DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 5/13/2026. Claims 9, 18, and 22 have been canceled. Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-21 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/13/2026 with respect to the previous rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited Malik et al. (U.S. Publication US 20241/0121663 A1).
As noted in Applicant’s Remarks filed 5/13/2026, the independent claims 1, 10 and 19 have been amended to include limitations of previous dependent claims 9, 18, and 22. Applicant argues that this limitation is not taught by previously cited Wu et al. (U.S. Publication US 2025/0008508 A1). The Examiner agrees with Applicant’s arguments and the rejections based on Wu et al. have been withdrawn.
A further search of the prior art with respect to the amended claim limitations has resulted in a new grounds of rejection based on newly cited Malik et al. (U.S. Publication US 20241/0121663 A1). Specifically, Malik et al. discloses a BSR MAC CE with delay budget information including a LCG-exti field that indicates the presence of a delay value field for a logical channel group i (See paragraph 66 and Figure 5 of Malik et al.). Support for these cited sections of Malik et al. may also be found on pages 17-18 within the specification of provisional application 63/411,365 filed 9/29/2022, to which Malik et al. claims priority. Thus, new grounds of rejection are made based on these teachings of Malik et al. Please see the rejection below for further detail. Due to the new grounds of rejection, this action is made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (U.S. Publication US 2025/0310825 A1) in view of Malik et al. (U.S. Publication US 2024/0121663 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 10, Hu et al. discloses a User Equipment (UE), the UE comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform a method for reporting delay information (See the abstract, paragraphs 90-92, paragraphs 292-296, and Figures 1 and 28 of Hu et al. for reference to a communication system including a terminal device that may be a UE comprising a processor coupled to a memory, which is a non-transitory computer-readable medium, and executing a software program stored in the memory to perform a method of sending a buffer status report, BSR, that indicates a remaining packet delay budget, PDB, which is delay information). Hu et al. also discloses receiving a first threshold for a first Logical Channel Group (LCG) from a Base Station (BS) (See paragraphs 90-92, paragraphs 190-194 and Figures 1, 10, and 26 of Hu et al. for reference to receiving configuration information at the terminal device from a network device, which may be a base station, wherein the configuration information configures a table indicating a PDB threshold for a LCG). Hu et al. further discloses transmitting a particular message to the BS in a case that a first condition associated with the first threshold is met (See paragraph 133, paragraphs 177-180, and paragraph 191 of Hu et al. for reference to, in a case that the remaining PDB is less than the PDB threshold, the terminal device sending a particular BSR to the network device according to a configuration rule indicating that the remaining PDB is less than the PDB threshold). Hu et al. also discloses wherein the particular message carries, at least, a first data delay information value for the first LCG and a first buffer size value indicating an amount of first Uplink (UL) data that is associated with the first condition and buffered in the first LCG (See paragraph 220 of Hu et al. for reference to the BSR indicating a remaining PDB range for the LCG, which is a first delay information value, and indicating a data volume for the reported LCG, which is a first buffer size value). Although Hu et al. does disclose using a particular BSR carrying the claimed values, Hu et al. does not specifically disclose its BSR being transmitted via a particular MAC CE that also carries a presence indicator indicating a presence of the first data delay information value in the particular MAC CE. However, formatting a BSR within a MAC CE is well-known in the art of communication. For example, Malik et al., in the field of communications, discloses a BSR MAC CE with delay budget information including a LCG-exti field that indicates the presence of a delay value field for a logical channel group i (See paragraph 66 and Figure 5 of Malik et al.). Formatting a BSR in a MAC CE with a field indicating presence of a delay value field for a logical channel group has the advantage of using an already well-known control data structure to carry BSR control information and indicate the presence/format of specific data within the BSR. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Malik et al., to combine formatting a BSR in a MAC CE with a field indicating presence of a delay value field for a logical channel group, as suggested by Malik et al., within the system and method of Hu et al., with the motivation being to use an already well-known control data structure to carry BSR control information and indicate the presence/format of specific data within the BSR.
