DETAILED ACTION
Reply Under 37 CFR 1.111
The submission of the reply filed on 02/19/2026 to the non-final Office action of 11/20/2025 is acknowledged. The Office action on the currently pending claims 1-4, 7-13, 15-17, and 19-20 follows.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 12, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 Ln.1: the clause “the bridge assembly” should be amended to recite “the first bridge assembly” in order to make it clear as to which bridge assembly the claim is in reference to.
Claim 2 Ln.6: the clause “the fifth aperture being sandwitched between” should be amended to recite “the fifth aperture being sandwiched between” in order to correct the typographical error.
See next page→
Claim 12 Ln.17: the clause “of the second plurlaity of bridges” should be amended to recite “of the second plurality of bridges” in order to correct the typographical error.
Claim 16 Ln.26: it is believed that the clause “wherein the third aperture is larger than the second aperture” was supposed to recite “wherein the third aperture is larger than the fourth aperture”. For the purposes of examination, the clause was interpreted as “wherein the third aperture is larger than the fourth aperture”
The Office notes that the objection/objections are a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting all remaining informalities present in the claims, but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
With regard to the “first time period”, “second time period”, “third time period”, and “fourth time period” as claimed in independent claim 16, the Office notes that the limitations were interpreted in light of Applicant’s specification ([0058], see US PG-Pub version of Applicant’s specification). Therefore, the “first time period” and “third time period” were interpreted to be the same, and the “second time period” and the “fourth time period” were interpreted to be the same, but different from the “first time period” and “third time period” in order to stay consistent with Applicant’s specification.
See next page→
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim is believed to be indefinite because it is unclear as to what the “seventh connector” is, and thus also affecting what the “fifth aperture” and “fifth bridge” are. As claimed, the “seventh connector” is supposed be between the “third connector” and the “first terminal”. However, when looking at claim 1, the “third connector” is linked with the first terminal. Referring now to figures 2A-B of Applicant’s figures and paragraph [0026] of Applicant’s specification (see US PG-Pub version), the claimed “third connector” is believed to be “216A”, especially since paragraph [0026] explicitly states “The connector 116e links with the center 104 while the connector 116a links with the terminal 102a”(emphasis added). If “216A” is in fact supposed to be the claimed “third connector”, then there is no other connector that is provided between the first terminal (202a) and the third connector (216A), and thus no “seventh connector”. Therefore, in light of Applicant’s specification, it is unclear as to what the intended claim scope of the “seventh connector”, and thus as a result the “fifth bridge” and “fifth aperture”, is supposed to be, and thus indefinite. For the purposes of examination, all of the connectors were determined to be linked, at least indirectly, to both the center portion and their corresponding terminal.
Regarding the “fifth bridge” and the “fifth aperture”, it is unclear how the “fifth aperture” can be sandwiched between the “fifth connector” and the “seventh connector” if the “fifth connector” is part of the “second bridge assembly” as claimed in claim 1 while the claim is attempting to further narrow the structure of the first bridge assembly. In other words, the claim is attempting to further narrow the structure of the “first bridge assembly”, but suddenly provides a limitation that compares the structure of the “first bridge assembly” with the “second bridge assembly” without any context. Therefore, the Office is uncertain as to the numerical sequence as claimed in claim 2 and in light of Applicant’s specification. The Office requests that Applicant provide a response that clarifies the intended numerical sequence as claimed in claim 2. For the purposes of examination, the limitation “the fifth aperture being sandwitched between the fifth connector and the seventh connector” was interpreted as “the fifth aperture being sandwiched between the third connector and the seventh connector” in order to keep the claim in relation to the first bridge assembly.
