DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 12, 2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the correspondingly necessitated new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0148012 to Yamazaki et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamazaki discloses (e.g., Fig. 1 and Table 1) an optical imaging system, comprising: a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3 and a fourth lens L4 disposed in order from an object side to an imaging side (Fig. 1): wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region (Fig. 1; Table 1), and wherein the optical imaging system satisfies a conditional expression:
-0.5<R1/R3<1.0,
where R1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens, and R3 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens (e.g., Table 1, R1 is 1.687, R3 is -5.717, yielding a ratio of -0.295, within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamazaki discloses wherein the optical imaging system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
-2.0<f4/f<-0.5,
where f is an overall focal length of the optical imaging system and f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens (calculated from values provided in Table 1, f4 is –2.235, f is 3.864, yielding a ratio of -0.578, within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 9, Lyu discloses wherein the optical imaging system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
1.0<TTL/f<2.0,
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an image plane and f is an overall focal length of the optical imaging system (calculated from values provided in Table 1, ratio of about 1.18, within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 10, Lyu discloses wherein the third lens has a concave object-side surface and a convex image-side surface (Fig. 1, Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki.
Regarding Claim 2, Yamazaki would have rendered obvious wherein the optical imaging system satisfies the following conditional expression:
0.5<EPD/TTL<0.7,
where EPD is an entrance pupil diameter, and TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an image plane (where Yamazaki teaches in paragraphs [0039] and [0070] that the pupil can be adjusted to ensure telecentricity and optimize the incident angle and compensate aberrations, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Yamazaki to achieve the claimed inequality expression, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3–7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN CROCKETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871