DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2024 and 06/25/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10, 16, 33, 24, 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konopka et al (US 20220029443 A1), hereafter referred to as Konopka 1
Regarding claim 1, Konopka 1 teaches a system, comprising: a battery charging circuit that controls a charging waveform to supply to a battery; (¶0048 “[FIG 2] a circuit controller 210 may provide one or more inputs to the power signal shaping circuit 206 to control the shaping of the charge signal”, ¶0054 “FIG. 4. The circuit 400 may be controlled by a controller 210 to shape a recharging signal for a battery cell based on a frequency f.sub.Min corresponding to a minimum impedance value”)
and a detection circuit that detects a decrease in resistance of the battery (¶0050 “impedance measurement circuit 208 may be controlled by the circuit controller 210 to determine various impedance values of the battery cell 204 during recharging of the cell, among other times, and provide the measured impedance values to the circuit controller 210”, ¶0061 “circuit 400 of FIG. 4 may also include an impedance measurement circuit 408 connected to the battery cell 404”)
at an AC signal frequency greater than or equal to 200Hz, (¶0059 “input shaping circuit 420 may include a second inductor 424 connected between the first electrode 440 of the battery cell 404 and a second transistor 422… PWM signal 426 may operate at a frequency above 100 kHz, although the PWM signal 426 may operate at any frequency”)
wherein the battery charging circuit controls the charging waveform responsive to an output of the detection circuit. (¶0061 “[FIG 4] impedance measurement circuit 408 may be controlled by the circuit controller 210 to measure the cell impedance at various times or intervals”)
Similarly for claim 16 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells, (¶0046 “The systems, circuits, and methods disclosed herein are applicable to charging a battery cell and any form of battery that may comprise some number of cells connected”, ¶0052 “frequency f.sub.Min 332 may correspond to other aspects of the battery cell 204, such as the configuration of the cells in a pack and the connections between the cells in the pack”)
the method comprising controlling a charging waveform supplied to a battery. (¶0048 “a circuit controller 210 may provide one or more inputs to the power signal shaping circuit 206 to control the shaping of the charge signal”)
Similarly for claim 26 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of multiple re-chargeable cells, the method comprising: apportioning individual charging waveforms supplied to corresponding ones of the multiple re-chargeable cells. (¶0046 “The systems, circuits, and methods disclosed herein are applicable to charging a battery cell and any form of battery that may comprise some number of cells connected”, ¶0052 “frequency f.sub.Min 332 may correspond to other aspects of the battery cell 204, such as the configuration of the cells in a pack and the connections between the cells in the pack”)
Regarding claim 2, Konopka 1 teaches the system of claim 1. Konopka further teaches further comprising a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells. (¶0046 “The systems, circuits, and methods disclosed herein are applicable to charging a battery cell and any form of battery that may comprise some number of cells connected”, ¶0052 “frequency f.sub.Min 332 may correspond to other aspects of the battery cell 204, such as the configuration of the cells in a pack and the connections between the cells in the pack”)
Regarding claim 8, Konopka 1 teaches the system of claim 1. Konopka 1 further teaches wherein the detection circuit detects the decrease in resistance of the battery by comparing a measured resistance to a nominal resistance value for the battery. (¶0063 “circuit controller 210 may obtain the initial frequency for the charge pulse based on historical data of the battery cell 404, historical data of other battery cells, historical data of the circuit controller 210, or other battery recharge data”, ¶0054 “FIG. 4. The circuit 400 may be controlled by a controller 210 to shape a recharging signal for a battery cell based on a frequency f.sub.Min corresponding to a minimum impedance value”)
Similarly for claim 22 as applied to a method, Konopka 1 teaches the method of claim 16.
Regarding claim 10, Konopka 1 teaches the system of claim 1. Konopka 1 further teaches wherein the AC signal frequency is greater than or equal to 1kHz. (Konopka 1 ¶0059 “input shaping circuit 420 may include a second inductor 424 connected between the first electrode 440 of the battery cell 404 and a second transistor 422… PWM signal 426 may operate at a frequency above 100 kHz, although the PWM signal 426 may operate at any frequency”)
Similarly for claim 24 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells of claim 16.
