Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 11/7/2025. The Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1-20. No claims have been cancelled or added. Claims 1-20 are pending and claims 1-20 are rejected. Claims 1 is/are independent.
The rejection(s) of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been updated based on new grounds of rejection as indicated below
The rejection(s) of claims on double patenting grounds are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/7/2025 have been fully considered. Applicant argues (see Remarks, page 9 first paragraph through page 12, second paragraph) that the references cited in the previous rejection fail to disclose the newly amended claim features. This argument is persuasive. Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Park et al. U.S. Publication 20230385395 (hereinafter “Park”) in view of Law et al. U.S. Publication 20190286805 (hereinafter “Law”), further in view of Meir et al. U.S. Publication 20150074796 (hereinafter “Meir”).
Meir teaches receiving user input to enable and select a wireless connection protocol and subsequently sending data to another device via the user’s selected wireless connection protocol. The user’s device includes various components to support various wireless connection protocols that the user can choose from. See Meir Para. 25, 30, 37.
Regarding applicant’s arguments with respect to the dependent claims, applicant’s amendments to the independent claims have necessitated a new ground of rejection with respect to the independent claims from which the dependent claims depend, thereby requiring new grounds of rejection for the dependent claims also.
Accordingly, Applicant's argument is persuasive, the rejection is withdrawn, and new , ground(s) of rejection are presented herein. Note that this action is made FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. U.S. Publication 20230385395 (hereinafter “Park”) in view of Law et al. U.S. Publication 20190286805 (hereinafter “Law”), further in view of Meir et al. U.S. Publication 20150074796 (hereinafter “Meir”).
As per claim 1, Park discloses
A portable solid state storage drive, [para. 58 solid-state drive; storage system may be any mobile system, para. 60;] comprising:
a display configured to receive user input from a user and render data;
[storage system may be any mobile system, para. 60; electronic system 4000 may be any mobile system with a display/touch module 4300, para. 134; display/touch module 4300 displays data processed by the processor 4100 and/or receives data through a touch panel, para 135]
a wireless networking protocol NFC
[0125] The storage device 20 may perform wireless communication with the mobile device 30. For example, a wireless communication function may be near field communication (NFC), and the storage device 20 may include an NFC module 21.
at least one authenticator;[ fingerprint recognition controller 320, para. 49]
[for the user authentication, the fingerprint recognition controller 320 may compare a fingerprint sensed by the fingerprint sensor 310 with a fingerprint registered in the internal memory of the storage device 300, para. 49]
at least one device processor; and [processor, para. 135]
circuits connected to various components at para. 71-72
wherein the at least one device processor is configured to:
[the storage can be a mobile device para. 60 and the mobile device can include a processor as described at para. 135]
[0135] The processor 4100 controls operations of the electronic system 4000. 1 The processor 4100 may execute an operating system and at least one application to provide an internet browser, games, videos, user content or the like.
store a plurality of discrete files; [files stored in the storage device 300, para. 105 ]
connect to one of a cellular phone, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a tablet, a wearable device, or a smart home device,
[the storage device can connect to external host via USB as described at para. 31],
wherein the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device is distinct from the portable solid state storage drive;
[the external host device may be prevented from accessing the storage device, para. 128; this shows the 2 devices are distinct;
also, Fig. 20 in Park refers to an “electronic system” that comprises of a processor 4100, which is also the host device. See [0135]. In [0136], Park further describes the “electronic system” applicable to various well-known computer systems, like a tablet computer, smart phone, etc. All of these are “distinct” from the storage device as the storage device is a separate (i.e., “distinct”) device that is connected via a cable to the host device, such as a USB cable. See [0031].
]
identify at least one of the plurality of discrete files; and
Park para. 93 when the external host device wants to access the D drive, only a file named “please recognize your fingerprint” may be displayed
para. 105 when the external host device attempts to access the D drive, all files stored in the D drive may now be normally displayed.
transfer the at least one of the plurality of discrete files to the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device.
[External host may access storage device when set to normal access mode, para. 35; external host may attempt access all files and all files normally displayed, para. 105; external host may access public files, para. 93; because the storage device can be a mobile device as described at para 60, and the storage device can connect to external host via USB as described at para. 31, the storage device can transfer files to external host via the USB
]
[0105] When the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode is completed and the fingerprint recognition operation is successfully completed, such as when the fingerprint recognition operation has successfully completed after the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode has completed at step S420 with an outcome of YES, or when the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode is completed after the fingerprint recognition operation has successfully completed at step S440 with an outcome of YES, the storage device 300 is set to the normal access mode at step S500. For example, the drive and the partition, such as the secure partition area 342 in FIG. 7A, corresponding to storage device 300 may be opened at step S510, and the files stored in the storage device 300 may be normally displayed at step S520. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 12B, when the external host device attempts to access the D drive, all files stored in the D drive may now be normally displayed.
