DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] in view of Huang [US 2018/0176340].
As claims 1 and 8, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] discloses a device, comprising: one or more processors configured to: maintain a set of policies associated with non-Internet Protocol ("IP") messaging [Par. 0032-0038, 0066-0068, 0120,-0126 discloses policies for non-IP data]; maintain information associating an IP address of a User Equipment ("UE") with a non-IP identifier of the UE [Par. 0039-0044, Fig 6, Ref 608 wherein IMSI, MDN is non-IP “device ID” and IP address of device]; receive first traffic, that includes: the IP address of the UE as a source of the first traffic, and payload information [Par. 0067 discloses received traffic which includes source ip address]; identify, using the maintained information associating the IP address of the UE with the non-IP identifier of the UE, the non-IP identifier of the UE based on the IP address of the UE included in the first traffic [Par. 0067 disclose use IP address to look for device-ID]; identify that the first traffic is associated with a particular policy of the set of policies [Par. 0067-0068 discloses policy lookup based on device-ID]; and forward second traffic, including the payload information [Par. 0068, 0085 discloses forward non-ip data to destination based on policy]. Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] fails to fully maintain a set of policies associated with non-Internet Protocol ("IP") messaging and forward second traffic, including the payload information and the non-IP identifier of the UE, to a destination device indicated in the first traffic, wherein forwarding the second traffic includes implementing the particular policy with respect to the second traffic. In the same field of endeavor, Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses maintain a set of policies associated with non-Internet Protocol ("IP") messaging [Par. 0109, 0222] and forward second traffic, including the payload information and the non-IP identifier of the UE, to a destination device indicated in the first traffic, wherein forwarding the second traffic includes implementing the particular policy with respect to the second traffic [Par. 0157-0158].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising forward second traffic, including the payload information and the non-IP identifier of the UE, to a destination device indicated in the first traffic, wherein forwarding the second traffic includes implementing the particular policy with respect to the second traffic as disclosed by Huang [US 2018/0176340] into the teaching of Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768]. The motivation would have been to identify the source of data.
As claim 15, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] discloses a device, comprising: one or more processors configured to: maintain a set of policies associated with non-Internet Protocol ("IP") messaging [Par. 0032-0038, 0066-0068, 0120,-0126 discloses policies for non-IP data]; maintain information associating an IP address of a User Equipment ("UE") with a non-IP identifier of the UE [Par. 0039-0044, Fig 6, Ref 608 wherein IMSI, MDN is non-IP “device ID” and IP address of device]; receive first traffic, that includes: the IP address of the UE as a source of the first traffic, and payload information [Par. 0067 discloses received traffic which includes source ip address]; identify, using the maintained information associating the IP address of the UE with the non-IP identifier of the UE, the non-IP identifier of the UE based on the IP address of the UE included in the first traffic [Par. 0067 disclose use IP address to look for device-ID]; identify that the first traffic is associated with a particular policy of the set of policies [Par. 0067-0068 discloses policy lookup based on device-ID]; and forward second traffic, including the payload information [Par. 0068, 0085 discloses forward non-ip data to destination based on policy]. However, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] fails to fully forward second traffic, including the payload information and the non-IP identifier of the UE, to a destination device indicated in the first traffic, wherein forwarding the second traffic includes implementing the particular policy with respect to the second traffic receive third traffic, that includes: the non-IP identifier of the UE as a destination of the third traffic, and second payload information; identify, using the maintained information associating the IP address of the UE with the non-IP identifier of the UE, the IP address of the UE based on the non-IP identifier included in the third traffic; identify that the third traffic is associated with a second policy of the set of policies; and forward fourth traffic, including the second payload information and the IP address of the UE, to one or more devices that route the fourth traffic to the UE, wherein forwarding the fourth traffic includes implementing the second policy with respect to the fourth traffic. In the same field of endeavor, Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses forward second traffic, including the payload information and the non-IP identifier of the UE, to a destination device indicated in the first traffic, wherein forwarding the second traffic includes implementing the particular policy with respect to the second traffic [Par. 0157]; receive third traffic, that includes: the non-IP identifier of the UE as a destination of the third traffic, and second payload information; identify [Par. 0158], using the maintained information associating the IP address of the UE with the non-IP identifier of the UE, the IP address of the UE based on the non-IP identifier included in the third traffic [Par. 0158, 0109, 0222 discloses table which includes UE ID, UE IP address, AS ID and AS IP address for using to translate non-IP to IP or vice versa]; identify that the third traffic is associated with a second policy of the set of policies [Par. 0158, 0109, 0222 discloses table which includes UE ID, UE IP address, AS ID and AS IP address for using to translate non-IP to IP or vice versa wherein policies are non-ip to IP or IP to non-ip]; and forward fourth traffic, including the second payload information and the IP address of the UE, to one or more devices that route the fourth traffic to the UE, wherein forwarding the fourth traffic includes implementing the second policy with respect to the fourth traffic [Par. 0158 discloses the traffic is forward based on policy].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising forward second traffic, including the payload information and the non-IP identifier of the UE, to a destination device indicated in the first traffic, wherein forwarding the second traffic includes implementing the particular policy with respect to the second traffic as disclosed by Huang [US 2018/0176340] into the teaching of Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768]. The motivation would have been to identify the source of data.
As claims 3, 10 and 17, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] discloses implementing the particular policy includes performing a filtering operation on the first or second traffic [Par. 0068, 0085-0090 discloses policy includes filtering the traffics].
As claims 4, 11 and 18, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] discloses the non-IP identifier of the UE includes a Mobile Directory Number ("MDN") of the UE [Par. 0039 discloses MSISDN].
As claims 5, 12 and 19, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] / Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses the first traffic is received from at least one of: a User Plane Function ("UPF"), or a Packet Data Network ("PDN") gateway ("PGW") [Par. 0051-0052 for Hoewisch and Huang at Fig 7-14, gateway node].
As claim 20, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768]/ Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses forwarding the fourth traffic includes forwarding the fourth traffic to at least one of: a User Plane Function ("UPF"), or a Packet Data Network ("PDN") gateway ("PGW") [Par. 0051-0052 for Hoewisch and Huang at Fig 7-14 gateway node].
As claims 6 and 13, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] discloses the non-IP identifier of the UE is a first non-IP identifier, wherein the UPF or the PGW identify the IP address of the UE based on information associating a second non-IP identifier of the UE with the IP address of the UE [Par. 0039 disclose MSISDN and IMSI are associated for IP address of UE].
As claims 7 and 14, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] discloses the second non-IP identifier includes at least one of: an International Mobile Subscriber Identity ("IMSI"), an International Mobile Station Equipment Identity ("IMEI"), a Subscription Permanent Identifier ("SUPI"), or a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier ("GUTI") [Par. 0039, 0035].
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768]/ Li [US 2020/0146077] and Huang [US 2018/0176340] as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Alisawi [US 2015/0023159].
As claims 2, 9 and 16, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768]/ Li [US 2020/0146077] and Huang [US 2018/0176340] fail to disclose what Alisawi [US 2015/0023159] discloses implementing the particular policy includes buffering the second traffic with other traffic received over a particular time window, and forwarding the second traffic and the other traffic after the particular time window has elapsed [Fig 5A discloses all traffic are stored and released when expiring of holding time].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the particular policy includes buffering the second traffic with other traffic received over a particular time window, and forwarding the second traffic and the other traffic after the particular time window has elapsed as disclosed by Alisawi [US 2015/0023159] into the teaching of Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768]/ Li [US 2020/0146077] and Huang [US 2018/0176340]. The motivation would have been t0 prevent bandwidth waste.
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li [US 2020/0146077] in view Huang [US 2018/0176340].