Similarly for claim 28 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of multiple re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of multiple re-chargeable cells of claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 17-19, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konopka 1 modified by Konopka et al (US 20220085633 A1), hereafter referred to as Konopka 2
Regarding claim 3, Konopka 1 teaches the system of claim 1. Konopka further teaches further comprising [a modulation circuit that superimposes an AC signal having the AC signal frequency on the charging waveform],
and wherein the detection circuit detects the decrease in resistance of the battery from an increase of a component of the charging waveform due to the superimposed AC signal. (¶0007 “graph 150 of FIG. 1C, such high harmonics result in a large impedance at the battery electrodes”, FIG 1C depicts the change in impedance relative to frequency with a portion of signal 158 showing a decrease in the real impedance of the battery)
Konopka 1 does not teach further comprising a modulation circuit that superimposes an AC signal having the AC signal frequency on the charging waveform.
Konopka 2 teaches further comprising a modulation circuit that superimposes an AC signal having the AC signal frequency on the charging waveform. (¶0043 “FIG. 3 illustrates an example charge waveform 302, which could be applied to charge a battery cell 204. The composite waveform signal 302 may be understood to be comprised of multiple sinusoidal signals, or harmonics, of different frequencies… combination of the sinusoidal harmonics 304-310 comprise the waveform signal 302”, ¶0053 “Multiple impedance values of the battery cell 204 may be measured at various frequencies of a charge power signal and provided to the circuit controller 210 which may, in turn, determine or estimate the minimum real impedance value of the curve 334 of the battery cell 204”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 to further comprise a modulation circuit that superimposes an AC signal having the AC signal frequency on the charging waveform as taught by Konopka 2. Konopka 1 and Konopka 2 disclose the same circuit 200 for charging a battery cell which uses a charging signal shaping circuit 206, Konopka 1 discloses the method of circuit control executed using a pulse width modulation technique and Konopka 2 disclosing a harmonic-based charge signal for circuit 200. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimizing the internal impedance of the battery thereby minimizing the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery.
Similarly for claim 17 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells of claim 16.
Similarly for claim 27 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of multiple re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of multiple re-chargeable cells of claim 26.
Regarding claim 4, Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 teaches the system of claim 3. Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 further teaches wherein the modulation circuit is included in the battery charging circuit (Konopka 1 ¶0059 “input shaping circuit 420 may include a second inductor 424 connected between the first electrode 440 of the battery cell 404 and a second transistor 422”, Konopka 1 ¶0048 “circuit 200 of FIG. 2 may include a charge signal shaping circuit 206 to shape one or more pulses of a charge signal for use in charging the battery cell 204”)
and superimposes the AC signal by modulating the charging waveform directly. (Konopka 2 ¶0043 “FIG. 3 illustrates an example charge waveform 302, which could be applied to charge a battery cell 204. The composite waveform signal 302 may be understood to be comprised of multiple sinusoidal signals, or harmonics, of different frequencies… combination of the sinusoidal harmonics 304-310 comprise the waveform signal 302”, Konopka 2 ¶0053 “Multiple impedance values of the battery cell 204 may be measured at various frequencies of a charge power signal and provided to the circuit controller 210 which may, in turn, determine or estimate the minimum real impedance value of the curve 334 of the battery cell 204”)
Similarly for claim 18 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells of claim 16.
Regarding claim 5, Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 teaches the system of claim 3. Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 further teaches teach wherein the modulation circuit [is a modulated boost converter that] superimposes the AC signal by adding the AC signal to the charging waveform. (Konopka 2 ¶0043 “FIG. 3 illustrates an example charge waveform 302, which could be applied to charge a battery cell 204. The composite waveform signal 302 may be understood to be comprised of multiple sinusoidal signals, or harmonics, of different frequencies… combination of the sinusoidal harmonics 304-310 comprise the waveform signal 302”, Konopka 2 ¶0053 “Multiple impedance values of the battery cell 204 may be measured at various frequencies of a charge power signal and provided to the circuit controller 210 which may, in turn, determine or estimate the minimum real impedance value of the curve 334 of the battery cell 204”)
Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 does not teach wherein the modulation circuit is a modulated boost converter.