However, Park does not expressly disclose
a plurality of wireless networking processors associated with a plurality of wireless networking protocols;
an assembled printed circuit board communicatively coupling each of the display, the plurality of wireless networking processors, the at least one authenticator, and the at least one device processor,
Law discloses
a plurality of wireless networking processors associated with a plurality of wireless networking protocols; [processors to perform the functionality, para. 3; NFC, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi as a means to communicate with external devices, para. 26]
an assembled printed circuit board [integrated system-on-a-chip (SoC), para. 57;]
communicatively coupling [circuits electrically coupled to each other via bus, para. 40] each of the display,[Display, para. 37 and 32] the plurality of wireless networking processors, [various processors for performing functionality, para. 3; NFC & RFID, para. 57; one or more wireless communication protocols, para 40; microcontroller comprising one or more processors, para. 8] the at least one authenticator, [biometrics verification, para. 32, authentication circuitry, para. 40] and the at least one device processor, [microcontroller, para. 40; processors, para. 3]
Law Para. 26 Such smart cards incorporate various communication protocols, including but not limited to, Europay, MasterCard and Visa (EMV); near-field communication (NFC), Bluetooth (BLE), USB, Wi-Fi, etc. as means of connecting to and communicating with external systems and devices.
[0054] managing transactions and storage of data in the smart card 110
[0003] Biometric Smart Cards (BSC) are plastic cards used for identification, verification and communication of such information to other systems for the purposes of identity verification, payment authorization, access control, and etc. Such BSCs may incorporate various processors and components for performing the functionality of the card, for example, biometric sensing, processing, displaying information, inputting data, managing connectivity to external devices, and managing power usage. BSCs may connect to external systems and devices via wireless or wired connections for physical or data access.
[0037] A transaction could also refer to transmission of data from a memory of the smart card to communication circuitry and/or a display on the smart card.
Law [0040] In some embodiments, the smart card may comprise a number of circuits. For example, the smart card my comprise communication circuity including an antenna configured to transmit and receive data via one or more wireless communication protocols. The smart card may also comprise identification input circuity configured to capture user credentials from an interaction by a user with the smart card. In some embodiments, the identification input circuity may comprise one or more of a biometric sensor and/or an input functionality as described below. The smart card may also comprise a memory configured to store an identification template corresponding to a registered user of the smart card, the restricted information and/or data, and encryption parameters. The smart card may also comprise cryptographic circuitry configured to encrypt data stored within the smart card based on encryption parameters, digital signatures, and/or one or more certificates as described below. The smart card may also include authentication circuitry configured to authenticate that user credentials received from the identification input circuity correspond to the registered user based on a comparison of the received user credentials against the identification template retrieved from the memory circuit. Additionally, the smart card may include a microcontroller configured to, in response to authenticating the user, access the restricted information stored in the memory, encrypt at least a portion of the restricted information using the encryption parameters, and transmit the encrypted portion of the restricted information to the external device via the antenna of the communication circuitry. In some embodiments, the microcontroller may also be configured to establish a trusted connection and/or verify that the external device is a trusted device based on the encryption parameters, certificates, and/or digital signatures stored in the memory. Each of the above circuits may be electrically connected and/or coupled to each other via a bus interconnection.
Law [0057] In various embodiments, the smart card 110 may include an integrated system-on-a-chip (SoC) within the housing. The SoC may be configured to perform one or more, a combination, or all of the above identified features (as will be described in more detail below in connection to FIG. 3). For example, the SoC can be configured to perform: identification interfacing to capture identification credentials (e.g., biometric user credentials or others) from the identification circuity (e.g., biometric sensor 115 or others) as input by the user (for example, capacitive, ultrasound, or thermal); authentication functions for generating a identification template for registration and authentication of users (e.g., as described below in connection to FIG. 6). For example, receiving biometric credentials (e.g., a finger print or other biometric) entered into the identification circuit for registration, to generating a biometric template therefrom, and, for authentication, comparing received biometric credential (e.g., finger print or other biometric) to a database of identification templates of registered user. The SoC may also be configured to perform wireless communication functions via the communication circuitry; all digital processing functions for management and operation of the wireless communication; NFC RF interfaces and functions to interface with an NFC antenna and coil: and all digital processing function for NFC functions; RFID RF interfaces and functions to interface with a RFID antennal, all RFID interface functions to perform RFID transactions; graphics interfaces and processing functions to drive the display 114, USB interface functions; encryption and hashing functions for secure data communication and transactions, power management and power conditioning functions; reception and processing of user interactions with the input functionality 118; and all memory management necessary to perform the functions above.
Law [0032] While some current implementations of smart cards can have limited display capabilities, identity verification methods can require display of photographic images of the user to be verified against their biometrics and other identifiers.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park with the technique for utilizing circuits and/or system-on-a-chip connecting multiple components including one or more wireless networking processors of Law to include
a plurality of wireless networking processors associated with a plurality of wireless networking protocols;
an assembled printed circuit board communicatively coupling each of the display, the plurality of wireless networking processors, the at least one authenticator, and the at least one device processor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to facilitate operation and communication between the various components of the system. The system of the primary reference can be modified to utilize a system-on-a-chip and/or circuits electrically coupled to each other via bus to facilitate control of and communication between the various components.
