DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an image former” in claim 1, “a toner bottle holder” in claim 1, “a bottle cover” in claim 1, “a lock mechanism” in claim 1, “a drive mechanism” in claim 1, “an abnormality detector” in claim 1, “a cover opening-and-closing detection sensor” in claim 1, “a door opening-and-closing detection sensor” in claim 2, “an engagement member” in claim 3, “a pressing member” in claim 3, “a toner bottle holder” in claim 6, “a bottle cover” in claim 6, “a lock mechanism” in claim 6 , “a drive mechanism” in claim 6, “an abnormality detector” in claim 6 and “a cover opening-and-closing detection sensor” in claim 6.
“an image former” in claim 1 is read as the item 150 shown in Fig.1, “a toner bottle holder” in claim 1 is read as the item 152 shown in Fig.1, “a bottle cover” in claim 1 is read as the item 200 shown in Fig.1, “a lock mechanism” in claim 1 is read as the item 300 shown in Fig.1, “a drive mechanism” in claim 1 is read as the item 400 shown in Fig.1, “an abnormality detector” in claim 1 is read as the item 430 shown in Fig.4, “a cover opening-and-closing detection sensor” in claim 1 is read as the item 210 shown in Fig.1, “a door opening-and-closing detection sensor” in claim 2 is read as the item 162 shown in Fig.1, “an engagement member” in claim 3 is read as the item 310 shown in Fig.3, “a pressing member” in claim 3 is read as the item 312 shown in Fig.3, “a toner bottle holder” in claim 6 is read as the item 152 shown in Fig.1, “a bottle cover” in claim 6 is read as the item 200 shown in Fig.1, “a lock mechanism” in claim 6 is read as the item 300 shown in Fig.1, “a drive mechanism” in claim 6 is read as the item 400 shown in Fig.1, “an abnormality detector” in claim 6 is read as the item 430 shown in Fig.4, and “a cover opening-and-closing detection sensor” in claim 6 is read as the item 210 shown in Fig.1,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MASAHIRO’694 (JP 2020190694).
With respect to claim 1, MASAHIRO’694 teaches an image forming apparatus (Fig.3), comprising:
an image former to form an image [The image forming apparatus (Fig.3) is inherent disclosed with an image former to form an image on a sheet after a printing instruction is being received];
a toner bottle holder to hold a toner bottle filled with toner used for image formation by the image former in a manner that the toner bottle is insertable to and removable from the toner bottle holder [As shown in Fig.3, the cartridge holders (toner bottle holder) is considered being disclosed to hold a cartridges filled with toner which is being used for image formation by an image former in a manner that the cartridges are insertable to and removable from the cartridge holders (page 3)];
a bottle cover (Fig.3, item 302) that covers an insertion port of the toner bottle holder and is openable and closable with respect to the insertion port (page 6);
a lock mechanism to lock the bottle cover at a position at which the bottle cover covers the insertion port (Fig. 4);
a drive mechanism to drive the lock mechanism to release a locked state of the bottle cover (Fig.4);
an abnormality detector to generate an abnormality detection signal when the abnormality detector detects an abnormality of the drive mechanism [the control unit causes the display unit to display an error screen for notifying the lock device of the mechanical failure (page 11)];
a cover opening-and-closing detection sensor to detect an open state and a closed state of the bottle cover and generate a cover opening-and-closing detection signal indicating the open state or the closed state of the bottle cover [As shown in Fig.8, the step S803, the door open / close detection sensor is in the open state (page 11)]; and
processing circuitry configured to determine an abnormal part of the drive mechanism based on the abnormality detection signal and the cover opening-and-closing detection signal [When the user instruction information cannot be exchanged in in step (Fig.8, step S809), the control unit determines that the door has not been opened due to the failure of the lock device, and detects a mechanical failure in the lock device 410 (Fig.8, S814). Then, the control unit causes the display unit to display an error screen for notifying the mechanical failure of the lock device 410 (Fig.8, S815) (page 11)].
