resuming the timer based on the network entity entering the active transmission mode in accordance with the DTX pattern).
(Dimou suggests the timer is configured for the active duration which is part of a DTX pattern of the network entity which achieves an energy saving operation for the network entity for saving energy at the network entity based on the DTX pattern, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0104-0105])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the active duration of the DTX pattern associated with the serving cell as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Moon, to be defined by the running state of a timer associated with the serving cell such as the timer configured for the DTX pattern as disclosed in Dimou, because the motivation lies in Dimou that the timer is configured for the active duration which is part of a DTX pattern of the network entity which achieves an energy saving operation for the network entity for saving energy at the network entity based on the DTX pattern.
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Dimou (‘849) in view of Dimou (‘472) discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, but does not disclose wherein: the first type of uplink reference signal comprises at least one of a periodic sounding reference signal or a semi-persistent sounding reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324).
Kaikkonen discloses wherein: the first type of uplink reference signal comprises at least one of a periodic sounding reference signal or a semi-persistent sounding reference signal (see Para [0102] i.e., the UE could apply a DTX pattern (i.e., in the “active duration”) for the configured periodic and semi-persistent transmissions, like SRS (i.e., periodic or semi-persistent SRS may be a “first type of uplink reference signal”))
(Kaikkonen suggests applying the DTX pattern for the configured periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmissions results in energy saving opportunities for the UE (see Para’s [0084] & [0102])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal that transmits a UE specific signal on the serving cell during the active duration and refrains from transmitting the UE-specific signal on the serving cell during the non-active duration as disclosed in Dimou to include a UE specific signal such as the first type of uplink SRS reference signal transmitted during the active duration of a DTX pattern such as at least one of a periodic sounding reference signal or a semi-persistent sounding reference signal as disclosed in the teachings of Kaikkonen, because the motivation lies in Kaikkonen that applying the DTX pattern for the configured periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmissions results in energy saving opportunities for the UE.
The combination of Dimou (‘849) in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Dimou (‘472) does not disclose the claim feature of and the second type of uplink reference signal comprises an aperiodic sounding reference signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moon et al. (2025/0081288).
Moon discloses and the second type of uplink reference signal may comprises an aperiodic sounding reference signal (see Para [0161] i.e., For another example, the terminal may transmit a SRS (i.e., may also be the “second type of uplink reference signal comprising an aperiodic SRS”) for uplink synchronization, CSI measurement, beam quality measurement, positioning, and sensing in the DTX inactive time…For another example, the terminal may transmit periodic or semi-persistent SRS, CG PUSCH in the DTX inactive time (i.e., suggests the first example SRS may be aperiodic and not the periodic SRS) & [0220] i.e., the terminal may or may not perform the operation indicated by the DCI based on whether or not to perform a transmission operation of the PUCCH (e.g., PUCCH including an SRS) scheduled through DCI (i.e., PUCCH including SRS scheduled through DCI may be an “aperiodic reference signal”)).
(Moon suggests the terminal may transmit a SRS signal transmission in the DRX inactive time for achieving uplink synchronization with the network, performing CSI measurement, and positioning, (see Para [0161])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the terminal, to transmit during the non-active duration such as the inactive period 306 of the DTX pattern on the serving cell disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen a second type of reference signal such as the aperiodic SRS signal transmitted by the terminal in the DRX inactive time as disclosed in the teachings of Moon, because the motivation lies in Moon that the terminal may transmit a SRS signal transmission in the DRX inactive time for achieving uplink synchronization with the network, performing CSI measurement, and positioning.
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Moon discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the serving cell is configured with a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier; and the periodic pattern for uplink transmission control applies to both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Dimou et al. US (2024/0251472).
