Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15, 20-23 are pending. Claims 17-19 are cancelled. Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome 112 rejections and objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action notified on 01/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Talbert (US 20120035418).
Regarding claim 1, Talbert discloses a camera head (head portion 112; FIGS. 1-2, 27, annotated) comprising:
an exterior casing (metal housing 2710) configured to be connected to an endoscope (The camera head in FIG. 27 is configured to be connected to a proximal part of an endoscope), the endoscope being inserted into a subject and configured to take in a subject image from the subject (The endoscope is not claimed; FIG. 27; This is intended use.), wherein the exterior casing is configured to be connected to a cable for transmitting at least one of an image signals and a control signal (A main wiring harness 2782 may be incorporated into a wired tether 2780 thereby electrically connecting the components of the imaging device head 2712 to a control unit. Para [0117]);
an imaging assembly (image sensor 2775) in the exterior casing and configured to capture a subject image, the imaging assembly including an image sensor and a circuit board (memory 2788) electrically connected to the image sensor;
a first support member (FIG. 27, annotated) provided in the exterior casing and configured to support the image sensor;
a second support member (FIG. 27 annotated) provided in the exterior casing and configured to support the circuit board, the second support member being separate from the first support member; and
a heat sink (Thermally conductive member, FIG. 27, annotated) in the exterior casing and connected to the second support member so as to transfer heat generated in the circuit board to the exterior casing, wherein the heat sink is an independent member separate from the first support member and the second support member (Heat sink is independent member separate from the first support member and the second support member; FIG. 27 annotated).
Regarding claim 11, Talbert discloses wherein a thermally conductive member configured to diffuse heat transferred to the exterior casing is provided on an inner surface of the exterior casing (Interface of the metal housing 2710 with heat sink 2777; Annotated FIG.27).
Regarding claim 12, Talbert discloses a support member (Portion of the sink 2777 can be considered as support member; FIG. 27) provided in the exterior casing and configured to support the imaging assembly,
wherein the thermally conductive member (FIG. 27, annotated) is attached so as to straddle between a position of a fastening structure (Fastening structure is not claimed; FIG. 27, annotated) where the support member and the exterior casing are fastened and a position separated from the fastening structure (A position separated from the fastening structure is not claimed and defined; So, this position may be claimed anywhere; FIG. 27, annotated; Thus thermally conductive member, i.e., the interface between the second support and the metal housing can be considered to straddle between a position of a fastening structure and a position separated from the fastening structure.).
Regarding claim 13, Talbert discloses wherein the thermally conductive member is disposed on each of: an inner surface of the exterior casing (Note the thermally conductive member as annotated in FIG. 27) corresponding to the operating assembly and an inner surfaces of a distal end portion of the exterior casing (Metal housing 2710 provides the conductive member).
Regarding claim 14, Talbert discloses wherein a recess that is recessed toward the inside and gripped by a user is provided on an outer surface of the exterior casing (FIG. 27, annotated), and the fastening structure is disposed to face a back surface of the recess (As annotated in the FIG. 27).
Regarding claim 15, Talbert discloses wherein a distance between the inner surface of the exterior casing and the second support member and an outer surface of the heat sink is configured to provide a clearance space for heat dissipation (As shown in FIG. 27, a distance between the casing 2710 and second support 2777 provide a clearance for heat dissipation. ), the distance being determined based on a cross- sectional area of a space formed between the second support member and the heat sink (A cross-section can be used as a reference for determining the distance.).
Claim(s) 1-8, 21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Nara (US 20190357760).
Regarding claim 1, Nara discloses a camera head (camera head 3; FIG. 3, annotated) comprising:
an exterior casing (Metal main case 20) configured to be connected to an endoscope (endoscope is not positively claimed), the endoscope being inserted into a subject and configured to take in a subject image from the subject, wherein the exterior casing is configured to be connected to a cable for transmitting at least one of an image signals and a control signal (Cable 12; FIG. 3);
an imaging assembly (32) in the exterior casing and configured to capture a subject image, the imaging assembly including an image sensor and a circuit board electrically connected to the image sensor (Image sensor include a circuit board);
a first support member (FIG. 3, annotated) provided in the exterior casing and configured to support the image sensor;
a second support member (Arm 45b of heat transfer plate 45; FIG. 3, annotated) provided in the exterior casing and configured to support the circuit board, the second support member being separate from the first support member; and
a heat sink in the exterior casing (heat transfer main plate body 45) and connected to the second support member so as to transfer heat generated in the circuit board to the exterior casing, wherein the heat sink is an independent member separate from the first support member and the second support member (heat transfer main plate body 45 is independent of the first support member and the second support member).
Regarding claim 2, Nara discloses an operating assembly (button 27b) provided on an outer surface of the exterior casing and including a button configured to receive an operation by a user, wherein the heat sink is disposed on a side facing the operating assembly (The heat sink is on the side; FIG. 3) with the imaging assembly interposed therebetween in the exterior casing (imaging elements 32, imaging unit 30 are inside the casing 20; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Nara discloses wherein the heat sink is thermally connected to the support member and configured to transfer heat generated in the imaging assembly and transferred via the support member to the exterior casing (Arm 45b is connected to the heat transfer sheet 46 for heat transfer; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Nara discloses wherein a space is provided between the heat sink and the second support member (Gap is provided between the arm 45b and heat transfer sheet 46; FIG. 3 annotated).
