DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. USPGPUB 2017/0370366 (hereinafter “Johnson”).
As to claim 1, Johnson teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a device (FIG. 3 element 160), ceiling sensor data from a ceiling sensor (FIG. 3 element 140) at a location, the ceiling sensor being positioned within the location at a threshold distance to a ceiling fan (paragraph 0051-0052 “high-elevation sensor(s) (140) may be located on fan (110), ceiling, or elsewhere in a room. Low-elevation sensor(s) (130) may be located at or near the level in which the room will be occupied”), the ceiling sensor data indicating a current ceiling temperature in relation to a ceiling of the location (paragraph 0042-0043 “sensors (such as for example, at least one low-elevation sensor (130), at least one high-elevation sensor (140), and/or one or more thermostats (1110) adapted to sense temperature; see FIG. 8), at least one occupancy sensor (150), at least one controller (160), at least one HVAC system (200) or unit, and optionally at least one external sensor (180) as shown in FIG. 3”); identifying, by the device, a setpoint temperature for the location (paragraph 0047 and 0053 “determined by controller (160) in exemplary thermal comfort control system (100) described above, other configurations of a thermal comfort control system (100) may allow for an occupant to choose between multiple comfort control settings. The comfort control settings may include, among other settings: “Occupied Heating” mode, “Unoccupied Heating” mode, “Occupied Cooling” mode, and “Unoccupied Cooling” mode. Each setting may have a programmable temperature set range associated with it, as well as the option to operate fan (110) as a part of a sequence of operations of HVAC system (200), both in response to the temperature being outside the relevant set range”); identifying, by the device, an operation mode, the operation mode corresponding to a cooling operation to be performed by the ceiling fan (paragraph 0046-0048 “determined by controller (160) in exemplary thermal comfort control system (100) described above, other configurations of a thermal comfort control system (100) may allow for an occupant to choose between multiple comfort control settings” and paragraph 0056-0058); determining, by the device, climate conditions in the location (paragraph 0053 “determine when the temperature is outside the relevant set range and also to identify temperature differentials that may exist throughout a room or space. The processor may also include control logic for executing certain control procedures in order to effectuate an appropriate control response based upon the information (temperature, air speed, relative humidity, etc.) communicated from sensors (130, 140, 150, 180, 190) and the setting automatically chosen by controller (160) or manually chosen by the occupant”); determining, by the device, based on the climate conditions, operational characteristics of the operation mode, the operational characteristics corresponding to a spin rate of the ceiling fan during execution of the operation mode (paragraph 0052-0054 “determine when the temperature is outside the relevant set range and also to identify temperature differentials that may exist throughout a room or space. The processor may also include control logic for executing certain control procedures”); and executing, by the device, the operation mode according to the operational characteristics thereby causing the ceiling fan to perform the cooling operation at the spin rate (paragraph 0053-0054 “determine when the temperature is outside the relevant set range and also to identify temperature differentials that may exist throughout a room or space. The processor may also include control logic for executing certain control procedures in order to effectuate an appropriate control response based upon the information (temperature, air speed, relative humidity, etc.) communicated from sensors (130, 140, 150, 180, 190) and the setting automatically chosen by controller (160) or manually chosen by the occupant. An appropriate control response may be carried out through commands communicated from controller (160) to fan(s) (110) and/or HVAC system (200) (or thermostat (1110)) based on the control procedures. In some settings, varying fan speed as a function of sensed temperature and humidity may assist in avoiding condensation on objects within the same room as fan(s) (110); and/or may provide other effects”).
As to claim 2, Johnson teaches further comprising: determining a heat transfer variables for a user at the location; determining an air flow velocity for the cooling operation; executing a control algorithm based on the heat transfer variables and the air flow velocity; and determining the spin rate based on execution of the control algorithm (paragraph 0054-0055).
As to claim 3, Johnson teaches wherein the spin rate corresponds to an amount of power provided to the ceiling fan, the amount of power determined via execution of the control algorithm (paragraph 0052-0054).
As to claim 4, Johnson teaches wherein the climate conditions in the location correspond a humidity measurement currently at the location (paragraph 0054).
As to claim 5, Johnson teaches further comprising: collecting, via at least one sensor at the location, occupancy data; analyzing the occupancy data; and determining, based on the analysis, whether the location currently has an occupant (paragraph 0066-0068).
As to claim 6, Johnson teaches further comprising: bypassing operation of the ceiling fan when the location is determined to be absent an occupant (paragraph 0067-0068).
As to claim 7, Johnson teaches wherein the execution of the ceiling fan according to the operation mode and operational characteristics is performed when the location is determined to include an occupant (paragraph 0067-0069).
As to claim 8, Johnson teaches further comprising: determining the operation mode based on the current ceiling temperature and the setpoint temperature, wherein the cooling operation corresponds to a temperature differential between the current ceiling temperature and the setpoint temperature (paragraph 0046-0048).
As to claim 9, Johnson teaches wherein the setpoint temperature corresponding to a temperature provided by a thermostat at the location (paragraph 0079-0080).
As to claim 10, Johnson teaches wherein the location comprises a definable physical area for which the ceiling fan is positioned (FIG. 3 and paragraph 0043-0052).
As to claims 11-18 , are related to claim 1-8 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 19, is related to claim 1 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 20, is related to claim 2 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and listed on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Steiner USPGPUB 20200041634 A1 teaches a control device for a ceiling fan may have a motor drive circuit configured to control a rotational speed of a motor of the ceiling fan, an occupancy sensing circuit, and a control circuit configured to adjust the rotational speed of the motor in response to a detected occupancy or vacancy condition. The control circuit may process the signals generated by the occupancy sensing circuit to eliminate the effects of vibrations and/or wobbling of the ceiling fan. The control circuit may control the motor drive circuit to adjust the rotational speed of the motor in response to an accelerometer to minimize the magnitude of the wobble of the ceiling fan. The control circuit may be configured to learn a preferred rotational speed for the motor. The control circuit may also be configured to control the rotational speed of the motor to affect a thermal comfort level of an occupant (paragraph 0020-0071 and FIG. 1 teaches all the limiations).
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119