However, the combination of Park and Law does not expressly disclose receive, via the display, a user selection of a first wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors, wherein the first wireless networking processor corresponds to a first wireless networking protocol of the plurality of wireless networking protocols; and
in response to receiving the user selection of the first wireless networking processor, transfer, using the first wireless networking processor, the at least one of the plurality of discrete files to the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device in accordance with the first wireless networking protocol.
Meir teaches receiving user input to enable and select a wireless connection protocol and subsequently sending data to another device via the user’s selected wireless connection protocol. The user’s device includes various components to support various wireless connection protocols that the user can choose from. See Meir Para. 25, 30, 37.
[in Meir user selection of, for example, Bluetooth, which discloses first wireless networking protocol, means that the user has selected a component (para. 25 components of the electronic device) of the electronic device that provides Bluetooth functions. Such a component discloses a wireless networking processor because such a component processes Bluetooth signals.
Meir para. 30 discloses the network communication interface can transmit electronic signals via a wireless connection to another electronic device. Because the user selects and enables a particular protocol, for example such as Bluetooth, that transmitting is in response to the user enabling the wireless network protocol
]
[0025] The processing device 200 can control some or all of the operations of the electronic device 100. The processing device 200 can communicate, either directly or indirectly, with substantially all of the components of the electronic device 100. For example, a system bus or signal line 214 or other communication mechanisms can provide communication between the processing device 200, the memory 202, the I/O device 204, the sensor 206, the power source 208, the network communications interface 210, and/or the biometric sensing device 212.
Meir [0030] The network communication interface 210 can facilitate transmission of data to or from other electronic devices. For example, a network communication interface can transmit electronic signals via a wireless and/or wired network connection. Examples of wireless and wired network connections include, but are not limited to, cellular, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, IR, and Ethernet.
[0037] Electronic devices typically include one or more settings for devices and functions of the electronic device and/or for one or more applications on the electronic device. The settings can be enabled, disabled and/or modified by a user, generally through a menu or control panel. For example, electronic devices with a display can include a setting for screen brightness, display resolution, display orientation, and/or a background image or wallpaper. Other types of settings can be particular to an application, such as email or a calendar. Electronic devices can have settings relating to a wireless or wired network connection, such an as whether or not the device is connected to a network or other electronic device. The settings can allow a user to select a connection to a particular network, and enable or disable a wireless or wired network connection through an airplane mode and/or through a setting associated with a particular connection (e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Park and Law with the technique for receiving user input to enable and select a wireless connection protocol and subsequently sending data to another device via the user’s selected wireless connection protocol of Meir to include receive, via the display, a user selection of a first wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors, wherein the first wireless networking processor corresponds to a first wireless networking protocol of the plurality of wireless networking protocols; and
in response to receiving the user selection of the first wireless networking processor, transfer, using the first wireless networking processor, the at least one of the plurality of discrete files to the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device in accordance with the first wireless networking protocol.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to allow the user to select a particular communication protocol and associated components of the device that perform the functions of the particular communication protocol, to establish communication with another device, to facilitate transfer of data to the other device. The system of the primary reference, as modified, can be further modified to include a user interface which is a touchscreen for receiving user selection of a wireless networking protocol and its associated processor components to facilitate data transfers to other devices.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses a light indicator array comprising one or more arranged light generation components separate from the display.
[0055] The state indicator 370 may display a result of the fingerprint recognition operation, such as a fingerprint authentication or identification state, associated with the storage device 300. For example, the state indicator 370 may include a plurality of light emitting diodes, such as Green, Red and Yellow, for displaying the fingerprint authentication state.
Para. 135 The display/touch module 4300 displays data processed by the processor 4100 and/or receives data through a touch panel.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses wherein the plurality of discrete files comprises at least one of an image or a document.
[Park describes displaying the contents of a file which means that the file is either a document or an image at para. 35, 93]
Para. 35 files and/or data stored in the storage device may be displayed only after the storage device is set to the normal access mode.
Para. 93 only a file named “please recognize your fingerprint” may be displayed
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
However, Park does not expressly disclose wherein a first group of files of the plurality of discrete files is arranged within a first encrypted database.
Law discloses encrypting storage that stores a database
para. 40 The smart card may also comprise cryptographic circuitry configured to encrypt data stored within the smart card based on encryption parameters, digital signatures, and/or one or more certificates as described below
[0175] In some embodiments, a database may store multiple identification templates associated with one or more users.
[0171] In the case of registration, the process flow proceeds to step 525, where the identification template is stored in a database. In various embodiments, the database may be the memory of the smart card 110. Thus, the identification template is stored locally on the smart card and on the same device used to capture the biometric data. Accordingly, the identification template is not transmitted outside of the localized smart card. In some embodiments, the identification may be encrypted for secure, immutable storage within the memory of the smart card.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park with the technique for encrypting storage that stores a database of Law to include wherein a first group of files of the plurality of discrete files is arranged within a first encrypted database.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to protect sensitive files by encrypting the files. The system of the primary reference can be modified to encrypt a database of sensitive files.
