DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to amendment/election filed on 10/21/2025.
A Requirement for Restriction/Election was mailed on 08/27/2025.
In response, applicant elected Group II (claims 10-19 and 20) without traverse.
Claims 10-20 are presented for examination, and claims 1-9 have been cancelled.
Claims 10-20 remain pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Domestic Benefit
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for benefit of provisional application 63/483,454 filed on 02/06/2023.
Drawings
The replacement drawing sheets were received on 03/06/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 10-14, 18 and 20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the steps of” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “IoT”. The examiner suggests abbreviating the acronym prior to first usage.
Claim 12-13 recite the limitation “APN”. The examiner suggests abbreviating the acronym prior to first usage.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the generation and tailoring of configuration profiles” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the following” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations as recited in claims 10-14 and 18. Therefore, the claim objections, as set forth above, also apply to the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites that the configuration profiles “are tailored using artificial intelligence”. It is not clear how exactly the configuration profiles are being tailored using AI. In addition, claim 17 depends on dependent claim 16 and further recites “wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provides applications to be added to the configuration profiles”. It is also not clear how/why/when the configuration profiles are being tailored using artificial intelligence if the network administrator is the one setting the parameters and providing applications to be added to the configuration profiles.
Claim 19 depends on dependent claim 18 (which depends on claim 16) and further recites “wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator”. However, and as set forth above, claim 16 recites that the configuration profiles “are tailored using artificial intelligence”. It is not clear how/why/when the configuration profiles are being tailored using artificial intelligence if the network administrator is the one setting/ assigning the geographic fences in the configuration profiles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LATOUR et al. (hereinafter, LATOUR, US 20210377735 A1) in view of Loladia et al. (hereinafter, Loladia, US 10447683 B1) in view of Bernal Barros et al. (hereinafter, Barros, US 20200374149 A1).
Regarding claim 10, LATOUR discloses a device management server (see Fig.1:130) comprising a non-transitory computer- readable storage device (see Fig.1:133) storing computer executable instructions that when executed by a computer (see Fig.1:132) controls the computer to perform a method (see [0014]; A system of one or more computers can be configured to perform particular operations or actions by virtue of having software, firmware, hardware, or a combination of them installed on the system that in operation causes or cause the system to perform the actions) comprising the steps of:
connecting the device management server (see Fig.1:130) to a network (see Fig.1:120 and/or 122; also see [0022]; The network interface 134 couples the registry 130 to the Internet 120 or one or more intermediary networks);
processing a registration request from at least one device (see Fig.1:182-186 in view of [0020] line 6; mobile IoT devices 182/184/186; also see [0024]-[0025] in view of Fig.2:204; a message flow for mobile IoT device registration; the MNO 124 registers the device identifiers as active with the secure IoT registry 130; examiner articulates that step 204 shows arrow from IoT devices to registry 130 for mobile IoT device registration ("registration request from at least one device"), in response to which, the registry 130 responds with registry CERT at step 222; examiner further articulates that steps 204-222 performed by registry 130 corresponds to the processing of the registration request from at least one device), wherein the at least one device (see Fig.1:182-186) is attempting to connect to the network (see [0021]; establish a new commercial relationship requiring all IoT devices 182/184/186 to connect to CSP2 150 at a given date and time; also see [0025]; The owner 110 installs the IoT devices 182/184/186 and powers them on, activating the network connection to the wireless network 122);
managing the at least one device that is connected to the network (see [0014] lines 9-11; networked Internet-of-Things (IoT) device management at a registry server; also see [0018]; providing a networked Internet-of-Things (IoT) device management utilizing a registry server; also see [0022]; The registry 130 provides device management services);
processing the registration request from the at least one device (see [0024]-[0025] in view of Fig.2:204; a message flow for mobile IoT device registration; the MNO 124 registers the device identifiers as active with the secure IoT registry 130; examiner articulates that step 204 shows arrow from IoT devices to registry 130 for mobile IoT device registration ("registration request from at least one device"), in response to which, the registry 130 responds with registry CERT at step 222; examiner further articulates that steps 204-222 performed by registry 130 corresponds to the processing of the registration request from at least one device) without the need for human intervention or interaction (see [0021]; In traditional configuration each IoT device 182/184/186 would have to be manually reconfigured to be operable with CSP2 150. However, the use of the registry 130 enables the IoT devices 182/184/186 to be securely transferred between CSP's, for example from CSP1 140 to CSP2 150, without requiring the time consuming manual reconfiguration processes); and
controlling the at least one device (see [0020]; The core feature of the IoT registry 130 is the enablement of connectivity for generic IoT devices 182/184/196 to connect to any CSP 140/150 from any MNO 124 securely), without human intervention or interaction (see [0021]; In traditional configuration each IoT device 182/184/186 would have to be manually reconfigured to be operable with CSP2 150. However, the use of the registry 130 enables the IoT devices 182/184/186 to be securely transferred between CSP's, for example from CSP1 140 to CSP2 150, without requiring the time consuming manual reconfiguration processes).