Konopka 2 further teaches wherein the modulation circuit is a modulated boost converter. (¶0108 “FIG. 15 is a circuit diagram illustrating one possible example of a circuit topology 1500 that generates a shaped waveform based on impedance of the cell… power converter is a boost converter 1508”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 wherein the modulation circuit is a modulated boost converter as taught by Konopka 2. Konopka 1 and Konopka 2 disclose the same circuit 200 for charging a battery cell which uses a charging signal shaping circuit 206, Konopka 1 discloses the method of circuit control executed using a pulse width modulation technique and Konopka 2 disclosing a harmonic-based charge signal for circuit 200. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimizing the internal impedance of the battery thereby minimizing the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery by dynamically controlling the output voltage.
Similarly for claim 19 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells of claim 16.
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 and further in view of Konopka et. al (WO 2024206531 A), hereafter referred to as Konopka 3
Regarding claim 6, Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 teaches the system of claim 3. Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 wherein the battery is composed of a plurality of re-chargeable cells, (Konopka 1 ¶0046 “The systems, circuits, and methods disclosed herein are applicable to charging a battery cell and any form of battery that may comprise some number of cells connected”, Konopka 1 ¶0052 “frequency f.sub.Min 332 may correspond to other aspects of the battery cell 204, such as the configuration of the cells in a pack and the connections between the cells in the pack”)
[wherein the battery charging circuit includes a balancing circuit that apportions individual charging waveforms supplied to corresponding ones of the plurality of re-chargeable cells,]
and wherein the modulation circuit modulates the balancing circuit to superimpose the AC signal on one or more of the individual charging waveforms. (Konopka 2 ¶0043 “FIG. 3 illustrates an example charge waveform 302, which could be applied to charge a battery cell 204. The composite waveform signal 302 may be understood to be comprised of multiple sinusoidal signals, or harmonics, of different frequencies… combination of the sinusoidal harmonics 304-310 comprise the waveform signal 302”, Konopka 2 ¶0053 “Multiple impedance values of the battery cell 204 may be measured at various frequencies of a charge power signal and provided to the circuit controller 210 which may, in turn, determine or estimate the minimum real impedance value of the curve 334 of the battery cell 204”)
Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 does not teach wherein the battery charging circuit includes a balancing circuit that apportions individual charging waveforms supplied to corresponding ones of the plurality of re-chargeable cells.
Konopka 3 teaches wherein the battery charging circuit includes a balancing circuit that apportions individual charging waveforms supplied to corresponding ones of the plurality of re-chargeable cells. (¶0235 “Several examples of harmonic assembly are shown in the Fig. 35 diagram to create an optimized charging (or discharging) signal”, ¶0237 “ second plot from top, the first 50 harmonics are combined to create a wider bandwidth stimulus”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 wherein the battery charging circuit includes a balancing circuit that apportions individual charging waveforms supplied to corresponding ones of the plurality of re-chargeable cells as taught by Konopka 3. Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 2 discloses a system and method of protecting a battery during fast-charging by modulating the charging signal using impedance measurement circuit 208. Konopka 3 discloses modulating a charging current using dynamic parameters, including the impedance of the battery. It would be an obvious step for Konopka 1 to modulate the charging current using the dynamic impedance measurement as taught by Konopka 3 in order to reduce the charging signal magnitude (Konopka 3 ¶0121) based on a reduced impedance measurement (Konopka 1 FIG 5). The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery by dynamically controlling the output voltage.
Similarly for claim 20 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells of claim 17.
Claim(s) 7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konopka 1 modified by Konopka 3
Regarding claim 7, Konopka 1 teaches the system of claim 1. Konopka 1 ¶0052 discloses “FIG. 3B is a graph 322 of measured real impedance values of a battery cell 204 to corresponding frequencies of a charge signal applied to the battery cell in accordance with one embodiment”, depicting the minimum frequency 332 corresponding to the minimum real impedance value 330 to improve the efficiency of charging the battery and protect the battery from degradation. Further, FIG 5 is a flowchart which details the method by which a charge pulse is controlled and generated. Particularly operations 508 and 510 measure the real impedance to control the charge pulse.
Konopka 1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery charging circuit, in response to the detection circuit detecting the decrease in resistance, reduces a magnitude of the charging waveform to protect battery health.
