DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 6-11, 14-15, and 18-19 as amended in applicant’s response dated 27 January 2026 are presently under consideration. Claims 2-5, 12-13, and 16-17 are cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) of record as well as the objections to the drawings of record, which are all thus withdrawn.
Upon performing updated search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, new prior art was uncovered and new grounds of rejection is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Meyer et al (US 2014/0299182).
Regarding claims 1 and 11 Meyer discloses a back-contact solar cell and method for producing a back-contact solar cell, comprising:
providing a silicon substrate having a front surface and a back surface opposite to each other, and the silicon substrate is of a first doping type ([0030], Fig. 1a see: p-silicon-based wafer that forms a base 12);
forming on the back surface a first emitter ([0030], Fig. 1a see: emitter layer 14B on the back surface of the wafer), a first isolation region ([0030], Fig. 1a see: isolation region 23), a second isolation region ([0030], Fig. 1a see: isolated portion of emitter 14 between 23 and 20A), and a second emitter ([0030], Fig. 1a see: back surface field region 20A) sequentially disposed on the back surface along a first direction and all in direct contact with the back surface (see Fig. 1a),
wherein opposite sides of the first isolation region along the first direction are respectively in contact with the first emitter and the second isolation region ([0030], Fig. 1a see: isolation region 23 contacts emitter layer 14B and isolated portion of emitter 14 on to opposite sides along the first direction), and opposite sides of the second isolation region along the first direction are respectively in contact with the first isolation region and the second emitter (Fig. 1A see: opposite sides of isolated portion of emitter 14 contact isolation region 23 and back surface field region 20A in the first direction), the first emitter is of a second doping type ([0030], Fig. 1a see: emitter layer 14B is n-type), the first isolation region and the second emitter are of the first doping type ([0030], Fig. 1a see: isolation region 23 includes a back surface area of the p-silicon-based wafer and the back surface field region 20A is a heavily doped p-type region), the second isolation region is of the second doping type (of isolated portion of emitter 14 is n-type), and the first direction intersects a thickness direction of the silicon substrate (Fig. 1a see: first direction travels laterally to the thickness direction);
a first electrode in contact with the first emitter ([0030], Fig. 1a see: metallization 15 in passage 16 contacting emitter 14); and
a second electrode in contact with the second emitter ([0030], Fig. 1a see: metallization 20 contacting back surface field 20A), wherein the first isolation region is not in contact with the first electrode and the second electrode (see Fig. 1A where isolation region 23 does not contact 15 or 20), and wherein the second isolation region is not in contact with the first electrode (see Fig. 1A where isolated portion of emitter 14 does not contact 15).
Regarding claims 8 and 18 Meyer discloses the solar cell of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein a surface of the second isolation region away from the silicon substrate in the thickness direction has a flat topography (see Fig. 1A where the surface of isolated portion of emitter 14 facing away from the substrate 12 is illustrated flat).
Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11, 14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI et al (CN 216488083U, reference made to US 2024/0347660 as equivalent English translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 11 LI discloses a back-contact solar cell and method for producing a back-contact solar cell, comprising:
providing a silicon substrate having a front surface and a back surface opposite to each other, and the silicon substrate is of a first doping type ([0084], Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: n-type silicon substrate 10);
forming on the back surface a first emitter ([0084], Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: first doped layer 11 with first interface passivation layer 14), a first isolation region ([0084], [0056] Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: isolation trench area 1030 at back surface overlap region 103), a second isolation region ([0084], [0056] Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: second overlapping region 1032 of back surface overlap region 103), and a second emitter ([0084], Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: second doped layer 12 with second interface passivation layer 15) sequentially disposed on the back surface along a first direction and all in direct contact with the back surface (see Figs. 4 and 8-9),
wherein opposite sides of the first isolation region along the first direction are respectively in contact with the first emitter and the second isolation region ([0084], [0056] Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: isolation trench area 1030 at back surface overlap region 103 contacts layer 14 of the first emitter at one side and contacts second overlapping region 1032 at the opposite side), and opposite sides of the second isolation region along the first direction are respectively in contact with the first isolation region and the second emitter ([0084], [0056] Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: second overlapping region 1032 contacts isolation trench area 1030 at one side and second interface passivation layer 15 of the second emitter at the opposite side), the first emitter is of a second doping type ([0084], Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: first doped layer 11 is p-type), the first isolation region and the second emitter are of the first doping type ([0084], [0056] Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: isolation trench area 1030 at back surface overlap region 103 includes an n-type surface area of the substrate 10 and second doped layer 12 is n-type), the second isolation region is of the second doping type ([0084], [0056] Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: second overlapping region 1032 is an isolated portion of first doped layer 11 which is p-type), and the first direction intersects a thickness direction of the silicon substrate (Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: first direction orthogonally intersects the thickness direction);
a first electrode in contact with the first emitter ([0084], Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: first electrode 20); and
a second electrode in contact with the second emitter ([0084], Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: second electrode 21), wherein the first isolation region is not in contact with the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 4), and wherein the second isolation region is not in contact with the first electrode (Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 6 and 14 LI discloses the solar cell of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein the first emitter includes a tunnel oxide layer and a polysilicon layer, the tunnel oxide layer is disposed on the back surface of the silicon substrate, and the polysilicon layer is disposed on a surface of the tunnel oxide layer away from the silicon substrate, and the polysilicon layer is of the second doping type ([0084], [0087] Figs. 4 and 8-9 see: first doped layer 11 of p-type polycrystalline silicon with first interface passivation layer 14 of a tunnel oxide).
Regarding claims 8 and 18 LI discloses the solar cell of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein a surface of the second isolation region away from the silicon substrate in the thickness direction has a flat topography (see Fig. 4 where the surface of isolated portion of first doped layer 11 in overlapping region 1032 facing away from the substrate 10 is illustrated flat).
Regarding claims 9 and 19 LI discloses the solar cell of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, and LI discloses further comprising a first passivation layer and an anti-reflection layer, wherein the first passivation layer and the anti-reflection layer are successively disposed on the front surface of the silicon substrate in the thickness direction ([0102], [0106] Fig. 4 see: second surface passivation layer 17 on the second surface where an anti-reflection layer (not illustrated) can further be provided over passivation layer 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al (US 2014/0299182) as applied to claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of De Ceuster et al (US 2011/0059571).
Regarding claims 6 and 14 Meyer discloses the solar cell of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, but Meyer does not explicitly disclose wherein the first emitter includes a tunnel oxide layer and a polysilicon layer, the tunnel oxide layer is disposed on the back surface of the silicon substrate, and the polysilicon layer is disposed on a surface of the tunnel oxide layer away from the silicon substrate, and the polysilicon layer is of the second doping type.
De Ceuster teaches a solar cell where the first emitter includes a tunnel oxide layer and a polysilicon layer, the tunnel oxide layer is disposed on the back surface of the silicon substrate, and the polysilicon layer is disposed on a surface of the tunnel oxide layer away from the silicon substrate, and the polysilicon layer is of the second doping type (De Ceuster, [0031]-[0033], Fig. 2 see: p-type polysilicon layer 101 (second doping type relative to the n-type substrate) disposed on dielectric layer 113). De Ceuster teaches this provides for a lower reverse breakdown voltage and increased efficiency (De Ceuster, [0008], [0056]).
De Ceuster and Meyer are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell and method of manufacture thereof of Meyer in view of De Ceuster such that the first emitter of Meyer includes a tunnel oxide layer and a polysilicon layer, the tunnel oxide layer is disposed on the back surface of the silicon substrate, and the polysilicon layer is disposed on a surface of the tunnel oxide layer away from the silicon substrate, and the polysilicon layer is of the second doping type as taught by De Ceuster (De Ceuster, [0031]-[0033], Fig. 2 see: p-type polysilicon layer 101 (second doping type relative to the n-type substrate) disposed on dielectric layer 113) as De Ceuster teaches this provides for a lower reverse breakdown voltage and increased efficiency compared to diffused emitters (De Ceuster, [0008], [0056]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 Meyer discloses the solar cell of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first isolation region has a pyramidal texture or wherein the first isolation region has a pyramidal texture, wherein a manner of forming the pyramid texture includes using an alkali solution to etch a surface of the first isolation region away from the silicon substrate.