Although, and as set forth above, LATOUR teaches controlling the at least one device, without human intervention or interaction (see [0020]-[0021]), LATOUR does not explicitly teach such controlling of the at least one device is using artificial intelligence. LATOUR also does not explicitly teach communicating with the at least one device via an APN gateway; and remotely controlling the device management server by a network administrator.
However, in an analogous art, Loladia discloses communicating with the at least one device (see IoT Devices 206, 211 and 216 in Fig.2 in view of Col.2: line 58; the IoT device may connect to the IoT service) via an APN gateway (see Fig.2:220 in view of Col.5: line 66 - Col.6: line 5; The device gateway 220 enables the IoT devices to communicate with the services of the cloud computing platform 115. In one embodiment, the device gateway 220 may be associated with a message broker uses the MQTT protocol for communication, which is generally a publish-subscribe model that enables one-to-one and one-to-many communications with devices); and
remotely controlling the device management server by a network administrator (see Col.3: lines 4-37; the user-defined provisioning workflow may direct the IoT service to obtain a device profile from an account of the user on the cloud computing platform; also see Col.4: lines 18-28; remotely controlling is obvious as the management console 105 provides an interface application that allows a user to access services provided by the cloud computing platform 115 and modify a configuration; also see Col.14: lines 12-13 that teaches that the user is administrator of the cloud computing platform 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Loladia with LATOUR to communicate with the at least one device via an APN gateway; and remotely control the device management server by a network administrator.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow the IoT devices 110 to connect and communicate with the services in a secure manner (Loladia: Col.5: lines 9-10).
Although, and as set forth above, LATOUR teaches controlling the at least one device, without human intervention or interaction (see [0020]-[0021]), LATOUR (modified by Loladia) does not explicitly teach such controlling of the at least one device is using artificial intelligence.
However, in an analogous art, Barros discloses controlling the at least one device, without human intervention or interaction using artificial intelligence (see Abstract; An Artificial Intelligence/Internet of Things (AI/IOT) HUB … for controlling a plurality of controlled devices…, simultaneously configuring HUBs with minimal user intervention, controlling the controlled devices using infrared (IR), radio frequency (RF), Wi-Fi, or Bluetooth signals, and controlling several of the controlled devices simultaneously for a conditioning of a room or a zone; also see [0024]; The artificial intelligence functions can utilize any number of techniques including neural networks, machine learning, natural language processing, or statistical learning as well as algorithms or mathematical tools such as hidden Markov models, information theory, or normative Bayesian decision theory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Barros with LATOUR and Loladia to control the at least one device, without human intervention or interaction using artificial intelligence.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow different artificial intelligence services to process the information in a manner that improves performance of AI/IOT HUB (Barros: see [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) discloses the device management server of claim 10, as set forth above. LATOUR further discloses wherein the at least one device is an IoT capable device (see [0020] line 6: mobile IoT devices 182/184/186).