With respect to claims 2 and 11, Hu et al. discloses determining a group of data delay information values for one or more Logical Channels (LCHs) associated with the first LCG; and selecting a smallest data delay information value from the group of data delay information values as the first data delay information value for the first LCG (See paragraphs 230-233 of Hu et al. for reference to determining the remaining PDB for LCHs associated with the LCG and where there is data of different remaining PDBs, the terminal device determines the minimum remaining PDB as the PDB reported by the BSR).
With respect to claims 3 and 12, Hu et al. discloses wherein the first UL data is buffered in the one or more LCHs corresponding to the group of data delay information values from which the first data delay information value is selected, and the first condition comprises: the first data delay information value being equal to or less than the first threshold (See paragraphs 230-233 of Hu et al. for reference to the data including data having a remaining PDB that is less than the PDB threshold, which is the condition for reporting that the remaining PDB is less than the PDB threshold in the BSR).
With respect to claims 4 and 13, Hu et al. discloses receiving a second threshold for a second LCG from the BS; and transmitting the particular message to the BS further in a case that a second condition associated with the second threshold is met, wherein the particular message further carries a second data delay information value for the second LCG and a second buffer size value indicating an amount of second UL data that is associated with the second condition and buffered in the second LCG (See paragraphs 190-194, paragraph 204, paragraph 220, and Figure 11 of Hu et al. for reference to embodiments wherein multiple different PDB thresholds are configured by the network device for multiple different LCGs, as illustrated in Figure 11, such that a second PDB threshold is configured for a second LGC, that may also be included in the BSR indicating the remaining PDB range and data volume corresponding to the second LGC). As shown above in the rejection of claims 1 and 10, Malik et al. renders obvious a particular BSR being formatted as a MAC CE. Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 10.
With respect to claims 5 and 14, Hu et al. disclose prioritizing the transmission of the particular message over a transmission of a Buffer Status Report (BSR) when the first condition or the second condition is met, wherein the BSR comprises a third buffer size value indicating an amount of third UL data buffered in the first LCG or the second LCG (See paragraphs 116-118, paragraphs 136-138, and paragraph 220 of Hu et al. for reference to transmitting the particular BSR corresponding to the LCG based on priority level ranges of the LCGs, such that the particular BSR may be prioritized over other BSRs according to the priorities of the LCGs, and wherein the BSR reports each indicate a data volume of the data buffered for the LCG). As shown above in the rejection of claims 1 and 10, Malik et al. renders obvious a particular BSR being formatted as a MAC CE. Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 10.
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Hu et al. discloses receiving one or more mapping tables from the BS; selecting a mapping table from the one or more mapping tables; and applying the mapping table to determine the first data delay information value (See paragraphs 190-194 of Hu et al. for reference to the network device sending configuration information to the terminal device that may include different tables used to map PDB thresholds and ranges to remaining PDBs reported in the BSR).
With respect to claims 7 and 16, Hu et al. discloses wherein selecting the mapping table from the one or more mapping tables comprises: selecting the mapping table from the one or more mapping tables according to at least one of: a number of LCGs for which the UE is required to trigger data delay information reporting, and a number of UL resources to be used to transmit the particular message (See paragraph 182, paragraph 189, and paragraph 196 of Hu et al. for reference to selecting which table to use according to a configuration case, wherein the configuration case may be a first case or a second case, and wherein the second case include an addition LCG, such that the table is selected according to a number of LCGs for which the UE is required to report). As shown above in the rejection of claims 1 and 10, Malik et al. renders obvious a particular BSR being formatted as a MAC CE. Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 10.
With respect to claims 8 and 17, Hu et al. discloses wherein the first LCG is associated with eXtended Reality (XR) traffic (See paragraphs 99-102 and paragraph 188 for reference to the system and method of transmitting BSRs for LCGs being applied to embodiments wherein the transmitted data is XR data).