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for inheriting the above deficiency of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 15-17, and 19-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in view of Douglass (US 20130009744).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA discloses (Figs.1A-B: all paragraph citations are in reference to the US PG-Pub version of Applicant’s specification):
A fuse element assembly comprising: a fuse element (118) disposed between a first terminal (102a) and a second terminal (102b), the fuse element (118), the first terminal (102a), and the second terminal (102b) comprising an electrically conductive material ([0022]), the fuse element (118) comprising: a center portion (104); a first bridge assembly (106a) disposed between the center portion (104) and the first terminal (102a), and a second bridge assembly (106b) disposed between the center portion (104) and the second terminal (102b), wherein the first bridge assembly (106a) further comprises: a first connector (116e) linked with the center portion (104); a second connector (116c); a third connector (116b) linked with the first terminal (102a) (Fig.1A: 116b linked to 102a via 116a and 108a); a first bridge (108d) comprising a first aperture (110d) and a first quantity of the electrically conductive material (See Fig.1B), the first aperture (110d) being sandwiched between (See Fig.1B) the first connector (116e) and the second connector (116c); and a second bridge (108b) comprising a second aperture (110b) and a second quantity of the electrically conductive material (See Fig.1B), the second aperture (110b) being sandwiched between the second connector (116c) and the third connector (116b), and wherein the first aperture (110d) has a first area (area of 110d), the second aperture (110b) has a second area (area of 110b), wherein the second bridge assembly (106b) further comprises: a fourth connector (See Figure Below) linked with the center portion (104); a fifth connector (See Figure Below); a sixth connector (See Figure Below) linked with the second terminal (102b) (Fig.1A: sixth connector is linked to 102b via 108h); a third bridge (108e) comprising a third aperture (See Figure Below) and a third quantity of the electrically conductive material (See Fig.1A: quantity of 108e), the third aperture being sandwiched between (See Figure Below) the fourth connector and the fifth connector; and the fourth bridge (108g) comprising a fourth aperture (See Figure Below) and a fourth quantity of the electrically conductive material (See Fig.1A: quantity of 108g), the fourth aperture being sandwiched between (See Figure Below) the fifth connector and the sixth connector, and wherein the third aperture has a third area (See Figure Below: area of the “Third Aperture”), the fourth aperture has a fourth area (See Figure Below: area of the “Fourth Aperture”).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
See next page→
Wherein the second quantity of the electrically conductive material is greater than the first quantity of the electrically conductive material, and the first area is greater than the second area, wherein the fourth quantity of the electrically conductive material is greater than the third quantity of the electrically conductive material, and the third area is greater than the fourth area.
Douglass however teaches (Fig.11):
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to modify the device of AAPA such that the first area of the first aperture is greater than the second area of the second aperture so that the second quantity of the electrically conductive material is greater than the first quantity of the electrically conductive material, and such that the third area of the third aperture is greater than the fourth area of the fourth aperture so that the fourth quantity of the electrically conductive material is greater than the third quantity of the electrically conductive material, as claimed, in order to enhance the interruption characteristics as taught by Douglass ([0021] and [0024]: teaches that the sizes, and thus also the area, of the apertures can be altered to any desired size in order to enhance features like time delay in order to enhance interruption characteristics, and thus by adjusting the areas of the apertures as modified above, the resulting time delay taught by Douglass will improve upon the issues with uniform dispersion taught by AAPA, see [0027] of AAPA).
Regarding claim 12, AAPA discloses (Figs.1A-B- all paragraph citations are in reference to the US PG-Pub version of Applicant’s specification):
A fuse element comprising: a first bridge assembly (106a) disposed adjacent a first side (left side of 104) of a center portion (104); and a second bridge assembly (106b) disposed adjacent a second side (right side of 104) of the center portion (104), the second side (right side of 104) being opposite (Fig.1A: with respect to 104, the first side and second side are on opposite sides) the first side (left side of 104), wherein the first bridge assembly (106a) comprises a first plurality of bridges (108a-d) coupled to a first terminal (102a) of a fuse (100), wherein: each bridge of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d) comprises an aperture (110a-d); a first bridge (108d) of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d) is adjacent the center portion (104) and has a first aperture (110d) with a first area (area of 110d); and a last bridge (108a) of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d) is adjacent the first terminal (102a) and has a second aperture (110a) with a second area (area of 110a), wherein the second bridge assembly (106b) comprises a second plurality of bridges (108e-h) coupled to a second terminal (102b) of the fuse (100), wherein: each bridge of the second plurality of bridges (108e-h) comprises an aperture (Fig.1A: each 108 has an aperture); a first bridge (108e) of the second plurality of bridges (108e-h) is closest the center portion (104); and a last bridge (108h) of the second plurality of brides (108e-h) is closest to the second terminal (102b).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
Wherein: each bridge of the first plurality of bridges comprises an aperture with an area different from each other bridge of the first plurality of bridges; the second area being smaller than the first area, each bridge of the second plurality of bridges comprises an aperture with an area different from each other bridge of the second plurality of bridges; a first bridge has the aperture with the greatest area; and a last bridge of the second plurality of bridges has the aperture with the smallest area.