Regarding claim 12, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) discloses the device management server of claim 10, as set forth above. Loladia further discloses wherein the APN gateway is a default APN gateway before the at least one device connects to the network (see Fig.2:220 in view of Col.5: line 66 - Col.6: line 5 examiner articulates that gateway 220 is a default APN gateway as there is only one gateway so all IoT devices connect via this gateway by default).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Loladia with LATOUR and Barros so that the APN gateway is a default APN gateway before the at least one device connects to the network.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow the IoT devices 110 to connect and communicate with the services in a secure manner (Loladia: Col.5: lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 14, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) discloses the device management server of claim 10, as set forth above, including at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server (in LATOUR, see Fig.1:182-186 in view of [0020] line 6; also see [0024]-[0025] in view of Fig.2:204). Loladia further discloses wherein premade configuration profiles are stored in a database (see Fig.1:123) within the device management server (see Fig.1:115; also see Col.12: lines 9-12 in view of Fig.6: 605-610; if a device profile associated with the type of the IoT device is available, then, at step 610, the provisioning service 236 obtains the device profile for the IoT device type; also see Col.6: lines 57-58; a device profile maintained on the IoT data store 123) to expedite the generation and tailoring of configuration profiles for the at least one device (see Col.12: lines 17-31 in view of Fig.6:615; generates a policy for the IoT device based on the attributes provided in the device profile; also see Fig.6: 645-630) that sent the registration request to the device management server (see Fig.5:505).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Loladia with LATOUR and Barros so that premade configuration profiles are stored in a database within the device management server to expedite the generation and tailoring of configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow the IoT devices 110 to connect and communicate with the services in a secure manner (Loladia: Col.5: lines 9-10).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LATOUR et al. (hereinafter, LATOUR, US 20210377735 A1) in view of Loladia et al. (hereinafter, Loladia, US 10447683 B1) in view of Bernal Barros et al. (hereinafter, Barros, US 20200374149 A1) in view of Okamoto et al. (hereinafter, Okamoto, US 20120216259 A1).
Regarding claim 13, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) discloses the device management server of claim 10, as set forth above. LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) does not explicitly disclose wherein the APN gateway is changeable once the at least one device is connected to the network.
However, in an analogous art, Okamoto discloses wherein the APN gateway is changeable once the at least one device is connected to the network (see [0160]; when achieving a network connection with the fourth network, in the network configuration of the network connecting device, the IP address, the subnet mask, and the default gateway are changed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Okamoto with LATOUR, Loladia and Barros so that the APN gateway is changeable once the at least one device is connected to the network.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for improving convenience and security in network connections and improving convenience in configuring a profile of a network connection (Okamoto: see [0027]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LATOUR et al. (hereinafter, LATOUR, US 20210377735 A1) in view of Loladia et al. (hereinafter, Loladia, US 10447683 B1) in view of Bernal Barros et al. (hereinafter, Barros, US 20200374149 A1) in view of Liu et al. (hereinafter, Liu, US 20150215788 A1).
Regarding claim 13, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) discloses the device management server of claim 10, as set forth above. LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) does not explicitly disclose wherein the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model.
However, in an analogous art, Liu discloses wherein the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model (see [0064]; the registration request message comprises one or more of the following parameters: device type, identification, location information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu with LATOUR, Loladia and Barros so that the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to uniquely identify the network element device initiating the registration request (Liu: see [0025]).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LATOUR et al. (hereinafter, LATOUR, US 20210377735 A1) in view of Loladia et al. (hereinafter, Loladia, US 10447683 B1) in view of Bernal Barros et al. (hereinafter, Barros, US 20200374149 A1) in view of PATEL et al. (hereinafter, PATEL, US 20210092785 A1).
Regarding claim 16, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) discloses the device management server of claim 10, as set forth above, including at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server (in LATOUR, see Fig.1:182-186 in view of [0020] line 6; also see [0024]-[0025] in view of Fig.2:204). LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) does not explicitly disclose generating and tailoring configuration profiles for the at least one device, wherein the configuration profiles are tailored using artificial intelligence.
However, in an analogous art, PATEL discloses generating (see [0052]; Client device 240 includes one or more devices capable of receiving, generating, storing, processing, and/or providing information associated with configuring IoT device 205- e.g., via a network configuration profile) and tailoring configuration profiles for the at least one device, wherein the configuration profiles are tailored using artificial intelligence (see [0019]; one or more of the parameters (e.g., the mode priority, the scan duration, the scan interval, the power save duration, and/or the like) of the network configuration profile may be designated and/or adjusted by a user via the client device. Additionally, or alternatively, one or more of the parameters of the network configuration profile may be automatically designated and/or adjusted by the client device and/or the IoT control device using a machine learning model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of PATEL with LATOUR, Loladia and Barros to generate and tailor configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server, wherein the configuration profiles are tailored using artificial intelligence.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to configure an IoT device to maintain optimal network connections while also conserving computational resources and minimizing power consumption (PATEL: see [0008] and [0011]).
