DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on September 18, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that sufficient evidence has not been provided to support the assertation that the product of group I could be made by a method other than that of group II, such as by using a different cross-linking mechanism. This is not found persuasive because Applicant has not explained why the product could not be made using a different cross-linking mechanism. The instant specification states that the degree of anti-drip properties can be controlled by melt-kneading in the presence of either or both of a crosslinking agent or a crosslinking aid ([0062]) and states that when G’ is within the claimed range the crosslinking density is sufficiently high and the anti-drip properties are excellent ([0012]). This suggests that a G’ within the claimed range can be attained without an irradiation step. In addition, Petersen (CA-1276738-C) teaches a composition comprising a poly(arylene ether ketone) as the continuous phase and a substantially non-crystalline fluorocarbon polymer (page 2, last paragraph). Petersen teaches that the compositions may be crosslinked by suitable high energy ionizing radiation including gamma rays, X-rays, accelerating particle rays, neutron rays, and electron beams (page 15, paragraph 3), but Petersen also teaches that the compositions may be crosslinked by heat (page 15, last paragraph). Instant Group II requires ionizing radiation, but Petersen suggests that heat can be alternatively used to crosslink compositions of fluorine containing polymers and polyaryletherketones.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yagi (JP-2002265630-A, cite number 18 on the 2/06/2024 IDS, English translation provided).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Yagi discloses a co-crosslinked body of an engineering plastic and a fluororesin ([0014]). Yagi mixes the engineering plastic and fluororesin, then heats the mixture, and finally irradiates the mixture with ionizing radiation to obtain a co-crosslinked body ([0014-0017]). Yagi teaches irradiation in the range of 1 kGy to 10 MGy ([0016]). The engineering plastic can be polyether ether ketone (PEEK) with a melting point of 343 °C (claim 4) ([0015]), reading on the instant polyaryletherketone (instant [0037] and [0086]). Yagi teaches mixtures with 100 parts PEEK and 25 parts tetrafluoroethylene polymer (PTFE) (Examples 4-5, Table 1). These mixtures are heated and irradiated with γ-ray doses ([0019-0021]).
Yagi’s co-crosslinked body reads on a composition comprising: a fluorine-containing polymer (PTFE); and a polyaryletherketone (PEEK), wherein the fluorine-containing polymer is dispersed in the polyaryletherketone (PEEK is major component).
While Yagi is silent with respect to the storage elastic modulus G' of the composition at a melting point of PEEK, Yagi’s composition would necessarily have a G’ within the claimed range. Yagi teaches a substantially similar composition prepared in a substantially similar manner as the instant application. Like the instant examples, Yagi uses a PEEK with a melting point of 343 °C and a tetrafluoroethylene-based polymer (instant [0086]). Yagi teaches mixtures with 80% PEEK (100/(100+25)=0.8) and instant Examples 1-3 use 70-90% PEEK (instant Table 1). Both Yagi and the instant examples mix the mixture in an extruder and irradiate the composition with ionizing radiation ([0087-0088]). Instant Examples 1-3 have a G’ of 0.9-2.7 MPa measured at the melting point of the PEEK (instant Table 1). None of the examples that have both components and are irradiated (Examples 1-3) have G’ outside of the claimed range. Therefore, there is reasonable basis to conclude that the properties of the prior art composition are similar to those of instant Examples 1-3, including a G’ within the range of 0.1 MPa or more at a melting point of PEEK.
Regarding claim 5, Yagi discloses the composition according to claim 1. As discussed above, Yagi’s composition is substantially similar to the instant examples. Yagi’s Examples 4 and 5 are most similar to instant Example 2 because both instant Example 2 (instant Table 1) and Yagi have 80% PEEK and 20% fluoropolymer. Instant Example 2 does not have a heat deformation, indicating excellent heat resistance (instant [0091]). Therefore, there is reasonable basis to conclude that the properties of the prior art composition are similar to those of instant Example 2, including wherein, in a TMA curve measured in accordance with JIS K 7196 for a sample consisting of the composition, an absolute value of a sample deformation amount at the melting point of the PEEK is within the claimed 150 µm or less.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamada (JP-2015067645-A, cite number 17 on 2/06/2024 IDS, English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches a molded article formed by irradiating a coating film obtained by coating and drying a mixed resin composition with ionizing radiation ([0021]). The mixed resin composition contains a perfluoropolymer and an aromatic polyether ketone ([0014]). In example 2, Yamada exemplifies a composition of 20 parts polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) and 80 parts polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (Table 1 in [0120]). The composition of example 2 is irradiated with an electron beam of 16 MeV for an irradiation does of 60 kGy to obtain a resin-coating layer ([0112-0113]).