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses wherein a second group of files of the plurality of discrete files is arranged within a second non-encrypted database.
[
Park discloses a file system which is not disclosed as encrypted. The file system can be considered a database because the files are stored within the file system and files are accessible. Park therefore discloses second non-encrypted database.
]
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
However, Park does not expressly disclose wherein the first group of files arranged within the first encrypted database may be accessed using at least one of one-way decryption, two-way decryption, or private key decryption.
Law discloses only a device possessing a private key can decrypt encrypted content
[0237] In addition to providing authentication, the certification generation and authentication methodology in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure may also be configured to facilitate private communication with a secure enclave of a memory. That is, if an external party or device wanted to store some secret or otherwise confidential data on the card that was inaccessible to even the card user, a secure enclave of the memory could be partitioned and encrypted using the public key C obtained from the Card Certificate. Only the device in possession of the private key c could the decrypt the content stored within the secure enclave. [0238] H. Immutably Storage of Data, Transactions and/or smart contracts,
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park with the teaching that only a device possessing a private key can decrypt the content of Law to include wherein the first group of files arranged within the first encrypted database may be accessed using at least one of one-way decryption, two-way decryption, or private key decryption.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to access protected files that are encrypted. The system of the primary reference can be modified so that only the device in possession of the private key may decrypt an encrypted file.
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses wherein the at least one device processor is configured to determine whether to authenticate the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device based on a device access code provided by the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device.
[whether to authenticate is interpreted to mean whether to allow access
Park discloses that the mobile device generates a token, which can be considered a device access code, in order to provide the token to the storage and gain access to the files in the storage at para. 127. The token is made of some data, and the data in the token is the device access code,
]
[0127] In an exemplary embodiment, the mobile device 30 may sense and check the fingerprint of the user. When the fingerprint of the user is successfully recognized, the mobile device 30 may generate a token corresponding to fingerprint recognition success, and may transmit the generated token to the storage device 20 through the wireless communication. The storage device 20 may receive the token transmitted from the mobile device 30, and may allow the external host device to access the storage device 20. For example, the token may include a valid time.
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses wherein the at least one device processor is configured to determine whether to authenticate the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device based on a gesture value received from an end user.
[whether to authenticate is interpreted to mean whether to allow access
Park discloses that the user must provide a fingerprint, which discloses gesture value, in order to allow the external host to access the files in the storage at para. 8
]
Para. 8 when the fingerprint sensed by the fingerprint sensor matches the registered fingerprint and the fingerprint recognition operation is successfully completed, setting the storage device to a normal access mode such that the external host device is allowed to access the storage device in accordance with the biometric security protection;
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to cause rendering, via display, of a representation of each file of the plurality of discrete files stored via the portable solid state storage drive.
Park Para. 105 as illustrated in FIG. 12B, when the external host device attempts to access the D drive, all files stored in the D drive may now be normally displayed.
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses the storage receiving fingerprint information from the mobile device and transferring files via a wireless or wired communication
[if the USB cable is connected, then the USB has been selected as the wired connection, otherwise the storage chooses one of the wired or wireless options for the file transfer
]
[0128] In alternate embodiments, the mobile device 30 may transmit only sensed fingerprint information to the storage device 20. To perform fingerprint authentication, the user may allow the mobile device 30 to approach the storage device 20 while his/her finger is placed on the fingerprint sensor 31 of the mobile device 30. In this case, fingerprint information sensed in the mobile device 30 may be transmitted to the storage device 20 through the NFC modules 32 and 21. For example, the transmitted fingerprint information may be information coded based on a hash algorithm. The storage device 20 may release a fingerprint recognition lock during a given time based on the transmitted fingerprint information, and the external host device may then access the storage device 20. In contrast, in the case where the user does not perform a successful fingerprint recognition, the external host device may be prevented from accessing the storage device 20 in a fingerprint recognition lock mode.
Park [0135] The processor 4100 controls operations of the electronic system 4000. The processor 4100 may execute an operating system and at least one application to provide an internet browser, games, videos, user content or the like. The communication module 4200 performs wireless or wired communications with an external system. The display/touch module 4300 displays data processed by the processor 4100 and/or receives data through a touch panel. The storage device 4400 stores user data, and operates based on the method according to an exemplary embodiment. The memory device 4500 temporarily stores data used for processing operations of the electronic system 4000. The processor 4100 and the storage device 4400 may correspond to the host device 200 and the storage device 300 of FIG. 3, respectively.
[0125] The storage device 20 may perform wireless communication with the mobile device 30. For example, a wireless communication function may be near field communication (NFC), and the storage device 20 may include an NFC module 21
Park [0066] The host interface 440 may provide physical connections between the host device 200 and the storage device 300. The host interface 440 may provide an interface corresponding to a bus format of the host for communication between the host device 200 and the storage device 300. In an exemplary embodiment, the bus format of the host device 200 may be a small computer system interface (SCSI) or a serial attached SCSI (SAS) interface. In alternate embodiments, the bus format of the host device 200 may be a USB,
However, Park does not expressly disclose wherein to transfer the at least one of the plurality of discrete files the at least one device processor is configured to:
determine, based at least in part on user interaction detected onboard the portable solid state storage drive, a selected wired connection or wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors, and
transfer the at least one of the plurality of discrete files to the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device via the selected wired connection or wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors.