Regarding claim 17, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros and PATEL) discloses the device management server of claim 16, as set forth above. PATEL further discloses wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provides applications to be added to the configuration profiles (see [0019]; one or more of the parameters (e.g., the mode priority, the scan duration, the scan interval, the power save duration, and/or the like) of the network configuration profile may be designated and/or adjusted by a user via the client device; also see [0014]; The network configuration profile may include one or more parameters relating to a mode priority. The mode priority may include information relating to … an associated application - e.g., an intended use of the IoT device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of PATEL with LATOUR, Loladia and Barros so that the network administrator sets parameters and provides applications to be added to the configuration profiles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to configure an IoT device to maintain optimal network connections while also conserving computational resources and minimizing power consumption (PATEL: see [0008] and [0011]).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LATOUR et al. (hereinafter, LATOUR, US 20210377735 A1) in view of Loladia et al. (hereinafter, Loladia, US 10447683 B1) in view of Bernal Barros et al. (hereinafter, Barros, US 20200374149 A1) in view of PATEL et al. (hereinafter, PATEL, US 20210092785 A1) in view of Rao (US 10181152 B1).
Regarding claim 18, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros and PATEL) discloses the device management server of claim 16, as set forth above. LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros and PATEL) does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by at least one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a polygon with "n" vertices.
However, in an analogous art, Rao discloses wherein the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by at least one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a polygon with "n" vertices (see Col. 4: lines 5-10; The user may be enabled to provide a configuration profile with the flight-plan server using a variety of steps. A user may be enabled to walk a property 100 and geofence the area using a mobile device or other drone. The user is enabled to notate on their property profile various terrain or other obstacles or notations 104; also see lines 28-30; A user may geofence their property via mobile application that can be used to walk the border of a property or a key area of the property).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rao with LATOUR, Loladia, Barros and PATEL so that the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by at least one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a polygon with "n" vertices.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow for the configuration of zones (Rao: see Col. 4: lines 37-38).
Regarding claim 19, LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros, PATEL and Rao) discloses the device management server of claim 18, as set forth above. Rao further discloses wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator (see Col. 4: lines 5-10; The user may be enabled to provide a configuration profile with the flight-plan server using a variety of steps. A user may be enabled to walk a property 100 and geofence the area using a mobile device or other drone. The user is enabled to notate on their property profile various terrain or other obstacles or notations 104; also see lines 28-30; A user may geofence their property via mobile application that can be used to walk the border of a property or a key area of the property).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rao with LATOUR, Loladia, Barros and PATEL so that the geographic fences are set by the network administrator.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow for the configuration of zones (Rao: see Col. 4: lines 37-38).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LATOUR et al. (hereinafter, LATOUR, US 20210377735 A1) in view of Loladia et al. (hereinafter, Loladia, US 10447683 B1) in view of Bernal Barros et al. (hereinafter, Barros, US 20200374149 A1) in view of Okamoto et al. (hereinafter, Okamoto, US 20120216259 A1) in view of Liu et al. (hereinafter, Liu, US 20150215788 A1) in view of PATEL et al. (hereinafter, PATEL, US 20210092785 A1) in view of Rao (US 10181152 B1).