Yamada’s example 2 resin-coating layer reads on a composition comprising: a fluorine-containing polymer (PTFE); and a polyaryletherketone (PEEK), wherein the fluorine-containing polymer is dispersed in the polyaryletherketone.
While Yamada is silent with respect to the storage elastic modulus G' of the composition at a melting point of the PEEK, Yamada’s composition would necessarily have a G’ within the claimed range. Yamada’s composition is cross-linked and Yamada teaches a substantially similar composition prepared in a substantially similar manner as the instant application. Like the instant application, Yamada uses PEEK and a tetrafluoroethylene-based polymer (instant [0086]). Yamada teaches mixtures with 80% PEEK and the instant examples use 70-90% PEEK (instant Table 1). Both Yamada and the instant examples irradiate the composition with ionizing radiation from an electron beam ([0088]). The instant examples have a G’ of 0.9-2.7 MPa measured at the melting point of the PEEK (instant Table 1). None of the examples that have both components and are irradiated (Examples 1-3) have G’ outside of the claimed range. Therefore, there is reasonable basis to conclude that the properties of the prior art composition are similar to those of instant Examples 1-3, including a G’ within the claimed range of 0.1 MPa or more at a melting point of the PEEK.
In the alternative, one of ordinary skill would have understood how to adjust the degree of crosslinking in order to arrive at the claimed G’ based on Yamada’s disclosure. Yamada teaches irradiation doses in the range of 50-800 KGy ([0060]). Below this range, the formation of chemical bonds may be insufficient and sufficient abrasion resistance may not be obtained ([0060]). Above this range, decomposition of the resin may become excessive and the abrasion resistance may decrease ([0060]). Yamada further teaches that cross-linking aids can be used ([0048-0049]).
Based on the disclosure of Yamada, one of ordinary skill would recognize that increasing the irradiation dose leads to increased crosslinking and abrasion resistance, but that too much irradiation may lead to resin degradation and, consequently, decreased abrasion resistance. One would have further understood that cross-linking aids could be used to aid in cross-linking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the degree of cross-linking in order to optimize the abrasion resistance of the resin-coating layer. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Because all of the instant examples that have both components and are exposed to irradiation (Examples 1-3) have G’ within the claimed range, there is reasonable basis to conclude that Yamada’s resin-coating layer with an optimized degree of cross-linking necessarily includes resin-coating layers with a G' at a melting point of the PEEK within the claimed range of 0.1 MPa or more.
Regarding claim 5, Yamada discloses the composition according to claim 1. As discussed above, Yamada’s composition is substantially similar to the instant examples. Yamada’s composition is most similar to instant Example 2 because both instant Example 2 (instant Table 1) and Yamada have 80% PEEK and 20% fluoropolymer. Instant Example 2 does not have a heat deformation, indicating excellent heat resistance (instant [0091]). Therefore, there is reasonable basis to conclude that the properties of the prior art composition are similar to those of instant Example 2, including wherein, in a TMA curve measured in accordance with JIS K 7196 for a sample consisting of the composition, an absolute value of a sample deformation amount at the melting point of the PEEK is within the claimed 150 µm or less.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen (CA-1276738-C) in view of Yamada (JP-2015067645-A, cite number 17 on 2/06/2024 IDS, English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Petersen teaches a composition comprising a poly(arylene ether ketone) and a substantially non-crystalline fluorocarbon polymer (page 2, last paragraph). The poly(arylene ether ketone) is a continuous phase (page 2, last paragraph). The fluorocarbon polymer is a dispersed phase (page 3, first paragraph) and Petersen teaches compositions with 10%, 20%, 25%, and 30% fluorine-containing polymer (Petersen, page 18, paragraph 2). Petersen exemplifies PEEK as the poly(arylene ether ketone) component (page 17, paragraph 3) and a copolymer of propylene and tetrafluoroethylene as the fluorocarbon polymer (page 17, paragraph 3). The composition may be used in articles and coatings (page 16, paragraph 3). Petersen therefore teaches a composition comprising: a fluorine-containing polymer (copolymer of propylene and tetrafluoroethylene); and a polyaryletherketone (PEEK), wherein the fluorine-containing polymer is dispersed in the polyaryletherketone.
Petersen teaches crosslinking the composition by high energy ionizing radiation including gamma rays, X-rays, accelerating particle rays, neutron rays, and electron beams (page 15, paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to have crosslinked the composition using high energy ionizing radiation because Petersen teaches it.