As claims 1, 8 and 15, Li [US 2020/0146077] discloses a device, comprising: one or more processors configured to: maintain a set of policies associated with non-Internet Protocol ("IP") messaging [Par. 0097-0098, 0116-0126 discloses policies for non-IP data]; maintain information associating an IP address of a User Equipment ("UE") with a non-IP identifier of the UE [Par. 0102-0106, 0130-0136, 0154-0159]; receive first traffic, that includes: the IP address of the UE as a source of the first traffic, and payload information [Par. 0130-0135, 0157 discloses received traffic which includes source ip address]; identify, using the maintained information associating the IP address of the UE with the non-IP identifier of the UE, the non-IP identifier of the UE based on the IP address of the UE included in the first traffic [Par. 0116-0126 disclose use IP address to look for device-ID]; identify that the first traffic is associated with a particular policy of the set of policies [Par. 0116-0126 discloses policy lookup based on device-ID]; and forward second traffic, including the payload information [Par. 0154-0157 discloses forward non-ip data to destination based on policy]. However, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] fails to fully forward second traffic, including the payload information and the non-IP identifier of the UE, to a destination device indicated in the first traffic, wherein forwarding the second traffic includes implementing the particular policy with respect to the second traffic receive third traffic, that includes: the non-IP identifier of the UE as a destination of the third traffic, and second payload information; identify, using the maintained information associating the IP address of the UE with the non-IP identifier of the UE, the IP address of the UE based on the non-IP identifier included in the third traffic; identify that the third traffic is associated with a second policy of the set of policies; and forward fourth traffic, including the second payload information and the IP address of the UE, to one or more devices that route the fourth traffic to the UE, wherein forwarding the fourth traffic includes implementing the second policy with respect to the fourth traffic. In the same field of endeavor, Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses maintain a set of policies associated with non-Internet Protocol ("IP") messaging [Par. 0077-0087, 0120-0124], maintain information associating an IP address of a User Equipment ("UE") with a non-IP identifier of the UE [Par. 0116, 0130-0131, 0139-0142, 0146-0148, 0157-0159], receive first traffic, that includes: the IP address of the UE as a source of the first traffic, and payload information [Par. 0129, 0135, 0147, 0157], identify, using the maintained information associating the IP address of the UE with the non-IP identifier of the UE, the non-IP identifier of the UE based on the IP address of the UE included in the first traffic [Par. 0120-0123], forward second traffic, including the payload information and the non-IP identifier of the UE, to a destination device indicated in the first traffic, wherein forwarding the second traffic includes implementing the particular policy with respect to the second traffic [Par. 0157]; receive third traffic, that includes: the non-IP identifier of the UE as a destination of the third traffic, and second payload information; identify [Par. 0158], using the maintained information associating the IP address of the UE with the non-IP identifier of the UE, the IP address of the UE based on the non-IP identifier included in the third traffic [Par. 0158, 0109, 0222 discloses table which includes UE ID, UE IP address, AS ID and AS IP address for using to translate non-IP to IP or vice versa]; identify that the third traffic is associated with a second policy of the set of policies [Par. 0120-0124, 0158, 0109, 0222 discloses table which includes UE ID, UE IP address, AS ID and AS IP address for using to translate non-IP to IP or vice versa wherein policies are non-ip to IP or IP to non-ip]; and forward fourth traffic, including the second payload information and the IP address of the UE, to one or more devices that route the fourth traffic to the UE, wherein forwarding the fourth traffic includes implementing the second policy with respect to the fourth traffic [Par. 0158 discloses the traffic is forward based on policy].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by Huang [US 2018/0176340] into the teaching of Li [US 2020/0146077]. The motivation would have been to identify the source of data.
As claims 3, 10 and 17, Li [US 2020/0146077] / Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses implementing the particular policy includes performing a filtering operation on the first or second traffic [Li at Par. 0123, Huang at Par. 0063, , 0064, 0067, 0070, 0071, 0073-0076, 0147-0165, filtering the traffics].
