DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al, application no. 2024/0121755, hereinafter known as Dong in view of Bolle et al, application no. 2019/0082417, hereinafter known as Bolle.
As to claim 1, Dong discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a user equipment comprising at least one processor from a radio network node, a paging assignment configuration, comprising at least one paging identifier indictive of at least one paging associated with the user equipment (Dong, [0034]-[0036], paging occasion identifier for subgroup of UE’s assigned by network node used to communicate with UE’s); receiving, by the user equipment from the radio network node, a paging configuration comprising paging resource monitoring information, corresponding to the at least one paging associated with the user equipment, usable by the user equipment to monitor at least one paging resource during at least one modified paging policy period (Dong, figure 6, step 604, [0043]-[0048], UE receiving form network subgroup assignment for paging occasion information, step 606, for UE to monitor the paging occasion; figure 5, paging cycle or paging policy period; [0029], dynamically configured paging occasion time and frequency resources); determining, by the user equipment, that the radio network node is implementing a modified paging policy with respect to the at least one paging associated with the user equipment to result in a determined modified paging policy (Dong, figure 6, steps 604, 606, paging occasion information shared by UE for UE to enable and use the paging occasion); and responsive to determining the determined modified paging policy, monitoring at least one paging resource with respect to the at least one paging (Dong, figure 6, step 606, UE monitors paging as determined by network). Dong discloses paging subgroup based on plural information including subgroup ID, UE ID (Dong, [0034]-[0040]). Dong does not disclose however Bolle discloses paging class configuration (Bolle, [0023]-[0029], selecting paging policy based on QoS information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Dong to include the limitations of paging class configuration as taught by Bolle. Class of Service or Quality of Service requirements are used in the art to differentiate network traffic that require different metrics of communications such delay sensitive traffic or best effort.
As to claim 2, Dong discloses wherein the paging resource monitoring information, corresponding to the at least one paging occasion, is usable by the user equipment to monitor paging resources with respect to the radio network node during the at least one modified paging policy period (Dong, figure 5 and 6, assigning paging occasion resources for paging cycle; [0029], dynamically configured paging occasion time and frequency resources), and wherein the paging resource monitoring information comprises at least one of: at least one paging occasion frequency resource and at least one paging timing resource associated with the at least one paging occasion frequency resource (Dong, figure 5, paging cycle with paging occasions as determined for UE by network, [0029], dynamically configured paging occasion time and frequency resources), at least one device class identifier indicative of at least one device classification with respect to which paging messages are able to be broadcast via the at least one paging occasion frequency resource and the at least one paging timing resource, at least one service class identifier indicative of at least one service level classification with respect to which the paging messages are able to be broadcast via the at least one paging occasion frequency resource and the at least one paging timing resource, at least one subscription level identifier indicative of at least one subscription level classification with respect to which the paging messages are able to be broadcast via the at least one paging occasion frequency resource and the at least one paging timing resource, or a periodicity associated with the at least one paging occasion frequency resource or the at least one paging timing resource. Dong does not disclose however Bolle discloses paging class configuration (Bolle, [0023]-[0029], selecting paging policy based on QoS information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Dong to include the limitations of paging class configuration as taught by Bolle. Class of Service or Quality of Service requirements are used in the art to differentiate network traffic that require different metrics of communications such delay sensitive traffic or best effort.
As to claim 3, Dong discloses wherein the determining of the determined modified paging policy comprises: receiving, from the radio network node, a paging interruption indication indicative that the radio network node is implementing the modified paging policy with respect to the user equipment, wherein the modified paging policy comprises deactivating paging with respect to the at least one paging class (Dong, figure 4, 5, [0030]-[0033], UE operating in known technique of monitoring paging occasion where the UE is waking up often to receive plural paging message; figure 6, [0043], network determine UE Information and provides a modified method of monitoring paging occasions to UE that changes how often UE has to monitor for paging occasions).
As to claim 8, Dong and Bolle disclose the method of claim 1. Dong does not disclose however Bolle discloses wherein the user equipment is associated with the at least one paging class based on at least one of: a capability corresponding to the user equipment, a services subscription level corresponding to the user equipment, a first quality-of-service associated with the user equipment, or a second quality-of-service associated with the capability corresponding to the user equipment (Bolle, [0023]-[0029], selecting paging policy based on QoS information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Dong to include the limitations of wherein the user equipment is associated with the at least one paging class based on at least one of: a capability corresponding to the user equipment, a services subscription level corresponding to the user equipment, a first quality-of-service associated with the user equipment, or a second quality-of-service associated with the capability corresponding to the user equipment as taught by Bolle. Class of Service or Quality of Service requirements are used in the art to differentiate network traffic that require different metrics of communications such delay sensitive traffic or best effort.
As to claims 11 and 13, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 1 and 3 respectively above by Dong in view of Bolle.
As to claim 12, Dong disclose wherein the at least one paging resource corresponds to the radio network node (Dong, Figure 6, step 602, paging resources sent by network node 610).
As to claim 17, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 above by Dong in view of Bolle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9, 10, 14-16, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467