Regarding claim 20, LATOUR discloses a device management server (see Fig.1:130) comprising a non-transitory computer- readable storage device (see Fig.1:133) storing computer executable instructions that when executed by a computer (see Fig.1:132) controls the computer to perform a method (see [0014]; A system of one or more computers can be configured to perform particular operations or actions by virtue of having software, firmware, hardware, or a combination of them installed on the system that in operation causes or cause the system to perform the actions) comprising the steps of:
connecting the device management server (see Fig.1:130) to a network (see Fig.1:120 and/or 122; also see [0022]; The network interface 134 couples the registry 130 to the Internet 120 or one or more intermediary networks);
processing a registration request from at least one device (see Fig.1:182-186 in view of [0020] line 6; mobile IoT devices 182/184/186; also see [0024]-[0025] in view of Fig.2:204; a message flow for mobile IoT device registration; the MNO 124 registers the device identifiers as active with the secure IoT registry 130; examiner articulates that step 204 shows arrow from IoT devices to registry 130 for mobile IoT device registration ("registration request from at least one device"), in response to which, the registry 130 responds with registry CERT at step 222; examiner further articulates that steps 204-222 performed by registry 130 corresponds to the processing of the registration request from at least one device), wherein the at least one device (see Fig.1:182-186) is attempting to connect to the network (see [0021]; establish a new commercial relationship requiring all IoT devices 182/184/186 to connect to CSP2 150 at a given date and time; also see [0025]; The owner 110 installs the IoT devices 182/184/186 and powers them on, activating the network connection to the wireless network 122), wherein the at least one device is an IoT capable device (see [0020] line 6: mobile IoT devices 182/184/186);
managing the at least one device that is connected to the network (see [0014] lines 9-11; networked Internet-of-Things (IoT) device management at a registry server; also see [0018]; providing a networked Internet-of-Things (IoT) device management utilizing a registry server; also see [0022]; The registry 130 provides device management services);
processing the registration request from the at least one device (see [0024]-[0025] in view of Fig.2:204; a message flow for mobile IoT device registration; the MNO 124 registers the device identifiers as active with the secure IoT registry 130; examiner articulates that step 204 shows arrow from IoT devices to registry 130 for mobile IoT device registration ("registration request from at least one device"), in response to which, the registry 130 responds with registry CERT at step 222; examiner further articulates that steps 204-222 performed by registry 130 corresponds to the processing of the registration request from at least one device) without human intervention or interaction (see [0021]; In traditional configuration each IoT device 182/184/186 would have to be manually reconfigured to be operable with CSP2 150. However, the use of the registry 130 enables the IoT devices 182/184/186 to be securely transferred between CSP's, for example from CSP1 140 to CSP2 150, without requiring the time consuming manual reconfiguration processes); and
controlling the at least one device (see [0020]; The core feature of the IoT registry 130 is the enablement of connectivity for generic IoT devices 182/184/196 to connect to any CSP 140/150 from any MNO 124 securely) without human intervention or interaction (see [0021]; In traditional configuration each IoT device 182/184/186 would have to be manually reconfigured to be operable with CSP2 150. However, the use of the registry 130 enables the IoT devices 182/184/186 to be securely transferred between CSP's, for example from CSP1 140 to CSP2 150, without requiring the time consuming manual reconfiguration processes).
Although, and as set forth above, LATOUR teaches controlling the at least one device, without human intervention or interaction (see [0020]-[0021]), LATOUR does not explicitly teach such controlling of the at least one device is using artificial intelligence. LATOUR also does not explicitly teach communicating with the at least one device via an APN gateway, wherein the APN gateway is a default APN gateway before the at least one device connects to the network, wherein the APN gateway is changeable once the at least one device is connected to the network; remotely controlling the device management server by a network administrator; storing premade configuration profiles on a database within the device management server to expedite the generation and tailoring of configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent a registration request to the device management server, wherein the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model; and generating and tailoring configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server, wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provide applications to be added to the configuration profiles, and the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a custom polygon with "n" vertices, wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator.
