DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on application EP 23305272 A filed 3/2/2023. However, in view of the failed attempt by the Office to electronically retrieve the application on 8/2/2024, it is noted that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the European application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract begins with “A power supply system for arc furnace is described. The power supply system includes…” and should be “A power supply system for an arc furnace ” since this can be inferred from the remainder of the abstract.
The title of the invention “ARC FURNACLE FACILITY” is not descriptive of the claimed invention, and seems to have an informality (“furnacle”). A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “POWER SUPPLY SYSTEM FOR AN ARC FURNACE”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: recitations of “courant” should be “current”; para. 0116 recites “The input module 26” and should be “The input module 36” since 26 was earlier assigned to the first bus in para. 0090. Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities: recitations of “courant” should be “current”; “third connecting nodes” should be “third connecting node”, “at least diode” should be “at least one diode”, “an command circuit input” should be “a command circuit input”. “sixth connecting nodes” should be “sixth connecting node”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
“the arc furnace” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Claim 1 should recite “A power supply system for an arc furnace, comprising…”
“the supply grid”/“the said phase of the supply grid” lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and in view of the well-understood practice of selectively connecting to the different phases of conventional single/three/poly phase electrical grids, the claim will be interpreted as broadly reciting “…each input module being connected to the first bus and the second bus and being intended to be connected to a different phase of the polyphase supply grid to supply the link circuit with a continuous voltage from the [[said phase of the]]polyphase supply grid…”;”…the first mid-connecting node being intended to be connected to the [[said phase of the]]polyphase supply grid..”
“the circuit link” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and should be “the link circuit ”
recitations of “…connected in series”/“two switches”/”two switching units”/”the third connecting node of each input module being connected together” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which of the plurality of switches/units/nodes/modules is being referred to in these instances. Examiner will interpret the claims as referring to a three phase system, wherein each input module connected to each phase thereof is configured as seen in figs. 1-2 [switches 56-59, switching units 73, and similarly arranged input modules 36, 37, 38]. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth switch/unit, etc.].
“the first and second connecting points”/”first connecting point”/”second connecting point” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as the first and second connecting nodes
“the output modules” lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and in view figs. 3, 7-10 and paras. 0144-0173, the claim will be interpreted as referring to output modules 44, 45, 46 of the output device 28 shown in fig. 1.
Claims 2-15 are also rejected due to dependence on claim 1.
Claim 2:
recitations of “…connected in series”/“the switching units”/”two switching units”/”the first compensating module”/ ”the first compensating unit”/ ”the second compensating module”/” ”the first and second compensating unit””/”the third connecting node of each input module being connected together”/”the control circuit” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which of the plurality of switches/units/nodes/modules is being referred to in these instances [Examiner notes some limitations lack sufficient antecedent basis]. Examiner will interpret the claims as referring to a three phase system, wherein each input module connected to each phase thereof, is configured as seen in fig. 10 [paras. 0236-0246]. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth switch/unit, etc.].
Claim 4:
recitations of “the diodes”/”the diode” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which of the “at least diode” of each switch is being referred to in these instances. Examiner will interpret the claim as describing a well-understood practice in the art, wherein an electronic switch may comprise conventional passive/active semiconductor structures such as diodes, transistors, and thyristors, arranged in parallel or in series, or some combination thereof [e.g., regulating voltage/current so as to protect a switching element when activating/deactivating], as can be deduced from instant figs. 4-6 [paras. 0174-0192] and applied to the input modules of fig. 2. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth diodes, etc.].
Claims 5-6 are also rejected due to dependence on claim 4.
Claim 5:
recitations of “the anode of the gate turn off thyristor”/“the cathode of the diode”/“the cathode of the a gate turn off thyristor”/“the anode of the diode”/“the gate of the gate turn off thyristor” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which diode/anode/cathode is being referred to in these instances. Examiner will interpret the claim as describing the conventional arrangement of a thyristor as a controllable switching element connected to a diode of claim 4. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth anode/cathode/diode/thyristor, etc.].