Konopka 3 teaches wherein the battery charging circuit, in response to the detection circuit detecting the decrease in resistance, reduces a magnitude of the charging waveform to protect battery health. (¶0121 “Fig. 8, the LE value is compared to a threshold associated with non-linearities in the battery (operation 804). If the LE value indicates non-linearity (e.g., a threshold of 0), the system may reduce the charging signal magnitude (operation 806)”)
Konopka 3 ¶0117 discloses “LE may be reassessed on… a change in impedance, an indication of a change in overpotential, or reassessed due to some other state change, where operations 802-810 are performed, and the charge signal magnitude may be reassessed”, where the LE value is reassessed based on the change in impedance of the battery.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 wherein the battery charging circuit, in response to the detection circuit detecting the decrease in resistance, reduces a magnitude of the charging waveform to protect battery health as taught by Konopka 3. Konopka 1 discloses a system and method of protecting a battery during fast-charging by modulating the charging signal using impedance measurement circuit 208. Konopka 3 discloses modulating a charging current using dynamic parameters, including the impedance of the battery. It would be an obvious step for Konopka 1 to modulate the charging current using the dynamic impedance measurement as taught by Konopka 3 in order to reduce the charging signal magnitude (Konopka 3 ¶0121) based on a reduced impedance measurement (Konopka 1 FIG 5). The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery by dynamically controlling the output voltage.
Similarly for claim 21, as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells of claim 16.
Claim(s) 9 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konopka 1 modified by Whang et al (US 20250219431 A1), Whang has a priority date of 12/27/2026 corresponding to foreign application KR 10-2023-0193652.
Regarding claim 9, Konopka 1 teaches the system of claim 1. Konopka 1 does not teach wherein the detection circuit differentiates the measure of determined resistance of the battery with respect to a state of charge of the battery to provide an indicator of battery health degradation.
Whang teaches wherein the detection circuit differentiates the measure of determined resistance of the battery with respect to a state of charge of the battery to provide an indicator of battery health degradation. (¶0062 “FIG. 4 is a diagram schematically illustrating a differential profile (differential resistance profile) DP… differential profile DP may indicate a corresponding relationship between the SOC and differential resistance (dR/dSOC)”, ¶0105 “the resistance change rate of the differential profile DP in FIG. 4 may be an SOC section before the negative electrode voltage decreases below a predetermined voltage. Therefore, according to a charging protocol which has been set based on the target SOC (charge upper limit SOC) within the target section, it is possible to prevent or suppress the unnecessary deterioration of the battery”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 wherein the detection circuit differentiates the measure of determined resistance of the battery with respect to a state of charge of the battery to provide an indicator of battery health degradation as taught by Whang. Whang discloses an apparatus for determining a charging protocol, ¶0066 discloses “profile acquisition unit 110 may be connected to the control unit 120 in a wired and/or wireless manner to transmit the acquired differential profile to the control unit 120”. Indicating that the differential charging profile may be used in controlling the charging signal. Incorporating the differential profile of FIG 4 as taught by Whang as part of the measurements which are fed to Konopka 1’s controller 210 to incorporate Whang’s differential profile when shaping the charge signal. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to detect charging abnormalities to protect the battery from damage during fast-charging.
Similarly for claim 23 as applied to a method, Konopka 1 teaches the method of claim 16
Claim(s) 11, 25, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konopka 1 modified by Konopka et al (US 20240243600 A1), hereafter referred to as Konopka 4. Konopka 3 has a priority date of 03/28/2023
Regarding claim 11, Konopka 1 teaches the system of Claim 10. Konopka 1 further teaches wherein the AC signal frequency is substantially equal to 1kHz, (Konopka 1 ¶0059 “input shaping circuit 420 may include a second inductor 424 connected between the first electrode 440 of the battery cell 404 and a second transistor 422… PWM signal 426 may operate at a frequency above 100 kHz, although the PWM signal 426 may operate at any frequency”, case where PWM signal 426 is 1kHz)
[whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit].
Konopka 1 does not teach whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit.
