Response to Amendment
This application is responsive to applicant amendments/remarks received 11/13/2025. Claims 1, 4, 8, 10-11 amended and claim 14 added. Claims 1-14 remain pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Remove reference indicator (12) from claim 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jerabek (DE Patent No. 102018103692 A1).
In re claim 1, Jerabek teaches A plug-in object (SEE FIG. 1, Horizontal Carrier/Support 3) of a shelf system (SEE FIG. 1, Supporting Structure 2) for goods presentation (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0003]: “1 shows an embodiment of an inventive merchandise presentation system 1 with a supporting structure 2 in which a first embodiment of a horizontal support according to the invention 3 and a second embodiment of a Horizontalwarenträgers 4 are attached.”) having a plug-in part (SEE FIG. 9, Insertion Area 362) for a plug-in apparatus of the shelf system into which the plug-in part is able to be plugged in a matching receptacle (SEE FIG. 1, Passage 222 containing Busbar 221 as Supporting Profile 22 and Horizontal Carrier/Support 3 ‘plug into’ each other) (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “9 shows a side view of the first Horizontalwarenträger 3 , Center are in the insertion area 362 two contact straps 361 arranged corresponding to the busbar 221 of the supporting profile 22 are shaped. The contact hanger 361 are spring-mounted, whereby they when inserting the insertion area 362 in the passage 222 of the supporting or horizontal profile 22 be crushed and inside the passage 222 back to the outside to the tracks of the busbar 221 be pressed.”), the plug-in part being configured in such a way that, in the state in which the plug- in object is plugged into the plug-in apparatus, the plug-in part forms electrical contact with a contact device in the plug-in apparatus, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “As a result, a reliable contact can be made and power tapped.”; examiner notes ‘a profile’ from applicant spec can mean either for the vertical profile for ‘two socket-like individual profiles’, or ‘an elongate horizontal profile’ described in para [0069] of applicant spec), and supplies electrical energy to an assembly unit having electrical contact points (SEE FIG. 7, Final Profile 34 and Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0005]: “The first horizontal carrier 3 includes a base plate 35 made of glass and a finishing profile 34 , The final profile 34 is attached to the base plate and forms a support profile 22 opposite front edge 31 of the first horizontal carrier 3…”), in order to be able to supply electrical energy to an electrical load mounted on the assembly unit (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “The first horizontal carrier 3 further includes an electrical line extending along the bottom 32 363 which the contact hanger 361 with a converter 341 combines. The converter 341 is so to the tracks of the busbar 334 of the groove 33 coupled so that these tracks and their associated components with current of an output voltage of the converter 341 can be fed by one of the electrical line 363 supplied input voltage is different.”), and inserted into the latter, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “The LED light source 333 is so with the electrical line 363 connected so that it can be fed with the input voltage.”), wherein, in addition to the assembly unit, provision is made, on the plug-in object, for an electrical mounting device having electrical contact points (SEE FIG. 7 and 8, Final Profile 34 with Busbar/Power Rail 334) (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.” and para [0014]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.”), which electrical mounting device is supplied with electrical energy via the electrical contact and wherein an electrical information display is inserted in the mounting device (SEE FIG. 10, Presentation Module 5 inserted), the information display being contacted so as to be supplied with electrical energy (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0019]: “At the same time is the adapter 53 of the presentation module 5 so far in the recording 431 moved upwards that the two contact pins 541 on the conductor tracks of the busbar 434 issue. This allows the presentation module 5 safely tapping electricity, for example, to operate the display 51 needed. The electricity can therefore be efficiently from the power rail 221 of the horizontal profile 22 over the second horizontal carrier 4 to the presentation module 5 be transmitted.”) and,
wherein the mounting device is inserted into the assembly unit in one of two different mounting orientations such that an orientation of a display surface of the electrical information display is obliquely upward/vertical or is inclined with respect to vertical (SEE Description, Way (s) for carrying out the invention, para [0006] describing the ‘tiltable’ nature of the presentation module 5, and SEE FIGS 10-11, depicting the mounting device being inserted into the assembly unit—the mounting device enables a ‘tiltable’ connection to a display surface, therefore, the mounting device provides different ‘mounting orientations’ (both vertical and inclined) commensurate with the tiltable display surface when inserted into the assembly unit.).
In re claim 2, Jerabek teaches wherein the electrical mounting device (SEE FIGs. 7 and 8, Final Profile 34 with Busbar/Power Rail 334) is present structurally delimited from the assembly unit (SEE FIG. 7, Final Profile 34) by a partition (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.” and para [0014]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run.”).
In re claim 3, Jerabek teaches wherein the mounting device is arranged on a front side of the plug-in object, which front side, in the state in which the plug-in object is mounted on a shelf system, is located at a front of the shelf system for a user (SEE FIG. 10 and Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0016]: “In 10 is the presentation module 5 during assembly on or disassembly of the second horizontal carrier 4 shown. The representation of the second horizontal carrier 4 is to be understood as an example. The first horizontal carrier 3 is designed analogously to the second horizontal carrier and acts in a corresponding manner with the presentation module 5 together.”).
