DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (WO 2015/103787A1) in view of D2 (CN 113702719A).
-Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a method of controlling an electronic device executing near- field communication (NFC) transactions (see abstract), the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of context parameters related to an NFC transaction to be performed (mobile terminal acquires a current working state of the mobile terminal S100, FIG. 1); identifying an optimal radio frequency (RF) configuration from a plurality of RF configurations for executing the NFC transaction (mobile terminal selects at least one NFC antenna from the plurality of NFC antennas to perform NFC communication with the external device according to the determined NFC communication indication information S104, FIG. 1); and executing the NFC transaction using the optimal RF configuration (the selected antenna performs NFC communication, page 8) and wherein the plurality of context parameters comprises one or more of: an orientation of the electronic device, a tap angle with respect to an NFC reader, a key position of the electronic device (physical posture and a moving tendency of the mobile terminal S302, page 10), a type of the NFC transaction to be performed, and NFC firmware information.
D1 is silent to teaching that inputting the plurality of context parameters into an artificial intelligence (Al) model and wherein the Al model is configured to establish correlations of the plurality of context parameters with the plurality of RF configurations. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches inputting the plurality of context parameters into an artificial intelligence (Al) model (S1, acquiring characteristic information of the broadband near-field electromagnetic signal and three-dimensional coordinate information of the target and constructing a data set; S2, training and modeling by adopting a preset neural network algorithm based on the data set to obtain a regression model of the positioning system, paragraph 54-55) and wherein the Al model is configured to establish correlations of the plurality of context parameters with the plurality of RF configurations (the input of the positioning system regression model is the characteristic information of the broadband near-field electromagnetic signal, and the output of the positioning system regression model is the three-dimensional coordinate information of a positioning target, paragraph 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to map the context parameters (input) to the optimal antenna/RF configuration (output) which is an obvious application of a known AI technique to a similar context-based-selection device, with predictable results (KSR).
-Regarding claim 11, D1 discloses an electronic device executing near-field communication (NFC) transactions (FIG. 9-11) comprising: at least one memory storing instructions (memory, page 17); and at least one processor connected to the at least one memory and configured to execute the instructions (processor, pages 16-17) to: obtain a plurality of context parameters related to an NFC transaction to be performed (mobile terminal acquires a current working state of the mobile terminal S100, FIG. 1); identify an optimal radio frequency (RF) configuration from a plurality of RF configurations for executing the NFC transaction (mobile terminal selects at least one NFC antenna from the plurality of NFC antennas to perform NFC communication with the external device according to the determined NFC communication indication information S104, FIG. 1); and execute the NFC transaction using the optimal RF configuration (the selected antenna performs NFC communication, page 8), and wherein the plurality of context parameters comprises one or more of: an orientation of the electronic device, a tap angle with respect to an NFC reader, a key position of the electronic device (physical posture and a moving tendency of the mobile terminal S302, page 10), a type of the NFC transaction to be performed, and NFC firmware information.
D1 is silent to teaching that inputting the plurality of context parameters into an artificial intelligence (Al) model and wherein the Al model is configured to establish correlations of the plurality of context parameters with the plurality of RF configurations. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches inputting the plurality of context parameters into an artificial intelligence (Al) model (S1, acquiring characteristic information of the broadband near-field electromagnetic signal and three-dimensional coordinate information of the target and constructing a data set; S2, training and modeling by adopting a preset neural network algorithm based on the data set to obtain a regression model of the positioning system, paragraph 54-55) and wherein the Al model is configured to establish correlations of the plurality of context parameters with the plurality of RF configurations (the input of the positioning system regression model is the characteristic information of the broadband near-field electromagnetic signal, and the output of the positioning system regression model is the three-dimensional coordinate information of a positioning target, paragraph 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to map the context parameters (input) to the optimal antenna/RF configuration (output) which is an obvious application of a known AI technique to a similar context-based-selection device, with predictable results (KSR).
Claim(s) 2-5 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (WO 2015/103787A1) in view of D2 (CN 113702719A) and further in view of D3 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0195404).