For the reasons discussed with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park with the technique for utilizing circuits and/or system-on-a-chip connecting multiple components including one or more wireless networking processors of Law to include
wherein to transfer the at least one of the plurality of discrete files the at least one device processor is configured to:
determine, based at least in part on user interaction detected onboard the portable solid state storage drive, a selected wired connection or wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors, and
transfer the at least one of the plurality of discrete files to the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, or the smart home device via the selected wired connection or wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors.
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses wherein to authenticate that the user is permitted to access the portable solid state storage drive the at least one device processor is configured to:
receive biometric data associated with the user in response to user interaction with the at least one authenticator; and[at least one authenticator = fingerprint recognition controller 320 ]
authenticate that the user associated with the biometric data is permitted to access the portable solid state storage drive.
Park [0048] In addition, the fingerprint recognition controller 320 may convert a received fingerprint into a form of data that is suitable to be registered or enrolled in an internal memory of the storage device 300. For example, the internal memory may be at least one of the nonvolatile memories 340a, 340b and/or 340c. For example, the fingerprint recognition controller 320 may receive a sensed fingerprint from the fingerprint sensor 310, may convert or code the received fingerprint based on an algorithm determined in advance, and may provide the converted fingerprint to the storage controller 330 for fingerprint registration or enrollment of the user. For example, with regard to registering and authenticating a user fingerprint, the fingerprint recognition controller 320 may provide the storage controller 330 with a data write and/or read request.
[0049] In addition, for the user authentication, the fingerprint recognition controller 320 may compare a fingerprint sensed by the fingerprint sensor 310 with a fingerprint registered in the internal memory of the storage device 300. For example, the fingerprint recognition controller 320 may determine whether a user is authorized, such as by receiving a sensed fingerprint from the fingerprint sensor 310, by reading a registered fingerprint of the user from the nonvolatile memories 340a, 340b and/or 340c, and by comparing the received fingerprint with the read fingerprint.
[0105] When the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode is completed and the fingerprint recognition operation is successfully completed, such as when the fingerprint recognition operation has successfully completed after the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode has completed at step S420 with an outcome of YES, or when the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode is completed after the fingerprint recognition operation has successfully completed at step S440 with an outcome of YES, the storage device 300 is set to the normal access mode at step S500. For example, the drive and the partition, such as the secure partition area 342 in FIG. 7A, corresponding to storage device 300 may be opened at step S510, and the files stored in the storage device 300 may be normally displayed at step S520. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 12B, when the external host device attempts to access the D drive, all files stored in the D drive may now be normally displayed.
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses wherein the portable solid state storage drive is configured to remain in a locked state [standby mode where host not allowed to access storage, para. 32] prior to authentication of the user and enter an unlocked state [normal access mode in which the files of the storage can be displayed by the host, para. 105] upon the authentication of the user.
[After the fingerprint recognition operation has successfully completed the storage device is set to normal access mode and the contents of the drive can be displayed on the host/external host
]
Para. 32 For example, unlike a normal access mode, which will be described in step S500, the standby mode may represent a mode in which the external host device recognizes the storage device but is not allowed to access the storage device.
Para. 35 when the fingerprint recognition operation is successfully completed, such as at step S400 with an outcome of YES, the storage device is set to a normal access mode such that the external host device is allowed to access the storage device at step S500
Park [0105] When the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode is completed and the fingerprint recognition operation is successfully completed, such as when the fingerprint recognition operation has successfully completed after the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode has completed at step S420 with an outcome of YES, or when the operation of setting the storage device 300 to the standby mode is completed after the fingerprint recognition operation has successfully completed at step S440 with an outcome of YES, the storage device 300 is set to the normal access mode at step S500. For example, the drive and the partition, such as the secure partition area 342 in FIG. 7A, corresponding to storage device 300 may be opened at step S510, and the files stored in the storage device 300 may be normally displayed at step S520. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 12B, when the external host device attempts to access the D drive, all files stored in the D drive may now be normally displayed.
Claims 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Law, in view of Meir, further in view of Morimoto et al. U.S. Publication 20190239036 (hereinafter “Morimoto”).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Park, Law, and Meir does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to:
detect that a connecting distinct device is attempting to establish a connection with the portable solid state storage drive; and
in response to detecting that the connecting distinct device is attempting to connect to the portable solid state storage drive, set the light indicator array to a first state indicating that the connecting distinct device is attempting to connect to the portable solid state storage drive.
Morimoto discloses a technique for displaying an alert when receiving an attempt to connect from another device
[when a Morimoto electronic apparatus (such as a printer) receives the attempt to connect from a terminal apparatus (such as a mobile device), the electronic apparatus will display an alert]
[0003] An upper limit value of the number of apparatuses that possibly make connections to one electronic apparatus (one internal access point) at the same time is set as a standard for performing direct connection such as WFD.
