This office action is in response to amendment filed on 8/14/26. Claims 1,9,11,13,14,18,19
21 are amended. Claims 1-21 are pending.
The previous 112 second paragraph rejection is withdrawn due to the amendment. The obviousness double patenting rejection is withdrawn because the Terminal Disclaimer is approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Lengerich ( WO 2010/141821).
For claims 1,18,21,8,,20, Van Lengerich discloses encapsulated polyunsaturated fatty acids. The encapsulated product comprises oil droplets of at least one polyunsaturated fatty acid, film-forming protein coating the oil droplets and matrix material encapsulating the coated oil droplets. The matrix material comprises a starch component , a protein component and emulsifier. The encapsulated oil droplets may be included in cakes mixes, cookies, bread mixed, baking flour. The starch includes raw or native starch. The while bread formular shown in table 3 comprises flour, vital wheat gluten which acts as dough strengthener. ( see paragraphs 0009, 0011,0012,0030,0035, table 3) The encapsulate oil is the same as the claimed complexed nutritional oil comprising of oil droplets at least partially encapsulate by wall structure. The matrix in Van Lengerich is the wall structure. The claims recite wall structure comprising polysaccharide obtained from the modified plant flour particles. The starch in Van Lengerich is the same as the claimed polysaccharide because starch is a polysaccharide. How the polysaccharide is obtained does not determine the patentability of the product. Van Lengerich discloses the encapsulated oil droplets are used in baking mixes and baking flour which includes the present of flour which is not modified. As shown in table 3, bread formulation includes flour. For claim 1, Van Lengerich discloses in paragraph 0056 to form emulsion containing oil droplets having sizes of less than about 2.1 microns. In paragraph 0058, Van Lengerich discloses oil droplet sizes of less than about 50 microns, preferably less than about 10 microns, mor preferably less than 2 microns.
For claims 2, 21, Van Lengerich discloses flour. ( see table 3)
For claims 5,19, 21, Van Lengerich discloses the protein can be soy protein, whey protein, wheat protein etc.. ( see paragraph 0026)
For claims 6,19, 21,Van Lengerich discloses the matrix which is the same as the claimed wall structure can includes starch, fibers, carrageenan, gums etc.. ( see paragraph 0043). The ingredients are the same as recited in the claim. Thus, it’s obviously inherent that the ingredients can function as emulsifier.
For claims 7,19,21, Van Lengerich also discloses the use of non-film forming emulsifier such monoglyceride, diglyceride and emulsifier to aid in stabilization of the emulsion. Conventional emulsifier can be used. In table 3, Van Lengerich discloses emulsifier such as sodium stearoyl lactylate. ( see paragraph 0058-0059)
For claim 9, Van Lengerich discloses the oil includes readily oxidizable oils such as castor oil, flax oil, fish oil, seed oil, sunflower oil, corn oil, animal fat etc.. ( see paragraph 0024)
For claims 12,13,14,15,16,17 Van Lengerich discloses the encapsulated oil droplets can be used in mixes such as bread, cookies, muffin to make baked product. The encapsulated oil droplets can also be used in baking flour. The products include bakes goods such as breads, biscuit, rolls, bun, cookies etc.. ( see paragraphs 0014,0011)
Van Lengerich does not specifically discloses modified plant flour particles depleted in polysaccharides as in claims 1,18,21, the types of flours as in claims 2-4,19 ,21, the triglyceride as in claim 10, the clusters as in claim 11, the property as in claims 12,16,, the blend as in claim 13 and part of the flour agglomerates as in claim 18 and the type of emulsifier as in claims 19,21
Van Lengerich discloses the encapsulated oil droplets are used in mixes for bread, cookies, muffin and also for use as baking flours. It’s known in the mixes for bread, cookies contains flour. As shown in table 3 of Van Lengerich, the white bread formula comprises flour. Also shown in table 3, the bread formula also comprises vital wheat gluten which is equivalent to the claimed modified plant flour particles depleted in polysaccharide. Flour is known to contain protein and starch as main components. When the starch is depleted, the remaining is the protein. Van Lengerich discloses the mix for bread including wheat gluten. It would have been an obvious matter of choice for one skilled in the art to use any type of flour depending on the nutrition, flavor and taste desired. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to select triglyceride with varying carbon atoms depending on the nutrition desired. Such parameter can readily be determined by one skilled in the art. Van Lengerich discloses the encapsulated oils are in the form of pellets. Thus, when the oil pellets are added to bread mix containing flour and protein, the mix will contain cluster of encapsulated oil in form of pellet, protein and flour. Since the mix in Van Lengerich comprises the components as claimed, it’s obvious the property in claims 12, 16 are present. It would have been obvious to include another combination of different flour when desiring to obtain different taste and flavor. Such parameter would have been within the determination of one skilled in the art. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to agglomerate the flour with the oi depending on the intensity of mixing of the flour with the encapsulated oil. It’s obvious that during mixing, some of the flour will attach to the oil to form agglomeration. It’s part of natural occurrence of the mixing process. The emulsifier such as polysorbate, sorbitan monostearate, sucrose fatty acid et.. as recited in claims 19 and 21 are well known emulsifier in the art. Van Lengerich discloses using emulsifier. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any known emulsifier as an obvious matter of using alternative ingredient to perform the same function of providing an emulsifier.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the response, applicant argues the pellets of Van Lengerich have a diameter of about .2mm which is in contrast with the complexed nutritional oil component of the composite flour having a particle size of less than about 10 microns. This argument is not persuasive. The size referred to by applicant is the size of the pellets, not the oil droplets. Applicant’s attention is directed to paragraph 0058 where Van Lengerich discloses that the pellets have oil droplet sizes of less than about 50 microns, preferably less than about 10 microns. The oil droplets comprises particle sizes within the claimed range. With respect to claim 11, applicant further argues that Van Lengerich fails to teach or suggest clusters and simply mixing complexed nutritional oil with plant flour does not form cluster. Applicant states that the specification discloses clusters can be formed by spray-drying the composite plant flour-MCT slurry. This argument is not persuasive. The examiner maintains her position that mixing of the oil with the flour forming cluster through the act of mixing as the flour attaches to the oil pellets. The claim does not having any parameter on the extent and degree of the cluster. Simple attachment of the flour to the pellets can be considered as clusters. Applicant has not submitted any evidence to show that the clusters can only be formed by spray-drying a slurry. The claim is not directed to a method.
With respect to claim 14, applicant argues Van Lengerich teaches away from food products made using very small pellets of encapsulated oil because the physical and chemical protection of the omega 3 oil that was initially provided by the encapsulation matrix is lost. The basis of this argument is not understood. Van Lengerich explicitly discloses mixing the pellets with flour to form baked goods. The abstract clearly states “ encapsulated polyunsaturated fatty acids which can be incorporated into a baked good dough or batter. Van Lengerich solves the problem alluded to by applicant by making the pellets having diameter of from about .2mm to about 3mm.
With respect to claim 18, applicant makes the same argument as with claim 11. The argument is not persuasive as set forth above.
With respect to claims 20-21, applicant argues that Van Lengerich fails to teach or suggest the specific combination of plant flour particles which includes both unmodified plant flour particles, modified plant flour particles depleted in polysaccharide obtained by shearing and complexed nutritional oil encapsulated by wall structure where the wall structure comprise polysaccharide obtained form the modified plant flour particles, protein, emulsifier and co-emulsifier. This argument is not persuasive. Van Lengerich discloses encapsulated polyunsaturated fatty acids. The encapsulated product comprises oil droplets of at least one polyunsaturated fatty acid, film-forming protein coating the oil droplets and matrix material encapsulating the coated oil droplets. The matrix material comprises a starch component , a protein component and emulsifier. The encapsulated oil droplets may be included in cakes mixes, cookies, bread mixed, baking flour. The starch includes raw or native starch. The while bread formular shown in table 3 comprises flour, vital wheat gluten which acts as dough strengthener. ( see paragraphs 0009, 0011,0012,0030,0035, table 3) The encapsulate oil is the same as the claimed complexed nutritional oil comprising of oil droplets at least partially encapsulate by wall structure. The matrix in Van Lengerich is the wall structure. The claims recite wall structure comprising polysaccharide obtained from the modified plant flour particles. The starch in Van Lengerich is the same as the claimed polysaccharide because starch is a polysaccharide. How the polysaccharide is obtained does not determine the patentability of the product. Van Lengerich discloses the encapsulated oil droplets are used in baking mixes and baking flour which includes the present of flour which is not modified. As shown in table 3, bread formulation includes flour. Van Lengerich also discloses the matrix comprising emulsifier and hydrocolloids such as carrageenans, gums which are the claimed emulsifier and co-emulsifier. The emulsifier such as polysorbate, sorbitan monostearate, sucrose fatty acid et.. as recited in claims 19 and 21 are well known in the art. Van Lengerich discloses using emulsifier. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any known emulsifier as an obvious matter of using alternative ingredient to perform the same function of providing an emulsifier.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
October 23, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793