However, in an analogous art, Loladia discloses communicating with the at least one device (see IoT Devices 206, 211 and 216 in Fig.2 in view of Col.2: line 58; the IoT device may connect to the IoT service) via an APN gateway (see Fig.2:220 in view of Col.5: line 66 - Col.6: line 5; The device gateway 220 enables the IoT devices to communicate with the services of the cloud computing platform 115. In one embodiment, the device gateway 220 may be associated with a message broker uses the MQTT protocol for communication, which is generally a publish-subscribe model that enables one-to-one and one-to-many communications with devices), wherein the APN gateway is a default APN gateway before the at least one device connects to the network (see Fig.2:220 in view of Col.5: line 66 - Col.6: line 5 examiner articulates that gateway 220 is a default APN gateway as there is only one gateway so all IoT devices connect via this gateway by default);
remotely controlling the device management server by a network administrator (see Col.3: lines 4-37; the user-defined provisioning workflow may direct the IoT service to obtain a device profile from an account of the user on the cloud computing platform; also see Col.4: lines 18-28; remotely controlling is obvious as the management console 105 provides an interface application that allows a user to access services provided by the cloud computing platform 115 and modify a configuration; also see Col.14: lines 12-13 that teaches that the user is administrator of the cloud computing platform 115); and
storing premade configuration profiles on a database (see Fig.1:123) within the device management server (see Fig.1:115; also see Col.12: lines 9-12 in view of Fig.6: 605-610; if a device profile associated with the type of the IoT device is available, then, at step 610, the provisioning service 236 obtains the device profile for the IoT device type; also see Col.6: lines 57-58; a device profile maintained on the IoT data store 123) to expedite the generation and tailoring of configuration profiles for the at least one device (see Col.12: lines 17-31 in view of Fig.6:615; generates a policy for the IoT device based on the attributes provided in the device profile; also see Fig.6: 645-630) that sent a registration request to the device management server (see Fig.5:505).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Loladia with LATOUR to communicate with the at least one device via an APN gateway, wherein the APN gateway is a default APN gateway before the at least one device connects to the network; to remotely control the device management server by a network administrator; and to store premade configuration profiles on a database within the device management server to expedite the generation and tailoring of configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent a registration request to the device management server.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow the IoT devices 110 to connect and communicate with the services in a secure manner (Loladia: Col.5: lines 9-10).
Although, and as set forth above, LATOUR teaches controlling the at least one device, without human intervention or interaction (see [0020]-[0021]), LATOUR (modified by Loladia) does not explicitly teach such controlling of the at least one device is using artificial intelligence. LATOUR (modified by Loladia) also does not explicitly teach wherein the APN gateway is changeable once the at least one device is connected to the network; wherein the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model; and generating and tailoring configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server, wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provide applications to be added to the configuration profiles, and the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a custom polygon with "n" vertices, wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator.
However, in an analogous art, Barros discloses controlling the at least one device without human intervention or interaction using artificial intelligence (see Abstract; An Artificial Intelligence/Internet of Things (AI/IOT) HUB … for controlling a plurality of controlled devices…, simultaneously configuring HUBs with minimal user intervention, controlling the controlled devices using infrared (IR), radio frequency (RF), Wi-Fi, or Bluetooth signals, and controlling several of the controlled devices simultaneously for a conditioning of a room or a zone; also see [0024]; The artificial intelligence functions can utilize any number of techniques including neural networks, machine learning, natural language processing, or statistical learning as well as algorithms or mathematical tools such as hidden Markov models, information theory, or normative Bayesian decision theory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Barros with LATOUR and Loladia to control the at least one device without human intervention or interaction using artificial intelligence.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow different artificial intelligence services to process the information in a manner that improves performance of AI/IOT HUB (Barros: see [0076]).
LATOUR (modified by Loladia and Barros) does not explicitly teach wherein the APN gateway is changeable once the at least one device is connected to the network; wherein the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model; and generating and tailoring configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server, wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provide applications to be added to the configuration profiles, and the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a custom polygon with "n" vertices, wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator.
However, in an analogous art, Okamoto discloses wherein the APN gateway is changeable once the at least one device is connected to the network (see [0160]; when achieving a network connection with the fourth network, in the network configuration of the network connecting device, the IP address, the subnet mask, and the default gateway are changed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Okamoto with LATOUR, Loladia and Barros so that the APN gateway is changeable once the at least one device is connected to the network.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for improving convenience and security in network connections and improving convenience in configuring a profile of a network connection (Okamoto: see [0027]).
LATOUR (modified by Loladia, Barros and Okamoto) does not explicitly teach wherein the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model; and generating and tailoring configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server, wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provide applications to be added to the configuration profiles, and the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a custom polygon with "n" vertices, wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator.
However, in an analogous art, Liu discloses wherein the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model (see [0064]; the registration request message comprises one or more of the following parameters: device type, identification, location information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu with LATOUR, Loladia Barros and Okamoto so that the registration request contains data regarding the at least one device comprising location data, serial number, and device model.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to uniquely identify the network element device initiating the registration request (Liu: see [0025]).
