Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “ultra-wideband” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “”ultra-wideband” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the specification describes “as an embodiment, the operating frequency of the imaging system provided by the present invention is ultra-wideband, and its optimal operating frequency range is 0.15THz”, the instant passage does not amount to a definition of the phrase. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the scope of the claim.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “terahertz biological signal receiver” in line 6. The claim phrase appears to describe a signal terahertz signal receiver for detection a biological sample. However, the phrase further could be interpreted in multiple different contradictory ways. The phrase could mean a THz signal receiver formed of a biological material, or a THz signal receiver for detecting biological material, or for detecting a “biological signal”. The disclosure fails to define the scope of the phrase and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would not be apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “terahertz biological signal processor” in line 9. The claim phrase appears to describe a signal terahertz signal processor for performing a reconstruction. However, the phrase further includes the scope of a THz signal processor formed of a biological material. The disclosure fails to define the phrase and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would not be apprised of the scope of the claims.
The term “intelligent scanning controller” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “intelligent” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What is the threshold for determining if the scanning controller is intelligent.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the phrase "such as" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN Pub # 104013387).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an ultra-wideband terahertz imaging system (FIG 2) comprising:
a terahertz wave generator used to generate a continuous ultra-wideband terahertz signal (laser emitting system 1; FIG 1; [0042]);
a terahertz signal emitter emitting the continuous ultra-wideband terahertz signal generated by said terahertz wave generator to an organ (photoconductive antenna 14 and circular optical antenna array 17 receiving rotating laser beam and generates a THz wave; [0042-0044]);
a terahertz biological signal receiver having a receiving antenna adjustable at a vertical height, and used to receive an electromagnetic field around the organ to obtain a scattered electric field (THz detector array 20-22 absorbs radiation directed from the sample 19; FIG 1-2; 0048-0049);
a terahertz signal processor performing multi-dimensional image reconstruction on the received scattered field electric field to obtain a multi-dimensional image of the organ (image reconstruction 6; [0044]);
an image displayer used to display the multi-dimensional image of the organ (display 7; [0044]); and
an intelligent scanning controller connected with and controlling said terahertz wave generator, said terahertz signal emitter, and said terahertz biological signal receiver (control system 2; [0042-0043]).
Zheng discloses a control system 2 for the THz generator and receiver (FIG 1). Zheng further discloses a computer processing system 9 for controlling the biological signal processor and display, but does not specifically disclose the control system 2 further configured to control the image displayer and said terahertz biological signal processor. However, integrating the known elements of an invention such as a control unit and a computer processing system are known in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention, with the advantage of requiring few elements to reduce cost, and or improve the efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses wherein said terahertz signal emitter comprises at least one emitting antennas (circular optical antenna array 17), and said terahertz biological signal receiver comprises at least one receiving antennas (terahertz detector array 20-22)(FIG 1-2; [0047-0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng discloses an imaging method of the ultra-wideband terahertz imaging system according to claim 1, comprising the steps of:
S1, controlling said terahertz wave generator to generate a continuous ultra- wideband terahertz signal (laser 1; 0043, 0048);
S2, controlling said terahertz signal emitter to uninterruptedly emit an ultra- wideband terahertz signal to the organ (antenna 14; 0047);
S3, controlling said terahertz biological signal receiver to receive an electromagnetic field from the organ, so as to obtain a scattered electric field (terahertz detector array 20; [0049]);
S4, controlling said terahertz biological signal processor to perform multi- dimensional image reconstruction on the scattered electric field detected by said terahertz biological signal receiver, so as to obtain a multi-dimensional image of the organ (reconstructor 6; [0044, 0060-0066]); and
S5, transmitting the multidimensional image of the organ to said image displayer for imaging the tested organ (display 7; FIG 1; [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng discloses wherein S2 comprises the sub-steps of: S21, establishing a rectangular coordinate system at the area to be imaged where the organ is situated (see x-y-beta coordinates; FIGURE 5); and S22, enabling NT emitting antennas of said terahertz signal emitter that surround the organ or are situated at one or both sides of the organ, to uninterruptedly apply an ultra-wideband terahertz wave signal to the organ, and setting NT as > 1 ([0077]).
