Response to Amendment
This application is responsive to applicant RCE and amendments/remarks received 07/27/2026. Claims 1 and 12 amended. Claims 1-14 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jerabek (DE Patent No. 102018103692 A1), in view of Zheng (EP Patent No. 3739261 A1) and further in view of Miller (US Patent No. 20200135061 A1).
In re claim 1, Jerabek teaches A plug-in object (SEE FIG. 1, Horizontal Carrier/Support 3) of a shelf system (SEE FIG. 1, Supporting Structure 2) for goods presentation (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0003]: “1 shows an embodiment of an inventive merchandise presentation system 1 with a supporting structure 2 in which a first embodiment of a horizontal support according to the invention 3 and a second embodiment of a Horizontalwarenträgers 4 are attached.”) having a plug-in part (SEE FIG. 9, Insertion Area 362) for a plug-in apparatus of the shelf system into which the plug-in part is able to be plugged in a matching receptacle (SEE FIG. 1, Passage 222 containing Busbar 221 as Supporting Profile 22 and Horizontal Carrier/Support 3 ‘plug into’ each other) (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “9 shows a side view of the first Horizontalwarenträger 3 , Center are in the insertion area 362 two contact straps 361 arranged corresponding to the busbar 221 of the supporting profile 22 are shaped. The contact hanger 361 are spring-mounted, whereby they when inserting the insertion area 362 in the passage 222 of the supporting or horizontal profile 22 be crushed and inside the passage 222 back to the outside to the tracks of the busbar 221 be pressed.”), the plug-in part being configured in such a way that, in the state in which the plug- in object is plugged into the plug-in apparatus, the plug-in part forms electrical contact with a contact device in the plug-in apparatus, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “As a result, a reliable contact can be made and power tapped.”; examiner notes ‘a profile’ from applicant spec can mean either for the vertical profile for ‘two socket-like individual profiles’, or ‘an elongate horizontal profile’ described in para [0069] of applicant spec), and supplies electrical energy to an assembly unit having electrical contact points (SEE FIG. 7, Final Profile 34 and Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0005]: “The first horizontal carrier 3 includes a base plate 35 made of glass and a finishing profile 34 , The final profile 34 is attached to the base plate and forms a support profile 22 opposite front edge 31 of the first horizontal carrier 3…”), in order to be able to supply electrical energy to an electrical load mounted on the assembly unit (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “The first horizontal carrier 3 further includes an electrical line extending along the bottom 32 363 which the contact hanger 361 with a converter 341 combines. The converter 341 is so to the tracks of the busbar 334 of the groove 33 coupled so that these tracks and their associated components with current of an output voltage of the converter 341 can be fed by one of the electrical line 363 supplied input voltage is different.”), Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “The LED light source 333 is so with the electrical line 363 connected so that it can be fed with the input voltage.”), wherein, in addition to the assembly unit, provision is made, on the plug-in object, for an electrical mounting device having electrical contact points (SEE FIG. 7 and 8, Final Profile 34 with Busbar/Power Rail 334) (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.” and para [0014]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.”), which electrical mounting device is supplied with electrical energy via the electrical contact and wherein an electrical information display is inserted in the mounting device (SEE FIG. 10, Presentation Module 5 inserted), the information display being contacted so as to be supplied with electrical energy (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0019]: “At the same time is the adapter 53 of the presentation module 5 so far in the recording 431 moved upwards that the two contact pins 541 on the conductor tracks of the busbar 434 issue. This allows the presentation module 5 safely tapping electricity, for example, to operate the display 51 needed. The electricity can therefore be efficiently from the power rail 221 of the horizontal profile 22 over the second horizontal carrier 4 to the presentation module 5 be transmitted.”) and,
wherein the mounting device is inserted into the assembly unit in one of two different mounting orientations such that an orientation of a display surface of the electrical information display is obliquely upward/vertical or is inclined with respect to vertical (SEE Description, Way (s) for carrying out the invention, para [0006] describing the ‘tiltable’ nature of the presentation module 5, and SEE FIGS 10-11, depicting the mounting device being inserted into the assembly unit—the mounting device enables a ‘tiltable’ connection to a display surface, therefore, the mounting device provides different ‘mounting orientations’ (both vertical and inclined) commensurate with the tiltable display surface when inserted into the assembly unit.).
Jerabek fails to teach wherein the assembly unit is attached to a front face of a shelf of the shelf system and the electrical mounting device is attached to a front face of the assembly unit such that the electrical information display is attached to a front face of the electrical mounting device, and
wherein the mounting device is rotated 180 degrees around an axis that is perpendicular relative to a longitudinal axis of the assembly unit (in which the mounting device can be inserted) in order to achieve two different orientations of the mounting device relative to the assembly unit.