De Ceuster teaches a solar cell and method of manufacturing thereof where a first isolation region has a pyramidal texture and wherein the pyramidal texture, is formed using an alkali solution to etch a surface of the first isolation region away from the silicon substrate (De Ceuster, [0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-2 see: trench 104 serving as a gap (isolation) between doped regions 101, 102 includes a texture surface 114 of random pyramids formed by wet etch process comprising potassium hydroxide and isopropyl alcohol). De Ceuster teaches this improves solar radiation collection of light incident on the back of the solar cell in a bifacial configuration (para [0036]).
De Ceuster and Meyer are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell and method of manufacture thereof of Meyer in view of De Ceuster such that the first isolation region of Meyer has a pyramidal texture and wherein the pyramidal texture, is formed using an alkali solution to etch a surface of the first isolation region away from the silicon substrate as in De Ceuster (De Ceuster, [0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-2 see: trench 104 serving as a gap (isolation) between doped regions 101, 102 includes a texture surface 114 of random pyramids formed by wet etch process comprising potassium hydroxide and isopropyl alcohol) in an embodiment where light also impinges on the back surface of the substrate of Meyer as De Ceuster teaches this texturing improves solar radiation collection of light incident on the back of the solar cell in a bifacial configuration (para [0036]).
Claims 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al (US 2014/0299182) as applied to claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of JI et al (US 2011/0056545).
Regarding claims 9 and 19 Meyer discloses the solar cell of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, and although Meyer discloses an antireflection layer 22 (para [0030] Fig. 1A) on the front surface of the substrate, Meyer does not explicitly disclose further comprising a first passivation layer and the anti-reflection layer, wherein the first passivation layer and the anti-reflection layer are successively disposed on the front surface of the silicon substrate in the thickness direction.
JI teaches a solar cell comprising a first passivation layer and an anti-reflection layer, wherein the first passivation layer and the anti-reflection layer are successively disposed on the front surface of the silicon substrate in the thickness direction (JI, [0050], [0053]-[0057], Fig. 2 see: passivation layer 191 and Front surface field (FSF) region 171 disposed on front surface of substrate 110 to provide passivation and further including anti-reflection layer 130 on the FSF region 171). JI teaches this provides reduced reflection and recombination at the surface of the solar cell to improve efficiency (JI, [0056]-[0057]).
JI and Meyer are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell and method of manufacture thereof of Meyer in view of JI such that the solar cell further comprises a first passivation layer and an anti-reflection layer, wherein the first passivation layer and the anti-reflection layer are successively disposed on the front surface of the silicon substrate in the thickness direction as in JI (JI, [0050], [0053]-[0057], Fig. 2 see: passivation layer 191 and Front surface field (FSF) region 171 disposed on front surface of substrate 110 to provide passivation and further including anti-reflection layer 130 on the FSF region 171) as JI teaches this provides reduced reflection and recombination at the surface of the solar cell to improve efficiency (JI, [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 10 modified Meyer discloses the solar cell of claim 9, and JI further teaches wherein the first passivation layer includes a chemical passivation layer and a field passivation layer, wherein the chemical passivation layer is disposed on the front surface of the silicon substrate (JI, [0050], [0053], Fig. 2 see: front passivation layer 191 on front surface of substrate 110), the field passivation layer is disposed on a surface of the chemical passivation layer away from the silicon substrate (JI, [0050], [0054]-[0055], Fig. 2 see: Front surface field (FSF) region 171 disposed on top of passivation layer 191).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al (CN 216488083U, reference made to US 2024/0347660 as equivalent English translation) as applied to claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11, 14, and 18-19 above, and further in view of De Ceuster et al (US 2011/0059571).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 LI discloses the solar cell of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, and while LI discloses the first isolation region can be textured (para [0104]) LI does not explicitly disclose wherein the first isolation region has a pyramidal texture or wherein the first isolation region has a pyramidal texture, wherein a manner of forming the pyramid texture includes using an alkali solution to etch a surface of the first isolation region away from the silicon substrate.