Douglass however teaches (Fig.11):
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to modify the device of AAPA such that each bridge of the first plurality of bridges and second plurality of bridges comprises an aperture with an area different from each other bridge of the corresponding first plurality of bridges and second plurality of bridges (i.e., each aperture of the first plurality of bridges has a different size from each other, and each aperture of the second plurality of bridges has a different size from each other) in such a way that the first bridge in the first plurality of bridges and second plurality of bridges has the aperture with the greatest area and the last bridge in the first plurality of bridges and second plurality of bridges has the aperture with the smallest area so that with respect to the first plurality of bridges, the second area is smaller than the first area, as claimed, in order to enhance the interruption characteristics as taught by Douglass ([0021] and [0024]: teaches that the sizes, and thus also the area, of the apertures can be altered to any desired size in order to enhance features like time delay in order to enhance interruption characteristics, and thus by adjusting the areas of the apertures as modified above, the resulting time delay taught by Douglass will improve upon the issues with uniform dispersion taught by AAPA, see [0027] of AAPA).
Regarding claim 16, AAPA discloses (Figs.1A-B- all paragraph citations are in reference to the US PG-Pub version of Applicant’s specification):
See next page→
A fuse element comprising: a first bridge assembly (106a) disposed between a first terminal (102a) and a center portion (104); and a second bridge assembly (106b) disposed between a second terminal (102b) and the center portion (104), wherein the first bridge assembly (106a) comprises a plurality of bridges (108a-d), and wherein, upon an opening event ([0023]: “an opening event”): a first bridge (108d) of the first bridge assembly (106a) arcs ([0027]), then melts ([0027]), in a first time period ([0027]: “all of the bridge 108 of the fuse element assembly 100 will experience arcing at the same instant”- the “instant” will define the first time period), into a first melted copper deposit having a first area (Fig.1A and [0027]: the area occupied by 108d will define “a first melted copper deposit” that will have an area that will define “a first area” when 108d melts and breaks), the first bridge (108d) having a first aperture (110d); and a second bridge (108a) of the first bridge assembly (106a) arcs ([0027]), then melts ([0027]) into a second melted copper deposit having a second area (Fig.1A and [0027]: the area occupied by 108a will define “a second melted copper deposit” that will have an area that will define “a second area” when 108a melts and breaks), the second bridge (108a) having a second aperture (110a), wherein the first bridge (108d) is closer to the center portion (104) than the second bridge (108a), wherein the second bridge assembly (106b) comprises a second plurality of bridges (108e-h), and wherein, upon the opening event ([0023]: “an opening event”): a third bridge (108e) of the second bridge assembly (106b) arcs ([0027]), then melts ([0027]), in a third time period ([0027]: “all of the bridge 108 of the fuse element assembly 100 will experience arcing at the same instant”- the “instant” will define the third time period since the “first time period” and the “third time period” will be same, as outlined in the Claim Interpretation section above), into a third melted copper deposit having a third area (Fig.1A and [0027]: the area occupied by 108e will define “a third melted copper deposit” that will have an area that will define “a third area” when 108e melts and breaks), the third bridge (108e) having a third aperture (Fig.1A: the aperture in 108e); and a fourth bridge (108h) of the second bridge assembly (106b) arcs ([0027]), then melts ([0027]), into a fourth melted copper deposit having a fourth area (Fig.1A and [0027]: the area occupied by 108h will define “a fourth melted copper deposit” that will have an area that will define “a fourth area” when 108h melts and breaks), the fourth bridge (108h) having a fourth aperture (Fig.1A: the aperture in 108h), wherein the third bridge (108e) is closer to the center portion (104) than the fourth bridge (108h).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
A second bridge of the first bridge assembly arcs, then melts, in a second time period, into a second melted copper deposit having a second area, and the first time period is before the second time period, and wherein the first aperture is larger than the second aperture, a fourth bridge of the second bridge assembly arcs, then melts, in a fourth time period, into a fourth melted copper deposit having a fourth area, and the third time period is before the fourth time period, and wherein the third aperture is larger than the fourth aperture.
Douglass however teaches (Fig.11):
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108), and wherein the desired breaking also includes adjusting time delay ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to modify the device of AAPA such that the first and third apertures are the same size and such that the second and fourth apertures are the same size, but smaller than the first and third apertures (and thus having the first aperture be larger than the second aperture, and the third aperture being larger than the fourth aperture) so that the second bridge of the first bridge assembly arcs and melts into the second melted copper deposit with the second area in a second time period that is after the first time period (and thus having the first time period before the second time period), and such that the fourth bridge of the second bridge assembly arcs and melts into the fourth melted copper deposit with the fourth area in a fourth time period that is equal to the second time period, but after the third time period (and thus having the third time period before the fourth time period), as claimed, in order to enhance the interruption characteristics as taught by Douglass ([0021] and [0024]: teaches that the sizes, and thus also the area, of the apertures can be altered to any desired size in order to enhance features like time delay in order to enhance interruption characteristics, and thus by adjusting the areas of the apertures as modified above, the resulting time delay taught by Douglass will improve upon the issues with uniform dispersion taught by AAPA, see [0027] of AAPA).
