DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Repeatedly throughout the specification, the applicant refers to both a “positive electrode” and “cathode” with different material components and preparations [paragraphs 0082, 0084]. A person having ordinary skill in the art would expect these two terms to be synonymous and describe the same material (Winter 2014, page 4248, col 1). Given the nature of the invention and its relation to what is described sources provided by the applicant, where silicon particles are active as the anode and negative electrode (Neale US20200223704A1), it is assumed by the examiner that “cathode” was incorrectly used in place of “anode”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neale (US20200223704A1).
Regarding claim 1, Neale teaches composite anode material comprising of silicon nanoparticle (Figure 1, 110, paragraphs [0061] and [0069]) with its surface modified by organic groups (Figure 1, 120, paragraph [0061]) in a binder resin that makes up 0% to 20% of the mass percent of the total materials (Figure 1, 130, paragraph [0074]). The recitation of the active material composite particles being ‘cathode’ particles is drawn to the manner in which the particles are intended to be used. As the body of the claim fully sets forth the structure of the particles, and Neale’s particles have the claimed structure, Neale’s particles are considered to anticipate the claim. This is especially so since Neale’s anode will function as a cathode during charging of the secondary battery (paragraph [0079]). Neale’s stated range of binder also encompasses the claimed range 0% to 15%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 2, Neale teaches the cathode active material composite particles of claim 1, and further teaches the organic group surface modifications are alkyl groups (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Neale teaches the alkyl surfaced modified silicon particle of claim 2 and alkyl groups being no less than five carbons long and no more than 20 carbons long (paragraphs [0059] and [0061]-[0062]; e.g. 1-hexene and 1-dodecene will provide such alkyl groups upon reaction).
Regarding claim 4, Neale teaches the alkyl surfaced modified silicon particle of claim 2 and states the there is a Si–C bond, with the silicon being on the particle and the carbon being the alkyl group (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Neale teaches the cathode active material composite particles of claim 1and use of the particles in a cathode composite material (paragraphs [0074] - [0079]), as the battery as taught by Neale is of a rocking chair design and is meant to be cycled multiple times (Figure 10a, paragraph [0079]), causing the anode material described to become the cathode during charging (Warner 2015, chapter 7, page 76, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 6, Neale teaches the cathode composite material of claim 5, and the use of the cathode active material in a lithium-ion battery as the battery as taught by Neale (paragraph [0078]) is of a rocking chair design and is meant to be cycled multiple times (Figure 10a, paragraph [0079]), causing the anode material described to become the cathode during charging (Warner 2015, chapter 7, page 76, paragraph 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hanelt et al. (US-20160126538-A1) teaches an electrode material with unaggregated silicon particles that have organic surface modifications and encapsulated in a resin binder that is used in a lithium-ion battery.
Zhamu et al. (US 20190260015-A1) teaches silicon nanoparticles wrapped in an elastomer binder.
/M.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 11 August 2026