Although, and as set forth above, LATOUR teaches at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server (in LATOUR, see Fig.1:182-186 in view of [0020] line 6; also see [0024]-[0025] in view of Fig.2:204), LATOUR (modified by Loladia, Barros, Okamoto and Liu) does not explicitly teach generating and tailoring configuration profiles for the at least one device, wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provide applications to be added to the configuration profiles, and the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a custom polygon with "n" vertices, wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator.
However, in an analogous art, PATEL discloses generating (see [0052]; Client device 240 includes one or more devices capable of receiving, generating, storing, processing, and/or providing information associated with configuring IoT device 205- e.g., via a network configuration profile) and tailoring configuration profiles for the at least one device (see [0019]; one or more of the parameters (e.g., the mode priority, the scan duration, the scan interval, the power save duration, and/or the like) of the network configuration profile may be designated and/or adjusted by a user via the client device. Additionally, or alternatively, one or more of the parameters of the network configuration profile may be automatically designated and/or adjusted by the client device and/or the IoT control device using a machine learning model), wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provides applications to be added to the configuration profiles (see [0019]; one or more of the parameters (e.g., the mode priority, the scan duration, the scan interval, the power save duration, and/or the like) of the network configuration profile may be designated and/or adjusted by a user via the client device; also see [0014]; The network configuration profile may include one or more parameters relating to a mode priority. The mode priority may include information relating to … an associated application - e.g., an intended use of the IoT device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of PATEL with LATOUR, Loladia, Barros, Okamoto and Liu to generate and tailor configuration profiles for the at least one device that sent the registration request to the device management server, wherein the network administrator sets parameters and provides applications to be added to the configuration profiles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to configure an IoT device to maintain optimal network connections while also conserving computational resources and minimizing power consumption (PATEL: see [0008] and [0011]).
LATOUR (modified by Loladia, Barros, Okamoto, Liu and PATEL) does not explicitly teach the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a custom polygon with "n" vertices, wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator.
However, in an analogous art, Rao discloses the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by at least one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a custom polygon with "n" vertices (see Col. 4: lines 5-10; The user may be enabled to provide a configuration profile with the flight-plan server using a variety of steps. A user may be enabled to walk a property 100 and geofence the area using a mobile device or other drone. The user is enabled to notate on their property profile various terrain or other obstacles or notations 104; also see lines 28-30; A user may geofence their property via mobile application that can be used to walk the border of a property or a key area of the property), wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator (see Col. 4: lines 5-10; The user may be enabled to provide a configuration profile with the flight-plan server using a variety of steps. A user may be enabled to walk a property 100 and geofence the area using a mobile device or other drone. The user is enabled to notate on their property profile various terrain or other obstacles or notations 104; also see lines 28-30; A user may geofence their property via mobile application that can be used to walk the border of a property or a key area of the property).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rao with LATOUR, Loladia, Barros, Okamoto, Liu and PATEL so that the configuration profiles are assigned geographic fences, delimited by at least one of the following: a circle with a radius "r," a rectangle with an adjustable size, and a polygon with "n" vertices, wherein the geographic fences are set by the network administrator.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow for the configuration of zones (Rao: see Col. 4: lines 37-38).
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Armstrong et al. (US 20050216602 A1) discloses a registration processor formulating an identification message that includes the source address and device type of a network device.
Berdy et al. (US 20180109395 A1) teaches IoT provisioning service.
Chatterjee et al. (US 20120046040 A1) associates configuration profiles with geofences.
HENDERSON (WO 2014039672 A2) teaches generating geofences.
KANG et al. (WO 2020158988 A1) discloses artificial intelligence object transmits control information for controlling a specific IoT device according to the user's selection, to automatically control the IoT device remotely.
KURMALA et al. (US 20220353147 A1) teaches Zero Touch Provisioning (ZTP) over trunk/LACP ports.
Parangattil et al. (US 20200067767 A1) discloses automated provisioning of networked access points by port or location.
Peng (US 20200044917 A1) teaches Zero Touch Provisioning script to provision network elements over unnumbered interfaces.
Conclusion
/SANDARVA KHANAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453