Regarding claim 6, Zheng discloses wherein when the number of said emitting antennas, NT> 1 occurs, and said emitting antennas are distributed in a uniform circular shape, each transmitting antenna makes an excitation to generate an incident electric field in proper order, and an entire incident electric field is a sum of the incident electric fields excited by NT emitting antennas (plural number of photoconductive antenna 14; [0047]).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN Pub # 104013387) in view of White et al. (US Pub # 2015/0268030).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses wherein said intelligent scanning controller controls the receiving antenna of said terahertz biological signal receiver 20 so as to control a detection of beam, wherein the rotating emitter THz beam rotates about a hemispherical path to move around the organ and is detected at different locations about the hemispherical detector array 20 (see optical antenna array 17 of FIG 1-2). Zheng does not specify performing a rotational scanning with the receiving antenna, or controls the receiving antenna of said terahertz biological signal receiver to move upwards and downwards, so as to perform scanning in a vertical direction, or controls the receiving antenna of said terahertz biological signal receiver to move horizontally, so as to perform scanning in a horizontal direction. In the same field of endeavor, providing a means for translational scanning with a receiving antenna is known in the art as taught by White (Figure 1 shows a housing 12 including a transmitter/receiver 14-16 mounted on a motion control gantry; [0025]), with the advantage requiring greater imaging flexibility, fewer receiver antennas, and improved detection results ([0005]). In light of the teachings of White, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine with the teachings of Zheng
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed steps: wherein during processing a 2D image,S3 comprises the sub-steps of S31, controlling one receiving antenna of said terahertz biological signal receiver to detect a scattered electric field of at least three receiving positions at the same vertical height of the receiving antenna away from the organ; or controlling at least three receiving antennas at the same vertical height at a distance from the organ to detect a scattered electric field of other receiving positions; S32, moving the organ out of the detected area to obtain an incident electric field of said emitting antenna; and S33, based on the incident electric field of said emitting antenna and the scattered electric field detected by said receiving antenna, calculating out a scattered electric field echo.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claim steps, wherein during processing a 3D image, S3 comprises the sub-steps of S31, controlling one receiving antenna of said terahertz biological signal receiver to detect a scattered electric field of at least three receiving positions at the same vertical height of the receiving antenna away from the organ; or controlling at least three receiving antennas at the same vertical height at a distance from the organ to detect a scattered electric field of other receiving positions; S32, moving the organ out of the detected area to obtain an incident electric field of said emitting antenna; S33, based on the incident electric field of said emitting antenna and the scattered electric field detected by said receiving antenna, calculating out a scattered electric field echo; and S34, adjusting a vertical height of said receiving antenna, then re-executing the sub-steps S31 to S33.
Regarding claim 9, wherein during processing a 2D image,S4 comprises the sub-steps of S41, establishing a nonlinear mathematical model involving electromagnetic properties, based on the distribution of the receiving positions of said receiving antennas, establishing a mathematical model representing an internal structure of the organ;S42, sequentially comparing the scattered electric field echoes obtained at any two receiving positions among all receiving positions of said receiving antennas situated at the same vertical height, and obtaining information reflecting an amplitude and phase position of the electromagnetic property distribution of the organ; and S43, according to the continuously-detected electromagnetic property distribution information, extracting a corresponding varied value and curve from the established nonlinear mathematical model and the mathematical model representing the internal structure of the organ, and based on the varied values, reconstructing a 2D image of the organ.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claim steps, wherein during processing a 3D image,S4 comprises the sub-steps of S41, establishing a nonlinear mathematical model involving electromagnetic properties, and based on the distribution of the receiving positions of said receiving antennas, establishing a mathematical model representing an internal structure of the organ; S42, sequentially comparing the scattered electric field echoes obtained at any two receiving positions among all receiving positions of said receiving antennas situated at the same vertical height, and obtaining information reflecting an amplitude and phase position of the electromagnetic property distribution of the organ; S43, sequentially comparing the scattered electric field echoes obtained at any two receiving positions among all receiving positions of said receiving antennas adjusted in height, and situated at the same vertical height, and obtaining information reflecting an amplitude and phase position of the electromagnetic property distribution of the organ; and S44, according to the continuously-detected electromagnetic property distribution information, extracting a corresponding varied value and curve from the established nonlinear mathematical model and the mathematical model representing the internal structure of the organ, and based on the varied values, reconstructing a 3D image of the organ.
Conclusion
CASEY BRYANT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/CASEY BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884