However, Zheng teaches wherein the assembly unit is attached to a front face of a shelf of the shelf system and the electrical mounting device is attached to a front face of the assembly unit such that the electrical information display is attached to a front face of the electrical mounting device (SEE FIGS 1-4 and page 4, para [0003]: “This embodiment is generally for use in shelves. The sign-boards (identification plates) and price tags on the shelves are generally arranged at the outermost edges of the shelf layers. The bracket 100 is a mounting rack or a part of a shelf. In order to implement a power supply of the illuminated identification unit 300, the illuminated identification unit 300 comprises: a positive conductive track 301 provided on the bracket 100; a negative conductive track 302 provided on the bracket 100; an illuminated sign-board or identification plate 303 arranged on the positive conductive track 301 and the negative conductive track 302 and electrically connected thereto. The illuminated sign-board 303 is disposed at any position along the length direction of the positive conductive track 301 and the negative conductive track 302, for easy installation and use.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jerabek to incorporate the teachings of Zheng to provide wherein the assembly unit is attached to a front face of a shelf of the shelf system and the electrical mounting device is attached to a front face of the assembly unit such that the electrical information display is attached to a front face of the electrical mounting device with the Horizontal Carrier, Presentation Module And Goods Presentation System of Jerabek. Doing so enables easy installation and use, as recognized by Zheng (page 4, para [0003]).
The combination fails to teach wherein the mounting device is rotated 180 degrees around an axis that is perpendicular relative to a longitudinal axis of the assembly unit (in which the mounting device can be inserted) in order to achieve two different orientations of the mounting device relative to the assembly unit.
However, Miller teaches wherein the mounting device is rotated 180 degrees around an axis that is perpendicular relative to a longitudinal axis of the assembly unit (in which the mounting device can be inserted) in order to achieve two different orientations of the mounting device relative to the assembly unit (Para [0059]: “The display assemblies 202 may also be placed in a second orientation, rotated 180 degrees from the illustrated examples, to display, for example, pricing or other information necessitating indicia arranged to precede each numeric or indicia member 206. As shown, each display assembly 202 in the illustrated example includes caloric information and indicia 204 indicating that the indicia members 206 represent caloric information. In the second orientation, indicia 204 would represent “$” or other indicia indicating that the indicia members 206 include pricing information.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Jerabek and Zheng to further incorporate the teachings of Miller to provide wherein the mounting device is rotated 180 degrees around an axis that is perpendicular relative to a longitudinal axis of the assembly unit (in which the mounting device can be inserted) in order to achieve two different orientations of the mounting device relative to the assembly unit with the Horizontal Carrier, Presentation Module And Goods Presentation System of Jerabek as modified by Zheng. Doing so enables first and second orientations for displaying other indicia, as recognized by Miller (Para [0059])
In re claim 2, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein the electrical mounting device (SEE FIGs. 7 and 8, Final Profile 34 with Busbar/Power Rail 334) is present structurally delimited from the assembly unit (SEE FIG. 7, Final Profile 34) by a partition (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.” and para [0014]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run.”).
In re claim 3, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein the mounting device is arranged on a front side of the plug-in object, which front side, in the state in which the plug-in object is mounted on a shelf system, is located at a front of the shelf system for a user (SEE FIG. 10 and Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0016]: “In 10 is the presentation module 5 during assembly on or disassembly of the second horizontal carrier 4 shown. The representation of the second horizontal carrier 4 is to be understood as an example. The first horizontal carrier 3 is designed analogously to the second horizontal carrier and acts in a corresponding manner with the presentation module 5 together.”).
In re claim 4, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein the mounting device runs horizontally on the plug-in object in the assembly position (SEE FIGs. 7 and 8, Final Profile 34 with Busbar/Power Rail 334 runs horizontally).
In re claim 5, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein an electrical information display is able to be latched into the mounting device at any point along the mounting device and is thus able to be electrically contacted (Description, presentation of the invention, para [0008]: “In this case, the receptacle of the retaining contour preferably has two side walls extending along the front edge, wherein each of the side walls is provided with an engagement groove extending along the front edge. Such side walls with engagement grooves allow secure engagement of the counterpart of the component. This allows the component to be accurately placed and securely fastened.”, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0004]: “The presentation modules 5 each include a display 51 on which information about goods such as their prices or the like can be displayed on the horizontal shelf 3 . 4 are arranged.” and para [0013]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.”; to be clear, examiner notes the component (presentation module 5) can be ‘accurately’ placed and arranged, as conductor tracks correspond to contact pins 541 dimensioned, examiner interprets this as ‘latching at any point along the mounting device’.).
In re claim 6, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein at least two electrical contact pointsSEE FIG. 2, Current Collection Structure 54 and Contact Pins 541, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.” and para [0019]: “At the same time is the adapter 53 of the presentation module 5 so far in the recording 431 moved upwards that the two contact pins 541 on the conductor tracks of the busbar 434 issue. This allows the presentation module 5 safely tapping electricity, for example, to operate the display 51 needed. The electricity can therefore be efficiently from the power rail 221 of the horizontal profile 22 over the second horizontal carrier 4 to the presentation module 5 be transmitted.”).