Regarding claim 2, AAPA further discloses:
The bridge assembly (106a) further comprising: a seventh connector (116a) linked in between the third connector (116b) and the first terminal (102a); and a fifth bridge (108a) comprising a fifth aperture (110a) and a fifth quantity of the electrically conductive material (See Fig.1B), the fifth aperture (110a) being sandwiched between the third connector (116b) and seventh connector (116a).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
Wherein the fifth quantity of the electrically conductive material is greater than the second quantity of the electrically conductive material.
However, as outlined in claim 1 above, Douglass teaches:
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the fifth quantity of the electrically conductive material is greater than the second quantity of the electrically conductive material, as claimed, in order to achieve enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, AAPA further discloses:
Wherein: the first bridge (108d) comprises a first bridge top (112d) disposed adjacent to the first aperture (110d) and comprising a first cross-sectional area (Figs.1A-B: the cross-sectional area of 112d); and the second bridge (108b) comprises a second bridge top (112b) disposed adjacent to the second aperture (110b) and comprising a second cross-sectional area (Figs.1A-B: the cross-sectional area of 112b).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
Wherein the second cross-sectional area is greater than the first cross-sectional area.
However, as outlined in claim 1 above, Douglass teaches:
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the second cross-sectional area is greater than the first cross-sectional area, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, AAPA further discloses:
Wherein: the fifth bridge (108a) comprises a fifth bridge top (112a) adjacent to the fifth aperture (110a) and comprising a fifth cross-sectional area (Figs.1A-B: the cross-sectional area of 112a).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
Wherein the fifth cross-sectional area is greater than the second cross-sectional area.
However, as outlined in claim 1 above, Douglass teaches:
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the fifth cross-sectional area is greater than the second cross-sectional area, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7 AAPA further discloses:
Wherein the fifth aperture (110a) has a fifth area (area of 110a).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
The second area is greater than the fifth area.
However, as outlined in claim 1 above, Douglass teaches:
See next page→
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the second area is greater than the fifth area, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, AAPA further discloses:
Wherein: the first bridge (108d) comprises a first bridge bottom (114d) disposed beneath the first aperture (110d) and comprising a first cross-sectional area (Figs.1A-B: cross-sectional area of 114d); the second bridge (108b) comprises a second bridge bottom (114b) disposed beneath the second aperture (110b) and comprising a second cross-sectional area (Figs.1A-B: cross-sectional area of 114b); and the fifth bridge (108a) comprises a fifth bridge bottom (114a) disposed beneath the fifth aperture (110a) and comprising a fifth cross-sectional area (Figs.1A-B: cross-sectional area of 114a).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
Wherein the fifth cross-sectional area is greater than the second cross-sectional area and the second cross-sectional area is greater than the first cross-sectional area.
However, as outlined in claim 1 above, Douglass teaches:
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the fifth cross-sectional area is greater than the second cross-sectional area, and such that the second cross sectional area is greater than the first cross-sectional area, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, AAPA further discloses:
Wherein the second connector (116c) has a first length (Figs.1A-B: length of 116c) and the third connector (116b) has a second length (Figs.1A-B: length of 116b).
Regarding claim 10, AAPA further discloses:
Wherein the first length (Figs.1A-B: length of 116c) is equal to the second length (Figs.1A-B: length of 116b) (Fig.1B: the length of 116c is shown to be equal to that of 116b, See Figure Below).
Regarding claim 11, modified AAPA does not teach:
Wherein the first length (Figs.1A-B: length of 116c) is smaller than the second length (Figs.1A-B: length of 116b) (Fig.1B: the length of 116c is shown to be smaller than that of 116b, See Figure Below).
Regarding claim 13, AAPA further discloses:
Wherein an additional bridge (108b) of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d) between the first bridge (108d) of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d) and the last bridge (108a) of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d) has an aperture (108b), an aperture (110c) of an adjacent bridge (108c) of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d), and wherein the adjacent bridge (108c) of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d) is closer to the center portion (104) than the additional bridge (108b) of the first plurality of bridges (108a-d).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
Wherein an additional bridge of the first plurality of bridges has an aperture with an area smaller than an aperture of an adjacent bridge of the first plurality of bridges.