Konopka 4 teaches whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit. (¶0145 “Probing signals may include harmonics associated with specific DC resistance or complex impedance responses of the battery (e.g., harmonics associated with the solid electrolyte interface (SEI) in a Lithium-Ion battery (LIB), as determined by electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS))”)
Electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) is a well known technique in the art of measuring battery degradation which is able to differentiate between ohmic and ionic internal resistance of a battery.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit as taught by Konopka 4. Konopka 1 and Konopka 4 disclose the same circuit 200 for charging a battery cell which uses a charging signal shaping circuit 206, Konopka 1 discloses the method of circuit control executed using a pulse width modulation technique and Konopka 2 disclosing a harmonic-based charge signal for circuit 200. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery by having a high-sensitivity measurement of impedance which can be measured across a wide range of frequencies.
Similarly for claim 25 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of one or more re-chargeable cells of claim 16.
Similarly for claim 29 as applied to a method of detecting changes in a battery composed of multiple re-chargeable cells, Konopka 1 teaches the method of detecting changes in a battery composed of multiple re-chargeable cells of claim 26.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff et al (US 20240170977 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Konopka 1 teaches a system, comprising: a battery charging [and balancing] circuit that apportions individual charging waveforms supplied to corresponding ones of multiple re-chargeable cells of a battery; (¶0046 “The systems, circuits, and methods disclosed herein are applicable to charging a battery cell and any form of battery that may comprise some number of cells connected”, ¶0052 “frequency f.sub.Min 332 may correspond to other aspects of the battery cell 204, such as the configuration of the cells in a pack and the connections between the cells in the pack”)
and a detection circuit that detects a decrease in resistance of the battery (¶0050 “impedance measurement circuit 208 may be controlled by the circuit controller 210 to determine various impedance values of the battery cell 204 during recharging of the cell, among other times, and provide the measured impedance values to the circuit controller 210”, ¶0061 “circuit 400 of FIG. 4 may also include an impedance measurement circuit 408 connected to the battery cell 404”)
at an AC signal frequency greater than or equal to 200Hz, (¶0059 “input shaping circuit 420 may include a second inductor 424 connected between the first electrode 440 of the battery cell 404 and a second transistor 422… PWM signal 426 may operate at a frequency above 100 kHz, although the PWM signal 426 may operate at any frequency”)
wherein the battery charging circuit controls the charging waveform responsive to an output of the detection circuit. (¶0061 “[FIG 4] impedance measurement circuit 408 may be controlled by the circuit controller 210 to measure the cell impedance at various times or intervals”)
Konopka 1 does not teach a battery [charging and] balancing circuit.
Grasshoff teaches a battery [charging and] balancing circuit. (¶0049 “FIG. 6 is a diagram of a circuit for balancing cell voltage of a battery with multiple cells in series”, ¶0050 “ FIG. 7 is another diagram of a circuit for balancing cell voltage of a battery with multiple cells in series without using hardware current sensors”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 to comprise a battery [charging and] balancing circuit as taught by Grasshoff. Konopka 1 and Grasshoff both disclose systems which modulate a charging signal based on the internal parameters. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery by dynamically controlling the output voltage.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff and further in view of Konopka 2
Regarding claim 13, Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff teaches the system of claim 12. Konopka modified by Grasshoff further teaches further comprising [a modulation circuit that superimposes an AC signal having the AC signal frequency on the charging waveform],
and wherein the detection circuit detects the decrease in resistance of the battery from an increase of a component of the charging waveform due to the superimposed AC signal. (¶0007 “graph 150 of FIG. 1C, such high harmonics result in a large impedance at the battery electrodes”, FIG 1C depicts the change in impedance relative to frequency with a portion of signal 158 showing a decrease in the real impedance of the battery)
Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff does not teach further comprising a modulation circuit that superimposes an AC signal having the AC signal frequency on the charging waveform.
Konopka 2 teaches further comprising a modulation circuit that superimposes an AC signal having the AC signal frequency on the charging waveform. (¶0043 “FIG. 3 illustrates an example charge waveform 302, which could be applied to charge a battery cell 204. The composite waveform signal 302 may be understood to be comprised of multiple sinusoidal signals, or harmonics, of different frequencies… combination of the sinusoidal harmonics 304-310 comprise the waveform signal 302”, ¶0053 “Multiple impedance values of the battery cell 204 may be measured at various frequencies of a charge power signal and provided to the circuit controller 210 which may, in turn, determine or estimate the minimum real impedance value of the curve 334 of the battery cell 204”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff to further comprise a modulation circuit that superimposes an AC signal having the AC signal frequency on the charging waveform as taught by Konopka 2. Konopka 1 and Konopka 2 disclose the same circuit 200 for charging a battery cell which uses a charging signal shaping circuit 206, Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff discloses the method of circuit control executed using a pulse width modulation technique and Konopka 2 disclosing a harmonic-based charge signal for circuit 200. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimizing the internal impedance of the battery thereby minimizing the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff and further in view of Konopka 4.