Claim 6:
recitations of “the drain of the transistor”/“the cathode of the diode”/“the source of the transistor”/“the anode of the diode”/“the gate of the transistor” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which drain/cathode/anode/diode/source is being referred to in these instances. Examiner will interpret the claim as describing the conventional arrangement of a transistor as a controllable switching element connected to a diode of claim 4. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth drain/gate/anode/cathode/diode/transistor, etc.].
Claim 7:
recitations of “the first end”/”the energy storage device”/”the second end”/”the first connection”/”the second connection” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which end of the plural switches/units/nodes/modules is being referred to in these instances [Examiner notes some limitations lack sufficient antecedent basis]. Examiner will interpret the claim as describing a well-understood practice in the art, wherein an electronic switch, a conventional a semiconductor switch including input, output, and control pins, may comprise conventional passive/active semiconductor structures such as diodes, transistors, thyristors, and capacitors, arranged in parallel or in series, or some combination thereof [e.g., regulating voltage/current so as to protect a switching element when activating/deactivating], as can be deduced from instant fig. 7 [paras. 0193-204] and applied to the input modules of fig. 2. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth switch ends/capacitor ends, etc.].
Claim 8:
recitations of “the first end”/”the energy storage device”/”the second end”/”the first connection”/”the second connection”/”the switching unit” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which end of the plural switches/units/nodes/modules is being referred to in these instances [Examiner notes some limitations lack sufficient antecedent basis]. Examiner will interpret the claim as describing a well-understood practice in the art, wherein an electronic switch, a conventional a semiconductor switch including input, output, and control pins, may comprise conventional passive/active semiconductor structures such as diodes, transistors, thyristors, and capacitors, arranged in parallel or in series, or some combination thereof [e.g., regulating voltage/current so as to protect a switching element when activating/deactivating], as can be deduced from instant fig. 8 [paras. 0205-219] and applied to the input modules of fig. 2. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth switch ends/capacitor ends, etc.].
Claim 9 [Examiner notes the similar circuit structure between legs (i.e., circuit portions) of input modules [fig. 2, fig. 10] and legs of output modules [fig. 3, fig. 9]:
recitations of “…connected in series”/“two second switches”/”two second switching units”/”the sixth connecting node of each output module being connected together” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which of the plurality of switches/units/nodes/modules is being referred to in these instances. Examiner will interpret the claims as referring to a three phase system, wherein each input module connected to each phase thereof is configured as seen in figs. 1-2 [switches 56-59, switching units 73, and similarly arranged input modules 36, 37, 38]. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth switch/unit, etc.].
“the fourth connecting point”/”the fifth connecting point” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as the fourth and fifth connecting nodes
Claims 10-11 are also rejected due to dependence on claim 9, and also for the same reasons as similarly structured claims 4-6.
Claim 12 [Examiner notes the similar claim structure with claim 9]:
recitations of “…connected in series”/“two second switches”/”two second switching units”/”the third mid-connecting node between two second switching units” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which of the plurality of switches/units/nodes/modules is being referred to in these instances. Examiner will interpret the claims as referring to a three phase system, wherein each output module connected to each phase thereof is configured as seen in fig. 1. Examiner recommends the claim be amended so as to refer to explicitly named switches/units, nodes, modules, etc. [e.g., a first/second/third/fourth switch/unit, etc.].
Claim 13:
recitations of “an arc furnace”/”at least one electrode”/”a power supply system” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if these are intended to be distinct from the arc furnace, electrode, and power supply system recited in claim 1. The claim will be interpreted as reciting “An [[Arc]]arc furnace facility comprising[[, an]]the arc furnace including the at least one electrode, and [[a]] power supply system of claim 1, wherein the electrode is connected to at least one phase of the secondary circuit of the polyphase transformer”
Claims 13-15 are also rejected due to dependence on claim 13.
Claim Interpretation
“rejections in the grid” is used by the claims to indicate conventional structure known in the art, [i.e., a well-understood feature of conventional capacitors; para. 0278: “The energy storage devices 29a, 29b of filtering module 29 and the second energy storages 117 of the power converter 9 act as energy buffers to compensate the power fluctuation of the arc furnace 2, 100 so that the courant and the voltage delivered by the grid G is stabilized to reduce rejections in the grid G.”]