With respect to claim 19, Hu et al. discloses a Base Station (BS), the BS comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the BS to perform a method of managing data delay information in a wireless communication system (See the abstract, paragraphs 90-92, paragraphs 292-296, and Figures 1 and 28 of Hu et al. for reference to a communication system including a network device that may be a base station comprising a processor coupled to a memory, which is a non-transitory computer-readable medium, and executing a software program stored in the memory to perform a method of receiving a buffer status report, BSR, that indicates a remaining packet delay budget, PDB, which is delay information). Hu et al. also discloses transmit a first threshold for a first Logical Channel Group (LCG) to a User Equipment (UE) (See paragraphs 90-92, paragraphs 190-194 and Figures 1, 10, and 26 of Hu et al. for reference to transmitting configuration information to a terminal device, which may be a UE, from the network device, wherein the configuration information configures a table indicating a PDB threshold for a LCG). Hu et al. further discloses enabling the UE to transmit a particular message in a case that a first condition associated with the first threshold is met; and receiving the particular message from the UE (See paragraph 133, paragraphs 177-180, and paragraph 191 of Hu et al. for reference to, in a case that the remaining PDB is less than the PDB threshold, the terminal device sending a particular BSR to the network device according to a configuration rule indicating that the remaining PDB is less than the PDB threshold). Hu et al. also discloses wherein the particular message carries, at least, a first data delay information value for the first LCG and a first buffer size value indicating an amount of first Uplink (UL) data that is associated with the first condition and buffered in the first LCG (See paragraph 220 of Hu et al. for reference to the BSR indicating a remaining PDB range for the LCG, which is a first delay information value, and indicating a data volume for the reported LCG, which is a first buffer size value). Although Hu et al. does disclose using a particular BSR carrying the claimed values, Hu et al. does not specifically disclose its BSR being transmitted via a particular MAC CE that also carries a presence indicator indicating a presence of the first data delay information value in the particular MAC CE. However, formatting a BSR within a MAC CE is well-known in the art of communication. For example, Malik et al., in the field of communications, discloses a BSR MAC CE with delay budget information including a LCG-exti field that indicates the presence of a delay value field for a logical channel group i (See paragraph 66 and Figure 5 of Malik et al.). Formatting a BSR in a MAC CE with a field indicating presence of a delay value field for a logical channel group has the advantage of using an already well-known control data structure to carry BSR control information and indicate the presence/format of specific data within the BSR. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Malik et al., to combine formatting a BSR in a MAC CE with a field indicating presence of a delay value field for a logical channel group, as suggested by Malik et al., within the system and method of Hu et al., with the motivation being to use an already well-known control data structure to carry BSR control information and indicate the presence/format of specific data within the BSR.
With respect to claim 20, Hu et al. discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the BS to: transmit a second threshold for a second LCG to the BS, enabling the UE to transmit the particular message further in a case that a second condition associated with the second threshold is met, wherein the particular message further carries a second data delay information value for the second LCG and a second buffer size value indicating an amount of second UL data that is associated with the second condition and buffered in the second LCG (See paragraphs 190-194, paragraph 204, paragraph 220, and Figure 11 of Hu et al. for reference to embodiments wherein multiple different PDB thresholds are configured by the network device for multiple different LCGs, as illustrated in Figure 11, such that a second PDB threshold is configured for a second LGC, that may also be included in the BSR indicating the remaining PDB range and data volume corresponding to the second LGC). As shown above in the rejection of claims 1 and 10, Malik et al. renders obvious a particular BSR being formatted as a MAC CE. Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 10.
With respect to claim 21, Hu et al. discloses wherein the first LCG is associated with eXtended Reality (XR) traffic (See paragraphs 99-102 and paragraph 188 for reference to the system and method of transmitting BSRs for LCGs being applied to embodiments wherein the transmitted data is XR data).
Conclusion
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461