Election/Restrictions
Examiner agrees to rejoin product claims 1-6 for examination along with elected process Claims 7-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsotsis (US 2018/0169930) in view of Miller (WO 2022/150727).
Regarding Claims 1-3, Tsotsis (US’930) teaches a reinforced fabric for prepregs, comprising: one or more of a modified veil layer that comprises a nonwoven veil carrier coated with particles, including ceramic particles [0036,0043]; and one or more of a fabric layer abutting a surface of the modified veil layer to form a reinforced fabric (Claim 9; [0007,0014-0015]) that is configured to be (i.e. capable of being) incorporated into a prepreg [0003-0005]. The veil, comprising thermoplastic fabric [0036-0037], is necessarily decomposable under at least some set of conditions (e.g. high heat, acid).
US’930 fails to teach that the ceramic particles with which the nonwoven veil carrier is coated comprise ultrahigh-temperature particles. Miller (WO’727) is analogous art in the field of producing composite structures incorporating nonwoven veils, and suggests intumescent nonwoven veils to add fire resistance to a composite, including for environments with extremely high temperatures (Abstract). In particular, WO’727 suggests incorporating ultrahigh temperature ceramic particles (e.g. carbides of halfnium, tantalum, and niobium; borides of hafnium, zirconium; nitrides of hafnium and titanium) in a fabric to increase fire resistance [0059]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the reinforced fabric of US’930 by incorporating ultrahigh temperature ceramic particles, because US’930 suggests coating a nonwoven carrier with ceramic particles and WO’727 suggests both that there are foreseeable uses of composites in extremely hot environments and that ultrahigh temperature ceramic particles, including hafnium carbide, can be used to lend fire resistance to fabrics used in composites.
Regarding Claim 4, US’930 teaches that the nonwoven veil carrier comprises a thermoplastic nonwoven veil [0017].
Regarding Claim 5, US’930 teaches that a reinforced fabric can include more than one veil layer, and a veil includes a nonwoven fabric [0041,0017]. Because the veil-stabilized fabric portion, comprising a combination of any included veils and a unidirectional fabric to which the veils are attached, is immersed in a resin bath to coat the veil-stabilized fabric portion [0043], it would have been expected that one nonwoven veil fabric between another nonwoven veil fabric and the unidirectional fabric would be coated along with any other components of the veil-stabilized fabric portion.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of US’930 in view of WO’727 fails to teach multiple coatings. However, it would have been obvious to include two or more coatings comprising ultrahigh-temperature particles as a prima facie obvious duplication of steps (see MPEP 2144.04.VI.B) and because it would have been obvious to repeat the immersion in a resin bath as many times as necessary to achieve a desired level of impregnation.
Regarding Claim 21, the limitation “wherein the nonwoven veil layer is pretreated with an electrical charge” is an aspect of a process of making the claimed product (the claimed product need not have an electrical charge) and is not given patentable weight for the claimed product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 and 13-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of US’930 in view of WO’727 fails to teach or fairly suggest submerging the nonwoven veil carrier in more than one coating solutions and rinsing the nonwoven veil carrier in at least one rinse bath in between submerging the nonwoven veil carrier in each of the more than one coating solutions.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of US’930 in view of WO’727 fails to teach or fairly suggest either decomposing the nonwoven veil carrier or the combination of decomposing the nonwoven veil carrier and embedding ultrahigh-temperature particles into the fabric layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 24 April 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 7-10 and 14-15 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and overcome the previous rejections under this paragraph. The rejections of Claims 7-10 and 14-15 under 35 USC 103 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 24 April 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-6 and 21 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument concerning Claim 1 that neither US’930 nor WO’727 teaches or suggests decomposing the nonwoven veil carrier (Remarks, pp. 5-6), Claims 1-6 and 21 are drawn to a product and do not require a step of decomposing, only that the veil be decomposable, which it is, since it is made of thermoplastics. Moreover, it is not apparent what veil material would not be decomposable under at least some set of conditions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Duggal (US 2017/0174298) (coatings applied to a nonwoven substrate by charging the substrate and dipping/rinsing multiple times)
Yang et al. (CN108395266A) (woven prepreg veil with ultrahigh temperature particles)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712