In re claim 7, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein the information display is able to be latched into the mounting device (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0018]: “11 shows the presentation module 5 in a fastened position. This will be the key 531 no longer activated, so that the blocking element 533 by the spring force of the spring element 535 between the wing parts 534 is moved to a holding position. This will make the wing parts 534 moved outwards and the projections 534 are in the stopping distance 561 secured away from each other. The holding distance 561 is greater than the loosening distance 562 , The projections 534 the holding structure 53 lie in engaging grooves 435 that run along the side walls 432 run. The side walls 432 together with the Eingreifnuten 435 form a retaining contour of the groove 43 of the Horizontalwarenträgers 4 , The presentation module 5 is safe in this way in the holding profile 44 and thus on the second horizontal carrier 4 attached.”).
In re claim 9, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein the mounting device is inserted into an assembly profile (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0004]: “The first horizontal carrier 3 includes a base plate 35 made of glass and a finishing profile 34 , The final profile 34 is attached to the base plate and forms a support profile 22 opposite front edge 31 of the first horizontal carrier 3… The presentation modules 5 each include a display 51 on which information about goods such as their prices or the like can be displayed on the horizontal shelf 3 . 4 are arranged.”).
In re claim 10, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein the assembly profile has linear lamps (SEE FIG. 7, LED Strip 333 and Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.”).
In re claim 11, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein the assembly profile comprises electrical contact points for making contact with the current profile (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.” and para [0014]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.”).
In re claim 12, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches having electrical loads (12) arranged thereon (SEE FIG. 7, LED Strip 333, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.” and para [0014]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.”).
In re claim 13, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches A shelf system (SEE FIG. 1, Merchandise Presentation System 1) composed of a plug-in object as claimed in claim 1 (SEE FIG. 1, Horizontal Carrier/Support 3, as well as the rejections describing the ‘plug-in object’ as ‘claimed in claim 1’) and a plug-in apparatus for the plug-in object (SEE FIG. 1, Passage 222 containing Busbar 221 as Supporting Profile 22 and Horizontal Carrier/Support 3 ‘plug into’ each other, and Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “9 shows a side view of the first Horizontalwarenträger 3 , Center are in the insertion area 362 two contact straps 361 arranged corresponding to the busbar 221 of the supporting profile 22 are shaped. The contact hanger 361 are spring-mounted, whereby they when inserting the insertion area 362 in the passage 222 of the supporting or horizontal profile 22 be crushed and inside the passage 222 back to the outside to the tracks of the busbar 221 be pressed.”).
In re claim 14, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein an orientation of a display surface of the electrical information display is inclined respect to vertical by an angle of about 25 degrees (SEE Description, Way (s) for carrying out the invention, para [0006] describing the ‘tiltable’ nature of the presentation module 5, and SEE FIGS 10-11, depicting the mounting device being inserted into the assembly unit—the mounting device enables a ‘tiltable’ connection to a display surface, therefore, the mounting device provides different ‘mounting orientations’ (both vertical and inclined) commensurate with the tiltable display surface when inserted into the assembly unit. FIGS 10-11 depicts an incline of about 25 degrees with respect to vertical.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jerabek (DE Patent No. 102018103692 A1), in view of Zheng (EP Patent No. 3739261 A1) and further in view of Miller (US Patent No. 20200135061 A1) and Vetterer (DE Patent No. 102014019087 A1).
In re claim 8, Jerabek, Zheng and Miller teach all of the limitation of claim 1 stated above where Jerabek further teaches wherein the plug-in object comprises a voltage converter between electrical contact at the plug-in part and a current profile (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “The first horizontal carrier 3 further includes an electrical line extending along the bottom 32 363 which the contact hanger 361 with a converter 341 combines. The converter 341 is so to the tracks of the busbar 334 of the groove 33 coupled so that these tracks and their associated components with current of an output voltage of the converter 341 can be fed by one of the electrical line 363 supplied input voltage is different. In particular, the input voltage 24 V amount and the output voltage 3 V.”).
Jerabek fails to teach, and proximate the plug-in part.
However, Vetterer teaches, and proximate the plug-in part (Description, Overview of the Invention, para [0005]: “At least one of the two profile rails is provided with a current profile. From the carrier unit that primary carrier, which is intended to be hooked into the rail with the power profile, an adapter for tapping electric power from the current profile for the operation of an existing consumer unit on the carrier unit, for. B. a light unit.” and SEE FIGS 7A and 7B, depicting adapter 7 on primary carrier 6; ie, ‘proximate the plug-in part’.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Jerabek, Zheng and Miller to further incorporate the teachings of Vetterer to provide and proximate the plug-in part with the Horizontal Carrier, Presentation Module And Goods Presentation System of Jerabek as modified by Zheng and Miller. Doing so enables the carrier unit which is intended to be hooked into the rail with the power profile, to use an adapter for tapping electric power from the current profile for the operation of an existing consumer unit on the carrier unit, for a light unit, as recognized by Vetterer (Description, Overview of the Invention, para [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180268745 A1 teaches An electronic shelf label system includes a powered rail for holding electronic shelf labels. The front side of the rail includes a recess that is physically configured to receive a protrusion at the upper rear side of the shelf label. The shelf label further comprises a lower hook member for engaging with a lower edge of the rail. The rail may comprise two conductors for providing the labels with power and data for display on the label. Data and power may be provided via a controller and power module connected to the back of the rail.
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 08/22/2026