[0004] In a case where the wireless connection request is rejected, information containing a cause of the rejection is notified to a user, and thus it is possible that the user is urged to take action. For example, a technique for displaying an alert screen on a display unit of a digital camera when a wireless connection fails is disclosed in JP-A-2007-81741.
Morimoto [0005] An operating system (OS) of a terminal apparatus has a function in which, in a case where the wireless connection fails, a wireless connection request is automatically made to an internal access point using an SSID or a pass phrase of the internal access point, which is stored in a memory. In a case where a wireless connection request is made to the internal access point with high frequency and the wireless connection request is rejected, an alert is displayed with high frequency on a display unit of an electronic apparatus. This makes a user feel bothered and decreases convenience of the user who uses the electronic apparatus.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Park, Law, and Meir with the technique for displaying an alert when receiving an attempt to connect from another device of Morimoto to include wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to:
detect that a connecting distinct device is attempting to establish a connection with the portable solid state storage drive; and
in response to detecting that the connecting distinct device is attempting to connect to the portable solid state storage drive, set the light indicator array to a first state indicating that the connecting distinct device is attempting to connect to the portable solid state storage drive.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to signal to a user that another device is attempting to connect, thereby facilitating user awareness of any attempts to connect to the device whether authorized or not. The system of the primary reference can be modified to display an alert whenever the storage device receives an attempt to connect from another device.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Park, Law, and Meir does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to:
detect whether the connecting distinct device has stopped attempting to connect to the portable solid state storage drive; and
in response to detecting that the connecting distinct device has stopped attempting to establish the connection with the portable solid state storage drive, set the light indicator array to a second state indicating that the connecting distinct device has stopped attempting to connect to the portable solid state storage drive.
Morimoto discloses a technique for displaying an alert when receiving an attempt to connect from another device and changing the alert display when the attempts have stopped
[when a Morimoto electronic apparatus (such as a printer) receives the attempt to connect from a terminal apparatus (such as a mobile device), the electronic apparatus will display an alert. But the alerts will stop displaying when no attempts to connect are received. For example, the high-frequency display of the alerts described in para. 5 will cease when there are no more attempts to connect, which indicates that the party attempting to connect has stopped attempting to connect.]
Morimoto [0003] An upper limit value of the number of apparatuses that possibly make connections to one electronic apparatus (one internal access point) at the same time is set as a standard for performing direct connection such as WFD.
[0004] In a case where the wireless connection request is rejected, information containing a cause of the rejection is notified to a user, and thus it is possible that the user is urged to take action. For example, a technique for displaying an alert screen on a display unit of a digital camera when a wireless connection fails is disclosed in JP-A-2007-81741.
[Failure means no more attempts]
[0005] An operating system (OS) of a terminal apparatus has a function in which, in a case where the wireless connection fails, a wireless connection request is automatically made to an internal access point using an SSID or a pass phrase of the internal access point, which is stored in a memory. In a case where a wireless connection request is made to the internal access point with high frequency and the wireless connection request is rejected, an alert is displayed with high frequency on a display unit of an electronic apparatus. This makes a user feel bothered and decreases convenience of the user who uses the electronic apparatus.
[Since the alert frequency is based on the request frequency, when the requests stop the alerts will also stop.
]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Park, Law, and Meir with the technique for displaying an alert when receiving an attempt to connect from another device and changing the alert displays when the attempts have stopped of Morimoto to include wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to:
detect whether the connecting distinct device has stopped attempting to connect to the portable solid state storage drive; and
in response to detecting that the connecting distinct device has stopped attempting to establish the connection with the portable solid state storage drive, set the light indicator array to a second state indicating that the connecting distinct device has stopped attempting to connect to the portable solid state storage drive.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to signal to a user that another device is attempting to connect or not, thereby facilitating user awareness of any attempts to connect to the device whether authorized or not. The system of the primary reference can be modified to display an alert whenever the storage device receives an attempt to connect from another device or simply stop displaying alerts when the requests to connect have ceased.
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Law, in view of Meir, in view of Morimoto, further in view of Flowerday et al. U.S. Publication 20190155833 (hereinafter “Flowerday”).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Park, Law, Meir, and Morimoto does not expressly disclose
the portable solid state storage drive further comprising a battery for powering the portable solid state storage drive, and wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to activate the light indicator array based on a charging level associated with the battery.
