DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 7/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salla (US 10,479,926).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Salla teaches the use of a composition in a subterranean formation as a treatment fluid, wherein the composition comprises polyamino-functionalized nanoparticles (see abstract). The nanoparticle can be alumina (column 5, lines 4-16) and a shown in figure 2, the surface of the alumina nanoparticle can be modified by a dendrimer. Salla differs from the present claim in not specifying that the alumina nanoparticles are interacted with a surface subject to corrosion. Salla teaches that the composition may be introduced in wellbores which comprise surfaces including casings and screens (column 1, line 48 – column 2, line 32), which would be subject to corrosion. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that introducing the composition of Salla into a wellbore would cause the nanoparticles to interact with a surface subject to corrosion. Column 8, line 46 further teaches that corrosion inhibitors may be used in the composition of Salla, thus indicating that there are surfaces subject to corrosion.
Regarding claim 2, as shown in figure 2, the dendrimer is bound by a first amine group, and a plurality of amine containing branches extend from a second amine group linked to the first amine group.
Regarding claim 3, as shown in figure 2, the amine containing branches contain a third amine group at a terminus.
Regarding claim 4, Figure 2 shows an amide linker between the second and third amine groups.
Regarding claims 5-8, Salla teaches that the treatment fluid can contain corrosive fluids, such as brine, seawater or aqueous acids (column 8, lines 2-27).
Claim(s 1-9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beataoui-Spurr (US 2015/0047848).
Regarding claims 1and 9, Beataoui-Spurr teaches the use of particulates coated with a polycationic polymer in a well treatment operation (abstract). Beataoui-Spurr teaches that the composition may be used in the prevention of corrosion in downhole tools, pump heads, tubing and casing (0098). Beataoui-Spurr teaches that the composition may contain alumina nanoparticles which are bound to the polycationic polymer (0081). Beataoui-Spurr teaches that the polycationic polymer may be a PAMAM dendrimer. Beataoui-Spurr differs in not specifically teaching an example comprising the alumina nanoparticle and PAMAM dendrimer. However, given the teaching of Beataoui-Spurr that the alumina nanoparticle and PAMAM dendrimer can be used together, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize such combination for the prevention of corrosion as noted by Beataoui-Spurr.
Regarding claims 2-4, the PAMAM Dendrimer has such a configuration.
Regarding claims 5-8, the fluid used in the composition may be a corrosive fluid such as brine or acid (0092-0093).
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745