As claims 4, 11 and 18, Li [US 2020/0146077] / Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses the non-IP identifier of the UE includes a Mobile Directory Number ("MDN") of the UE [Par. 0157 for Li and Huang discloses external ID, UE ID].
As claims 5, 12 and 19, Li [US 2020/0146077] / Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses the first traffic is received from at least one of: a User Plane Function ("UPF"), or a Packet Data Network ("PDN") gateway ("PGW") [Li, Fig 10, UDF and Huang at Fig 7-14, gateway node].
As claim 20, Li [US 2020/0146077]/Huang [US 2018/0176340] discloses forwarding the fourth traffic includes forwarding the fourth traffic to at least one of: a User Plane Function ("UPF"), or a Packet Data Network ("PDN") gateway ("PGW") [Li, Fig 10, UDF and Huang at Fig 7-14 gateway node].
As claims 6 and 13, Li [US 2020/0146077]/discloses the non-IP identifier of the UE is a first non-IP identifier, wherein the UPF or the PGW identify the IP address of the UE based on information associating a second non-IP identifier of the UE with the IP address of the UE [Li discloses at Par. 0130-0136, 0154-0159 and Huang at Par. 0039 0147-0157].
As claims 7 and 14, Hoewisch [US 2022/0311768] discloses the second non-IP identifier includes at least one of: an International Mobile Subscriber Identity ("IMSI"), an International Mobile Station Equipment Identity ("IMEI"), a Subscription Permanent Identifier ("SUPI"), or a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier ("GUTI") [Par. 0102, 0157-0158, 0323].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Livanos [US 2019/0166016] discloses user equipment (UE) event notification techniques for use in a mobile network are described. In one illustrative example, an event subscription request from an application server may be received at a network exposure function (NEF) entity of a 5G mobile network. The event subscription request may include a list of one or more subscribed events for a UE, which may include a UE attach event and/or a UE detach event. A context which indicates the one or more subscribed events may be created for the UE. Sometime during network operation, an indication of an occurrence of an event associated with the UE is received. The indication is received from a policy and charging function (PCF) entity when the UE is configured for IP data delivery, or from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity when the UE is configured for non-IP data delivery (NIDD).
Wang [US 2020/0304409] discloses system and apparatus for addressing the different types of mobility of a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) in a network. A radio access network (RAN) may send a request for configuration information to a gateway device including a device ID of a WTRU, a service ID, and a RAN address. Once the RAN receives configuration information from the gateway device including a forwarding table, the RAN may be prepared to receive non-IP data from a WTRU including a routing tag. The routing tag may be based on the device ID of a WTRU and service ID. The RAN may transmit the non-IP data received from the WTRU to the gateway device over a routing path based on the routing tag and a forwarding table where the non-IP data is forwarded on to its detention, such as another WTRU or an Application Server.
Tao [US 2022/0038540] discloses Methods and apparatuses are disclosed for internet protocol (IP) and non-IP data communication. According to an embodiment, a network exposure node performs a configuration procedure such that both IP data delivery (IPDD) and non-IP data delivery (NIDD) can be supported through a unified interface between the network exposure node and a server. The network exposure node performs IPDD or NIDD through the unified interface.
Ryu [US 2018/0324652] discloses a serving node relocating method in a wireless communication system and a device for same. In detail, a method for relocating, by a first serving node, a serving node in a wireless communication system can include: receiving a tracking area update (TAU) request message from a terminal; transmitting an update location request to a home subscriber server (HSS), when the first serving node having received the TAU request message is different from a second serving node that is an old node; and transmitting an update location message to a service capability exposure function (SCEF), when the first serving node is different from the second serving node that is the old node and a connection for transmitting/receiving non-internet protocol (non-IP) data via the SCEF is configured in the terminal.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414