DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/5/2024, and 6/3/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DOUBLE TANK IMMERSED COOLED BATTERY MODULE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230293920 A1, KWON et al.
Regarding claim 1. KWON discloses in the annotated figure depicted below an immersed cooled battery module comprising:
[0039] a battery tank called a battery rack (10) including an outer tank called a support frame (257) and an inner tank called a water tank frame (210),
the inner tank (210) is arranged in the outer tank (257), and the inner tank (210) has an opening connecting to the inner tank and the outer tank;
[0046] a plurality of battery cells (110) arranged in the inner tank; and
a modular panel depicted in the annotated figure is installed on one side of the outer tank (210),
the modular panel depicted in the annotated figure has a liquid inlet called a sprinkler (450) and a liquid outlet depicted in the annotated figure that the water flows over,
the liquid inlet (450) is connected to the inner tank,
the liquid outlet overflow is connected to the outer tank, and
a coolant enters the inner tank from the liquid inlet (450), then overflows to the outer tank through the opening (on top of tank), and
finally discharges from the liquid outlet (over the top of tank) to complete circulation of the coolant.
Regarding claim 2. KWON discloses the immersed cooled battery module according to claim 1, wherein KWON figure 6 discloses that there are multiple battery tanks connected in series (overflows from top to bottom) and the liquid outlet (top overflow) of the modular panel (tank wall) on one of the two adjacent battery tanks is connected to the liquid inlet (top opening) of the modular panel (tank wall) on another of the two adjacent battery tanks.
Regarding claim 4. KWON discloses the immersed cooled battery module according to claim 1, wherein in the annotated figure depicted below discloses there are multiple battery tanks connected in parallel, the liquid inlets of the modular panels on the battery tanks are connected together, and the liquid outlets of the modular panels on the battery tanks are connected together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230293920 A1, KWON et al. in view of US 20170338527 A1, WALTON et al.
Regarding claim 3. KWON discloses the immersed cooled battery module according to claim 2,
KWON does not disclose a connection pipeline on an outer side of the outer tank, and the liquid outlet of the modular panel on one of the two adjacent battery tanks is connected to the liquid inlet of the modular panel on another of the two adjacent battery tanks through the connection pipeline.
WALTON [title] discloses A THERMAL MALFUNCTION DETECTOR FOR ELECTRIC VEHICLE
WALTON discloses in the annotated figure depicted below a connection pipeline on an outer side of the tank, and the liquid outlet of the modular panel on one of the two adjacent battery tanks is connected to the liquid inlet of the modular panel on another of the two adjacent battery tanks through the connection pipeline.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used pipes to have the tanks connected. Pipelines are well known in the art and a person of ordinary skill would connect the inner and outer tanks disclosed by KWON with the pipes disclosed by WALTON with a minimum amount of experimentation.
Regarding claim 5. KWON discloses the immersed cooled battery module according to claim 4,
KWON does not discloses disclose two connection pipelines on an outer side of the outer tank, one of the connection pipelines is connected to the liquid inlets of the modular panels on the battery tanks, and another of the connection pipelines is connected to the liquid outlets of the modular panels on the battery tanks.
WALTON discloses in the annotated figure depicted below two connection pipelines on an outer side of the tank, one of the connection pipelines is connected to the liquid inlets of the modular panels on the battery tanks, and another of the connection pipelines is connected to the liquid outlets of the modular panels on the battery tanks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used pipes to have the tanks connected. Pipelines are well known in the art and a person of ordinary skill would connect the inner and outer tanks disclosed by KWON with the pipes disclosed by WALTON with a minimum amount of experimentation.
Regarding claim 6. KWON discloses the immersed cooled battery module according to claim 1,
KWON does not disclose a pump on an outer side of the outer tank and the pump is connected to the liquid inlet and the liquid outlet and configured to promote the circulation of the coolant.
WALTON [0019] and figure 1 discloses a pump (118) on an outer side of the outer tank and the pump is connected to the liquid inlet and the liquid outlet and configured to promote the circulation of the coolant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the pump disclosed by WALTON in the battery module disclosed by KWON in order to move coolant from one tank to another. The use of a pump to move liquid coolant is well know in the art and therefore obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9379419 B2, KROLAK, Matthew.
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727