DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-21 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 03/04/2024, 05/28/2024, 10/29/2024, 02/04/2025, 05/12/2025 & 09/08/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
A) The subject matter of Claims 12-13 is not found in the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter. The Examiner notes that the disclosure is substantial, so a complete review of all parent cases was not possible in the time allotted for examination. However, support for a speed of the fan with the fluid flow being used to infer information about any other structure was not found.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) In Claim 20, line 4, “directs the fluid to the fan-powered unit” renders the claim indefinite because the fluid intake structure is part of the fan-powered unit so it is not clear how it would direct the flow to itself. For the purposes of examination, “the fan-powered unit” in line 4 has been construed to be the fluid-moving device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 & 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Number 4,995,307 to Floyd in view of US Patent Publication Number 5,970,801 to Ciobanu.
A) As per Claims 1, 14-16, 18 & 20-21, Floyd teaches a fan-powered unit (Floyd: Figure 1), comprising:
a fan (Floyd: Figure 1, Item 22) situated in a housing that is selected based on a type or a size of the fan-power unit;
a fluid intake structure (Floyd: Figure 1, Item 26) that receives a fluid and directs the fluid to the fan;
a first pressure measuring device (Floyd: Figure 1, Item 66) coupled to the fluid intake structure;
a second pressure measuring device (Floyd: Figure 1, Item 64), situated in a stagnation zone of the fluid intake structure (Floyd: best shown in Figure 2, Item 38 is in stagnation zone of dampers 34), that in combination with the first pressure measuring device provides a differential pressure;
a processor; and a memory (Floyd: Figure 1, Item 68) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
determine a flow of the fluid to the fan based on the differential pressure (Floyd: Col. 3, lines 7-32).
Floyd does not teach the flow of the fluid is determined based on calibration data that is calibrated for a fluid flow specific to the type of the fan-power unit or the size of the fan-powered unit, the calibration data is selected from among the multiple calibration data instances stored in the memory further based the type of the fan-powered unit or the size of the fan-powered unit.
However, Ciobanu teaches the flow of the fluid is determined based on calibration data that is calibrated for a fluid flow specific to the type of the fan-power unit or the size of the fan-powered unit, the calibration data is selected from among the multiple calibration data instances stored in the memory further based the type of the fan-powered unit or the size of the fan-powered unit (Ciobanu: Col. 6, lines 25-39; all calibrations based on this particular apparatus’s size and type).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Floyd by have calibrated lookup tables, as taught by Ciobanu, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Floyd with these aforementioned teachings of Ciobanu with the motivation of ensuring accurate airflow rate calculations from the pressure data.
B) As per Claim 2, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that device is at least one of a fan filter module, an air handler (Floyd: Figure 1), a fan-powered air terminal unit, a ventilator device, a fan coil device, a rooftop unit, a pump device, a chiller device, a boiler device, a zone supply device, or a zone exhaust device.
C) As per Claim 3, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that the fan is a plenum fan, an axial fan, a mixed flow fan, a centrifugal fan (Floyd: Figure 1, Item 22), or an impeller.
D) As per Claims 4 & 19, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that the fluid intake structure is at least one of a Venturi device, a cone device, a nozzle device (Floyd: Figure 2), or a bell mouth device.
E) As per Claim 5, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that the fluid is at least one of a gas (Floyd: airflow is a gas), a liquid, or particulate matter.
F) As per Claim 6, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that the calibration data is stored in the memory as a table or another data structure (Ciobanu: Col. 6, lines 25-39).
G) As per Claims 7 & 17, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that the calibration data is derived using multiple different fan-powered units, each having a different type or different size (The Examiner notes that how the calibration data is derived is not part of the fan-powered device, but is a separate method. In this case, the fan powered unit of Floyd in view of Ciobanu is capable of used with such a method).
H) As per Claim 8, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that the calibration data is derived from at least one of: a flow stand procedure, a wind tunnel procedure, or software or simulations associated with the flow stand procedure or the wind tunnel procedure (The Examiner notes that how the calibration data is derived is not part of the fan-powered device, but is a separate method. In this case, the fan powered unit of Floyd in view of Ciobanu is capable of used with such a method).
I) As per Claim 9, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that the fluid flow supplies a clean room or a pressurized environment (The Examiner notes that what the fluid flow supplies is not part of the fan powered unit but is instead the space that the fan-powered unit is used with. In this case, the fan powered unit of Floyd in view of Ciobanu is capable of providing the fluid to the claimed locations).
J) As per Claim 10, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that the fluid flow represents exhaust from a clean room or a pressurized environment (The Examiner notes that what the fluid flow supplies is not part of the fan powered unit but is instead the space that the fan-powered unit is used with. In this case, the fan powered unit of Floyd in view of Ciobanu is capable of providing the fluid to the claimed locations).
K) As per Claim 11, Floyd in view of Ciobanu teaches that flow of the fluid is determined in-situ after installation of the fan-powered unit at a customer site (Floyd: flow is determined by sensors after installation while the unit is in use).
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762