-Regarding claim 2, the combination is silent to teaching that the method as claimed in wherein the electronic device is a wearable device, wherein each of the plurality of RF configurations comprises a corresponding NFC antenna configuration, and wherein each of the corresponding NFC antenna configuration is associated with one or more of radio frequency parameters, impedance parameters, NFC firmware information, and hardware configuration parameters of the electronic device. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D3.
In the same field of endeavor, D3 teaches that the method as claimed in wherein the electronic device is a wearable device (watches, paragraph 74), wherein each of the plurality of RF configurations comprises a corresponding NFC antenna configuration (antenna circuits of NFC device 102, paragraph 59), and wherein each of the corresponding NFC antenna configuration is associated with one or more of radio frequency parameters, impedance parameters, NFC firmware information, and hardware configuration parameters of the electronic device (setting frequency matching and/or impedance matching components of the antenna circuits of NFC device 102, paragraph 59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of D3 in order to provide the context-selected NFC transaction on a wearable form factor which is a predictable design choice driven by market demand for wearable NFC payments (KSR: design incentive).
-Regarding claim 3, the combination further discloses the plurality of RF configurations are pre-stored on the electronic device (D3, stored in table 110, paragraph 59).
-Regarding claim 4, the combination further discloses identifying the optimal RF configuration comprises: identifying the optimal RF configuration from the plurality of RF configurations based on the correlations between the plurality of context parameters and the plurality of RF configurations, and wherein the method further comprises: loading the optimal RF configuration for executing the NFC transaction (D3, setting frequency matching and/or impedance matching components of the antenna circuits of NFC device 102, paragraph 59).
-Regarding claim 5, the combination further discloses the obtaining the plurality of context parameters comprises: receiving, from one or more sensors at the electronic device, readings indicative of values of corresponding context parameters of the plurality of context parameters (D3, identifier, paragraph 66); and obtaining the plurality of context parameters related to the NFC transaction to be performed based on the readings (D3, step 302 (SELECT NFC SETTINGS) of selection of one or a plurality of parameters of configuration of the NFC device 102 of the mobile terminal according to the wireless local network identifier detected at step 301, paragraph 67).
-Regarding claim 12, the combination further discloses the electronic device is a wearable device (Tramoni, watches, paragraph 74), wherein each of the plurality of RF configurations comprises a corresponding NFC antenna configuration (Tramoni, antenna circuits of NFC device 102, paragraph 59), and wherein each of the corresponding NFC antenna configuration is associated with one or more of radio frequency parameters, impedance parameters, NFC firmware information, and hardware configuration parameters of the electronic device (Tramoni, setting frequency matching and/or impedance matching components of the antenna circuits of NFC device 102, paragraph 59).
-Regarding claim 13, the combination further discloses the plurality of RF configurations are pre-stored on the electronic device (Tramoni, stored in table 110, paragraph 59).
-Regarding claim 14, the combination further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: identify the optimal RF configuration from the plurality of RF configurations based on the correlations between the plurality of context parameters and the plurality of RF configurations, and load the optimal RF configuration for executing the NFC transaction (Tramoni, setting frequency matching and/or impedance matching components of the antenna circuits of NFC device 102, paragraph 59).
-Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive, from one or more sensors at the electronic device, readings indicative of values of corresponding context parameters of the plurality of context parameters (Tramoni, identifier, paragraph 66); and obtain the plurality of context parameters related to the NFC transaction to be performed based on the readings (Tramoni, step 302 (SELECT NFC SETTINGS) of selection of one or a plurality of parameters of configuration of the NFC device 102 of the mobile terminal according to the wireless local network identifier detected at step 301, paragraph 67).
Claim(s) 6, 10, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (WO 2015/103787A1) in view of D2 (CN 113702719A) and further in view of D4 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2024/0137070).
-Regarding claim 6, the combination is silent to teaching that prior to the identifying the optimal RF configuration: initiating execution of the NFC transaction based on a default RF configuration of the electronic device; determining one or more failures of the NFC transaction executed based on the default RF configuration; and determining that a different RF configuration for executing the NFC transaction should be used. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D4.