Dimou discloses wherein the serving cell is configured with a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier; (see Para’s [0058-0059] i.e., The UEs 115 and the network entities 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 using resources associated with one or more carriers…The wireless communication system 100 may support communication with a UE 115 using carrier aggregation or multi-carrier operation. A UE 115 may be configured with…one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration (i.e. uplink carriers are also configured for the serving cell), & [0060-0061])
and the periodic pattern for uplink transmission control applies to both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier (see Para’s [0041] i.e., the network entity will operate in accordance with a DTX pattern, [0058-0059] i.e., A UE 115 may be configured with…one or more uplink component carriers according to a carrier aggregation configuration, [0081], & [0088-0090] i.e., the network entity 105 may communicate with the UE 115 in the DTX pattern).
(Dimou suggests the DTX pattern of the network entity achieves an energy saving operation for the network entity for saving energy at the network entity based on communicating with the UE on the configured carriers according to the DTX pattern, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0104-0105])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the serving cell that uses the periodic pattern for uplink transmission control with the UE as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Moon to be configured with the first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier configured and applied for the serving cells DTX pattern as disclosed in the teachings of Dimou, because the motivation lies in Dimou that the DTX pattern of the network entity achieves an energy saving operation for the network entity for saving energy at the network entity based on communicating with the UE on the configured carriers according to the DTX pattern.
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, , and further in view of Dimou discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, including refrain from reporting channel state information on a configured uplink resource during the non-active duration, (Dimou (‘849), see Para’s [0063] i.e., on the uplink, at the UE 120, a transmitter processor 264 may receive and process data from a data source 262 and control information (for example, for reports that include RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, or CQI from the controller/processor 280 (i.e., measurement reports are transmitted on the uplink), [0064] i.e., the network node 110 may include a scheduler 246 to schedule one or more UEs 120 for uplink communications (i.e., uplink communications are scheduled on a configured uplink resource), [0081] i.e., during the inactive period 306, the network node 110 may have no transmission or reception in the cell (i.e., measurement reporting of CSI is refrained during inactive period 306), & [0086-0087] i.e., RSRP or RSRQ measurement report from UE to the network node 110).
While Dimou (‘849) discloses that during the inactive period 306, the network node 110 may have no transmission or reception in the cell (see Para [0081]), the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Dimou does not disclose wherein the transmitter is further configured to: refrain from transmitting a scheduling request on a control channel resource during the non-active duration and refrain from transmitting on a configured uplink grant resource during the non-active duration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288).
Moon discloses wherein the transmitter is further configured to: refrain from transmitting a scheduling request on a control channel resource during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., Similarly, the terminal may not transmit uplink signals in a DTX inactive time. For example the terminal may not transmit a PUCCH, PUSCH to the base station in the DTX inactive time & [0162] i.e., the terminal may request an uplink resource by transmitting a scheduling request (SR) to the base station for transmission of uplink traffic. The SR may be transmitted in an uplink resource (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) (i.e., scheduling request transmitted in PUCCH or PUSCH will be refrained during the DTX inactive time))
and refrain from transmitting on a configured uplink grant resource during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., Specifically, the terminal may not transmit a specific PUSCH (i.e., a PUSCH scheduled by DCI (i.e., “configured uplink grant resource”) transmitted in a USS set) in the DTX inactive time))
(Moon suggests power consumption of the base station may be reduced based on using the DTX operation including the DTX inactive time, (see Para’s [0159-0161])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX pattern which refrains from receiving signals during the inactive period as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view of Dimou to further refrain from transmitting a scheduling request on a control channel resource during the non-active duration and refrain from transmitting on a configured uplink grant resource during the non-active duration as disclosed in the teachings of Moon, because the motivation lies in Moon that power consumption of the base station may be reduced based on using the DTX operation including the DTX inactive time.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimou et al. US (2024/0259849) in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324), further in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288), and further in view of Dimou et al. US (2024/0251472) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Su et al. US (2023/0189344).
Regarding Claim 28, the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view Dimou discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, but does not disclose wherein the transmitter is further configured to: transmit hybrid automatic repeat request feedback during the non-active duration; and transmit aperiodic channel state information on a shared channel during the non-active duration in response to a request from the base station. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288).