Regarding claim 14, Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff teaches the system of Claim 12. Konopka 1 modified by Koseoglou further teaches wherein the AC signal frequency is substantially equal to 1kHz, (Konopka 1 ¶0059 “input shaping circuit 420 may include a second inductor 424 connected between the first electrode 440 of the battery cell 404 and a second transistor 422… PWM signal 426 may operate at a frequency above 100 kHz, although the PWM signal 426 may operate at any frequency”, case where PWM signal 426 is 1kHz)
[whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit].
Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff does not teach whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit.
Konopka 4 teaches whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit. (¶0145 “Probing signals may include harmonics associated with specific DC resistance or complex impedance responses of the battery (e.g., harmonics associated with the solid electrolyte interface (SEI) in a Lithium-Ion battery (LIB), as determined by electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS))”)
Electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) is a well known technique in the art of measuring battery degradation which is able to differentiate between ohmic and ionic internal resistance of a battery.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit as taught by Konopka 4. Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff and Konopka 4 disclose the same circuit 200 for charging a battery cell which uses a charging signal shaping circuit 206, Konopka 1 discloses the method of circuit control executed using a pulse width modulation technique and Konopka 2 disclosing a harmonic-based charge signal for circuit 200. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery by having a high-sensitivity measurement of impedance which can be measured across a wide range of frequencies.
Regarding claim 15, Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff and Konopka 4 teaches the system of claim 14. Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff and Konopka 4 teaches wherein the AC signal frequency is substantially equal to 1kHz, (Konopka 1 ¶0059 “input shaping circuit 420 may include a second inductor 424 connected between the first electrode 440 of the battery cell 404 and a second transistor 422… PWM signal 426 may operate at a frequency above 100 kHz, although the PWM signal 426 may operate at any frequency”, case where PWM signal 426 is 1kHz)
[whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit].
Konopka 1 does not teach whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit.
Konopka 4 teaches whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit. (¶0145 “Probing signals may include harmonics associated with specific DC resistance or complex impedance responses of the battery (e.g., harmonics associated with the solid electrolyte interface (SEI) in a Lithium-Ion battery (LIB), as determined by electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS))”)
Electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) is a well known technique in the art of measuring battery degradation which is able to differentiate between ohmic and ionic internal resistance of a battery.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff whereby changes in ohmic resistance and ionic resistance of electrolyte in the battery are detected by the detection circuit as taught by Konopka 4. Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff and Konopka 4 disclose the same circuit 200 for charging a battery cell which uses a charging signal shaping circuit 206, Konopka 1 modified by Grasshoff discloses the method of circuit control executed using a pulse width modulation technique. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the degradation caused by fast-charging the battery by having a high-sensitivity measurement of impedance which can be measured across a wide range of frequencies.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1, specifically wherein claim 12 is a subset of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 13 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 4, specifically wherein claim 13 is a subset of claim 4. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 14 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10, specifically wherein claim 14 is a subset of claim 10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 15 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 11, specifically wherein claim 15 is a subset of claim 11. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 26 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 16, specifically wherein claim 26 is a subset of claim 16. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 27 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 21, specifically wherein claim 27 is a subset of claim 21. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 28 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 24, specifically wherein claim 28 is a subset of claim 24. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 29 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 25, specifically wherein claim 29 is a subset of claim 25. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because missing labels and information. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
FIGs 6A-6D are objected to due to missing titles and axis labels
FIGs 8A and 8B are objected to due to missing titles
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Nakazawa et al (US 20090021217 A1) discloses a method and device for safety of a secondary battery which protects it from overcurrent and overvoltage.
Koba et al (US 20140218042 A1) discloses a device and method of using the complex impedance of a rechargeable battery to detect the state and abnormalities of a rechargeable battery.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859