In the same field of endeavor, D4 teaches prior to the identifying the optimal RF configuration: initiating execution of the NFC transaction based on a default RF configuration of the electronic device (initiate a transaction, are issued by a PCD device dependent on a specific standard, paragraph 47); determining one or more failures of the NFC transaction executed based on the default RF configuration (the TX phase of the communications device 100 causes the failed communications, paragraph 47); and determining that a different RF configuration for executing the NFC transaction should be used (The next CED response can be transmitted by the communications device 100 using an updated TX phase, paragraph 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of D4 in order to provide cures to the weakness of fixed parameterization of phase control mechanisms.
-Regarding claim 10, the combination further discloses the AI model includes a plurality of neural network layers, wherein each of the plurality of neural network layers includes a plurality of weight values, and wherein the method further comprising performing neural network computation by computation based on a computation result of a previous layer and a plurality of weight values of a current layer (D4, the POM 404 is an artificial neural network (ANN), which includes an input layer 410 with input nodes 412-1, . . . , 412-N (N is a positive integer), two hidden layers 420, 430 with neurons 422-1, . . . , 422-N, and neurons 432-1, . . . , 432-N, respectively, and an output layer 440 with an output node 442, paragraph 56).
-Regarding claim 16, the combination is silent to teaching that the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to, prior to the identifying the optimal RF configuration: initiate execution of the NFC transaction based on a default RF configuration of the electronic device; determine one or more failures of the NFC transaction executed based on the default RF configuration; and determine that a different RF configuration for executing the NFC transaction should be used. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D4.
In the same field of endeavor, D4 teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to, prior to the identifying the optimal RF configuration: initiating execution of the NFC transaction based on a default RF configuration of the electronic device (initiate a transaction, are issued by a PCD device dependent on a specific standard, paragraph 47); determining one or more failures of the NFC transaction executed based on the default RF configuration (the TX phase of the communications device 100 causes the failed communications, paragraph 47); and determining that a different RF configuration for executing the NFC transaction should be used (The next CED response can be transmitted by the communications device 100 using an updated TX phase, paragraph 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of D4 in order to provide cures to the weakness of fixed parameterization of phase control mechanisms.
-Regarding claim 20, the combination further discloses the AI model includes a plurality of neural network layers, wherein each of the plurality of neural network layers includes a plurality of weight values, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: perform neural network computation by computation based on a computation result of a previous layer and a plurality of weight values of a current layer (D4, the POM 404 is an artificial neural network (ANN), which includes an input layer 410 with input nodes 412-1, . . . , 412-N (N is a positive integer), two hidden layers 420, 430 with neurons 422-1, . . . , 422-N, and neurons 432-1, . . . , 432-N, respectively, and an output layer 440 with an output node 442, paragraph 56).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (WO 2015/103787A1) in view of D2 (CN 113702719A) and further in view of D5 (U.S. PATENT NO. 10944436).
-Regarding claim 7, the combination the combination is silent to teaching that training the AI model by performing, for each of the plurality of RF configurations, pre- determined NFC transactions for multiple predefined context parameter combinations; determining, for the multiple predefined context parameter combinations, corresponding success rates of each of the plurality of RF configurations, respectively; generating a success matrix based on the multiple predefined context parameter combinations, and the corresponding success rates of each of the plurality of RF configurations for the multiple predefined context parameter combinations; and storing the success matrix in a database.. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D5.
In the same field of endeavor, D5 teaches training the AI model by performing, for each of the plurality of RF configurations, pre-determined NFC transactions for multiple predefined context parameter combinations (training database 49 that may be built from spectral sensor data obtained from the RF spectral sensor 26 based on operational conditions, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22); determining, for the multiple predefined context parameter combinations, corresponding success rates of each of the plurality of RF configurations, respectively (RF spectral sensor 26 senses the dynamically changing RF spectral environment and observes spectrum conditions in real-time, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22); generating a success matrix based on the multiple predefined context parameter combinations, and the corresponding success rates of each of the plurality of RF configurations for the multiple predefined context parameter combinations (Data is generated and transferred to a classification section 56 of the AI model 32 for classification and action, where any hardware forming the RF circuitry 22 is configured versus the spectrum class 58, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22); and storing the success matrix in a database (feeds new data into the training database 49, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of D5 in order to provide decrease power consumption when the RF communication performance is less difficult.