However, as outlined in claim 12 above, Douglass teaches:
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the additional bridge of the first plurality of bridges has an aperture with an area smaller than an area of the aperture of the adjacent bridge of the first plurality of bridges, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 15, AAPA further discloses:
Wherein an additional bridge (108g) of the second plurality of bridges (108e-h) between the first bridge (108e) of the second plurality of bridges (108e-h) and the last bridge (108h) of the second plurality of bridges (108e-h) has an aperture (Fig.1A: aperture in 108g), an aperture (Fig.1A: aperture in 108f) of an adjacent bridge (108f) of the second plurality of bridges (108e-h), and wherein the adjacent bridge (108f) of the second plurality of bridges (108e-h) is closer to the center portion (104) than the additional bridge (108g) of the second plurality of bridges (108e-h).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
Wherein an additional bridge of the second plurality of bridges has an aperture with an area smaller than an aperture of an adjacent bridge of the second plurality of bridges.
However, as outlined in claim 12 above, Douglass teaches:
See next page→
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the aperture of the additional bridge of the second plurality of bridges has an area that is smaller than the aperture of the adjacent bridge of the second plurality of bridges, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 17, modified AAPA does not teach:
Wherein the first area is larger than the second area.
However, as outlined in claim 16 above, Douglass teaches:
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108), and wherein the desired breaking also includes adjusting time delay ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the first area is larger than the second area, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 19, modified AAPA does not teach:
Wherein the third area is larger than the fourth area.
However, as outlined in claim 16 above, Douglass teaches:
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108), and wherein the desired breaking also includes adjusting time delay ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that the third area is larger than the fourth area, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 20, AAPA further discloses:
Wherein: the first time period ([0027]: “all of the bridge 108 of the fuse element assembly 100 will experience arcing at the same instant”- the “instant” will define the first time period) is equal to the third time period ([0027]: “all of the bridge 108 of the fuse element assembly 100 will experience arcing at the same instant”- the “instant” will define the third time period since the “first time period” and the “third time period” will be same, as outlined in the Claim Interpretation section above).
However, AAPA does not disclose:
The second time period is equal to the fourth time period.
However, as outlined in claim 16 above, Douglass teaches:
A fuse element (108) with apertures (110) to form weak spots ([0020]), and the dimensions, and thus including area, of the apertures (110) being adjusted to a desired dimension in order to provide a desired breaking ([0020]-[0021] and [0024]) of the fuse element (108), and wherein the desired breaking also includes adjusting time delay ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Douglass to further modify the device of modified AAPA such that when the second aperture and fourth aperture are made to be the same size, as modified in claim 16 above, the second time period is equal to the fourth time period, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced interruption characteristics as outlined in claim 16 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments of 02/19/2026 have been fully considered, but notes that Applicant's arguments are directed to the claims as amended, and are thus moot since the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
However, for the purposes of compact prosecution, the Office will address Applicant’s arguments drawn towards the size of the apertures being more than a mere design choice and the combination teaching away from the claimed device. As evidenced by Douglass above and by Fuji in the previous rejection, it is known in the art that one can modify the dimension of the weak spots by modifying the size of the apertures (as evidenced by Douglass) or by modifying the widths of the fuse element itself (as evidenced by Fuji). Furthermore, Fuji teaches an arrangement that provides sequential fusing as opposed to simultaneous fusing. Therefore, when utilizing the teachings of at Douglass and/or Fuji, changing the size of the apertures or changing the widths of the fuse element to provide a desired fusing effect is a design choices (i.e., a designer can create a fuse element with sequential fusing by simply changing the size of the apertures, as taught by Douglas, or by changing the widths of the fuse element, as taught by Fuji, and thus making the desired combination a simple design choice). Therefore, the combination of AAPA and Douglass, as modified above, would also result in a device that would not teach away from the claimed device.
Furthermore, the Office notes that the additional prior art references also teach how it is known in the art to change aperture sizes in order to achieve a desired fusing effect, and thus further concluding that the claimed invention is a simple design choice. For all of the reasons outlined above, Applicant’s arguments believed to be in error.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20100194519: teaches how it is known in the art that the size/dimension of apertures can change the size of weak spots in order to provide a desired fusing effect.
US 20120139687: teaches how apertures in a fuse element can have different shapes.
US 20160343531: teaches how sizes of apertures are strategically selected to provide a desired weak spot cross-sectional area.
US 20230187160: teaches how the size/dimension of apertures can change the size of weak spots.
See next page→
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
See next page→
/STEPHEN S SUL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841