DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoshina et al. (WO 2018/020668), machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Hoshina discloses an electrode and nonaqueous electrolyte battery comprising:
an electrode active substance Na-containing niobium titanium complex oxide (abstract); and a conductive agent (para 0039).
The active material has a maximum logarithmic differential pore volume peak greater than 100 nm and less than 300 nm (Fig. 1). The conductive agent is preferably graphite and carbon nanofiber (para 0039). Figure 1 to Hoshina is provided below.
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 2020/0203730).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses an electrode and nonaqueous electrolyte battery comprising:
negative electrode active material including titanium-containing composite oxides (para 0041); and
carbon material including carbon fibers (para 0044).
The active material has a maximum logarithmic differential pore volume peak of 250 nm (Fig. 4; para 0107). Figure 4 to Watanabe is provided below.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe discloses a pore volume of less than 0.15 mL/g (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses Nb2TiO7 (para 0220).
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe discloses a positive electrode (para 0183), a negative electrode (para 0193), and electrolyte (para 0198).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina et al. (WO 2018/020668) in view of Kusama et al. (US 2021/0083268).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Hoshina teaches a preferred aspect ratio of 50 or more (para 0039); however, Hoshina is silent as to the express dimensions.
Kusama, directed to an electrode and secondary battery, also teaches carbon fiber with a ratio of 50 or more, and a thickness (diameter) of 1 nm to 200 nm and a length of 5 to 50 µm (para 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to turn to the prior art for an express teaching for the length and thickness of the carbon fibers used for the same with the same aspect ratio.
Regarding claim 10, Kusama further teaches a battery pack (para 0002).
Regarding claim 11, Kusama teaches external connections (para 0141) and protective circuit (para 0144).
Regarding claim 12, Kusama teaches a plurality of batteries in series and/or parallel (para 0151).
Regarding claim 13, Kusama further teaches a vehicle (para 0002).
Regarding claim 14, Kusama teaches regenerative energy of motive force of vehicles (para 0145).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not expressly teach a total pore surface area and median diameter. The closest prior art teaching these limitations is Kusama et al. (US 2021/0083268); however, Kusama fails to teach the pore diameter PD at the peak is greater than 100 nm and less than 300 nm. Instead, Kusama teaches the pore diameter PD at the peak is 0.01 µm to 0.1 µm (abstract).
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723