Election
Applicant’s election of claims 1-15, without traverse, is acknowledged and made final. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “the fastening structure disposed” in line 3. Instead, this should be “the fastening structure is disposed.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13, recites “wherein the thermally conductive member is disposed on each of back surfaces of two surfaces positioned between an arrangement surface of an operating assembly having a button for receiving an operation by a user in the exterior casing and a surface facing the arrangement surface of the operating assembly; a back surface of a distal end portion of the exterior casing.”
The positioning of the thermally conductive member is unclear because the surfaces recited in the claim are not clearly described regarding their position and how they are formation.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “wherein where a cross-sectional area obtained by cutting a space formed by the support member and an outer surface of the heat sink by a plane orthogonal to an optical axis of the imaging assembly is x " in lines 1-5.
Here, the amount of the cross-sectional area is unclear because there appear to be separate cross-sectional area after having a cross-section. If they are separate, which cross-section area is being referred in the claim is unclear. Further, it is unclear how an outer surface of the heat sink is cut by a plane to form a surface, as recited in the claim.
Appropriate correction or explanation is required.
Accordingly, the claim 15 has not been examined for its merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Talbert (US 20120035418).
Regarding claim 1, Talbert discloses camera head (head portion 112; FIGS. 1-2, 27, annotated) comprising:
an exterior casing (metal housing 2710) configured to be connected to an endoscope (The camera head in FIG. 27 is configured to be connected to a proximal part of an endoscope), the endoscope being inserted into a subject and configured to take in a subject image from the subject (The endoscope is not claimed; FIG. 27; This is intended use.);
an imaging assembly (image sensor 2775) in the exterior casing and configured to capture the subject image; and
a heat sink (Heat sink 2777) in the exterior casing and configured to transfer heat generated in the imaging assembly to the exterior casing.
Regarding claim 11, Talbert discloses wherein a thermally conductive member configured to diffuse heat transferred to the exterior casing is provided on an inner surface of the exterior casing (Interface of the metal housing 2710 with heat sink 2777; Annotated FIG.27).
Regarding claim 12, Talbert discloses a support member (Portion of the sink 2777 can be considered as support member; FIG. 27) provided in the exterior casing and configured to support the imaging assembly,
wherein the thermally conductive member (FIG. 27, annotated) is attached so as to straddle between a position of a fastening structure (Fastening structure is not claimed; FIG. 27, annotated) where the support member and the exterior casing are fastened and a position separated from the fastening structure (A position separated from the fastening structure is not claimed and defined; So, this position may be claimed anywhere; FIG. 27, annotated; Thus thermally conductive member, i.e., the interface between the second support and the metal housing can be considered to straddle between a position of a fastening structure and a position separated from the fastening structure.).
Regarding claim 13, Talbert discloses wherein the thermally conductive member is disposed on each of back surfaces of two surfaces positioned between an arrangement surface of an operating assembly having a button for receiving an operation by a user in the exterior casing and a surface facing the arrangement surface of the operating assembly (The surface of metal housing 2710 in the area of buttons 2721 and 2722 provide the thermally conductive members): and
a back surface of a distal end portion of the exterior casing (Metal housing 2710 provides the conductive member).
Regarding claim 14, Talbert discloses wherein a recess that is recessed toward the inside and gripped by a user is provided on an outer surface of the exterior casing (FIG. 27, annotated), and the fastening structure is disposed to face a back surface of the recess (As annotated in the FIG. 27).
Regarding claim 20, Talbert discloses wherein the support member includes a first support member (FIG. 27 annotated) supporting an image sensor of the imaging assembly and a second support member (FIG. 27, annotated) supporting a circuit board of the imaging assembly, and wherein the heat sink is directly connected to the second support member.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Nara (US 20190357760).
Regarding claim 1, Nara discloses camera head (camera head 3; FIG. 3, annotated) comprising:
an exterior casing (Metal main case 20) configured to be connected to an endoscope (endoscope is not positively claimed), the endoscope being inserted into a subject (This is an intended use.) and configured to take in a subject image from the subject (FIG. 3);
an imaging assembly (imaging elements 32, imaging unit 30; FIG. 3) in the exterior casing and configured to capture the subject image; and
a heat sink (Heat transfer plate 45, heat transfer plate main body 45a; heat transfer sheet 46, metal rear case 22; FIG. 3; These elements transfer heat to the case 20. FIGS. 3-4) in the exterior casing and configured to transfer heat generated in the imaging assembly to the exterior casing.