Flowerday discloses displaying the battery charge level status indicator
[0026] Each device status indicator indicates something about the status of the portable electronic device 14 at the time the asset upload request is made. Device status indicators may include a connected network identifier (that is, which network the device is currently communicating over), nearby network identifiers (for example, nearby Wi-Fi networks to which the portable electronic device 14 may connect), a connected network signal strength (for example, a Wi-Fi signal strength level), a battery level (for example, what percentage of the battery is remaining), a charging status (for example, receiving a charge), a device location, and a memory usage level (that is, how much storage is still available for capturing and storing assets on the portable electronic device 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Park, Law, Meir, and Morimoto with the technique for displaying the battery charge level status indicator of Flowerday to include the portable solid state storage drive further comprising a battery for powering the portable solid state storage drive, and wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to activate the light indicator array based on a charging level associated with the battery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to indicate to the user the charge level of the battery of the storage device. The system of the primary reference can be modified to display the charging level of the battery.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Law, in view of Meir, in view of Morimoto, in view of Flowerday, further in view of Dicks et al. U.S. Publication 20080097911 (hereinafter “Dicks”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Park, Law, Meir, Morimoto and Flowerday does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to:
set the light indicator array to a fourth state upon initiating of a transfer of at least one of the plurality of discrete files; and
set the light indicator array to a fifth state upon completion of the transfer of the at least one of the plurality of discrete files.
Dicks discloses flashing LED to indicate transferring data and solid LED when transfer is complete
[0122] a flashing LED can be used to indicate when data from a medical device is in the process of being transferred, while a solid LED can indicate the transfer of data is complete.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Park, Law, Meir, Morimoto and Flowerday with the flashing LED to indicate transferring data and solid LED when transfer is complete of Dicks to include
wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to:
set the light indicator array to a fourth state upon initiating of a transfer of at least one of the plurality of discrete files; and
set the light indicator array to a fifth state upon completion of the transfer of the at least one of the plurality of discrete files.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to display a visual indicator to the user indicating status of the data transfer. The system of the primary reference can be modified to include the LED that flashes for transferring data and solid LED when transfer is complete.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Law, in view of Meir, in view of Morimoto, in view of Flowerday, in view of Dicks, further in view of Crawford et al. U.S. Publication 7366779 (hereinafter “Crawford”).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Park, Law, Meir, Morimoto, Flowerday and Dicks does not expressly disclose wherein in response to detecting that the connecting distinct device has not stopped attempting to establish the connection with the portable solid state storage drive the at least one device processor is further configured to:
determine whether to authenticate the connecting distinct device; and
in response to determining that the connecting distinct device should be authenticated:
authenticate the connecting distinct device; and
in response to authenticating the connecting distinct device, set the light indicator array to a third state indicating that the connecting distinct device has established the connection with the portable solid state storage drive.
Crawford discloses displaying a graphical indicator indicating that a connection request which requires authentication has been established
1:48-58 (8) Implementations may include authenticating the request by the communications system host. The second client may accept the request based on indicated preferences of the second subscriber. The direct connection may be initiated by the second client. The direct connection may be established using an IP address of the second client. A graphical user interface may be displayed indicating that a direct connection to the second client is established. The communications system host may be an instant messaging host. The file may comprise a data file, a text file, a graphics file, an audio file, and/or a video file.
2:4-14 (10) Implementations may include authenticating the request by the communications system host. The request may be accepted based on indicated preferences of the second subscriber. The second client may initiate the direct connection. The direct connection may be established by the first client using an IP address of the second client. A graphical user interface may be displayed indicating that a direct connection to the first client is established. The communications system host may be an instant messaging host. The file may be a data file, a text file, a graphics file, an audio file, and/or a video file.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Park, Law, Meir, Morimoto, Flowerday and Dicks with the technique for displaying a graphical indicator indicating that a connection request which requires authentication has been established of Crawford to include wherein in response to detecting that the connecting distinct device has not stopped attempting to establish the connection with the portable solid state storage drive the at least one device processor is further configured to:
determine whether to authenticate the connecting distinct device; and
in response to determining that the connecting distinct device should be authenticated:
authenticate the connecting distinct device; and
in response to authenticating the connecting distinct device, set the light indicator array to a third state indicating that the connecting distinct device has established the connection with the portable solid state storage drive.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to indicate to the user via a graphical indicator that a connection which requires authentication with second device has been successfully completed. The system of the primary reference can be modified by using the lights to indicate to the user that the condition has been authenticated and established.
Claims 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Law, in view of Meir, further in view of Mills et al. U.S. Publication 20080266783 (hereinafter “Mills”).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Park, Law, and Meir does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to:
receive, from the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, the smart home device, a second cellular phone, a second laptop computer, a second desktop computer, a second tablet, a second wearable device, or a second smart home device, one or more new discrete files for storage; and
store the one or more new discrete files.
Mills discloses transferring files between the storage and the computer
[0030] The docking station 1 may include an electrical connection for supplying power thereto and/or for transmitting digital signals to and/or from the docking station 1. This may include coupling the electrical connection a power source, a computer, a personal digital assistant, and/or a similar electronic device. The disclosed embodiment of FIG. 1, for example, illustrates a connector cable such as a USB cable 3. When connected to the electrical connector 30, the portable media player or storage device 29, via the USB cable 3, can be charged or powered by the computer, personal digital assistant, or similar electronic device and/or can have data and files transferred between it and the computer, personal digital assistant, or similar electronic device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Park, Law, and Meir with the technique for utilizing a USB wire between the computer and the storage device to transfer files from the computer to the storage device of Mills to include
wherein the at least one device processor is further configured to:
receive, from the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, the smart home device, a second cellular phone, a second laptop computer, a second desktop computer, a second tablet, a second wearable device, or a second smart home device, one or more new discrete files for storage; and
store the one or more new discrete files.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to facilitate data transfer between the storage device and a computer. The system of the primary reference can be modified so that the storage device can be connected to a computer via USB. This will allow the computer to transfer files to the storage device via the USB cable and vice versa.
