Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nader et al. US PUB 2024/0155559 A1.
Regarding to claim 1, Nader teaches a method, comprising determining, by a radio network node comprising at least one processor, a paging modification parameter metric to result in a determined paging modification parameter metric [par. 30, 51, 59, 70, 119-120, Fig. 2-5];
analyzing, by the radio network node, the determined paging modification parameter metric with respect to a paging modification parameter criterion to result in an analyzed determined paging modification parameter metric [par. 59-61, 121]; and
based on satisfaction of the paging modification parameter criterion by the analyzed determined paging modification parameter metric, facilitating, by the radio network node, transmitting, to at least one user equipment, a paging modification indication indicative that the radio network node is implementing a modified paging policy with respect to the at least one user equipment [par. 48, 60, 72, 133].
Regarding to claim 2, Nader teaches the at least one user equipment is part of at least one group of user equipment corresponding to at least one paging class, and wherein the modified paging policy is to be implemented with respect to the at least one user equipment corresponding to the at least one paging class [par. 45, 48, 184, 185].
Regarding to claim 3, Nader teaches the method further comprising facilitating, by the radio network node, transmitting, to the at least one user equipment, a paging class configuration comprising paging resource monitoring information, corresponding to the at least one paging class, usable by the at least one user equipment to monitor paging resources with respect to the radio network node during a modified paging policy period [par. 120-123],
wherein the paging resource monitoring information comprises at least one of:
at least one paging occasion frequency resource and at least one paging timing resource associated with the at least one paging occasion frequency resource, at least one device class identifier indicative of at least one device classification with respect to which paging messages are able to be broadcast via the at least one paging occasion frequency resource and the at least one paging timing resource, at least one service class identifier indicative of at least one service level classification with respect to which the paging messages are able to be broadcast via the at least one paging occasion frequency resource and the at least one paging timing resource, at least one subscription level identifier indicative of at least one subscription level classification with respect to which the paging messages are able to be broadcast via the at least one paging occasion frequency resource and the at least one paging timing resource, or a periodicity associated with the at least one paging occasion frequency resource or the at least one paging timing resource [par. 45-48, 121-122].
Regarding to claim 4, Nader teaches the at least one user equipment is part of the at least one group of user equipment corresponding to the at least one paging class based on at least one of: a capability corresponding to the at least one user equipment, a services subscription level corresponding to the at least one user equipment, a first quality-of-service associated with the at least one user equipment; or a second quality-of-service associated with the capability corresponding to the at least one user equipment [par. 121-122].
Regarding to claim 5, Nader teaches the modified paging policy comprises interruption of paging with respect to the at least one user equipment [par. 141-142].
Regarding to claim 6, Nader teaches the method further comprising according to the modified paging policy, avoiding, by the radio network node, accepting connection establishment with respect to the at least one user equipment [par. 143-146].
Regarding to claim 10, Nader teaches the paging modification parameter metric is at least one of: a resource utilization, an energy consumption, or a false paging rate [par. 31, 127].
Regarding to claim 11, Nader teaches the method further comprising facilitating, by the radio network node, receiving, from a network equipment, a paging modification parameter criterion configuration comprising the paging modification parameter criterion [par. 35-37, 130].
Regarding to claim 12 and 13, since they are apparatus claims of claim 1 and 2, they are rejected for the same basis as set forth above.
Regarding to claims 17-19, since they are computer medium claims of claims 1-4, they are rejected for the same basis as set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 14-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/Awww.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643