Regarding claim 2, Nara discloses an operating assembly (button 27b) provided on an outer surface of the exterior casing and including a button configured to receive an operation by a user, wherein the heat sink is disposed on a side facing the operating assembly (The heat sink is on the side; FIG. 3) with the imaging assembly interposed therebetween in the exterior casing (imaging elements 32, imaging unit 30 are inside the casing 20; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Nara discloses a support member (Arm 45b of heat transfer plate 45) provided in the exterior casing and supports the imaging assembly wherein the heat sink is thermally connected to the support member and configured to transfer heat generated in the imaging assembly and transferred via the support member to the exterior casing (Arm 45b is connected to the heat transfer sheet 46 for heat transfer; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Nara discloses wherein a space is provided between the heat sink and the support member (Gap is provided between the arm 45b and heat transfer sheet 46; FIG. 3 annotated).
Regarding claim 5, Nara discloses wherein a surface of the heat sink facing an inner surface of the exterior casing has a shape following an inner surface of the exterior casing (Heat transfer plate 45 and casing 20 has similar inner surfaces because they interface each other.).
Regarding claim 6, Nara discloses: a support member provided in the exterior casing (Arm 45b of heat transfer plate 45; FIG. 3) and supports the imaging assembly (FIG. 3); and
a heat transfer member (transfer sheet 46) thermally connected to each of the support member (The heat is transferred from the imaging assembly to the sheet 46 via support member; Transfer sheet 46 is connected to the exterior casing by rear case 22; FIG. 3 ) and an inner surface of the exterior casing and configured to transfer heat generated in the imaging assembly and transferred via the support member to the exterior casing (Heat is transferred to the metal case 20 by heat transfer sheet 46 and case 22).
Regarding claim 7, Nara discloses wherein the heat transfer member (transfer sheet 46) is thermally connected to each of the support member (Heat is transferred to the sheet via arm 45b) and an inner surface of the exterior casing (Case 22 provides thermal connection between the sheet 46 and casing 20) at a position other than a fastening structure where the support member and the exterior casing are fastened (The fastening structure is away from a heat exchange interface between case 22 and case 20. FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Nara discloses wherein a recess that is recessed toward the inside and gripped by a user is provided on an outer surface of the exterior casing (FIG.3, annotated), and the fastening structure disposed to face a back surface of the recess (FIG. 3, annotated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nara (US 20190357760) in view of Kokubo (US 20110092769).
Regarding 9, Nara does not expressly disclose wherein the heat transfer member is made of a material having heat resistance capable of withstanding 1500C or higher.
Kokubo is directed to endoscope apparatus (abstract) and teaches wherein the heat transfer member is made of a material having heat resistance capable of withstanding 150 degree C or higher (Heat transfer member 50 made of metal; FIGS. 4-5; Para [0015], [0022], [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nara to include a metal as heat transfer member in accordance with teaching of Kokubo so that heat could be easily absorbed by metal heat transfer member and transferred to another heat absorber/transferrer.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nara (US 20190357760) in view of Jansen (US20170232828).
Regarding claim 10, Nara does not expressly disclose wherein the heat transfer member is made of a silicone-based foam material.
Jansen is directed to methods and systems are provided for an electric motor arrangement (abstract) and teaches wherein the heat transfer member is made of a silicone-based foam material (The thermal filler element may include one or more of a metal shim, silicone foam, silicone rubber, thermal paste, thermal grease, thermal epoxy, steel-silicone foam, or the like. Para [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nara to substitute the metal heat transfer member of Nara with silicone foam to provide light weight heat transfer material. It would have been obvious to substitute metal heat transfer member (metal) with silicone foam because silicone foam is one of the alternatives to metal to be used as heat transfer material (Para [0045] of Jansen).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO – 892.
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
01/09/26