“second energy storage device” is used by the claim to indicate conventional structure known in the art [i.e., energy storage devices, e.g., capacitors; para. 0278]
“command circuit” is used by the claims to indicate conventional structure known in the art [i.e., a controller; para. 0113: “The command circuit 11 may comprise a processing unit and is intended to command the input and output devices 24, 28 to supply the electrodes 2a, 2b, 2c and to limit the rejection of perturbations generated by the arc furnace 2 on the grid G.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horger (US 20110176575 A1) in view of Zhang (US 20140092661 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (see instant figs. 1-3 and 9-10),
Horger discloses:
A power supply system for arc furnace [fig. 1: polyphase arc furnace 1], comprising:
a power converter [indirect converter 5 having rectifier 6 on a mains side and inverter 7 on the transformer side] intended to be connected to a polyphase supply grid [polyphase mains system 3], and
a polyphase transformer [furnace transformer 4] comprising
a primary circuit connected to the power converter [see fig. 1 showing circuitry connecting transformer 4 to indirect converter 5] and
a secondary circuit intended to be connected to at least one electrode of the arc furnace [see fig. 1 showing circuitry connecting to electrodes 2], wherein:
the power converter comprises
an input device [rectifier 6, converter elements 11],
a link circuit comprising a first bus and a second bus [link circuit 8 comprising connecting lines 9; para. 0029], and
an output device [inverter 7, converter elements 12], wherein:
the input device comprises a plurality of input modules [12], each input module being connected to the first bus and the second bus and being intended to be connected to a different phase of the supply grid to supply the link circuit with a continuous voltage from the said phase of the supply grid [see fig. 1; paras. 0018-45],
the output device being connected to the first bus and second bus and to the primary circuit to supply the transformer with an alternative voltage from the circuit link [see fig. 1, showing inverter 7, supplied by connecting lines 9, outputting to transformer 4],
wherein each input module comprises:
a leg, the leg comprising:
a first string connected to the first and second bus [see fig. 1 showing circuitry of rectifier 6, specifically elements 11 connecting to lines 9] and comprising
a plurality of switches connected in series [elements may consist of a series of submodules 13 comprising switches 15; fig. 5; para. 0030],
a first connecting node situated between two switches, a second connecting node situated between two switches and a third connecting nodes situated between two switches [Horger shows these broad conventional circuit portions; fig. 1], and
a second string [see fig. 1 showing circuitry of rectifier 6, specifically elements 11 connecting to supply grid 3] comprising:
a first mid-connecting node, a plurality of switching units connected in series and extending between the first and second connecting points [Horger shows these broad conventional circuit portions, e.g., elements 11 comprised of switches 15; figs. 1-5],
the first mid-connecting node being intended to be connected to the said phase of the supply grid, the third connecting node of each input module being connected together [Horger shows these broad conventional circuit portions, e.g., nodes of elements 11 connected to grid 3; figs. 1-5],
the power supply system further comprises a command circuit configured to command the switches, the switching units, and the output modules to supply the electrode and to stabilize the courant and the voltage delivered by the grid when the electrode of the arc furnace is supplied by the power supply system to reduce rejections in the grid [control device 16, configured to control semiconductor switches, thus capable of controlling switches so as to reduce rejections in the grid; para. 0041: “The semiconductor switches 22 in the further submodules 20 are operated by the control device 16 such that reactions, which go beyond the balanced load on the phases of the polyphase mains system 3 with real power, on the phases of the polyphase arc furnace 1 on the polyphase mains system 3 are minimized.”].
However, Horger does not disclose wherein each input module comprises the first mid-connecting node being between two switching units so that the number of switching units between the first connecting point and the first mid-connecting node is equal to the number of switching units between the second connecting point and the first mid-connecting node.