In re claim 4, Jerabek teaches wherein the mounting device runs horizontally on the plug-in object in the assembly position (SEE FIGs. 7 and 8, Final Profile 34 with Busbar/Power Rail 334 runs horizontally).
In re claim 5, Jerabek teaches wherein an electrical information display is able to be latched into the mounting device at any point along the mounting device and is thus able to be electrically contacted (Description, presentation of the invention, para [0008]: “In this case, the receptacle of the retaining contour preferably has two side walls extending along the front edge, wherein each of the side walls is provided with an engagement groove extending along the front edge. Such side walls with engagement grooves allow secure engagement of the counterpart of the component. This allows the component to be accurately placed and securely fastened.”, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0004]: “The presentation modules 5 each include a display 51 on which information about goods such as their prices or the like can be displayed on the horizontal shelf 3 . 4 are arranged.” and para [0013]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.”; to be clear, examiner notes the component (presentation module 5) can be ‘accurately’ placed and arranged, as conductor tracks correspond to contact pins 541 dimensioned, examiner interprets this as ‘latching at any point along the mounting device’.).
In re claim 6, Jerabek teaches wherein at least two electrical contact pointsSEE FIG. 2, Current Collection Structure 54 and Contact Pins 541, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.” and para [0019]: “At the same time is the adapter 53 of the presentation module 5 so far in the recording 431 moved upwards that the two contact pins 541 on the conductor tracks of the busbar 434 issue. This allows the presentation module 5 safely tapping electricity, for example, to operate the display 51 needed. The electricity can therefore be efficiently from the power rail 221 of the horizontal profile 22 over the second horizontal carrier 4 to the presentation module 5 be transmitted.”).
In re claim 7, Jerabek teaches wherein the information display is able to be latched into the mounting device (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0018]: “11 shows the presentation module 5 in a fastened position. This will be the key 531 no longer activated, so that the blocking element 533 by the spring force of the spring element 535 between the wing parts 534 is moved to a holding position. This will make the wing parts 534 moved outwards and the projections 534 are in the stopping distance 561 secured away from each other. The holding distance 561 is greater than the loosening distance 562 , The projections 534 the holding structure 53 lie in engaging grooves 435 that run along the side walls 432 run. The side walls 432 together with the Eingreifnuten 435 form a retaining contour of the groove 43 of the Horizontalwarenträgers 4 , The presentation module 5 is safe in this way in the holding profile 44 and thus on the second horizontal carrier 4 attached.”).
In re claim 9, Jerabek teaches wherein the mounting device is inserted into an assembly profile (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0004]: “The first horizontal carrier 3 includes a base plate 35 made of glass and a finishing profile 34 , The final profile 34 is attached to the base plate and forms a support profile 22 opposite front edge 31 of the first horizontal carrier 3… The presentation modules 5 each include a display 51 on which information about goods such as their prices or the like can be displayed on the horizontal shelf 3 . 4 are arranged.”).
In re claim 10, Jerabek teaches wherein the assembly profile has linear lamps (SEE FIG. 7, LED Strip 333 and Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.”).
In re claim 11, Jerabek teaches wherein the assembly profile comprises electrical contact points for making contact with the current profile (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.” and para [0014]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.”).
In re claim 12, Jerabek teaches having electrical loads (12) arranged thereon (SEE FIG. 7, LED Strip 333, Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0013]: “Close to and along the leading edge 31 runs a groove 33 in the final profile 34 of the first horizontal carrier 3 , The groove 33 has one along the front edge 31 running shot 331 on and one parallel to the recording 331 arranged strip LED bulb 333 with a variety of light emitting diodes.” and para [0014]: “As in 8th is apparent, the recording is 331 through two parallel side walls 332 educated. In the recording 331 is a power rail 334 embedded, which has a strip-shaped insulating base, along which two parallel conductor tracks run. The conductor tracks are corresponding to the contact pins 541 the presentation modules 5 dimensioned.”).
In re claim 13, Jerabek teaches A shelf system (SEE FIG. 1, Merchandise Presentation System 1) composed of a plug-in object as claimed in claim 1 (SEE FIG. 1, Horizontal Carrier/Support 3, as well as the rejections describing the ‘plug-in object’ as ‘claimed in claim 1’) and a plug-in apparatus for the plug-in object (SEE FIG. 1, Passage 222 containing Busbar 221 as Supporting Profile 22 and Horizontal Carrier/Support 3 ‘plug into’ each other, and Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “9 shows a side view of the first Horizontalwarenträger 3 , Center are in the insertion area 362 two contact straps 361 arranged corresponding to the busbar 221 of the supporting profile 22 are shaped. The contact hanger 361 are spring-mounted, whereby they when inserting the insertion area 362 in the passage 222 of the supporting or horizontal profile 22 be crushed and inside the passage 222 back to the outside to the tracks of the busbar 221 be pressed.”).