With respect to claim 2, which further limits claim 1, MASAHIRO’694 teaches a front door disposed on a front surface of the bottle cover in an openable and closable manner to prevent the bottle cover from opening when the bottle cover is in the closed state (Fig.3, item 305); and
a door opening-and-closing detection sensor to detect an open state and a closed state of the front door [When the user opens the outer door (Fig.3, item 305) according to the instruction of the display unit and detects the opening of the outer door (Fig.3, item 305) by an open / close detection sensor (page 6)],
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the abnormal part of the drive mechanism based on logic values of the abnormality detection signal and the cover opening-and-closing detection signal in each of a first control state in which the bottle cover is controlled to the locked state by the drive mechanism in the closed state of the front door [the control unit determines that the door (Fig.3, item 302) has not been opened due to the failure of the lock device 410, and detects a mechanical failure in the lock device 410 (Fig.8, step S814) (page 11)], a second control state in which the bottle cover is controlled to an unlocked state by the drive mechanism in the open state of the front door [When it is detected in step (Fig.8, step S801) that the outer door (Fig.3, item 305) is in the open state, the control unit 200 reversely rotates the developer cartridge motor 160 in order to open the door (Fig.3, item 302) to be replaced (page 10)], and a third control state in which the bottle cover is controlled to the locked state by the drive mechanism in the open state of the front door [When it is detected in step (Fig.8, step S801) that the outer door (Fig.3, item 305) is in the open state, the control unit 200 reversely rotates the developer cartridge motor 160 in order to open the door (Fig.3, item 302) to be replaced (page 10). Therefore, when the outer door (Fig.3, item 305) is in the open state but the door (Fig.3, item 302) is in the locked state, the drive mechanism is inherent in the abnormal state].
With respect to claim 5, which further limits claim 1, MASAHIRO’694 teaches a display (Fig.3, item 301) to display various types of information, wherein when the processing circuitry determines the abnormal part of the drive mechanism, the processing circuitry stores failure information indicating the abnormal part that has been determined in a nonvolatile memory, and causes the display to display a message indicating that a repair is necessary [the control unit (Fig.4, item 200) causes the display unit (Fig.3, item 301) to display an error screen for notifying the lock device of the mechanical failure (page 11)].
With respect to claim 6, MASAHIRO’694 teaches an abnormality determination device to determine an abnormal part of a drive mechanism [a mechanical failure in the lock device is being detected (Fig.8, step S814 and page 11). As a result, an abnormality determination device is considered being disclosed] and to be installed in an apparatus [regarding to the image forming apparatus (Fig.3)] including:
a toner bottle holder to hold a toner bottle filled with toner in a manner that is insertable to and removable from the toner bottle holder [As shown in Fig.3, the cartridge holders (toner bottle holder) is considered being disclosed to hold a cartridge filled with toner used for image formation by the image former in a manner that the cartridges are insertable to and removable from the cartridge holders (page 3)];
a bottle cover (Fig.3, item 302) that covers an insertion port of the toner bottle holder and is openable and closable with respect to the insertion port (page 6);
a lock mechanism to lock the bottle cover at a position at which the bottle cover covers the insertion port (Fig. 4); and
a drive mechanism to drive the lock mechanism to release a locked state of the bottle cover [detecting a mechanical failure in the lock device (Fig.8, step S814 and page 11); and
a cover opening-and-closing detection sensor to detect an open state and a closed state of the bottle cover and generate a cover opening-and-closing detection signal indicating the open state or the closed state of the bottle cover [As shown in Fig.8, the step S803, the door open / close detection sensor is in the open state (page 11)], the abnormality determination device comprising: an abnormality detector to generate an abnormality detection signal when the abnormality detector detects an abnormality of the drive mechanism [the control unit causes the display unit to display an error screen for notifying the lock device of the mechanical failure (page 11)]; and
processing circuitry configured to: receive the cover opening-and-closing detection signal from the cover opening-and-closing detection sensor [When the user instruction information cannot be exchanged in the step (Fig.8, step S809) that, the control unit determines that the door has not been opened due to the failure of the lock device, and detects a mechanical failure in the lock device 410 (Fig.8, S814). Then, the control unit causes the display unit to display an error screen for notifying the mechanical failure of the lock device 410 (Fig.8, S815) (page 11)].; and
determine the abnormal part of the drive mechanism based on the abnormality detection signal and the cover opening-and-closing detection signal [When it is indicated in step (Fig.8, step S809) that the user instruction information cannot be exchanged, the control unit determines that the door has not been opened due to the failure of the lock device, and detects a mechanical failure in the lock device 410 (Fig.8, S814). Then, the control unit causes the display unit to display an error screen for notifying the mechanical failure of the lock device 410 (Fig.8, S815) (page 11)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MASAHIRO’694 (JP 2020190694), and further in view of Goedde’773 (US 6,185,773).