-Regarding claim 8, the combination further discloses the identifying the optimal RF configuration comprises: identifying, from the success matrix, a relevant context parameter combination from the multiple predefined context parameter combinations based on the plurality of context parameters, identifying the plurality of RF configurations (D5, RF spectral sensor 26 senses the dynamically changing RF spectral environment and observes spectrum conditions in real-time, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22), and the corresponding success rates, for the relevant context parameter combination, determining, from the success matrix, for the relevant context parameter combination, one RF configuration of the plurality of RF configurations having a highest success rate, and determining the one RF configuration having the highest success rate to be the optimal RF configuration (D5, Data is generated and transferred to a classification section 56 of the AI model 32 for classification and action, where any hardware forming the RF circuitry 22 is configured versus the spectrum class 58, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22).
-Regarding claim 17, the combination further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: train the AI model by performing, for each of the plurality of RF configurations, pre-determined NFC transactions for multiple predefined context parameter combinations (Buckley, training database 49 that may be built from spectral sensor data obtained from the RF spectral sensor 26 based on operational conditions, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22); determine, for the multiple predefined context parameter combinations, corresponding success rates of each of the plurality of RF configurations, respectively (Buckley, RF spectral sensor 26 senses the dynamically changing RF spectral environment and observes spectrum conditions in real-time, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22); generate a success matrix based on the multiple predefined context parameter combinations, and the corresponding success rates of each of the plurality of RF configurations for the multiple predefined context parameter combinations (Buckley, Data is generated and transferred to a classification section 56 of the AI model 32 for classification and action, where any hardware forming the RF circuitry 22 is configured versus the spectrum class 58, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22); and store the success matrix in a database in the at least one memory (Buckley, feeds new data into the training database 49, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22).
-Regarding claim 18, the combination further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to identify the optimal RF configuration by: identifying, from the success matrix, a relevant context parameter combination from the multiple predefined context parameter combinations based on the plurality of context parameters, identifying the plurality of RF configurations (Buckley, RF spectral sensor 26 senses the dynamically changing RF spectral environment and observes spectrum conditions in real-time, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22), and the corresponding success rates, for the relevant context parameter combination, determining, from the success matrix, for the relevant context parameter combination, one RF configuration of the plurality of RF configurations having a highest success rate, and determining the one RF configuration having the highest success rate to be the optimal RF configuration (Buckley, Data is generated and transferred to a classification section 56 of the AI model 32 for classification and action, where any hardware forming the RF circuitry 22 is configured versus the spectrum class 58, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (WO 2015/103787A1) in view of D2 (CN 113702719A), D4 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2024/0137070) and further in view of D5 (U.S. PATENT NO. 10944436).
-Regarding claim 9, the combination is silent to teaching that obtaining an updated AI model by updating the AI model based on feedback information, the feedback information comprising inferences related to success and failure information associated with the NFC transaction; and updating the default RF configuration based on the feedback information and the updated AI model, thereby personalizing the plurality of RF configurations for a user associated with the electronic device. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D5.
In the same field of endeavor, D5 teaches obtaining an updated AI model by updating the AI model based on feedback information, the feedback information comprising inferences related to success and failure information associated with the NFC transaction (Buckley, Data is generated and transferred to a classification section 56 of the AI model 32 for classification and action, where any hardware forming the RF circuitry 22 is configured versus the spectrum class 58, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22); and updating the default RF configuration based on the feedback information and the updated AI model, thereby personalizing the plurality of RF configurations for a user associated with the electronic device (Buckley, feeds new data into the training database 49, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of D5 in order to provide decrease power consumption when the RF communication performance is less difficult.
-Regarding claim 19, the combination further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: obtain an updated AI model by updating the AI model based on feedback information, the feedback information comprising inferences related to success and failure information associated with the NFC transaction (Buckley, Data is generated and transferred to a classification section 56 of the AI model 32 for classification and action, where any hardware forming the RF circuitry 22 is configured versus the spectrum class 58, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22); and update the default RF configuration based on the feedback information and the updated AI model, thereby personalizing the plurality of RF configurations for a user associated with the electronic device (Buckley, feeds new data into the training database 49, col. 5 line 54-col. 6 line 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PING Y HSIEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664