Regarding claim 5, Nara discloses wherein a surface of the heat sink facing an inner surface of the exterior casing has a shape following an inner surface of the exterior casing (Heat transfer plate 45 and casing 20 has similar inner surfaces because they interface each other.).
Regarding claim 6, Nara discloses: a heat transfer member (transfer sheet 46) thermally connected to each of the support member (The heat is transferred from the imaging assembly to the sheet 46 via support member; Transfer sheet 46 is connected to the exterior casing by rear case 22; FIG. 3 ) and an inner surface of the exterior casing and configured to transfer heat generated in the imaging assembly and transferred via the support member to the exterior casing (Heat is transferred to the metal case 20 by heat transfer sheet 46 and case 22).
Regarding claim 7, Nara discloses wherein the heat transfer member (transfer sheet 46) is thermally connected to each of the second support member (Heat is transferred to the sheet via arm 45b) and an inner surface of the exterior casing (Case 22 provides thermal connection between the sheet 46 and casing 20) at a position other than a fastening structure where the second support member and the exterior casing are fastened (The fastening structure is away from a heat exchange interface between case 22 and case 20. FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Nara discloses wherein a recess that is recessed toward the inside and gripped by a user is provided on an outer surface of the exterior casing (FIG.3, annotated), and the fastening structure disposed to face a back surface of the recess (FIG. 3, annotated).
Regarding claim 21, Nara discloses wherein the heat sink has a U-shaped cross-section (Heat transfer main body 45 has a U-shaped cross-section; FIG. 4) and is disposed such that a space is formed between the heat sink and the second support member (There is a space is formed between the heat sink and the second support member).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nara (US 20190357760) in view of Kokubo (US 20110092769).
Regarding 9, Nara does not expressly disclose wherein the heat transfer member is made of a material having heat resistance capable of withstanding 1500C or higher.
Kokubo is directed to endoscope apparatus (abstract) and teaches wherein the heat transfer member is made of a material having heat resistance capable of withstanding 150 degree C or higher (Heat transfer member 50 made of metal; FIGS. 4-5; Para [0015], [0022], [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nara to include a metal as heat transfer member in accordance with teaching of Kokubo so that heat could be easily absorbed by metal heat transfer member and transferred to another heat absorber/transferrer.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nara (US 20190357760) in view of Jansen (US20170232828).
Regarding claim 10, Nara does not expressly disclose wherein the heat transfer member is made of a silicone-based foam material.
Jansen is directed to methods and systems are provided for an electric motor arrangement (abstract) and teaches wherein the heat transfer member is made of a silicone-based foam material (The thermal filler element may include one or more of a metal shim, silicone foam, silicone rubber, thermal paste, thermal grease, thermal epoxy, steel-silicone foam, or the like. Para [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nara to substitute the metal heat transfer member of Nara with silicone foam to provide light weight heat transfer material. It would have been obvious to substitute metal heat transfer member (metal) with silicone foam because silicone foam is one of the alternatives to metal to be used as heat transfer material (Para [0045] of Jansen).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted on 04/08/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection dated 1/13/2026 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new rejection has been made in view of amendment. See rejection set forth above.
On page 11, lines 7-8, of the argument/remarks applicant argues that “ Talbert does not disclose the separation of the support members into first and second distinct parts, not it discloses a heat sink connected to a second support member while remaining an independent member separate from the sensor support”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons stated below.
All of these features are disclosed by Talbert (US 20120035418). First support member and second support member are separate. Heat sink is connected to the second support member and is independent. See annotated FIG. 27, below with the features marked.
Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive at this time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 22
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to explicitly teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, a camera head, wherein the first support member and the second support member are coupled to each other via a coupling portion having a thermal conductivity lower than a thermal conductivity of the second support member, along with the remaining features of claim 22 and 1.
The closest art Talbert (US 20120035418), and Nara (US 20190357760) could not be modified to have the first support member and the second support member coupled to each other via a coupling portion having a thermal conductivity lower than a thermal conductivity of the second support member.
Accordingly, claim 22 is allowed.
Claim 23
The prior art of record fails to explicitly teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, a camera head, wherein the first support member and the second support member include a conductive material and the heat sink is fixed to at least one of the first support member and the second support member via a fastening protrusion that maintains a physical gap between a main body of the heat sink and the first support member, along with the remaining features of claim 23 and 1.
The closest art Talbert (US 20120035418) could not be modified to achieve the heat sink that is fixed to at least one of the first support member and the second support member via a fastening protrusion that maintains a physical gap between a main body of the heat sink and the first support member. The first support member being away from the second support member in Talbert (FIG. 27), a fastening protrusion could not maintain a physical gap between a main body of the heat sink and the first support member.
Accordingly, claim 23 is allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 05/09/26