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an improved power converter [para. 0026: “In accordance with aspects of the present disclosure, a power converter that circumvents the shortcomings of the conventional MMC is presented.”], teaches an input module comprising the first mid-connecting node being between two switching units so that the number of switching units between the first connecting point and the first mid-connecting node is equal to the number of switching units between the second connecting point and the first mid-connecting node [see fig. 3 showing the circuit topology above, with regards to instant fig. 3].
Therefore, since test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references, but rather what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art [see In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981)], it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA combine the teachings of Zhang with Horger so as to arrive at instant claim 1, e.g., by including the circuit topology of Zhang in the power supply system of Horger, with a reasonable expectation of success, so as to circumvent shortcomings of conventional modular multilevel converter topologies [Zhang, para. 0026].
Regarding claim 2 (see instant fig. 10), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 1.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein the leg further comprises two compensating modules, each compensating module comprising a first end and a plurality of switching units connected in series, the switching units of the first compensating module extending between the first connecting node and the first end of the first compensating unit, the switching units of the second compensating module extending between the second connecting node and the first end of the second compensating module, the first ends of the first and second compensating units being connected together, the control circuit being further configured to control the switching units of the compensating modules.
In this case, in view of Horger disclosing the common practice of comprising a switch/switching unit/module may comprise at least two switches [para. 0011: “According to a further embodiment, the number of semiconductor switches per submodule can be two.”], and Zhang teaching the circuit topology described in instant claim 2, with regards to instant fig. 10 showing second string 49, modules 133/134 with switches 73 [see Zhang fig. 3, at least showing a second string 304 and nodes 310/318/312], it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to further modify the power supply system of Horger and Zhang so as to arrive at instant claim 2, at least since selecting a given number of switches/current paths would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., as mere duplication of essential working parts of a device (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.), in order to, e.g., maintain a balanced load [Horger, para. 0020: “The semiconductor switches in the converter elements are operated such that reactions, which go beyond the balanced load on the phases of the polyphase mains system with real power, of the phases of the polyphase arc furnace on the polyphase mains system are minimized.”; Zhang, para. 0046: “Also, the controller may be configured to balance and regulate energy stored in the second string 604 during a line cycle.”]
Regarding claim 3 (see instant fig. 1: 25), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 1.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein the link circuit further comprises a filtering module including two second energy storage devices connected in series and extending between the first and the second bus, a midpoint between the two second energy storage devices being connected to the third connecting node of each input module.
In this case, it would have been obvious to further modify the power supply system of claim 1 so as to arrive at claim 3, since both Horger and Zhang disclose including this conventional circuit providing its well-understood benefit(s) [Horger, para. 0029: “In this case, alternatively, a central backup storage capacitor can be arranged in the link circuit 8”; Zhang, para. 0021: “Furthermore, in one embodiment, the system 100 may also include other circuit components (not shown) such as, but not limited to, a transformer, a circuit breaker, an inductor, a compensator, a capacitor, a rectifier, a reactor, a filter, and the like”].
Regarding claim 4 (see instant figs. 2 and 4-6, showing switches 56-59 comprising conventional diodes/transistors 112, 113, 114, e.g., Zener diodes, FET switches), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 1.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein each switch comprises at least diode, the diodes of the switches being connected together so that the cathode of the diode of a switch is connected to the anode of the diode of an adjacent switch, the cathode of the diode of the switch at a first end of the first string being connected to the first bus and the anode of the diode of the switch at the second end of the first string being connected to the second bus [conventionally arranged diodes/switches; Horger, figs. 2, 3; Zhang fig. 3: 330, fig. 4: switching unit 400].
Regarding claim 5 (see instant fig. 5), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 4.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein each switch further comprises at least a gate turn off thyristor, the anode of the gate turn off thyristor being connected to the cathode of the diode and the cathode of the a gate turn off thyristor being connected to the anode of the diode, the gate of the gate turn off thyristor being connected to the command circuit [conventionally arranged diodes/switches; Horger, figs. 2, 3, para. 0031: “By way of example, the self-commutated semiconductor switches 15 may in the form of IGBTs or GTO thyristors.”; Zhang fig. 3: 330, fig. 4: switching unit 400, para. 0028: “The controllable semiconductor switches Si, S2 , S3 , and S4 may include a power diode in combination with a thyristor, a silicon controlled rectifier, a gate turnoff thyristor, an IGBT, and the like.” ].