Moon discloses wherein the UE is further configured to transmit hybrid automatic repeat request feedback during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., For example, the terminal may transmit an initial access signal (e.g., HARQ-ACK which is a reception response to Msg4) in the DTX inactive time).
and transmit Msg3 on a shared channel during the non-active duration (see Para [0161] i.e., For example, the terminal may transmit an initial access signal (e.g., Msg3) in the DTX inactive time).
(Moon suggests the initial access signal such as (e.g., Msg3, HARQ-ACK) in the DTX inactive time can be used for successfully accessing the network and achieving uplink synchronization with the network, (see Para [0161]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX non-active duration as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, and further in view Dimou to include the transmission of initial access signals such as Msg3 and HARQ-ACK in the DTX inactive time as disclosed in the teachings of Moon, because the motivation lies in Moon that the initial access signals such as Msg3 and HARQ-ACK in the DTX inactive time can be used for successfully accessing the network and achieving uplink synchronization with the network.
While Moon discloses the UE transmits Msg3 during the DTX non-active duration (see Para [0161]), the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, and further in view Dimou does not disclose the UE transmitting aperiodic channel state information on a shared channel during the non-active duration in response to a request from the base station. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Su et al. US (2023/0189344).
Su discloses the UE transmitting aperiodic channel state information on a shared channel in Msg3 in response to a request from the base station (see Fig. 3 i.e., PUSCH msg3 & Para [0021] i.e., a CSI request field in msg2 RAR indicates ‘N’ and report quantities to trigger (i.e., “request from the base station”) aperiodic early CSI reporting in msg3)
(Su suggests the early aperiodic CSI report transmitted in the msg3 PUSCH results in the network taking one or more actions such as adjusting transmission beam, determining a TB scaling factor, and MCS for achieving optimal communication with the network based on the CSI report, (see Para [0019])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the Msg3 transmission during the DTX non-active duration as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, and further in view Dimou to include aperiodic channel state information disclosed in Su who discloses the UE transmitting aperiodic channel state information on a shared channel in Msg3 in response to a request from the base station, because the motivation lies in Su that the early aperiodic CSI report transmitted in the msg3 PUSCH results in the network taking one or more actions such as adjusting transmission beam, determining a TB scaling factor, and MCS for achieving optimal communication with the network based on the CSI report.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimou et al. US (2024/0259849) in view of Kaikkonen et al. US (2021/0076324), further in view of Moon et al. US (2025/0081288), and further in view of Dimou et al. US (2024/0251472) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Tao et al. US (2025/0351221).
Regarding Claim 29, the combination of Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, and further in view of Dimou discloses the terminal apparatus of claim 24, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein: the receiver is further configured to receive, from the base station, an activation command for activating the periodic pattern for the serving cell; and the terminal apparatus is configured to apply the periodic pattern to the serving cell in response to receiving the activation command. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Tao et al. US (2025/0351221).
Tao discloses wherein the UE receiver is further configured to receive, from the base station, an activation command for activating the periodic pattern for the serving cell, (see Para’s [0180-0181] & [0186] i.e., RRC signaling which indicates the DTX pattern to activate and deactivate the DTX pattern)
and the terminal apparatus is configured to apply the periodic pattern to the serving cell in response to receiving the activation command (see Para’s [0181] i.e., the indication may indicate may comprise a selection of one of the plurality of DTX configurations to activate at the UE & [0186] i.e., RRC signaling which indicates the DTX pattern to activate and deactivate the DTX pattern)
(Tao suggests that activating the DTX pattern results in saving energy at the base station and improving network efficiency, (see Para’s [0162], [0167], [0186], & [0214])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the DTX pattern of the serving cell indicated to the UE as disclosed in Dimou in view of Kaikkonen, further in view of Moon, and further in view of Dimou to activate the DTX pattern by receiving, from the base station, an activation command for activating the periodic pattern for the serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Tao, because the motivation lies in Tao that activating the DTX pattern results in saving energy at the base station and improving network efficiency.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461