With respect to claim 3, which further limits claim 1, MASAHIRO’694 teaches wherein the bottle cover includes a locking portion (Fig.4),
the lock mechanism includes: an engagement member including an engagement portion to engage the locking portion at the position at which the bottle cover covers the insertion port (Fig.4); and
a pressing member to press the engagement member to a position at which the engagement portion engages the locking portion (Fig.4),
MASAHIRO’694 does not teach the drive mechanism includes: a solenoid to move the engagement member in a direction of releasing an engagement of the engagement portion and the locking portion against a pressing force of the pressing member at a time of driving; and a transistor that is connected to a sink side of the solenoid and is turned on when a drive current flows from a source side of the solenoid to the sink side, and the abnormality detector generates the abnormality detection signal based on a voltage generated on the sink side of the solenoid.
Goedde’773 teaches the drive mechanism includes: a solenoid (Fig.2, item 104) to move the engagement member in a direction of releasing an engagement of the engagement portion and the locking portion against a pressing force of the pressing member at a time of driving (Fig.2); and
a transistor (Fig.7, item M1) that is connected to a sink side of the solenoid and is turned on when a drive current flows from a source side of the solenoid to the sink side (col.6, lines 7-33), and
the abnormality detector generates the abnormality detection signal based on a voltage generated on the sink side of the solenoid [a control module controls latch pins to unlock and lock a door according to the volage apply to the solenoid (col.4, lines 18-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to generate an abnormality detection signal based on an abnormal volage apply to the solenoid because the abnormal volage apply to the solenoid will cause the control module not able to control latch pins to unlock and lock a door normally].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MASAHIRO’694 according to the teaching of Goedde’773 to use a solenoid to control the door to unlock and lock because this will allow the door to be unlocked and locked more effectively.
Claim 4 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MASAHIRO’694 (JP 2020190694), Goedde’773 (US 6,185,773) and further in view of Murakata’419 (US 2003/0030419).
With respect to claim 4, which further limits claim 3, the combination of MASAHIRO’694 and Goedde’773 does not teach wherein the abnormality detector includes a voltage divider to divide the voltage generated on the sink side to generate a divided voltage, and the processing circuitry is configured to receive the divided voltage as the abnormality detection signal.
Murakata’419 teaches an error detecting circuit generates an error output signal by comparing a detected voltage generated by the voltage divider circuit with a reference voltage generated by the reference voltage generating circuit (paragraph 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination of MASAHIRO’694 and Goedde’773 according to the teaching of Murakata’419 to include an error detecting circuit generates an error output signal to a processor by comparing a detected voltage generated by the voltage divider circuit on the sink side of the solenoid with a reference voltage generated by the reference voltage generating circuit (wherein the abnormality detector includes a voltage divider to divide the voltage generated on the sink side to generate a divided voltage, and the processing circuitry is configured to receive the divided voltage as the abnormality detection signal) because this will allow the door to be unlocked and locked more effectively according the detected error signal.
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682