Regarding claim 6 (see instant fig. 6), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 4.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein each switch further comprises at least a field effect transistor, wherein the drain of the transistor is connected to the cathode of the diode and the source of the transistor is connected to the anode of the diode, the gate of the transistor being connected to the command circuit [Zhang, para. 0029: “The fully controllable semiconductor switches may include an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT), a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET), a field effect transistor (FET), a gate turn-off thyristor, an insulated gate commutated thyristor (IGCT), an injection enhanced gate transistor (IEGT), a silicon carbide based switch, a gallium nitride based switch, a gallium arsenide based switch, or equivalents thereof.”].
Regarding claim 7 (see instant fig. 7), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 1.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein at least one switching unit comprising two controllable switches, each controllable switch comprising a first end, a second end, and an command input connected to the command circuit, the first end of a first controllable switch being connected to a first end of the energy storage device, the second end of the first controllable switch and the first end of the second controllable switch being connected to the first connection of the switching unit, and the second end of the second controllable switch being connected to the second end of the energy storage device and to the second connection of the switching unit [conventionally arranged capacitors/switches; Horger, fig. 2; Zhang fig. 2].
Regarding claim 8 (see instant fig. 8), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 1.
Horger discloses:
wherein at least one switching unit comprising four controllable switches, each controllable switch comprising a first end, a second end, and an command input connected to the command circuit, the first end of a first and a second controllable switches being connected to a first end of the energy storage device, the first end of a third controllable switch being connected to the first connection of the switching unit and to the second end of the first controllable switch, the first end of the fourth controllable switch being connected to the second connection of the switching unit and to the second end of the second controllable switch, and the second end of the third and fourth controllable switches being connected to the second end of the energy storage device [conventionally arranged capacitors/switches; Horger, fig. 3].
Regarding claim 9 (see instant figs. 3 and 9), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 1.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein each output module comprises:
a second leg comprising:
a third string connected to the first and second bus and comprising
a plurality of second switches connected in series and
a fourth connecting node situated between two second switches,
a fifth connecting node situated between two second switches, and
a sixth connecting nodes situated between two second switches, and
a fourth string comprising:
a second mid-connecting node,
a plurality of second switching units connected in series and extending between the fourth and the fifth connecting nodes,
the second mid-connecting node being between two second switching units so that the number of second switching units between the fourth connecting point and the second mid-connecting node is equal to the number of switching units between the fifth connecting point and the second mid-connecting node,
the second mid-connecting node being connected to a phase of the primary circuit,
the sixth connecting node of each output module being connected together,
the command circuit being further configured to command the second switches and the second switching units to supply the electrode and to stabilize the courant and the voltage delivered by the grid when the electrode of the arc furnace is supplied by the power supply system to reduce rejections in the grid.
In this case, Horger discloses that the circuit topology of input elements are generally the same as output elements [para. 0030: “In general, the converter elements 11 of the rectifier 6 are physically the same as one another. In general, the converter elements 12 of the inverter 7 are likewise physically the same as one another. Furthermore, the converter elements 11 of the rectifier 6 and the converter elements 12 of the inverter 7 are in general physically the same.”].
