DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–3 and 6–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 107741628 A to Lyu.
Regarding Claim 1, Lyu discloses (e.g., Fig. 13 and Example 7) an optical imaging system, comprising: a first lens E1, a second lens E2, a third lens E3 and a fourth lens E4 disposed in order from an object side to an imaging side (Fig. 13): wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface (Fig. 13), and wherein the optical imaging system satisfies a conditional expression:
-0.5<R1/R3<1.0,
where R1 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens, and R3 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens (e.g., Table 28, paragraph [0240], R1 is 1.5019, R3 is -4.2463, yielding a ratio of -0.354, within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 2, Lyu discloses wherein the optical imaging system satisfies the following conditional expression:
0.5<EPD/TTL<0.7,
where EPD is an entrance pupil diameter, and TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an image plane (from Tables 21 and 31, EPD 2.092 and TTL 3.98, yielding a ratio of 0.526, within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 3, Lyu discloses wherein the first lens and the second lens have positive refractive power (Table 21).
Regarding Claim 6, Lyu discloses wherein the fourth lens has negative refractive power, and has a convex image-side surface (Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 7, Lyu discloses wherein the optical imaging system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
FNo≤1.5
(Table 31, example 7, fNo (f/EPD) is 1.30, within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 8, Lyu discloses wherein the optical imaging system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
-2.0<f4/f<-0.5,
where f is an overall focal length of the optical imaging system and f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens (Table 21, f4 is -8.78, f is 2.72, yielding a ratio of 3.23, within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 9, Lyu discloses wherein the optical imaging system satisfies the following conditional expressions:
1.0<TTL/f<2.0,
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an image plane and f is an overall focal length of the optical imaging system (Table 21, ratio of 1.46, within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 10, Lyu discloses wherein the third lens has a concave object-side surface and a convex image-side surface (Fig. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107741628 A to Lyu.
Regarding Claim 4, Lyu would have rendered obvious wherein the optical imaging system satisfies the following conditional expression:
4.0<(f1+f2)/f<8.0,
where f is an overall focal length of the optical imaging system, f1 is a focal length of the first lens and f2 is a focal length of the second lens (Table 21, f1 3.79, f2 4.32, f 2.72, yielding a ratio of 2.98, substantially close to the claimed range, MPEP §2144.05, which would have been obvious, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871