In re claim 14, Jerabek teaches wherein an orientation of a display surface of the electrical information display is inclined respect to vertical by an angle of about 25 degrees (SEE Description, Way (s) for carrying out the invention, para [0006] describing the ‘tiltable’ nature of the presentation module 5, and SEE FIGS 10-11, depicting the mounting device being inserted into the assembly unit—the mounting device enables a ‘tiltable’ connection to a display surface, therefore, the mounting device provides different ‘mounting orientations’ (both vertical and inclined) commensurate with the tiltable display surface when inserted into the assembly unit. FIGS 10-11 depicts an incline of about 25 degrees with respect to vertical.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jerabek (DE Patent No. 102018103692 A1), in view of Vetterer (DE Patent No. 102014019087 A1).
In re claim 8, Jerabek teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above and further teaches wherein the plug-in object comprises a voltage converter between electrical contact at the plug-in part and a current profile (Description, ways for carrying out the invention, para [0015]: “The first horizontal carrier 3 further includes an electrical line extending along the bottom 32 363 which the contact hanger 361 with a converter 341 combines. The converter 341 is so to the tracks of the busbar 334 of the groove 33 coupled so that these tracks and their associated components with current of an output voltage of the converter 341 can be fed by one of the electrical line 363 supplied input voltage is different. In particular, the input voltage 24 V amount and the output voltage 3 V.”).
Jerabek fails to teach, and proximate the plug-in part.
However, Vetterer teaches, and proximate the plug-in part (Description, Overview of the Invention, para [0005]: “At least one of the two profile rails is provided with a current profile. From the carrier unit that primary carrier, which is intended to be hooked into the rail with the power profile, an adapter for tapping electric power from the current profile for the operation of an existing consumer unit on the carrier unit, for. B. a light unit.” and SEE FIGS 7A and 7B, depicting adapter 7 on primary carrier 6; ie, ‘proximate the plug-in part’.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jerabek to incorporate the teachings of Vetterer to provide and proximate the plug-in part with the Horizontal Carrier, Presentation Module And Goods Presentation System of Jerabek. Doing so enables the carrier unit which is intended to be hooked into the rail with the power profile, to use an adapter for tapping electric power from the current profile for the operation of an existing consumer unit on the carrier unit, for a light unit, as recognized by Vetterer (Description, Overview of the Invention, para [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of applicant Remarks, applicant argues:
“Jerabek discloses that the information display 51 can be tilted, and no more. There is no teaching or suggestion in Jerabek that the information display can be tilted either vertically or obliquely forward or backward as required by rewritten claim 1 of the instant application. Also the mechanism for accomplishing such tilting of the information display 51 in Jerabek is completely different from the instant invention. That is, in Jerabek, the information display 51 is tilted by the use of an adapter 52 which is tiltably connected to the display 51. In contrast, for the instant invention, the mounting device 13 can be used in two different orientations depending on how it is inserted in the assembly unit 10, thus allowing the respective orientation of the information display 15 to be determined. In summary, Jerabek does not disclose or suggest a mounting device which is inserted into the assembly unit in one of two different possible mounting orientations as required by the instantly claimed invention.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the above rejection of claim 1, Jerabek describes in Description, Way (s) for carrying out the invention, para [0006], the ‘tiltable’ nature of the presentation module 5, as well as depicted in FIGS 10-11 the mounting device being inserted into the assembly unit—the mounting device enables a ‘tiltable’ connection to a display surface, therefore, the mounting device provides different ‘mounting orientations’ (both vertical and inclined) commensurate with the tiltable display surface when inserted into the assembly unit; ergo, applicant amendments are broad and continue to read on the applied reference of Jerabek.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-11191371-B2 teaches A presentation device is revealed, in particular for goods, comprising a mounting frame (10) having a plurality of mounting profiles (12, 13; 14) arranged parallel and spaced apart from each other; and a plurality of frame or box-shaped inserts (30) releasably attached to the mounting profiles; the inserts (30) each having a plurality of side walls (31) forming a rectangular frame, and the inserts in each case being detached over their backsides. At the same time, it is preferable to supply the inserts with an electrical voltage at the same time. The inserts can be considered as modules which are individually attached to the mounting frame and can be designed differently. The inserts are detachably attached to the mounting profiles via their backsides. This means that the presentation equipment can be configured in a simple way for both retrofitting and new installations in salesrooms.
WO-2008152973-A1 teaches A power supply rail (21) being laid along the longitudinal direction of a shelf board (6) for mounting an article (S) at the forward end portion of the shelf board (6) comprises two installation grooves (34, 35) formed continuously along the longitudinal direction of the shelf board (6) both at the upper and lower portions thereof and capable of fixing attachments (100, 200), and electrode portions (37P, 37M) provided continuously along the longitudinal direction of the shelf board (6) in these two installation grooves (34, 35) and capable of supplying power.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 01/29/2026
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688