Petersen does not anticipate the claimed storage elastic modulus G' of the composition at a melting point of the polyaryletherketone.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the degree of cross-linking was known as a result effective variable for controlling abrasion resistance. Yamada teaches a molded article formed by irradiating a coating film obtained by coating and drying a mixed resin composition with ionizing radiation ([0019]). The composition contains a perfluoropolymer and an aromatic polyether ketone ([0014]). Yamada teaches that irradiation doses of 50-800 KGy can be used ([0060]). Below this range, the formation of chemical bonds may be insufficient and sufficient abrasion resistance may not be obtained ([0060]). Above this range, decomposition of the resin may become excessive and the abrasion resistance may decrease ([0060]).
Based on the disclosure of Yamada, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that increasing the irradiation dose leads to increased crosslinking and abrasion resistance, but that too much irradiation may lead to resin degradation and, consequently, decreased abrasion resistance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the degree of cross-linking in order to optimize the abrasion resistance composition. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Because all of the instant examples with both components that are exposed to irradiation have the claimed G’ (Examples 1-3 in Table 1), there is reasonable basis to conclude that Petersen’s composition with an optimized degree of cross-linking obtained by irradiation necessarily includes compositions with a G' at a melting point of the PEEK within the claimed range of 0.1 MPa or more.
Regarding claim 2, Petersen teaches the composition according to claim 1 where the fluorine-containing polymer is substantially non-crystalline (page 2, last paragraph) and is an elastomer (table on page 19). Therefore, there is reasonable basis to conclude that the fluorine-containing polymer does not have a melting point.
Regarding claim 5, Petersen teaches the composition according to claim 1. As discussed above, Petersen teaches a composition with 20% fluorine-containing polymer treated with irradiation. This composition is most similar to instant Example 2 because both use 80% PEEK and 20% of a propylene and tetrafluoroethylene copolymer. Instant Example 2 does not have a heat deformation, indicating excellent heat resistance (instant [0091]). Therefore, there is reasonable basis to conclude that the properties of the prior art composition are similar to those of instant Example 2, including wherein, in a TMA curve measured in accordance with JIS K 7196 for a sample consisting of the composition, an absolute value of a sample deformation amount at the melting point of the polyaryletherketone is within the claimed 150 µm or less.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen (CA-1276738-C) in view of Yamada (JP-2015067645-A, cite number 17 on 2/06/2024 IDS, English translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abe (US 2020/0040173 A1).
Petersen teaches the composition according to claim 1 where the fluorine-containing polymer is a copolymer of propylene and tetrafluoroethylene.
Petersen does not teach the Mooney viscosity of the fluorine-containing polymer.
However, Abe teaches a suitable Mooney viscosity range. Abe teaches fluorinated copolymer compositions with fluorinated elastomers dispersed in thermoplastic resins (Abe, Abstract). Abe’s thermoplastic resins include PEEK (Abe, [0021]) and Abe’s fluorinated elastomers include copolymers of propylene and tetrafluoroethylene (Abe, [0031], [0034], and [0034]). Abe teaches that the Mooney viscosity (ML1+10, 121°C) of the fluorine-containing polymer is 20-200 (Abe, [0052]). Abe teaches that the later this value, the larger the molecular weight and the lower this value, the smaller the molecular weight (Abe, [0053]). Abe further teaches that when the Mooney viscosity is in the range of 20 to 200, the fluorinated copolymer composition will be excellent in mechanical properties and moldability. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have selected a copolymer of propylene and tetrafluoroethylene according to Petersen having a Mooney viscosity (ML1+10, 121°C) of 20-200 as taught by Abe in order to obtain a composition with excellent mechanical properties and moldability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen (CA-1276738-C) in view of Yamada (JP-2015067645-A, cite number 17 on 2/06/2024 IDS, English translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further evidenced by Kennedy (US 2008/0254313 A1).
The rejection of Peterson in view of Yamada from above is repeated, and applied here as such.
Petersen teaches the composition according to claim 1 where the polyaryletherketone is PEEK from Victrex (page 17, last paragraph). Petersen teaches that the melting point of the polyaryletherketone is above 320 °C (page 2, paragraph 3).
Petersen does not teach the specific melting point of PEEK from Victrex.
However, PEEK from Victrex has a melting point of 343 °C, as evidenced by Kennedy (Kennedy, [0029]).
Conclusion
/AUDRA J DESTEFANO/Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766