Regarding claim 10 (see instant figs. 2-5, and claims 4 and 5), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 9.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein each second switch comprises a second gate turn off thyristor and a second diode, the second diodes of the second switches being connected together so that the cathode of the second diode of a second switch is connected to the anode of the second diode of an adjacent second switch, the cathode of the second diode of the second switch at a first end of the third string being connected to the first bus and the anode of the second diode of the second switch at the second end of the first string being connected to the second bus, the anode of the second gate turn off thyristor being connected to the cathode of the second diode and the cathode of the second gate turn off thyristor being connected to the anode of the second diode, and the gate of the second gate turn off thyristor being connected to the command circuit [conventionally arranged diodes/switches; Horger, figs. 2, 3, para. 0031: “By way of example, the self-commutated semiconductor switches 15 may in the form of IGBTs or GTO thyristors.”; Zhang fig. 3: 330, fig. 4: switching unit 400, para. 0028: “The controllable semiconductor switches Si, S2 , S3 , and S4 may include a power diode in combination with a thyristor, a silicon controlled rectifier, a gate turnoff thyristor, an IGBT, and the like.” ].
Regarding claim 11 (see instant figs. 2-4, 6, and claims 4 and 6), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 9.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein each second switch comprises a second field effect transistor and a second diode, the second diodes of the second switches being connected together so that the cathode of the second diode of a second switch is connected to the anode of the second diode of an adjacent second switch, the cathode of the second diode of the second switch at a first end of the third string being connected to the first bus and the anode of the second diode of the second switch at the second end of the first string being connected to the second bus, the drain of the second transistor being connected to the cathode of the second diode and the source of the second transistor being connected to the anode of the second diode, and the gate of the second transistor being connected to the command circuit [Zhang, para. 0029: “The fully controllable semiconductor switches may include an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT), a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET), a field effect transistor (FET), a gate turn-off thyristor, an insulated gate commutated thyristor (IGCT), an injection enhanced gate transistor (IEGT), a silicon carbide based switch, a gallium nitride based switch, a gallium arsenide based switch, or equivalents thereof.”].
Regarding claim 12 (see instant figs. 3 and 9, and claim 9), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 1.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein each output module comprises a fifth string comprising:
a plurality of second switching units connected in series and extending between the first and second bus, and
a third mid-connecting node;
the third mid-connecting node being between two second switching units so that the number of second switching units between the first bus and the third mid-connecting node is equal to the number of switching units between the second bus and the third mid-connecting node,
the third mid-connecting node being connected to a phase of the primary circuit.
In this case, Horger discloses that the circuit topology of input elements are generally the same as output elements [para. 0030: “In general, the converter elements 11 of the rectifier 6 are physically the same as one another. In general, the converter elements 12 of the inverter 7 are likewise physically the same as one another. Furthermore, the converter elements 11 of the rectifier 6 and the converter elements 12 of the inverter 7 are in general physically the same.”].
Regarding claim 13, Horger in view of Zhang discloses the power supply system of claim 1.
Horger discloses:
An Arc furnace facility [i.e., furnace building; para. 0005] comprising, an arc furnace including at least one electrode, and a power supply system of claim 1, wherein the electrode is connected to at least one phase of the secondary circuit of the polyphase transformer [arc furnace 1 including electrodes 2 connected to transformer 4 see fig. 1].
Regarding claim 14, Horger in view of Zhang discloses the arc furnace facility of claim 13.
Horger discloses:
wherein the arc furnace comprises a plurality of electrodes, each electrode being connected to a different phase of the secondary circuit [fig. 1: electrodes 2].
Regarding claim 15 (see instant fig. 11, rectifier 139 between electrode 100a and a phase of the polyphase supply), Horger in view of Zhang discloses the arc furnace facility of claim 13.
Horger as modified by Zhang discloses:
wherein the power supply system further comprises a rectifier connected to the electrode and to each phase of the secondary circuit to supply the electrode with a continuous voltage from the secondary circuit.
In this case, in view of the common practice of including conventional circuit components so as to provide their well-understood features [Zhang, para. 0021: “Furthermore, in one embodiment, the system 100 may also include other circuit components (not shown) such as, but not limited to, a transformer, a circuit breaker, an inductor, a compensator, a capacitor, a rectifier, a reactor, a filter, and the like”], it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to further modify the power supply system of Horger and Zhang so as to arrive at instant claim 15, at least since selecting a given number of rectifiers and locations thereof would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., as mere duplication of essential working parts of a device (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.), in order to, e.g., adjust a voltage supplied to electrodes.
Conclusion
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761