De Ceuster teaches a solar cell and method of manufacturing thereof where a first isolation region has a pyramidal texture and wherein the pyramidal texture, is formed using an alkali solution to etch a surface of the first isolation region away from the silicon substrate (De Ceuster, [0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-2 see: trench 104 serving as a gap (isolation) between doped regions 101, 102 includes a texture surface 114 of random pyramids formed by wet etch process comprising potassium hydroxide and isopropyl alcohol). De Ceuster teaches this improves solar radiation collection of light incident on the back of the solar cell in a bifacial configuration (para [0036]).
De Ceuster and LI are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell and method of manufacture thereof of LI in view of De Ceuster such that the first isolation region of LI has a pyramidal texture and wherein the pyramidal texture, is formed using an alkali solution to etch a surface of the first isolation region away from the silicon substrate as in De Ceuster (De Ceuster, [0034]-[0036], Figs. 1-2 see: trench 104 serving as a gap (isolation) between doped regions 101, 102 includes a texture surface 114 of random pyramids formed by wet etch process comprising potassium hydroxide and isopropyl alcohol) in an embodiment where light also impinges on the back surface of the substrate of LI as De Ceuster teaches this texturing improves solar radiation collection of light incident on the back of the solar cell in a bifacial configuration (para [0036]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al (CN 216488083U, reference made to US 2024/0347660 as equivalent English translation) as applied to claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11, 14, and 18-19 above, and further in view of JI et al (US 2011/0056545)
Regarding claim 10 LI discloses the solar cell of claim 9, wherein the first passivation layer includes a chemical passivation layer (LI, [0103] see: the material of the second surface passivation layer 17 may be one or more of silicon nitride, silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, aluminum oxide, silicon carbide, and amorphous silicon) but does not explicitly further disclose a field passivation layer, wherein the chemical passivation layer is disposed on the front surface of the silicon substrate, the field passivation layer is disposed on a surface of the chemical passivation layer away from the silicon substrate.
JI teaches a solar cell comprising a first passivation layer having a chemical passivation layer and a field passivation layer, wherein the chemical passivation layer is disposed on the front surface of the silicon substrate, the field passivation layer is disposed on a surface of the chemical passivation layer away from the silicon substrate (JI, [0050], [0053]-[0057], Fig. 2 see: passivation layer 191 disposed on front surface of substrate 110 and Front surface field (FSF) region 171 disposed on top of passivation layer 191). JI teaches this provides reduced recombination at the surface of the solar cell to improve efficiency (JI, [0056]-[0057]).
JI and LI are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell and method of manufacture thereof of LI to comprise a first passivation layer having a chemical passivation layer and a field passivation layer, wherein the chemical passivation layer is disposed on the front surface of the silicon substrate, the field passivation layer is disposed on a surface of the chemical passivation layer away from the silicon substrate as in JI (JI, [0050], [0053]-[0057], Fig. 2 see: passivation layer 191 disposed on front surface of substrate 110 and Front surface field (FSF) region 171 disposed on top of passivation layer 191) as JI teaches this provides reduced recombination at the surface of the solar cell to improve efficiency (JI, [0056]-[0057]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-11, 14-15, and 18-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huang et al (TW 201304155 A, see attached English machine translation)
Jang et al (US 2011/0041906)
Kang et al (US 2010/0218818)
KO et al (US 2010/0258177)
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726