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated herein.
Park discloses the storage receiving fingerprint information from the mobile device and transferring files via a wireless or wired communication
[Park discloses determine, based on user interaction detected onboard the portable solid state storage drive, a selected wired connection or a selected wireless networking processor]
[if the USB cable is connected, then the USB has been selected as the wired connection, otherwise the storage chooses one of the wired or wireless options for the file transfer
]
[0128] In alternate embodiments, the mobile device 30 may transmit only sensed fingerprint information to the storage device 20. To perform fingerprint authentication, the user may allow the mobile device 30 to approach the storage device 20 while his/her finger is placed on the fingerprint sensor 31 of the mobile device 30. In this case, fingerprint information sensed in the mobile device 30 may be transmitted to the storage device 20 through the NFC modules 32 and 21. For example, the transmitted fingerprint information may be information coded based on a hash algorithm. The storage device 20 may release a fingerprint recognition lock during a given time based on the transmitted fingerprint information, and the external host device may then access the storage device 20. In contrast, in the case where the user does not perform a successful fingerprint recognition, the external host device may be prevented from accessing the storage device 20 in a fingerprint recognition lock mode.
[0135] The processor 4100 controls operations of the electronic system 4000. The processor 4100 may execute an operating system and at least one application to provide an internet browser, games, videos, user content or the like. The communication module 4200 performs wireless or wired communications with an external system. The display/touch module 4300 displays data processed by the processor 4100 and/or receives data through a touch panel. The storage device 4400 stores user data, and operates based on the method according to an exemplary embodiment. The memory device 4500 temporarily stores data used for processing operations of the electronic system 4000. The processor 4100 and the storage device 4400 may correspond to the host device 200 and the storage device 300 of FIG. 3, respectively.
[0125] The storage device 20 may perform wireless communication with the mobile device 30. For example, a wireless communication function may be near field communication (NFC), and the storage device 20 may include an NFC module 21
Park [0066] The host interface 440 may provide physical connections between the host device 200 and the storage device 300. The host interface 440 may provide an interface corresponding to a bus format of the host for communication between the host device 200 and the storage device 300. In an exemplary embodiment, the bus format of the host device 200 may be a small computer system interface (SCSI) or a serial attached SCSI (SAS) interface. In alternate embodiments, the bus format of the host device 200 may be a USB,
However, Park does not expressly disclose wherein to receive the one or more new discrete files the at least one device processor is configured to:
determine, based on user interaction detected onboard the portable solid state storage drive, a selected wired connection or a selected wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors; and
receive the one or more new discrete files from the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, the smart home device, the second cellular phone, the second laptop computer, the second desktop computer, the second tablet, the second wearable device, or the second smart home device via the selected wired connection or the selected wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors.
For the reasons discussed with respect to claims 1 and 16, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park with the technique for utilizing circuits and/or system-on-a-chip connecting multiple components including one or more wireless networking processors of Law and the teaching of a storage device connected to a computer via USB and transferring files between the storage and the computer via the USB of Mills to include
wherein to receive the one or more new discrete files the at least one device processor is configured to:
determine, based on user interaction detected onboard the portable solid state storage drive, a selected wired connection or a selected wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors; and
receive the one or more new discrete files from the cellular phone, the laptop computer, the desktop computer, the tablet, the wearable device, the smart home device, the second cellular phone, the second laptop computer, the second desktop computer, the second tablet, the second wearable device, or the second smart home device via the selected wired connection or the selected wireless networking processor of the plurality of wireless networking processors.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Law, in view of Meir, further in view of Lang et al. U.S. Publication 20110131649 (hereinafter “Lang”).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Park, Law, and Meir does not expressly disclose wherein the portable solid state storage drive remains in the unlocked state for a predetermined time interval.
Lang discloses locking the memory storage device after a predetermined time has passed
[0006] One example embodiment of the present invention may include a method of securing data stored in a memory of a portable memory storage device. The method may include … automatically locking the memory storage device after a predetermined time has passed since the interfacing of the memory storage device and the computing device has been discontinued.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Park, Law, and Meir with the technique for automatically locking the memory storage device after a predetermined time has passed of Lang to include wherein the portable solid state storage drive remains in the unlocked state for a predetermined time interval.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to automatically lock the storage after a predetermined time has passed, to reduce the probability that an unauthorized 3rd party will gain access to an unlocked storage device that the user has forgotten to lock. The system of the primary reference can be modified to automatically lock the storage after a predetermined time has passed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOWARD H. LOUIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2494
/ROBERT B LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494
1 Emphasis is additional throughout.